Customer Reviews


300 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS THE THIRD METRIC THE WAY FORWARD?
Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Arianna Huffington is a truly inspiring and refreshing book everyone should read. The deluge of books for reviews almost prevented me from having a look. I am glad I managed to squeeze in time to discover what this book is all about.

In the book, Huffington...
Published 7 months ago by the GreatReads!

versus
154 of 194 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let's all eat cake. Other books teaching us how to enjoy life are so much better than this one.
I will save you $15 by giving you a Cliff's notes synopsis of this book. A friend previewed this book for a possible selection for our book group, in the non-fiction category. She thought it was awful and I agreed.
Huffington fell and hit her head, and in a moment of clarity she decided to make her life more meaningful, write a book and make more money. She...
Published 6 months ago by Wallaby


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS THE THIRD METRIC THE WAY FORWARD?, March 20, 2014
This review is from: Thrive (Audible Audio Edition)
Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Arianna Huffington is a truly inspiring and refreshing book everyone should read. The deluge of books for reviews almost prevented me from having a look. I am glad I managed to squeeze in time to discover what this book is all about.

In the book, Huffington spells out how one can live a great and healthy life. Her insightful advice coupled with her wonderful writing style makes the book really enjoyable. Her sage and sane advice about getting enough sleep, meditations and shifting one's core values beyond the control of money and power is truly life-changing and thought-provoking. This, in essence, is "the third metric." It is an attempt to redefine success and create a vibrant life full of wisdom and wonder.

One important aspect of the book is its advice to unplug from technology and social media. In a world hooked to the social media such advice may seem ill-conceived but from Huffington's perspective it is badly needed. Though the book has its own shortcomings, I honestly believe that many readers will take some of the advice to heart and be inspired to redefine success, create a life of well-being, wisdom and wonder the Arianna Huffington-way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense is Not Always Common Practice, March 25, 2014
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book full of practical wisdom for dramatically improving your life. So many of the facts and stories shared here remind you of things that just got away from you in all the stress and time famine we deal with today: you forgot to be intentional, to sleep, to linger in the moments that matter with full presence, to be more understanding and empathetic and giving with others, to have a full life of fun and wonder outside of your inbox, to say "no" so that you don't drive your life into the ground. These might sound like common sense takeaways, but we all know that common sense is not always common practice. Sanity on the path to success, it turns out, is a choice. With all its tips on mindfulness, self-control, productivity, forgiveness, and giving, this book is a great roadmap for that journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really wonderful book!, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a really wonderful book about rethinking our ideas of success! Arianna shares her life transforming vision of a world that focuses on compassion, happiness, and paying attention to the important things in life. It’s very well written and incredibly researched.

Some of the research you read in this book will have the potential to massively change the outcome of your life.

This book covers a tremendous amount of ground; it looks into compassion, happiness, stress, and the consequences of not using our attention correctly. The information on incorporating healthcare initiatives into corporations could save businesses a tremendous amount of money. She talks about how the Huffington Post is using meditation, yoga, and has nap rooms.

This book brilliantly addresses burnout, which seems to be one of the number one problems in the workplace. She covers some fascinating research on how much time we spend checking emails and what it’s doing to our well-being. She also offers solutions on dealing with the problem.

She discusses the importance of stepping away from technology, to reboot, and gives the research to why this is essential to our health.

This book will probably teach you things about life that you’ve never read in any other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 194 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let's all eat cake. Other books teaching us how to enjoy life are so much better than this one., May 2, 2014
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder (Hardcover)
I will save you $15 by giving you a Cliff's notes synopsis of this book. A friend previewed this book for a possible selection for our book group, in the non-fiction category. She thought it was awful and I agreed.
Huffington fell and hit her head, and in a moment of clarity she decided to make her life more meaningful, write a book and make more money. She suggests:

1. Don't work so hard! Money is not all that important. (Although I do not see AH giving away all her money now that she has found peace ) This only applies to millionaires who do not suffer when their income drops from six million to only five or so. She does not have any practical tips for all of us out here who work way too hard just to make expenses. And if we take the luxury of working less, we will be out of a job.

2. Don't be so hard on your employees and make them work dreadful overtime. No comment.

3. Learn to meditate and develop natural peace. (Again, this is expensive and it helps to have full time housekeepers )

4. Enjoy the ride, don't stress out , learn to live in the moment, cut out activities that waste your time.

5. Oh, and THE THIRD METRIC! It sounds like AH has found the MEANING OF LIFE ! A gimmick to sell this awful book. This is all it is: When you are just out of college and are working so hard to get ahead, you will think of others as competition. Do not waste this time in your life by working all the time. Enjoy being poor! It is better than realizing later that money does not define success. That is all the THIRD METRIC is.

There are dozens of good books that have the same message with loads more practical tips and actually apply to everyone, not just mega-rich women who will still be mega-rich even though she has decided to slack off and enjoy her life more. One that is much better on practicalities is Dale Carnegie's "Enjoy Your Life and Job." A more philosophical one, and excellent is Frankl's "Man's Search for Meaning".
We are choosing another book for our group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not at all what I expected. Really boring. All I got from this book is "sleep a lot" I basically skipped pages and pages of boring, boring, boring. Waste of money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Collection of a Quotations Redeemed with Heartfelt Expressions of Love for Her Mother, June 22, 2014
By 
patrick reilly (aptos, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Other than the author's truly touching comments and anecdotes concerning her mother, this book reads like it was ghost written by a speech writer. Lots of well chosen and valuable quotations with the depth of a young-adult review of great thinkers. Recommended for high school sophomores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A multimillionaire says that money is not important, June 22, 2014
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder (Hardcover)
Really? Now that you have all the money you will ever need and that your family will ever need and now that basically you will never have to work again for money, now you tell us that money is not important? Really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, March 30, 2014
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder (Hardcover)
I listened to this on cd. 10 hours of driving in 2 days felt like ten minutes. The book is so good that I am buying the hardcover so I can refer to it frequently. Very inspiring and applicable. The book is my favorite in a few years. Highly recommended and time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I just can't do it, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really wanted to finish the book since I paid for it but I just could not do it. Half way through it and basically it's the same one paragraph rewritten 5,000 different ways. Each paragraph restates what the paragraph before that said... and the one before that.... and....you get the idea. Good grief! It was horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just started reading this book and I love love love it already., March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder (Hardcover)
A must read for anyone looking for a more balanced life. Great combination of bits and pieces from Arianna's life. Thanks so much sharing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder
$26.00 $17.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.