Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus Features and Liner Notes Elevate This Release
The strength of this THREE'S COMPANY Season 2 DVD lay primarily in its bonus materials and liner notes. Everyone has seen these episodes a thousand times, including now on TV Land and Nick at Night. Sure, it's nice to have uncut, digitally-transferred episodes of this classic show. Consumers should expect nothing less in any dvd tv series release.

But what...
Published on August 11, 2004 by Eddie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spanish
In description this serie specific dubbed to spanish but is not real only English language. Not subtitules in spanish.
Mal mal mal. But Is very funny.
Published 16 months ago by Efrén Enríquez


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus Features and Liner Notes Elevate This Release, August 11, 2004
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
The strength of this THREE'S COMPANY Season 2 DVD lay primarily in its bonus materials and liner notes. Everyone has seen these episodes a thousand times, including now on TV Land and Nick at Night. Sure, it's nice to have uncut, digitally-transferred episodes of this classic show. Consumers should expect nothing less in any dvd tv series release.

But what elevates this release, and hopefully those to come in this series, are the bonus features, particularly the content newly-created for this DVD set and liner notes. Much of this detailed content is clearly due to Chris Mann, author of the well-respected and insightful biography of "Three's Company," titled "Come and Knock on Our Door," for which he interviewed nearly the entire cast and production staff. (Watch The E! True Hollywood Story again if you doubt that statement.) As a respected author and a producer of NBCs recent "Three's Company" behind-the-scenes movie, Chris brings depth and the perspective of an insider and expert to this project. The liner notes and his heartfelt audio commentary show how much he loved and respected John Ritter. And by the way, when John R. appeared on several talk shows after the book's release, he genuinely championed the book.

Mann's audio commentary contains reverent thoughts and stories about John Ritter, the rest of the cast and producers. But it is balanced with light-hearted, sometimes tongue-in-cheek observations about the show and the specific farcical episode being discussed. Mann seems to realize that most people loved this show for what it was and and hoped this season 2 "commemorative" release would pay respect to John and the show. (Let's not forget the rushed-for-profit-and-exposure First Season release that was such a disappointment to all of us.) Chris understands that the show never took itself too seriously, so I would consider him an expert commentator and trusted voice for fans and those who made the show.

My friends and I have heard that Chris wrote a lot of the tribute to John Ritter that Joyce DeWitt narrates in this Season 2 release as well. Apparently, this "commemorative" release would have had little, if any, tributes to John without Mann's involvement. There's buzz among fans that several "Three's Company" cast and crew interviewed for the Third Season release, and that Chris interviewed all of them. So, I would guess that Chris is greatly responsible for their participation.

We all look forward to the upcoming dvd releases of "Three's Company." We hope that those involved in distributing the series continue to have Chris be a major part of its production!! Anchor Bay and DLT Ent. should consider themselves lucky to have his cooperation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoes Season 1 DVD, May 7, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
First things first, I am really amazed by the reviews I've read here and elsewhere on the internet that gripe about the cover art for the DVDs of Three's Company, Seasons 1 and 2. The cover art? Are you serious? Please! That is like going thirsty for three weeks and finally being offered water, but because it is Dasani instead of Evian, you turn it down! Even if the cover art isn't to your liking, and with the rest of what you get on these discs, any less than 4 stars for this collection is unfathomable.
The Season 2 set is a complete steal. The content of the episodes, as always, speaks for itself. Then you have the amazing and extensive special features. The trivia game is a lot of fun, the tribute to Ritter, narrated by Joyce DeWitt is well presented, the original pilot was hilarious. The talent bios are a bit long, but interesting. Some background music to go with the reading might have helped. I was, however, slightly disappointed with the blooper reel but not too much. The "Best Of" clip reels for the key players were great, too.
Finally, the production quality of this set is far superior to Season 1. 25 episodes and all these other bonuses for thirty bucks make this a worthy investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come and knock on their door..., April 21, 2005
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
Bursting onto the television landscape in Spring 1977, Three's Company quickly skyrocketed in the ratings - cracking the top 8 every season except its last. Sporting a plethora of quirky characters and fresh writing talent that explored modern day issues, the show held its own as one of the funniest programs on TV. Picking up where All In The Family left off, Three's Company delved into the social taboos of its day, dealing with subjects such as homosexuality, racism, sexual harassment, and of course, unmarried men and women living together... But the true success of Three's Company stemmed from the comic talents of John Ritter and Suzanne Somers who became instant stars as a result of their respective roles on the show...

In Three's Company, John Ritter plays the role of Jack Tripper, a young cooking student in San Diego who wants to move into an apartment with his two female friends - the far more mature Janet Wood (Joyce DeWitt) and the blonde and ditsy Chrissy Snow (Suzanne Somers). But the three friends face the possible wrath of landlord Stanley Roper (Norman Fell), an old-fashioned guy who would never allow such an arrangement. With the aid of Roper's wife Helen (Audra Lindley), the three manage to convince Stanley that Jack is gay (when he is, in fact, a notorious ladies man). Jack's friend Larry (Richard Kline) also fashions himself a player on the local singles scene, and he makes regular appearances on the show. Following Season 3, Stanley and Helen left the show in pursuit of their own spin-off titled The Ropers. Don Knotts (of Andy Griffith Show fame) was brought in to play the new landlord, Mr. Furley - a naïve, loud-mouthed ditz who tripled the hilarity of every scene in which he appeared...

The Three's Company (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "Ground Rules" in which Jack and Chrissy constantly interrupt Janet and her date. The incident causes Janet to demand that ground rules be laid down, and the three roommates agree to abide by "reservation times" when the other two roommates will agree to stay far away. The agreement doesn't last long when Jack gets the offer of a lifetime and reneges on his part of the agreement... Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "Strange Bedfellows" in which Jack throws a party and wakes up to find Mr. Roper in his bed, and "Chrissy's Night Out" in which Chrissy gets inadvertently arrested for prostitution...

Below is a list of episodes included on the Three's Company (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 7 (Ground Rules)

Episode 8 (Jack Looks For a Job)

Episode 9 (Janet's Promotion)

Episode 10 (Strange Bedfellows)

Episode 11 (Chrissy's Date)

Episode 12 (Alone Together)

Episode 13 (Roper's Car)

Episode 14 (Cyrano de Tripper)

Episode 15 (Chrissy's Night Out)

Episode 16 (Stanley Casanova)

Episode 17 (Janet's High School Sweetheart)

Episode 18 (Jack's Uncle)

Episode 19 (Helen's Job)

Episode 20 (Three's Christmas)

Episode 21 (The Gift)

Episode 22 (The Rivals)

Episode 23 (The Babysitters)

Episode 24 (Home Movies)

Episode 25 (Jack in the Flower Shop)

Episode 26 (Jack's Navy Pal)

Episode 27 (Will the Real Jack Tripper...)

Episode 28 (Days of Beer and Weeds)

Episode 29 (Chrissy, Come Home)

Episode 30 (Bird Song)

Episode 31 (Coffee, Tea or Jack)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better!!!, January 1, 2005
By 
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
These DVD box sets of Three's Company just keep getting better and better. The quality of the DVD I'm still amazed at - it's way better then viewing it on Television! Who ever put these sets together took a lot of time and care for all new and old fans to enjoy. I'll start off with listing my favorite episodes: Strange Bedfellows, Chrissy's Date, Alone Together, Chrissy's Night Out, Stanley Casanova, Janet's High School Sweetheart, Helen's Job, The Gift, Home Movies, Jack's Navy Pal, Days of Beer and Weeds, Chrissy Come Home, Bird Song, Coffee, Tea, or Jack. I've pretty much named them all and I enjoy watching them over and over again. Not too mention the extra's are basically to die for. I always watch the blooper's first and they are totally fun and great quality as well! Not to mention there's even a more loving tribute to John Ritter with Joyce DeWitt which will make you cry or at least tear up. I can't name all of the extra's because I haven't even viewed them all yet myself. This is a must have for any DVD collector or the fan of the series Three's Company. And as Lucille Ball says on the jacket of the first season DVD set, "It didn't set out to change the world. It just made us laugh and that's why we love it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come and knock on their door again!, June 2, 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
Here are the 25 episodes of Three Company's second season which ran from September 1977 to May 1978. Richard Kline's role of Larry Dallas is more recurred this season and also would be for 1978-79. Here we see Jack(the late John Ritter),Janet(Joyce DeWitt) and Chrissy(Suzanne Somers) devising a system so each one could have an evening alone in their apartment. Jack sells encyclopedia sets. Janet almost gets breast implants. Jack throws a party in the girls' absence and wakes up with landlord Stanley Roper(the late Norman Fell) in Jack's bed. Chrissy is romantically involved with a divorced businessman. Stanley goes away to look at property he might buy. Stanley sells the trio his 1958 Chevy. Jack cooks dinner for Chrissy and her food critic boyfriend. Jack is almost arrested for assaulting a cop who harrassed Chrissy. Stanley is found attractive by women other than his wife Helen(the late Audra Lindley). Janet and an old male friend from high school spend a disasterous evening alone in the trio's apartment. Jack's visiting uncle pays Jack's share of the overdue rent. Helen takes a job at a cafeteria adjoining Janet's flower shop. Jack buys a jacket for Stanley to give to Helen(Chrissy thought it was a birthday gift). Chrissy steals the guy Janet has a business date with. Jack and Chrissy babysit for a couple,subbing for Janet. Chrissy gets into her new movie camera(Kline's 2nd appearance). Jack works with Janet until he's fired for failing to deliver. A mean acquaintance from Jack's naval base ruins an evening of dinner amongst the trio and the Ropers. A pregnant girl tells Janet and Chrissy that Jack is the father. The trio finds cannabis in the Ropers' garden. Chrissy's minister father Luther visits and meets Jack for the first time. Stanley gives Helen a parakeet for their wedding anniversary(the bird becomes sick and later recovers). Jack's stewardess girlfriend visits Jack for his birthday. Also there's the Christmas episode where the trio spend the holiday at the Ropers' apartment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extras Make The Set, May 8, 2004
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
This is a really great DVD collection. I notice some nit-picking among the reviews but compared to other releases that had NO extras "What's Happening" (which also lost several leading characters) and "Good Times", this DVD collection is well worth it. The four disc set has all of the episodes from the second season of "Three's Company." The extras really make the set, the never before seen pilot, the John Ritter tributes, the blooper reels. The price is just right for this set and I personally think the second season episodes are among the funniest. I hope that future sets will follow. I for one think the packaging is awesome and the designs are nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE MONEY, June 6, 2007
By 
T. LOCKHART (Shelton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
WORTH THE MONEY

I LOVE THIS DVD, BRINGS BACK LAUGHTER AND MEMORYS AND YOU NEVER GET BORED WITH IT,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally possible to own....., June 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
I'm so happy that finally the funniest and cutest Sitcom is able to be owned. That sitcom was aired here in germany a few times and i loved it so much. Years ago i kept saying to myself how i would like to have all the episodes on video to watch it again and again. I would never have thought at that time that i would be able to buy them (ten years later) on a disc!
I really hope so much that all seasons will be released since there are so many awesome episodes. And that blooper real - Keep bringing more of them! Those two DVD-Sets will get a very nice place on my shelf. And i hope they will be joined by six other set's soon..... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great second season!, May 1, 2004
By 
Avalon Daughter (I wish I was in Glastonbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
I lucked out and found a place that put it on the shelf early! What a great improvement over the first season.
There are a few changes over the first! One of the better features would be that on each disc, you can either play each episode individually or play all the episodes at once per disc. I thought about that when I watched the first season and love that little addition.
The extras are just GREAT! First there's a retrospective on John's career, hosted by Joyce DeWitt which is incredibly touching. It goes into his whole career from start to finish. The bloopers reel is really funny -- and I suspect that there will be more bloopers on each season to be released because they seem to be limited to the second season on this disc.
And of course, the original pilot -- it has to be seen to be believed! In comparing it to the pilot we all know and love, it's LOUSY! WOW, I can see why they wanted changes! The two girls are kind of flirty with Jack rather than the other way around and Mrs. Roper is actually kinda hard with a "New Yoark" accent. Plus, the Jenny character (now Janet) is amazingly bad! Well, by comparing her delivery with Joyce, Joyce is way better. They also seemed to flirt with a little romance between Jenny and Jack (like they did on the British series.) Plus, there was a bit more racy innuendos in the pilot that didn't make it to the series. MUST be seen.
Of course, everything else and all of the episodes are just great! Way better than the first season, hands down. I'm looking forward to watching them all over again. A MUST buy for those fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, very funny !!, September 28, 2008
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 2 (DVD)
Very good ! hilarious !! I am enjoying so much with my family the adventures.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Three's Company: Season 2
Three's Company: Season 2 by Don Nicholl (DVD - 2004)
$29.97 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.