Customer Reviews


870 Reviews
5 star:
 (712)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Afraid Of Michael Jackson
These days Michael Jackson seems to be more of a cartoon character than a recording artist. His exploits get more than attention than his music. Forget that his best friend is a chimpanzee and he lives at a place called Neverland and just listen to the music. The album crosses across all music genres and gives the listener a little bit of everything. There's pop,...
Published on July 14, 2000 by P Magnum

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, But Not Multichannel - Why Bother?
I've had the vinyl and regular CD versions of Thriller for years and looked forward to hearing it on a multichannel SACD. Imagine my disapointment to discover it was remastered only into stereo. My wife didn't know that before she bought it for me for Christmas. The SACD version sounds great, but I don't think significantly better than the regular CD version. Get this...
Published on January 24, 2004 by gojmo62


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Afraid Of Michael Jackson, July 14, 2000
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
These days Michael Jackson seems to be more of a cartoon character than a recording artist. His exploits get more than attention than his music. Forget that his best friend is a chimpanzee and he lives at a place called Neverland and just listen to the music. The album crosses across all music genres and gives the listener a little bit of everything. There's pop, rock, r & b and dance rhythms; slow, fast and midtempo songs. "Wanna Be Startin' Something" gets the album moving. It's a disco inferno and builds up to a chanting crescendo. The next two songs slow things down after the frenzied opening. One of the two non-singles, "Baby Be Mine" is a nice mid-tempo song and then comes the superstar duet with Paul McCartney "The Girl Is Mine". The song shows off both the artist's vocal talents as they trade verses fighting over a girl's affection. You can almost see the song as a passing of the torch from the Beatles to Jackson as the world's biggest act. The humorous "Thriller" follows and it contains Vincent Price's debut as a "rapper". "Beat It" is the song that pushed the album into the cultural phenomenon that it was. By employing guitar god Eddie Van Halen on the song, Jackson was able to break out of the mold of an R & B artist and reach a vast white audience. Jackson showed he was able to transcend all labels and reach listeners of all colors and musical tastes. The first number one song on the album follows. It was a searing performance of the song, "Billie Jean", on the Motown 25th anniversary special that helped show Jackson's amazing dancing abilities and push album sales into the stratosphere. It was also the first video by a black artist to gain major airplay on the predominately white MTV, setting the stage for other black artists like Prince to start reaching a more diverse audience. "Human Nature" is a pretty ballad and "P.Y.T." is has more of a a hard edge. His sister Janet sings back up on the tune. The album closes with another ballad "The Lady In My Life". This album went on to sell 25 million copies and for a long time was the biggest selling album in history. It almost single handily pulled the recording industry out of it late 70's, early 80's sales funk and made MTV into the marketing machine it is today. It takes a very special album to do that and this is exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what about those jazz musicians on this CD?, August 26, 2006
By 
Spike Spiegel (Ipanema, San Francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
most reviews on this board missed out one important item. the musicianship on this CD under QJ is tremendous. any jazz fan will easily recognise some of the names on the credit list. Jerry Hay on trumpet (this cat has long experience leading big bands and you can hear jerry from Chuck Mangione all the way to Dave Grusin's big band), Greg Phillanganes, another superb expert on synthesizer, Larry Williams on sax. Williams, in his own right is a fantastic tenor sax guy and you hear him very often on the GRP jazz label and then you have George Duke, man alive, here is a master of jazz who migrated through four generations from main stream jazz to fusion (rock) jazz and then collaborated a few funky jazz CD with bassist Stanley Clark.. then you have Paulinho da Costa, the famed Brazilian/American percussionist providing the beat, subtle but substantial. you can hear Paulinho from Dave Grusin to George Benson... in fact, Paulinho played with Jazz greats like Dizzy Gillespie, Oscar Petersen...... with all these great cats. finally, what am i talking here, Quincy Jones HIMSELF was/is a jazz artist. those follow jazz will remember his days playing trumpet in the 60s and even 70s. QJ himself later was heavily involved with Duke Ellington and Count Basie in arranging the music. it is not surprising that he brought in the "musicians' musicians" to add some serious musicianship to this endeavor.

i regret that no reviewer has paid any attention on this fantastic line up of musicians behind this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential ... if you don't already have the original CD, October 19, 2001
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
The sound quality of the original CD release of "Thriller" was already pretty great (I remember it being used as a demo disc when I bought my first CD player in 1985), but it's been goosed and buffed up here a bit - mostly in the removal of background hiss, etc. The contents of the original album are well known enough to go without comment. The additions are not much of an attraction, however : 2 previously unreleased session songs and one home demo ("Billie Jean") that are interesting but don't shake the rafters. The rest are interviews (try listening to those twice) and the "missing" second verse of the "Thriller" rap by Vincent Price. Booklet does have some nice new notes, but if you have the original "Thriller" CD there really isn't much here to make this an essential purchase, just a luxury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest selling album in HIStory just got better, October 16, 2001
By 
Oded Shopen (Ashqelon, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
The re-issued package includes a gold-pressed CD, a new booklet, and alot of bonus material:
1. interviews with co-producer quincy jones.
2. ***DEMO OF BILLIE JEAN***! AMAZING STUFF! you gotta hear it to belive it, there weren't any lyrics yet to the song, so MJ just hums and makes up words along the way! a classic!
3. a demo of Michael with Vincent Price, for the rap part of "Thriller". you can hear an entire new verse from the rap, never before released.
4. brand new song from the thriller era that was originally recorded for the album but was taken out (vinyl's time limitations, i guess). the song's called "Carousel". it very beautiful, although i'm a bit disappointed it wasn't the entire song (only 1:50 minutes).
In short? a must have. needless to say, all the wonderful tracks have been remastered by engineer Bruce Sweiden, under the direction of Michael himself.
Enjoy the King of Pop!
Oded S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album to thrill the generations., June 1, 2002
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Thriller is absolutely a trmendously creative album in MJs catalog. No wonder it became the biggest selling album of all time selling 47 million copies worldwide!
Noone will ever forget the incredible title track with the Vincent Price narration and the timeless video. The same goes for the tile glowing video 'Billie Jean' or the angsty 'Beat It'. MJ really expresses a "don't mess with me" attitude with class. Beat It will last forever.
Most of the rest of Thriller to me is similar to Quincy Jones' 'The Dude' LP.
In fact I often enjoy the lesser known songs on Thriller a bit more. Human Nature is absolutely a lovely song and is almost opposite to Thriller. I consider this one of my favorite love songs of my lifetime. Lady In My Life is my other favorite song on Thriller. Sorry dudes but while the whole album is great, The Lady In My Life and Human Nature share the crown as my top favorite songs.
The remastered edition includes new liner notes, interviews about the albums making, and a few bonus songs. Someone In The Dark is a very beautiful song although the E.T. singing was a bit jarring. There is a demo version of the huge hit 'Billie Jean' that was recorded before the regular version was eventually made. The last bonus track Carasoul is a bit dissapointing. It's only one and a half minutes long. The song should have been at least three and a half minutes long. Oh Well.
At least there are great new liner notes, and great photo stills taken from the video and behind the scenes.
Although the remastered edition could have been better this CD is absolutely incredible.
It's a shame that so many people my age completely missed this album during it's heyday although it's still immensely popular. I was only about 4 weeks old when it came out but it is one of the earliest memories I have of listening to music.
Thriller I bet will more than likely be still available in 2082, 100 years after it's release. It's that good. This CD is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller - 20 Years Later., December 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
"Thriller" isn't simply the greatest selling album of all time. To evaluate an album of this magnitude solely on sales doesn't begin to do it justice. It literally turned the music industry on its head, and it ignited a cultural revolution I haven't seen in my 30+ years on this earth. "Thriller" changed the way we listen to music, it jumpstarted MTV culture, and it took Michael Jackson's celebrity to astonishing heights that not even he could handle. But on its very own merits, "Thriller" is still an excellent album flawlessly crafted by producer Quincy Jones and Jackson. The opener, "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'," the crossover rock jam "Beat It," the funky "P.Y.T.," the signature hit "Billie Jean," and the stomping title track are nothing short of perfect. Even the somewhat sappy duet with Paul McCartney "The Girl Is Mine" has a playful sweetness that you can't resist. But I think "Thriller"'s most underrated track is the closing ballad "The Lady in My Life," an album cut that's just as good as the seven (yes, seven) tracks that were released as singles. In 2001, Sony reissued "Thriller" as a "special edition." While this release is said to be remastered, the sound quality is virtually identical to the previous CD version, and that's not a bad thing. For a 1982 album, both versions project remarkably well, with booming bass and impressive clarity. But what really sets this "special edition" apart is the bonus material that follows this album which clocks at over 70 minutes. We get interviews with Quincy Jones and songwriter Rod Temperton who discuss "Thriller"'s making, the conception of certain tracks, and so forth. Some comments are more useful than others, but I thought both Jones and Temperton helped provide a somewhat intimate look at the making of this recording. Also, we get some additional tracks. "Someone in the Dark" is a ballad that I personally thought was pretty forgettable. We also have a rough demo version of "Billie Jean" with slightly different lyrics. Vincent Price also drops by in the form of a voice-over session for the song "Thriller." The last track is "Carosel," originally recorded for the album but was eventually dropped. It's actually a pretty decent tune, and I personally believed it would have fit into the rest of the album nicely. Sony clearly gave this album the royal treatment, and deservedly so since it is a definite and untouchable 1980s classic. While Jackson would suffer a slow and steady transformation into self-parody, there's no denying his status as a legend. This album, even after 20 years, remains a thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Renaissance of Modern Music, October 23, 2006
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Jazz, R&B, Rock, Soul, Funk, and Pop music had all existed before 1982, but when this album came out, it literally combined all the elements and paved the way for what music is today. From recordings to performances to worldwide sales and recognition, Jackson set the standards for it all. Hundreds of years from now, this will still be looked back on as quite possibly one of the finest albums ever recorded.

While Quincy maintained his masterful touch on all the recordings, Jackson lent his to the timeless compositions of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'", "Beat It", and "Billie Jean", songs that have literally become signature songs of the 1980s, and showed the world just how musical Michael could be. Aside from those recordings, master songwriter Rod Temperton ("Rock with You", "Off the Wall", "Always and Forever") and R&B soulman James Ingram contributed their own unique tracks, as well. From "Thriller" to "P.Y.T.", every song here literally changed the course of music as a whole.

While some have maintained that there are far better albums in music history's catalogue, I have yet to come across any with as much quality, energy, diversity, and versatility as this one. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever, April 6, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Stop giving Michael Jackson's albums bad reviews because of his trial. Review it because of the music.

Anyway back to the album.

Wanna Be Startin' Something- Has a great sound. A classic. 5/5

Baby Be Mine- A good song. 5/5

The Girl is Mine- another okay song. 4/5

Thriller- the best song with an even better video. The grand daddy of them all. A true MJ classic. 5/5

Beat It- Another MJ classic. The Guitar solo is awesome! 5/5

Billie Jean- The other MJ classic. Shows his true talent. Especially at Motown 25 with his first moonwalk. 5/5

Human Nature- A nice slow ballad. 5/5

P.Y.T- a catchy beat. I love it!- 5/5

Lady in my Life- A nice slow way to end the album. 5/5

The #1 selling album is also the greatest. Buy this and you won't regret it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the most thoroughly (and repeatedly) listenable album ever, November 5, 2006
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
What more can be said about this album? Every song is worth hearing so many times that it's just nearly impossible to get tired of it. SEVEN of its 9 songs charted at number 10 or better, and even "Baby Be Mine" was getting a fair amount of airplay well over a year after the album was released. Personally, though, my favorite song from the album is "PYT" even though songs like "Billie Jean" and "Beat It" were more successful. Even if he comes to be regarded as the strangest person ever to walk the earth, this album should still be treated like royalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE best album of all time! The epitome of music!, January 19, 2005
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
It is absolutely no wonder why Michael Jackson is so well known once you listen to this album. This is, without a shadow of a doubt, THE ultimate album. Once you listen to this album, you'll also have no questions about how it is the top selling albums of all time.

Of course, people have been saying "The Eagles: Their Greatest Hits" have topped Thriller. After having a hell of a time searching for the worldwide sales of Eagles: Their Greatest Hits, I discovered that no, the Eagles album DID NOT top Thriller. Thriller sold 55 million worldwide, the Eagles: Their Greatest Hits sold 42 million. It turns out many people are saying the Eagles top MJ because they got the best sales in America. Apparently, all you need to do to get the title of "Best Selling Album of All Time" is to get the top sales in America (yes, this is sarcasm, people).

Anyway, concerning the album's music, I will say this: The ONLY album I've ever known which has ALL good songs. Even Mike's other albums did not top this, unfortunately (for him and for fans). This album is so good that it completely overshadowed his future albums. His future records had to live in the shadow of this incredible album.

Concerning individual songs:
1. Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' - Great track, espcially the neat ending 10/10
2. Baby Be Mine - A soft track that is pretty good 8/10
3. The Girl Is Mine - Another soft track with Paul McCarthy that is really good 9/10
4. Thriller - It would be a sad, sad thing if you did not know this track 10/10
5. Beat It - The music is good, the lyrics are addictive, and the video is not bad 10/10
6. Billie Jean - Many considers this to be the best dance song of all time and for good reasons 10/10
7. Human Nature - A highly addictive soft track 10/10
8. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) - A half soft/fast track that sticks in your head 8/10
9. The Lady In My Life - Another soft song, but somewhat better than the others, in my opinion 9/10

Jesus Christ, can you believe that? A whole album where the lowest grade a song gets is an 8! That is simply incredible, especially for me. Nowadays, I consider an album a good buy if it has 4 good songs, but this album has 9 good songs!

There's a number of people out there who don't listen to Michael Jackson because they say he's a child molester. I personally ask some of these anti-MJ people if they like R. Kelly and they told me yes. I'll leave you guys to judge for yourself.

Anyway, whether you're an MJ fan or not, you simply can not doubt the quality of this album. All fans of music should own this album! For me, I give it every recommendation in my book. Once again, I reiterate, BEST ALBUM EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thriller
Thriller by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.