Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best so far
A lot of fans have said that season 3 was the golden year of Three's Company and I couldn't agree more.

This season was the one when everyone was watching and was #1 in the ratings. We see Chrissy, Jack and Janet (and the Roepers) in their prime; They've grown used to the set and the characters are interacting like a well-oiled machine.

The transfer...
Published on November 7, 2004 by Avalon Daughter

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and cold
Some feel that this is the best season of "Three's Company," but I'm not sure that I can go that far. It certainly has some of the best individual episodes. The one where the old roommate visits, and the episode when Jack's roommates mistakenly think that he has fallen for a senior citizen, are classics.

Probably the single thing that makes this season so...
Published on April 26, 2009 by The Phantom


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, November 7, 2004
By 
Avalon Daughter (I wish I was in Glastonbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
A lot of fans have said that season 3 was the golden year of Three's Company and I couldn't agree more.

This season was the one when everyone was watching and was #1 in the ratings. We see Chrissy, Jack and Janet (and the Roepers) in their prime; They've grown used to the set and the characters are interacting like a well-oiled machine.

The transfer is MUCH better than season 1, which I still think was pushed out too early due to the passing of John Ritter. The extras are almost as good as season 2. We get to see the second pilot with "the other Chrissy" and turns out it was the second episode of the series. Kind of weird, isn't it? Regardless, it is interesting seeing another Chrissy but the character is so overdone I could see why they replaced her with Suzanne Somers.

Along with the extras is another memorandum to John Ritter with interviews from a lot of the cast (with the exception of Suzanne Somers, who in my opinion needs to grow up and be a part of this great DVD set.) There's also another bloopers reel as well as "the best of" moments of the main characters.

There's also a great function to play all the episodes of each disc (which is great if you're lazy like me.) The only thing I wish would be they would insert chapters within the episodes. Hitting the forward button takes you to the next episode rather than past the opening credits or otherwise. All the original openers along with promos from John Ritter and ending tags have all be reinserted, so on the disc is what you saw when it originally aired.

For fans, always recommended. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 is Great....also a little sad, February 10, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
This is the last season the Ropers were around and having watched countless specials about the backstage crap between the actors, I remember Norman Fell described as being very broken hearted that he and Audra Lindley weren't allowed to come back to this show after The Ropers failed to get an audience. (Still hoping they'll release The Ropers and even Three's a Crowd on DVD as well) As much as I love, LOVE, Don Knotts, it would have been to fun to have had all three of them on the series somehow. (Don Knotts doing maintenance?)

My only real problem with the series on DVD, so far, has been the complete lack of Suzanne Somers on the bonus material. ( a little Priscilla Barnes wouldn't hurt either!!, loved Terri) If this is somehow a slap in her face for something that happened 25 years ago, we the audience are the one's suffering...once again! Joyce Dewitt is wonderful, and still very beautiful, on the bonus material and everything seems heartfelt but the fact that she and Suzanne Somers aren't together on these discs is very depressing for this viewer, they must have many great stories to share together that have nothing to do with who did what to who 25 years ago.

I highly recommend this DVD set as well as Seasons 1 & 2. Here's to future Three's Company fans....Enjoy KIDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BINGO!, November 5, 2004
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
To date:

Season 1: Poor DVD conversion quality, few extras, GREAT episodes, GREAT menu system.

Season 2: Reasonable DVD conversion quality, loads of extras, menu system just as good. Episodes vary from GREAT to good. The best episode featuring the episode where Chrissy finds marijuana in the back yard. Be on the look for when Mr Roper says a particularly stinging comment to his wife, he turns to another camera and makes this hilarious look on his face. The big bonus was the original pilot. I didn't care for the names or the blonde roommate, though I liked the brunette's character and actress who played her. Pity she didn't stay on. But John Ritter, Norman Fell, and Audra Lindley were perfectly cast.

Season 3: Very good DVD conversion quality (which actually allows more of the master tape's defects to be seen, but to repair that damage would sadly be too expensive), same format of extras, and episodes vary from good to GREAT (more GREAT ones). The other pilot, essentially episode 2 from season 1, simply goes through the paces - fortunately, somebody found Suzanne Sommers, who makes the show her own in season 3. While the Mr Roper-looks-at-the-camera shtick is mostly gone, we're replaced with an increasingly comic and hilarious Chrissy. From her catchphrase snort giggle that always drew laughs to silly facial expressions and comments, Suzanne made the character her own in this season.

Also included are interviews, hosted by Joyce DeWitt. The Larry Kline interview was exceptional.

Prime episodes in season 3 include (in no particular order):

Jack Moves Out

The Bake-Off (classic!)

The Best Laid Plans

The Older Woman

Chrissy's New Boss

My Sister's Keeper

Helen's Rendezvous

Eleanor's Return

The Fast (classic!)

Good Old Reliable Janet

And while many people think that the Three's Company episode that was the pilot to "The Ropers" was part of season 3, it wasn't. (so if you liked "The Ropers", that DVD set will contain the spinoff pilot featuring the regular cast.)

In short, this set is worth every penny put into it. Exceptional job to Anchor Bay, and I anxiously await season 4 that will include Don Knotts (possibly the only person who could replace the Ropers, though when they eliminated Chrissy Snow they could never fess up to their mistake!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets!, November 21, 2005
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
If you want to experience Three's Company in all of its glory, I would definitely recommend this season above all of the others! I actually own all of the seasons that have been released, (5 so far), but I know that purchasing all box sets can be costly at 30 bucks a pop. But if I had to pick a favorite of all of the seasons, Season 3 would be the winner, (Season 2 coming in a close second).

It was at the peak of its popularity in its '78-'79 season and became the #1 show of the year. It is also final season with all of the original castmates; at the end of the season, Audra Lindley and Norman Fell's characters made their final appearance before leaving to try their luck with a spin-off; the Ropers would only return for one more episode at the end of Season 5. The chemistry of the original roommates is amazing and I believe is unmatched in the later seasons with all of the cast changes.

Three's Company has been criticized for being too silly and unbelievable. First of all, I think one of the show's major appeals is that it IS so light-hearted and goofy. Its sole purpose is to create laughter through pratfalls and misunderstandings, however outrageous they may be.

In my eyes, this is the absolute best of Suzanne Somers, before her character's stupidity began to become distracting. I felt as though in later seasons, she sounds whiny. Though Chrissy's not the sharpest tool in the shed, her naive personality makes her cute, (although I don't believe Suzanne Somers is exceptionally attractive). John Ritter is amazing with his physical comedy, and Joyce DeWitt's character makes for the perfect mediator for Jack and Chrissy. This season is FULL of classic episodes, (my favorites being The Fast, My Sister's Keeper, Larry's Bride, The Best Laid Plans, The Harder They Fall, and Jack Moves Out).

I would recommend this show to anyone who can appreciate the simplicity yet brilliance of this suggestive (by 70's standards) sitcom. Go ahead and knock on that door... you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come and knock on our door. . ., January 11, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
I am not old enough to remember when Three's Company caused such a stir in its original television airing. I simply caught an episode or two on Nick at Nite one evening and was hooked and was thrilled when they began releasing the seasons on DVD, although it seems that it took the much-to-early death of John Ritter to trigger those releases.

Three's Company was comic gold. The dim-wittedness of Chrissy Snow, the straight-laced Janet Wood and the physical comedy of Jack Tripper made for one incredibly funny household. Add to the mix the bling-bling of ladies' man Larry Dallas and the sexually frustrated Helen Roper and her not-so-erotically-charged husband Stanley and season three was Three's Company at full stride and in full comic mode.

Suzanne Somers made a name for herself playing Chrissy Snow, the blond daughter of a minister, still naive in the ways of the world. Her blondness combined with the positions she found herself in led to many great situations for the roomates.

Joyce DeWitt, who along with John Ritter, was with the show for the entire length of the series, often had to serve as the straight to her comic roomates, but she did have her own moments to shine as well.

John Ritter was the glue that held Three's Company together. His comic genius is shown in every light in this season and he shows why audiences loved to watch his show. His farce of being gay so that he can live with the two women leads to some great situations with his landlord Mr. Roper. Of course Jack manages to find trouble pretty well all by himself.

Norman Fell and Audra Lindley, who played the Ropers, the roomates' landlords, left the show at the end of this season as they rode off into spin-off land, only heard from once again and replaced by Don Knotts in season four. Fell and LIndley brought a great quality to the show, one of parental guidance for the kids, yet at the same time they found plenty of exploits of their own.

This DVD set features a couple of features on John Ritter and how he helped shape this show. Some of these interviews are quite informative. There is also a great commentary on a classic episode, "The Bake-Off," provided by Chris Mann, the author of a behind-the-scenes book on the show.

This show allowed me, unable to appreciate it in its time, the chance to really appreciate the talent of John Ritter and the comedy of this show. While the storylines can be tame by today's standards, this show still carries a comedic punch that will keep you laughing until Season Four arrives in stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season - Great Episodes One by One, July 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
3-01 Double Date:
Jack pretends he's sick to get out of a date with his girlfriend Linda so he can spend some time with a new girl. He finds that acting ill is harder than it sounds.

3-02 Good Old Reliable Janet:
Janet gets stuck with staying at home and letting the phone repair man in while the others go out and have fun. Tired of being seen as the good, reliable girl, she decides to join the nudists down at the beach with their demonstrations and takes Mrs. Roper along

3-03 The Love Diary:
In order to make some extra money, Chrissy types a manuscript written in diary format that talks about a woman who is in love with her older, dignified neighbor downstairs. When Mr. Roper sees Chrissy typing he thinks he is the old, dignified neighbor.

3-04 The Fast:
Jack and Chrissy have a contest to see who can go without the longest. Jack has to abstain from women and Chrissy has to abstain from food.

3-05 Helen's Rendezvous:
Mr. Roper is not getting along with his best friend Jerry. When Mrs. Roper asks the trio to use their apartment to talk to Jerry privately, they think she is having an affair with Jerry.

3-06 My Sister's Keeper:
Jack takes Janet's visiting sister around town but Janet gets angry when he accidentally slips into bed with her in the middle of the night in a sleepy daze.

3-07 Chrissy and the Guru:
Jack and Janet are concerned that they are going to lose Chrissy when she falls for the smooth talking of a guru with bad intentions.

3-08 Larry's Bride:
Larry thinks that he has found the girl he wants to marry but things get complicated when she makes a pass at Jack.

3-09 Chrissy's New Boss:
Janet and Jack think Chrissy got the promotion at her office because she was wearing a low cut dress.

3-10 The Crush:
The little girl the Ropers are asked to take care of for a while develops a crush on Jack.

3-11 The Kleptomaniac:
When Jack sees Chrissy go through his drawers to loan Mrs. Roper some emergency cash, he believes Chrissy has psychological issues which manifest in her stealing from people.

3-12 The Party's Over:
Mr. Roper finds out that the girls and Jack are planning to throw a noisy party upstairs and sabotages their plans. Outraged that he has gone too far this time, Mrs. Roper moves out.

3-13 Eleanor's Return:
When their former roommate Eleanor returns, Jack thinks he is on his way out. To get back, he decides to bake a cake made entirely of sawdust for Eleanor during the welcome back party the girls throw for her.

3-14 The Older Woman:
Jack falls for a woman who is slightly older than him but Janet and Chrissy become concerned when they mistake the woman's mother for the woman Jack is dating.

3-15 Stanley's Hotline:
When Chrissy develops a wart on her hand and thinks about the various ways to get rid of it, Mr. Roper, who has been eavesdropping through the pipes, thinks she is pregnant and wants to get rid of the baby.

3-16 The Catered Affair:
Jack caters an office party for Chrissy but gets in trouble when some of his chocolate mousse cake ends up all over the sleazy president's clothes.

3-17 The Best Laid Plans:
When the girls find a mouse in their room, a terrified Janet moves into Jack's room while Jack tries hard to get to move into the bedroom with Chrissy.

3-18 The Harder They Fall:
Jack breaks his leg on the stairs just before Chrissy and him are going out so that Janet can have the place to herself and a new guy.

3-19 The Bake-Off:
Chrissy accidentally eats a pie that Jack has prepared to represent his school in a bake-off contest.

3-20 An Anniversary Surprise:
When Mr. Roper alludes to a big surprise that he is going to have for Mrs. Roper on their anniversary, the roommates think that he is going to leave her for another woman.

3-21 Jack Moves Out:
Jack ponders a job offer to become a live-in cook but reconsiders when the lady of the house makes a pass at him.

3-22 Triangle Troubles:
Jack starts dating a new girl and they both try to hide from the other the fact that they live with two members of the opposite sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The gang's back with more laughs..., June 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
In Season Three, roommates Jack, Janet and Chrissy's friendship is going strong, despite a number of things that test it -- a bet regarding men's and women's willpower, the illusion of Jack seducing Janet's younger sister during a visit, and more.

Some of the best episodes include "The Love Diary," where Chrissy takes on a freelance job typing a fictitious diary about a young woman's trysts, which Mr. Roper stumbles upon and believes is about Chrissy's secret love for him; and "Good Old Reliable Janet," where, tired of being taken advantage of for being dependable, Janet decides to participate in a nude beach demonstration with Mrs. Roper.

Meanwhile, downstairs, the Ropers continue in the familiar way, trading barbs while Stanley dodges sexual advances from the muumuu-clad Helen. While some of their lines are indeed humorous, their overall style of interaction is a bit tired and too predictable after three seasons. Yes, we know that Helen wants sex and Stanley doesn't. No matter how you say it, it's still the same, never-changing story. Look for some fresh material to involve the characters.

Season Three also includes more regular interaction with Larry, who was nominally introduced in the previous season.

Like all the other Three's Company box sets, Season Three includes a number of bonus features, including bloopers and commentaries.

Overall, this is classic comedy at its finest -- it's guaranteed to give your spirits a lift within moments of watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This!, March 17, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
Three's Company will always be a timeless classic. I watch the episodes over and over and never get tired of them. I think Season 3 is the best. I like Furley in the later seasons, but nothing beats the Ropers. If I'm ever feeling down, I just pop one of the 4 DVD's in and I'm instantly cheered up. If you love Three's Company, then buy this. Every episode is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Girls + 1 Guy in 1 apt = FUN! (of all sorts), January 21, 2005
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
Everyone have said this before, so I will not give the same spiel again. Let me just say BUY THIS COLLECTION!!! BUY ALL OF IT! If you like comedy that has over-the-top dirty humor along with good clean fun and a dose of heartwarming friendship, you found the right series. (Do we really need to review Three's Company, who has not seen it?) The only bad part of the DVD is that it ends... John Ritter is the original King of Comedy. I really do believe people connect with Jack Tripper, he is the boy next door, the guy you could always count on when you need help, the guy who the girls go to when a boy breaks their hearts and the guy who always got the short end of the stick because his values were uncompromisable. Beyond all the laughter and smiles, this show was about someone you can't help but admire.

Something which you would not have gotten when the show ended in the 80's is the wonderful interviews of the cast in each DVD collection. Joyce Dewitt gives a heartwarming recount of John Ritter's professional and private life, on and off screen, along with many others. Expect a box of kleenex for the girls out there, after the laughter, unfortunately there may be some tears. We will all miss John, he definitely had the most infectious smile. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lite Mood, January 14, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three's Company: Season 3 (DVD)
Even today with so many Comedy shows available to us they are still no patch for the kind of humour that is packed into 3's Company. One of the very few shows that seldom fails to bring a laugh no matter who watches it & none the worse for wear. The Ropers have gone - enter Dan Knotts as Mr. Furley the landlord and triple the laughter. I have seasons 1-4 and hope to collect the entire lot over a period of time. A must watch for die hard laughter fans along with such treats as The Cosby Show, Condo, Golden Girls, The Jeffersons, Cheers etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Three's Company: Season 3
Three's Company: Season 3 by Don Nicholl (DVD - 2004)
$29.97 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.