Customer Reviews


599 Reviews
5 star:
 (400)
4 star:
 (146)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Get 'em Stephanie
Janet Evanovich has done it again. Three to Get Deadly, begins as Stephanie Plum, ex-lingerie buyer turned bounty hunter is given the go to pick up Mo Bedemier. Uncle Mo, as he's known in "the burg", Stephanie's working class, Trenton neighborhood, owns an ice-cream parlor/candy store, has missed his court appearance and seems to have left town...
Published on June 8, 2000 by Roz Levine

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic
I took "Three" and "Four" on a cruise expecting two treats. Instead what I got from this one was pure boredom. Perhaps it is inevitable that a series becomes a matter of filling in the blanks. In this case, what started out with a bang has become a predictable succession of events. Sure, many of these are humorous but we all know by now that...
Published on April 14, 2004 by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Get 'em Stephanie, June 8, 2000
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Janet Evanovich has done it again. Three to Get Deadly, begins as Stephanie Plum, ex-lingerie buyer turned bounty hunter is given the go to pick up Mo Bedemier. Uncle Mo, as he's known in "the burg", Stephanie's working class, Trenton neighborhood, owns an ice-cream parlor/candy store, has missed his court appearance and seems to have left town. Stephanie's on the case and is soon caught in the middle of anti-drug vigilantes, murdered men and porno films. This is another terrific ride through Trenton with Ms Evanovich's cast of unrivaled, wonderful, quirky characters and Stephanie gets lots of help from her mentor, Ranger and vice cop, Joe Morelli. The writing is witty, irreverent and down to earth, with dialogue that will have you laughing out loud. Though the mystery itself is a bit of a stretch, it doesn't matter, because spending time in Trenton, with Stephanie and company, is such a joy. Start with One for the Money and read all the books in this series. They will put a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third times a charm!!!, October 3, 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Stephanie Plum, the lingerie buyer turned bounty hunter, after blackmailing her cousin Vinnie. As usual, Stephanie Plum's trials and tribulations had me laughing out loud!
In this third book Stephanie is after "Uncle Mo," the local candy store/ice cream parlor owner, known by everybody in the neighborhood! Uncle Mo skips his court appearance for carrying a concealed weapon, and Stephanie, goes after him. Uncle Mo is nowhere to be found. The case soon winds up with attacks by strange anti-drug vigilantes, murdered men and porno films. The body count of the local drug dealers around his store continues to rise! Stephanie gets no help from the locals, only threats to leave uncle Mo alone. Lula, the prostitute turned file clerk, has a much greater voice in this novel, and she truly adds laughter to the story with one trip out on her bounty hunting training. Police officer Joe Morelli is back and Stephanie is even concerned he has a girlfriend since he no longer seems interested. Ranger is also back, with help and exercise!
This novel you really get closer with all the characters. The family dinner time just wouldn't be the same if one of Stephanie's friends wasn't invited to join them.
The book flows at a blistering pace, and Evanovich's writing style is packed with humor. The suspense is outstanding and it is the best mix of comedy and mystery out there. It is hard not to enjoy this book! I highly recommend this series you will laugh off your chair and out loud all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Belle of the Burg Returns!, August 10, 2001
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I said to myself, "Self, you are not going to laugh aloud and make a fool of yourself. After all, this is the third book in the series already." And I almost made it. For about 10 pages at least. Then I fell apart.
In this outing, La Stephanie is after a much-revered Burg icon: Mo, the long-time owner of the neighborhood's candy store. "Mo would never do anything wrong," Stephanie is told by just about three-quarters of the Burg, most of whom are calling her mother to complain. But Stephanie, intrepid bounty hunter that she is, perseveres.
With her trusty pocketbook in tow (handcuffs, pepper spray, stun gun, a revolver if she remembers to take it from its hiding place in the cookie jar--and of course, every Burg Girl's must-have: a huge can of hairspray), Stephanie is off and running. Her trusty sidekicks in this outing include the hefty Lula, ex-hooker extraordinaire; the incredibly sexy and mysterious Ranger; and the equally sexy Morelli. (Readers of Book 2 will remember that Morelli and Steph experienced "Buick Interruptus" during their adventures; I am sorry to report that this time it's "kitchen floor interruptus").
Eight bodies and several incredibly hilarious mishaps later, Stephanie manages to get her man. I think. I was laughing so hard by the end of the book I had a coughing fit--and NOT from Stephanie's pepper spray, either!
On to Book 4. And for that one, I am NOT GOING TO LAUGH. You hear that, Grandma Mazur?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A laugh out loud book., July 5, 2002
By 
"tigd" (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Three to Get Deadly is just as funny and entertaining as the first two books in Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, One for the Money and Two for the Dough. Evanovich has created a cast of characters that are so zany and amusing they become unforgettable. With the third book of the series Stephanie is up to her old tricks again and continues to learn more about being a bounty hunter although she is definitely unconventional. It is a good thing that she has Morrelli, a friend who happens to be a homicide detective, whom she can call when she finds a body. Of course there is the elusive Ranger, another but much better bounty hunter, who is helping Stephanie on her case and to get into shape. Lula has been known to lend Stephanie a helping hand although Lula's constant desire to do things like stuff the bailee into the trunk or just shoot him gives Stephanie second thoughts about taking advantage of Lula's aid. Many more colorful characters are around to offer Stephanie help and to give her advice. Like always, life wouldn't be the same in the burg if gossip didn't travel at lightening speed and who better to gossip about but our unforgettable bounty hunter Stephanie Plum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Plum - You've Got to Love Her!, September 10, 2002
By 
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Three to get Deadly" continues Janet Evanovich's superb Stephanie Plum series and it does not disappoint. Our favourite inept bounty hunter, Ms. Plum herself, is back in action, surrounded by all of the eccentric and quirky characters from Trenton, New Jersey that we have grown to know and love. Fast-paced and full of laughs, "Three to get Deadly" is a book you don't want to miss.
Stephanie Plum, bounty hunter extraordinaire, is on a new case that she really doesn't want to have. Usually her FTAs (failure to appears) are not the finest society has to offer and nobody minds Stephanie hunting them down. Unfortunately, this time Stephanie is looking for Moses "Uncle Mo" Bedemier, Trenton's favourite citizen and their beloved neighbourhood candy store owner. It seems strange to Stephanie that Uncle Mo jumped bail on the minor charge of carrying concealed, which would more than likely only have gotten him a slap on the wrist. Despite the hostility she's generating searching for Uncle Mo, Stephanie sticks with it, though it isn't easy to get even a single lead with all of Trenton banding together to protect Mo.
But Stephanie has an uncanny knack for walking right into the middle of things, and while taking a unauthorized tour of Uncle Mo's candy store, Stephanie gets knocked out and wakes up next to a dead man. It doesn't take a genius to figure out that there's something more going on here than a concealed weapon charge, and as local drug dealers start turning up dead all over the place, it leads Stephanie to believe that good old Uncle Mo has become an anti-drug vigilante.
The mystery in this book is top-notch, and it is blended perfectly with the laugh out loud humour that is so prevalent in this instalment. With Lula, the 230lb ex-hooker as Stephanie's sidekick, gun-toting Grandma Mazur always wanting to help out, and dangerously sexy vice cop Joe Morelli never far away, this book is downright hilarious, not to mention filled with sexual tension. But when terrifying men dressed in ski masks and coveralls start threatening Stephanie and her hamster, Stephanie realizes her life is once again in serious danger. And so, with a little help from mysterious and sexy fellow bounty hunter Ranger, it's up to Stephanie and her motley crew of bounty hunters in training to catch Uncle Mo and these masked men before Stephanie catches a bullet in the head.
"Three to get Deadly" is another great read in a truly wonderful series. Evanovich has a fabulous dry wit and impeccable comedic timing, which combine to make one really funny book. Stephanie Plum is so likable and so much fun to spend time with that I have read the first four books in this series in less than a week. Evanovich has created a marvellous character in Stephanie Plum; she's the kind of person you'd like for a friend and she makes this series what it is. "Three to get Deadly" is a fun-filled and suspenseful read and it comes highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read 'One for the Money' and got hooked!, October 4, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked up 'One For The Money' at a local bookstore after reading a review of the newest book in the series - I got hooked! I just finished 'Three To Get Deadly' yesterday and I am going to the store tonight to get the next one! Another reviewer said Stephanie never learns from her mistakes. Well, if she did we wouldn't have the laughs these books give us. I know there is a little of her in me - I don't always apply what I learned in the past to a new situation - sometimes we just forget at the time. She has alot of spunk and resilience! I really enjoy these books and look forward to more and more Stephanie Plum adventures! Hopefully something will happen with Joe Morelli!....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three, the hard way, April 1, 2005
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the good things about this series is that you don't have to read them in order. After book one, I jumped right to this one (because I didn't have a copy of book two).

Stephanie Plum is, as usual, way over her head in her unchosen profession. Untrained, uncoordinated, dysfunctional and disorganized, she's the world's most unlikely bounty hunter - a definite Sandra Bullock role if they decide to make the movie.

This time her main task is simply to track down the town saint, a well-loved candy man with a devoted following of little old ladies, and a stable of nasty goons on the side.

Suddenly people are shooting at her, drug dealers are turning up dead, her vehicles don't work, and her new sidekick is a former hooker with an attitude and a craving for action - once it's not too dangerous.

Acknowledging her limitations, she calls on professional bounty hunter Ranger (part to be offered to Sam Elliot if I have a say in casting) and police officer Morelli (think Colin Farrell), her primary weakness in the romantic department.

After all the expected twists and turns, and the unexpected twists and turns, this turns out to be a wildly funny and entertaining read.

Amanda Richards, April 1, 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have- Comedy and Mystery, September 9, 2001
By 
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Again and again I laughed out loud while reading this book. Several times my husband made me read passages to him so he could hear what was so funny, and I have to report- he laughed out loud as well.
Stephanie Plum is looking for Mo the candy store owner. She certainly doesn't let the fact that EVERYONE she knows is telling her he's not the type to do anything wrong stop her. She doesn't let the fact that everyone is calling her mother stop her. She has a job to do and do it she does.
As the bodies pile up and the tension between her and Joe M. build, Stephanie does her job. The mysterious and sexy Ranger, Lula the ex hooker, the hilarious grandmother, worrying mother and reticent father all add to the book.
I can't think of a series of books, in this genre, that I have enjoyed more. Rather than passing these on to my mother, I bought her the same books so I don't have to share. They are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic, April 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I took "Three" and "Four" on a cruise expecting two treats. Instead what I got from this one was pure boredom. Perhaps it is inevitable that a series becomes a matter of filling in the blanks. In this case, what started out with a bang has become a predictable succession of events. Sure, many of these are humorous but we all know by now that Stephanie will endure her parents, Grandma will act strange, Joe will flirt and Lula will holler. The series needs a little "oomph" to keep going. The story was also not one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nineteen Bad Hair Days...And Counting, June 29, 2001
By 
Chad Spivak (North Miami Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
The hilarious family-tied bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum is back is the third book in Janet Evanovich's series. In this one, Stephanie finally makes some progress.
Stephanie Plum, the lingerie buyer turned bounty hunter, is after "Uncle Mo," the local candy store operator, known by everybody in the neighborhood as the man with the biggest heart. Uncle Mo skips his court appearance for carrying a concealed weapon, and Stephanie, against her better wishes, goes after him to get him to "reschedule." Mo is nowhere to be found, and the body count of the local drug dealers around his store continues to rise. Stephanie gets no help from the locals, seeing as how they all think he deserves a medal. Throw in her off-and-on flirtations with Joe Morelli, her seemingly wacky impulse shopping sprees and mounting car woes, and you have one entertaining mystery novel.
Stephanie is at her finest in this book, despite her hair troubles, and lack of a sex life. But that's what makes her New Jersey's most unconventional bounty hunter. Lula, the prostitute turned file clerk, has a much greater voice in this novel, and she truly adds color to the story with her witty dialogue. Police officer Joe Morelli and fellow skip trcaer Ranger are back again to add some professionalism to Stephanie's life, and of course, what would this book truly be without her clan of family in the background. Dinner time just wouldn't be the same.
The book flows at a blistering pace, and Evanovich's cogent writing style is peppered with just the right amount of humor. The plot has its fair share of twists and turns, and the storyline maintains its interest throughout. The suspense is outstanding. It is hard not to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels)
Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, No. 3) (Stephanie Plum Novels) by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - July 15, 1998)
$8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.