Three Stories You Can Read to Your Dog and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book has already been loved by someone else. It MIGHT have some wear and tear on the edges, have some markings in it, or be an ex-library book. Over-all it is still a good book at a great price! (if it is supposed to contain a CD or access code, that may be missing)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Three Stories You Can Read to Your Dog Paperback – August 25, 1997


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$5.99
$1.72 $0.01
12%20Days%20of%20Deals%20in%20Books


Frequently Bought Together

Three Stories You Can Read to Your Dog + Three Stories You Can Read to Your Cat + Three More Stories You Can Read to Your Cat
Price for all three: $17.93

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Gifts for Young Readers
Visit our Children's Books store to find great gifts for every child. Shop by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 5 - 8 years
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten - 3
  • Series: Three Stories You Can Read
  • Paperback: 48 pages
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin (August 25, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0395861357
  • ISBN-13: 978-0395861356
  • Product Dimensions: 6.2 x 0.1 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #76,249 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

"When you feel bored, you read a book. But dogs can't read," Miller points out. Lest people have all the fun, she's designed this chapter book with canine sensibilities in mind. Each tale is addressed to "you good dog," enabling readers to speak directly to a pet. "The Burglar" testifies to the fierceness and bravery "you" exhibit after hearing a knock on the door; "The Bone" chronicles the history of a gift from "your friend," including a dream sequence about a splendid "bone tree"); and "The Wild Dog" is an adventure in which "you" frighten a car, chase a squirrel and triumphantly return home for a can of food and a nap. Kelley (I Really Want a Dog) sketches a floppy brown Everydog who wags attentively at the narrator's voice, then enacts each role of eating, sleeping and protecting the house; the illustrator's familiarity with doggy expressions and gestures serves Miller's volume well. Humans will find these selections entertaining even without a hound present-but it's always nice to share. Ages 7-10.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Kindergarten-Grade 3?Readers can share these short, easy-to-read stories with their dogs in one, two, or three sessions, depending on the animal's attention span. They are about the things canines understand best?barking at a "burglar" on the other side of the door, eating and burying bones, and pretending to be a "wild dog." Canine lovers can't help but laugh out loud at these stories, made even funnier by the watercolor-and-ink cartoon illustrations. Fans of Cynthia Rylant's "Henry and Mudge" series (Bradbury) will love this book, so order a couple of copies.?Gale W. Sherman, Pocatello Public Library, ID
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 31 customer reviews
The pictures are great and the story.
Rustybear
Great to have with you when visiting schools and libraries with your therapy dog.
K. Janes
Great book to read to your kids and to your dog - both will love it.
K. Wold

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By M. Ahrens on February 16, 2004
Format: Paperback
-
What a terrific book!
It is ideal for the pet lover, the low-confidence reader, or the Reading Education Assistance Dogs ("See Spot Read" program)
Although billed as a children's book, the subtle humor and great illustrations make it a winner for adults as well.
I need to buy "Stories you can read to your cat" as well.... wonderful author, great illustrator, an absolute riot.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on November 5, 2000
Format: Paperback
This book cracked me up. I thought it was original, sparkling, fresh writing. I don't even have a dog to read it to, but I had to buy it. (Maybe my cat will enjoy it.)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 17, 1999
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book and so did my Brittany Spaniel, Bingo. He liked the first story about the burglar best. I admire the author for writing a successful second-person narrative -- a rare feat. Fine present for dog owners.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Chris's Daddy on April 25, 2006
Format: Paperback
These stories are cute and fun to read, and my son and I both enjoyed them. But we wound up not reading it nearly as many times as we did the sequel (Three More Stories You Can Read To Your Dog). That book is much better, with more imaginative stories and funnier pictures. I would recommend buying this only if you have already read and loved the second book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Rustybear on March 9, 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I loved this little book. The pictures are great and the story. Both for adults who love animals and children. Most of all, my doggy Cocopuffy, can put it in his mouth and walk around with it without the book getting wet from his mouth because of the special coating on the book!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By gaga karen on March 10, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love finding a book my grandchildren (ages 2, 4, 6, and 11) enjoy - one they smile and even laugh aloud when I read it to them. The "Stories You Can Read Your Dog" books are such. I am hoping for some more adventures of the "good dog" in the books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Markley on December 27, 2008
Format: Paperback
My mom has a copy, I have a copy for my children, and I just bought one for my friend who's dog is her baby. She loved the idea of stories to read to him. The other book about cats is fun too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By K. Wold on June 30, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This author has a great sense of humor and really knows dogs. Great book to read to your kids and to your dog - both will love it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?