Customer Reviews


257 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun
When I first went to see this movie I wasn't sure if I'd like it or not. I had expectations yes, but they weren't the highest. Boy was I wrong. This movie was great fun to watch.

I did not go see it in 3d because personally 3d doesn't do much for me but the 2d experience was great. What I really enjoyed about this movie was that it had a little bit of...
Published on March 4, 2012 by Dawn E.L.

versus
84 of 109 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great "Resident Evil Afterlife" 3D quality, but the movie...
If you're looking for your next movie to showcase for great 3D, The Three Musketeers delivers the same great 3D you've seen in Resident Evil Afterlife 3D, as Paul W.S. Anderson returns as director and has not lost his 3D touch (currently filming Resident Evil: Retribution 3D, which looks equally great from the 3D trailer as of Jan 2012). How good is the 3D here? Anderson...
Published on January 27, 2012 by QuickSilverSeven


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected., March 12, 2012
Anderson started out as a great visual director, and while he gets the "kid in a candystore" syndrome that has killed the plotting of many of his films, his visual flair working on someone else's script elevates this film far past the wince-inducing bad previews. It doesn't hurt that the cast is top notch...all three Musketeers give great portrayals, d'Artagnan becomes charming after the 1st 3rd of his scenes, all the baddies are well-cast (although it appears poor Mads may have had physical problems during the end sequences that they were trying to cover), and even the incidentals, such as d'Artagnan's father, stand out in great performances. Jovovich shines in almost anything she does, and she's excellent here.
Constance....we need to drown Constance. The one misstep in casting. It's like trying to watch Keanu Reeves in Shakespeare.

The script is where the problems occur. It's not that they took liberties...what they changed all logically makes sense in an alternate tech timeline and are really quite well done if you don't hate the fact that they changed things. It's certainly better than the Disney script. It's not that it's a badly structured script...it's not.
No, the problem is that they don't know when it's good to be over the top, and when it's too much. For instance, the first act is fun, but too much, too fast (complete with comic booky Guy Ritchie style introductions)and too Mission Impossible: The Steampunk Years for the majority of the rest of the film. It makes the climax, which should be over the top for this film, a little anti-climatic.

But when this film works, it really shines. There are scenes in this film that just play like the scenes you'd remember from your favorite comic books as a kid, with punch and visual flair. There is an undeniable charm to this film that makes me want to own it on Blu and watch it every now again, despite what it does to the source material. (And there'd be a great drinking game trying to find all the nods to all the films made.) If you don't mind the deviation from Dumas, it's very much worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable remake, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo) (Blu-ray)
Do you ever watch a remake where you say to yourself "that's not the way it's supposed to be!" Well, not this movie, it's exactly what the three musketeers is supposed to be. It's funny, it's dramatic, it's silly, it's the whole feel of the old movie. How refreshing! Our grandkids thought it was weird for a sword fight movie, the problem with the young generation, everything has to be blood and gore, and really does the good guy win much anymore, can you even tell who the good guy is half of the time? How often do we go to see a movie and leave with kind of a sick feeling. Watching this show gave us one of those feel good moments, the way the old musketeers made you feel, when it was over we just felt like smiling. Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yearning to Read Review, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OMIGOSH. YES. YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES. Can I repeat that? I'm wanting to. I want to jump up and down and scream with delight...or go into crazy adrenaline mode like I did the other day when I walked out of the movie theater, my face covered in awe and wonder and true love and delight and amazement and pure inspiration and incredulity at this movie.

I honestly have NOTHING bad to say about it. Not only was it extremely clean (besides a few hilariously placed cuss words and chest-showing damsels in distress), but it was just freaking phenomenally incredible. Do I make sense here? Is my brain befuddled and therefore befuddling you? I'm befuddled. This movie befuddles me. Hopefully you can make sense of this... ;)

So what was there in this movie to look forward to, to love?

First off, great music. If you listen to the soundtrack, you'll understand. Paul Haslinger - look him up.

The modern vibe. I wasn't sure if I was going to like that part of it, but I did. Man, oh man.

Then there was the cast. Ohhhhhh!! Whoever did the casting is a genius. These actors/actresses were perfect for their roles. I don't remember if there was once a line uttered wrong for the scene. Nothing about the actors and their talents was cheesy. Even actors (coughOrlandoBloomcough) who I've never appreciated the acting of were perfect for their parts and said everything perfectly and did everything perfectly. Was it the director or something? Dang, these guys nailed it.

The filming was beautiful, as was the editing and CG. Oh man I want to live some of those scenes just because of the color and the way everything was so lifelike...and yet not.

Then there were the costumes. HOLY SMOKES I wanted to wear every single dress in this movie; heck, I would have even tried on a man's outfit just for the sake of it. They were all extremely colorful and grand and beautifully detailed.

They did all their own stunts. I mean, come on! Does it get better? Yes. Yes it does.

Then, there was the dueling, the sword fights. It was like...art. Seriously, every move was like a hand-crafted porcelain from a master, perfectly placed and excellently choreographed, like a dance, or a poem.

And the story line/characters. What the heck! It was fantastical. The story line was nonstop action and adventure. Every plot and subplot was carefully placed, every line written for a purpose and for the immense enjoyment of the movie-goer. I couldn't believe my eyes - everything was so intense, all the colors, all the action. Toward the end, I thought I was in the climax, but no, I wasn't. Things kept going wrong - and getting worse. I thought I was seeing the end, but then some other problem arose and was bigger than the last. The final blowout scene was satisfying and amazing. The best scene. WOW.

And....I've been saving the best for last. Drum-roll please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOGAN LERMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, so I've had a thing for this guy since I saw "3:10 to Yuma", where he played with my all time favorite (Christian Bale) and nailed his role. In "Percy Jackson", he was the best thing about that movie (which sucked). And now, here, in this movie, he not only has a leading role, he has, what appeared to me, *the* leading role.

Let me give you an example of how good Logan did at taking on his role. You know those characters, those who are new at whatever their task is, those who are very innocent an naïve and who do extremely embarrassing things that make the reader/watcher cringe in horror for him/her? Well, D'Artagnon could have been one of those characters. He did do some things that showed his naivety, but I never once cringed in painful embarrassment. I laughed. Heartily. Because the things he did were funny, and lessons learned. And even if the girl didn't fall for his flirty charms, I DID. Like, from the moment he opened his mouth. From the moment he whipped out that beautiful sword and fought off like twenty men before he received help.

How did he do it? I ask myself. He perfected his role, made for laughter and entertainment, as well as a character who you could respect even while he is learning. That is what I call fantabulous acting. I hope he becomes one of the greats. :D

And those are the reasons why this movie gets a 10/10 from me!! :D (And why you should somehow go see this movie right now!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (DVD)
This movie is full of some of my favorite actors. Matthew MacFadyen is great in here as is Luke Evans. Mila always brings a party. Great movie full of action and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this was a great movie. With all the great actors I dont know why this slipped by. While the ending was predictable, the action sequences (which there are plenty of) and sword fighting look great. Definitely buying this on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best movies I seen in some time. at first I thought it was going to be a low budget movie but it was nothing but. It put a new twist on the 3 musketeers and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) "The Three Musketeers" is a popcorn action film that looks and sounds great on Blu-ray, May 5, 2012
Since the 1800's, the tale of "The Three Musketeers" has entertained generation after generation.

Beginning with the novel by Alexandre Dumas, the 17th century tale would feature a young man named d'Artagnan leaving home to join the Musketters of the Guard which consisted of Athos, Porthos and Aramis.

And within this last century, there have been musicals, films, games and animated TV series based on the characters featured in the novel.

But as the story has been retold countless times, there was no doubt that the story of the Three Musketeers would receive a film adaptation and for filmmaker W.S. Anderson ("Death Race", "AVP: Aliens vs. Predator", "Resident Evil" films), in order for the story not too be to banal or boring, and attract a new generation of viewers, it was time to change things up by tweeking the storyline and also modernizing it.

And so, screenwriters Alex Litvak ("Predators") and Andrew Davies ("Bridget Jones's Diary", "Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason") would be responsible in giving audiences a new fresh storyline featuring the Three Musketeers and the characters created by Alexandre Dumas.

The 2011 film would feature cinematography by Glen MacPherson ("Rambo", "Resident Evil: Afterlife") and music by Paul Haslinger ("Underworld: Awakening", "Death Race 2', "Crank"). And while this big budget film would utilize modern technology for CG, Paul W.S. Anderson also wanted realism and that was to create actual sets of the airships, to shoot in Bavaria for its use of French and Italian architecture and also for its talent to undergo swordfighting bootcamp.

The film would earn over $135 million in the box office worldwide and now the film will be released on Blu-ray 3D, Blu-ray and DVD courtesy of Summit Entertainment in March 2012.

VIDEO:

"The Three Musketeers" is presented in 1080p High Definition (2:35:1) and as one would expect for a big budget action film, the film looks absolutely beautiful. For one, there are a lot of vibrant colors featured in the outdoor scenes, but it's the location of shooting in Bavaria that lends to the film feeling it's 17th Century and most importantly, CG that helps compliment in the recreation of that world.

The production and set design, along with costume design is magnificent and on HD, you are able to see the detail of the clothing, to the sparks flying when the metal swords are striking each other and also seeing the clarity and detail of the surroundings of the area. The CG work is quite impressive and for the most part, this is a vibrant and well-detailed film.

I didn't notice any edge enhancement, artifacts or banding while watching this film. Colors are vibrant, black levels are nice and deep and overall, this film looks beautiful on Blu-ray!

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"The Three Musketeers" is presented in English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and Espanol Dolby Digital 5.1.

As one can expect from an action film, not only do you get immersive sound during the action sequences, the music composed by Paul Haslinger sounds wonderful. First, the action sequences. From the clanging of swords, cannon balls being shot from airship to airship, explosions galore and wonderful panning from right to left, left to right. And while the second half does feature most of that immersive sound during the action sequences, dialogue and music is crystal clear as well.

Subtitles are presented in English SDH.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"The Three Musketeers" comes with the following special features:

Audio Commentary - Featuring audio commentary by director and producer Paul W.S. Anderson and two other producers as they dissect the film, why they modernized the film to what they were most impressed by the making of the film, finding the location and the performances by their talent but also what the crew was able to pull off. Overall, an in-depth and enjoyable audio commentary.
Access: Three Musketeers - While watching the film, you can have access to "making of" videos, cast and crew info., factoids and also a body count meter.
Paul W. S. Anderson's Musketeers - (2:29) Director Anderson talks about modernizing the film, location of where to shoot and more.
Orlando Bloom: Takes on the Duke - (1:59) Orlando Bloom and Director Anderson talk about the character of Duke of Buckingham.
17th Century Air Travel - (2:20) Director Paul W.S. Anderson talks about modernizing the air ships and having sets built rather than creating it all on CG.
Uncovering France in Germany - (2:14) Shooting in Bavaria and why they chose the location.
Deleted and Extended Scenes - (14:38) Featuring 12 extended and deleted scenes.

EXTRAS:

"The Three Musketeers" come with a slipcover case.

JUDGMENT CALL:

"The Three Musketeers" have entertained generation after generation for over 150 years.

But for those of us who grew up watching "The Three Musketeers" in cinema or cartoons, while the swashbuckling swordsman storylines were great decades ago, for this society use to immersive video game playing, big budget special effects and heroes that have a "cool factor", bringing "The Three Musketeers" to a new generation is rather tricky.

Bring in director Paul W.S. Anderson, known for action films such as the "Resident Evil" films, "Death Race" and "AVP: Alien vs. Predator" and a person who is willing to modernize and give a refreshing perspective to the storyline but also targeting this new generation who may have passed on reading or watching anything that would have to do with "The Three Musketeers".

And while listening to the audio commentary by Paul W.S. Anderson and him describing a scene which was inspired by the video game "Assassins Creed II", I knew immediately that he's going after an audience who loves their popcorn action, an audience who loves special effects and of course, having the beautiful Milla Jovovich in another action role does not hurt at all.

But with that being said, Anderson is known for popcorn action films and in no way or form was he going to recreate the films that were made in the past. This was going to be straight-up action like his previous films and for those who are familiar with his work, you know what you're going to get.

First the positives. What I enjoyed about "The Three Musketeers" was the fact that Paul W.S. Anderson wanted to make D'Artagnan as he was in the original book, an older teenager. I also liked the fact that he shot in Bavaria and instead of sets created or CG buildings, we are seeing the actual architecture of long ago featured in a film. Granted, to recreate popular buildings in Paris, there was CG used but still, there is no denying that this film looks good, from its design, set design and even the costume design.

Another positive is the fact that Anderson wanted to achieve realism by having the talent undergo bootcamp and learn how to use a sword. This went for several months and it shows in the film. Another is building sets, especially the airships and then using CG when needed, but not use CG to completely build the airships. So, that was a positive touch.

Also, the characters seem rather fun, especially having Orlando Bloom and Milla Jovovich as the antagonists. It was great to see everyone also belittle the servant Planchet and if anything, this was a good popcorn action film that delivered in action and special effects.

The bad news which may be bad for those familiar with the series is that this is not the same Three Musketeers that many people grew up with. While the Three Musketeers are featured in the film, this is a story primarily focused on D'Artagnan and some may feel the ego and bravado was a bit too overbearing.

Some may also roll their eyes of the modernization of the film. With people battling with airships, yes...17th century wooden ships that are flying in the sky with blimps using Leonardo da Vinci's blueprints.

And last, a storyline that is driven to action scene after action scene while the storyline is there, it's more to boost its action sequences. Swordfights, airship fights, etc.

And for those who want a cinematic experience with strong characters with awesome character development and a deep, intellectual storyline, this film is not it. Once again, look at Paul W. S. Anderson's oeuvre and you know that he is a director that specializes in action films and he rarely deviates from that.

I personally have enjoyed Anderson's "Resident Evil" films and I usually know what I'm going to get with his films and with "The Three Musketeers", it was what I expected, a popcorn action film set in the 17th century with modernization and plenty of action and I enjoyed it to the point where I hope there is a sequel. I never came to this film expecting anything deep or cerebral because I was familiar with Anderson's work and in a sense, his storyline does play to a new generation of audiences who enjoy popcorn action films with plenty of special effects and fighting such as "The Pirates of the Last Caribbean", "Resident Evil", "Alien vs. Predator", "Transformers", etc.

As for the Blu-ray release, picture quality is fantastic. Colors are vibrant, detail is amazing and the film looks great on Blu-ray and I can say the same about the lossless audio. Great use of panning of audio from the surround channels, plenty of immersive action sequences that fill up the soundscape and dialogue and music is crystal clear. And also you get plenty of special features, although I tend to not like "making of" being offered by watching the movie a second time. I prefer to have these separated. But it is subjective and that is my own personal preference.

Is it keeper? One may want to rent it first to see if it's for them, but for those who enjoy Paul W.S. Anderson films or action films in general, it may be an action film they may want to have in their Blu-ray collection.

Overall, "The Three Musketeers" is an action-packed film that features impressive special effects, wonderful costume set design and a fast-paced storyline. It's definitely not the same "Three Musketeers" that many have grew up with in the past but a modernized, reboot of the characters for a new generation of moviegoers who love popcorn action films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical 3 Musketeers :), April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo) (Blu-ray)
Very pleased with seller and purchase :) The 3D was alright, not stupendous. I am learning that not all 3D movies are the same quality and that whoever is producing it makes a difference. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fresh new vision of a classic in 3D, April 18, 2012
By 
Marco A. Delgadillo (Cochabamba, Bolivia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo) (Blu-ray)
I must disagree with most reviews of this film, because I was tempted to not buy it when I read all the ones about it, but I thrust my instincts and bought it and I must say that is a really entertained version of a classic and I don't ask for more, because all the films made it about the Three Musketeers where all the same. The actors and all the crew put their best effort for made the dialogs not boring, plus the 3D, that is not bad at all repelling all bad reviews, made of this a nice action movie, worthy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, March 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo) (Blu-ray)
As soon as we got this movie my family and I watched it. I was not expecting a whole lot of it but I have always loved The Three Musketeers and have watched almost all of the adaptations. I was really impressed with this version. Right from the start it captured me with the intro of all the musketeers, especially Aramis(sighs) ;) There was a lot of action, romance, comedy, and drama to keep you entertain. It may not follow the book exactly but it was good. Everyone has their own opinion and I respect that, but I think give it a chance and have an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo)
The Three Musketeers (Blu-Ray/Blu-ray 3D Combo) by Paul W.S. Anderson (Blu-ray - 2012)
$34.99 $26.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.