Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, eerie, apocalyptic, and utterly brilliant.
Well I can't even begin to describe how amazing this album is. But first of all, it should be noted that this is not music for people who just LISTEN to music. That's right, this is music you EXPERIENCE, or just get lost into. Neurosis aren't concerned with showing you complex and technical musicianship. They are talented on a whole other level. They have an uncanny...
Published on April 25, 2003 by James Cox

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I know a lot of people like it but...
I was told about these guys from a friend of mine whose taste i respect a lot. He told me to check them out after i told him i was in love with Blood Mountain by Mastadon. Not even close to the same thing. Neorosis is really slow and drowny, with long songs that don't really seem to go anywhere. It's metal so it's cool, but i probably won't listen to this too much...
Published on August 23, 2007 by Double A


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, eerie, apocalyptic, and utterly brilliant., April 25, 2003
By 
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
Well I can't even begin to describe how amazing this album is. But first of all, it should be noted that this is not music for people who just LISTEN to music. That's right, this is music you EXPERIENCE, or just get lost into. Neurosis aren't concerned with showing you complex and technical musicianship. They are talented on a whole other level. They have an uncanny ability to create a desolate, creepy, and trance-inducing atmosphere among the monsterous riffs and ambient uses of sound. The three vocalists are some of my favorite vocalists around in metal. Two of them use an eerie tortured yell that sounds very powerful. The third has a deep grunt that contrasts the somewhat higher vocals of the other two. The way they use the three vocalists is brilliant.
The album also has a certain flow like no other. Without a track indicator (like on your cd player), or if you aren't paying careful attention, it is very easy to get lost in the midst of this cd. You might not be able to tell what song or track you are on. This is a brilliant technique that is accomplished by making the tracks flow and merge into each other with soft interlude-like sounds and intros. And the 2 interlude tracks add to this technique and the atmosphere very effectively.
I love all of the tracks on this cd. But I would like to make a special note of the final 3 (or 4 if you count the interlude track). "Strength of Fates" is probably my favorite song on the album.... words cannot describe how eerie this track is. It starts out with nothing but haunting and cryptic sound samples that pass right by you very quickly to start a very unsettling atmosphere. A piano is added as well as some soft singing in the distance. The song builds and builds, and unleashes with a frightening amount of fury for the finale. "Aeon" has an incredible intro using strings and a piano before becoming another heavy track. It goes to a soft interlude before coming back and going into trance mode. It sounds like the end of the world. And finally, an apocalyptic track if there ever was one, "Enclosure in Flame" ends the album. It sounds like Aeon has exhausted all life from the album and Enclosure in Flame is a grueling attempt to squeeze out what little life the cd has left. The result is a torturus track, probably the darkest track I have ever heard in my life. Truly post apocalyptic.
I could go on forever about the how I feel when listening to this cd. If you've gone past the point of just LISTENING to music, than I couldn't recommend this CD more. Easily one of my favorite bands and cd's of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restrained Then Unleashed, July 13, 2003
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
Restrained, Heavy, Chugging, Tortureing, "Tribal Metal"... Beautiful
Neurosis are a band that care so much for what they say with thier words and with the visualy and audiotistically profound stage they present with their music. Any fan of them will forever be a fan. This band is filled with a respect for mother nature and human life that few bands will ever embrace.
Neurosis sound like a restrained freight train of mind opening brilliance. And when that train hits you you are derailed from the frustration of the closed minds that harbor conciousness, you can remember yourself long enough to admire your own endeavors. This album is thier greatest album amongst the other awesome albums they make.
If you like this album try others by Neurosis namely: "Enemy of the Sun" and "Souls At Zero"
Neurosis are definitive of musical taste and integrity. And they are not for people who like their music soft!
Also try "Isis", another band of real character influenced by Neurosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All Who are Sick of Deathcore, August 8, 2008
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
Sludge Metal, heck yeah! Neurosis is a big influence on bands such as Isis and Mastodon, and you can hear it. But what makes Neurosis different from those bands? A ______load. While Mastodon (don't know much about Isis) is good, Neurosis is a lot more original and refreshing sounding to these ears, especially because this record's sound is pretty shiny to these ears (this stuff so far? I like it!), having not much experience with slower metal (and there is a ton of genres out there that are slower, I know).

Through Silver in Blood is CRUSHING. Huge, sludgy riffs, deep brooding bass, tribal drumming. The dynamics and vocal really do it as well. Songs start out slow, build up with plenty of time to breath, and EXPLODE with riffs, shouts, screams, and surging bass lines. Whether or not Through Silver in Blood is the most crushing album ever is an opinion of choice, but even if it isn't the most crushing album, it won't save the fact it's crushing in general.

And there is no denying that there is at atmosphere. Yes, morons won't be able to see it, but it is. Apocalyptic, Tribal, Mayan civilization doing things, lot's of cool stuff done easily by this music. When listening to the first track, the atmosphere that conjures up the end of the world in the jungle in the moonlight, fire in the sky, easily done. Enclosure in Flames easily lives up to the title. The two tracks pack quite a punch in their five minute run. Strength of Fates is soft for most of it, then explodes like a bomb. The two interludes are great as well, and are worthy as any of the track on here.

And keeping up with the music are the lyrics. They add to the atmosphere and music, and while don't exactly make sense, it works in making the song come to life even more, given the theme of the album. And there are some piano, samples, and other instruments in the mix, to a great effect. Really, just a great job using all of what they got, with hardly any filler within songs.

Don't worry if Through Silver and Blood doesn't quite sound good on the first listen, when I first bought it, despite hearing some of the tracks online, was highly disappointed. But I then learned of it's many traits, it's brooding atmosphere, and acquired some tastes along the way after listening. This one is a essential purchase for metal fans, who want something beyond monotonous blast beats, or speed in general.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't say i've heard this before, December 19, 2005
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
i must say, Neurosis is one of the most original and unique bands i've heard in a long time. i hated them the first time i heard them. just sounded like a bunch of artsy-fartsy noise with some fuzzed guitar and tribal drumming. but then i got hooked on a few songs of theirs, bought this and then BAM... i finally realized how incredible they are. i don't quite understand why so many people label them "hardcore." i can't say i enjoy ANY hardcore band, yet Neurosis is incredible. to be honest, Neurosis is one onf those bands that you can almost classify, but then they suprise you with something that breaches any limitation you can put on them. they are as close to hardcore as they are euro-pop. many will never really get this band, and i see why. they are a little strange, they do require some patience. however, for those who openly endure those first few listens, the rewards of Neurosis are endless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough dose of musicianship; fantastic music concepts., December 21, 2008
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
First, a disclaimer. My review title might be a little misleading. By musicianship I do not declare this album to be an effort in technical extravagance. No, not by any stretch is this an album of consumate shredding at all. If you get your thrills in metal music from dynamic guitar play then perhaps this album, and this band, is not for you. Neurosis strive for a minimalist control over their sound.

But, on the matter of the music itself, Neurosis are amazing at what they do. They create a doom that's uniquely their own. They have an utterly sweeping and brutally convincing musical technique.

The opening song is a true example of everything Neurosis does with their style, imo. Don't get me wrong there. Neurosis does not repeat themselves, not even within a particular album. But, "Through Silver in Blood," as a song, is the epitome of what Neurosis is good at. A single riff, monotonously played and delivered throughout a sweeping and grand long song dripping with steel, molten and heavy. It's grinding and punishing. It's deliberately slow paced, as a giant moving through a city at his own pace, his own rhythm, unconcerned in all his power with the scramblings of the small creatures attempting to flee from his sheer potency in effect against such small and insignificant dwellings.

Ok, that may be a little dramatic, but you get the point. Neurosis is the Iron Man of metal music. In fact, Black Sabbath's great "Iron Man" is probably the closest comparison to what Neurosis does that I can get, yet it is still significantly far from the actual style as to be only a shade of the crude grace that is the album Through Silver in Blood.

If you've never heard them before, what I can tell you is that they are a cross between Black Sabbath and Alice in Chains in an obscure way, but without having the popular overtones of either of those bands. If you are looking for a great band with true niche in the metal world, Neurosis is it. Not even Meshuggah is so remotely in their own element as Neurosis is.

As for the album, Through Silver in Blood, itself. It is sweeping and dynamic, but minimal. There's no effort to solo the listener gracefully. No, the whole point is to be as doomy and grinding as possible, and this album achieves that wonderfully. This album is the very definition of "heavy metal." Through Silver in Blood is like eating steak, while most metal bands are more like fried chicken. This is a nice large piece of ribeye cooked just right. Savor the flavor of the music. Chew slowly. It's good stuff.

If you are stuck in a vein of loving bands like Metallica to the exclusion of accepting something quite a bit more experimental then you probably won't be able to accept bent convention enough to like this album, which in my opinion is a real shame. That's because the music here is so much richer and more significant than anything a band like Metallica has ever done, or will ever do.

My favorite song here is "Purify," with a nice meandering piece of riff that builds an elaborate tension throughout the song.

Trust me when I tell you that the 30 second sound bytes provided by amazon.com will not give you much indication of the effect of this music. While they will give you a feel for Neurosis' basic sound on this album, they will not translate to a real idea of what the band has done here. If you must hear what's happening before you buy it I recommend that you look up someone who has experience with this band and find out what their view of the album is. I doubt there are many who've listened to this album and not thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 5 'Nuclear Winter' albums..., January 18, 2008
By 
John Humphrey (Denver, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
It's a shame that Slayer has already trademarked the words 'Soundtrack to the Apocalypse', because Through Silver in Blood is clearly the more deserving album of such a coveted title. It's also a shame that my browser crashed after I'd written several verbose paragraphs detailing just how heavy--both sonically and thematically--this beast of a record is, but I think paraphrasing it will do it no harm.

Simply put, Through Silver in Blood is an immensely crushing album. Lyrically, it predicts the world's landscape after nuclear holocaust, and although that's a bold undertaking, the music is even more impressive by supporting such terrible visions. Psychadelic guitars hoisted by tribal drumming swell into bar riffing and tortured screams that herald the armageddon. Neurosis are a unique band, in that they combine different elements into one dense, refined sound, and they've never done it better than on this album. Through Silver in Blood is equal parts sludge, doom, post-metal, noise, ambient, drone, and psychadelia, and there's not a single note or word out of place. Running the risk of hyperbole, this is a perfect metal album, and certainly one of the genre's most unique, immersive and powerful albums of the 90s.

Ten years before the progressive-sludge genre boiled over with an excess of imitators, the band that paved the way for this genre produced a template that seethed heaviness like few other albums before or since. This may not be the best introduction to Neurosis (its predecessor, Enemy of the Sun, is slightly more conventional, and probably a better starting point), but as soon as my first listen to this album, I knew that my own definition of what 'heavy' meant had been changed forever. I'm not some Neurosis freak or anything--I only own half of their discography, and this is the only one I'd give a five star rating to. This isn't an album I play daily, or even monthly: you have to be in the right, catastrophic mindset to let this album really sink in. But man, what better album is there for those 'I wish the world was under six feet of radiating ash' days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Brutality, June 8, 2007
By 
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
Metal conjures up a lot of stereotypes, though different stereotypes based on who you ask. For the modern mainstream listener, it conjures up the angsty, simplistic down-tuned hard rock bands. For others, it can be the high-tempo, overly rhythmic double-bass pedal frenzy that's great for mosh pits and head-banging. Metal also invokes great melody and an over-abundance of guitar solos with long lineages of well-known shredders.

But the descriptions "slow" and "atmospheric" are almost alien to the Metal genre, and perhaps that's why Neurosis was so awkward and difficult to listen to at first. Sure, Through Silver In Blood packs with it the same loudness and distortion that are mainstays of Metal, but it strays so far from the main selling points of Metal. Namely, it doesn't have those high-tempo blastbeats and mindblowingly technical solos. In 1996, this album was indeed progressive, but not "Progressive" - that is to say it is far from the genre-alchemy of Prog-rock/Prog-metal and Rush clones like Dream Theater.

Neurosis is genuinely Metal in the sense that their music is bleak, brutal and apocalyptic, but their focus strayed from the formulaic "let's make it as fast and technical as possible" approach. Rather, Through Silver In Blood has a more textured, almost soundtrack feel to it, and this is due to Neurosis using droning repetition and tempering their songs with an element with a seemingly forgotten element of music - quietness. The often used analogy for Neurosis is that their music "oozes" or seeps forth from the speakers/headphones, but I don't think this quite does them justice. Songs build up from and break down to slower-paced, quiet sections, but there are also several moments where the music genuinely erupts into chaotic torrents of tribal drums, guitars, samples, and synths. I almost want to say that Through Silver In Blood would make a great horror-movie soundtrack - with the softer moments lulling one into a false sense of security, and then with either an explosion (this is especially true of the track "Strength of Fates") or slow buildup the listener finds oneself in a Silent Hill-esque world of gritty, distorted sound.

The backbones of the album are the epics "Purify" and "Aeon" that along with the title track and "Enclosure In Flame" all exceed the 10-minute mark a piece. "Aeon" is especially a masterpiece: starting with a simple piano melody, the song builds up with distorted guitars and tribal rhythm as Neurosis's three vocalists growl and scream off one another, and then breaks down to another quiet interlude which eventually is shattered by an outburst of distortion, which then slowly builds up to an almost "uplifting" section, and eventually ending with the piano returning with accompanying violins. Shorter tracks, such as "Eye" and "Locust Star" which both clock under six minutes, are much more direct in their approach. The interstitial tracks "Rehumanize" and "Become The Ocean" are short, sample-heavy tracks that advance the album's themes of war, apocalypse and spirituality. To me, the only tracks that detract from the value of the album are the bookends - "Through Silver in Blood" which is a bit too repetitive until the last minute or so, and "Enclosure In Flame" which really just seems to meander just a bit too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete Neurosis album since Souls at Zero, September 4, 2008
By 
Mr. Maybe (Information Highway, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Neurosis for years, but I wouldn't say a "die-hard" fan. I totally loved Souls at Zero, but most of their other work up until this was hit and miss for me. I liked a few songs off of Enemy of the Sun.

When I first heard this gem I was genuinely blown away. I could almost call it the "Sgt. Peppers album for tribal metal" or "post metal" or whatever other label people come up with for them.

I will warn the avid metal enthusiast that this album is not a straight, riff after riff thrash piece...Neurosis pulls out all the stops here, from heavy guitars, to organs, multiple drum sets, bagpipes, the list goes on. Scott Kelly doesn't disappoint with screeching vocals that are not unlike a specter screaming with its larynx torn out.

You almost need to be "in a state of mind" to appreciate the beauty here. It is not to be heard, but listened to and experienced. I also think the album is best heard start to finish, vs. song to song. It allows the listener to really lose themselves in the sound.

Purify is one of my favorite metal songs ever written, with ever-building crescendos to a climactic decline. Other notable tracks are Through Silver and Blood, Aeon and Locust Star.

A must have for any Neurosis fan, or any metal fan looking for the next plateau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow... close to perfect., March 19, 2004
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
Neurosis, Through Silver in Blood (Relapse, 1996)
Relapse continues to show it's the best label in America dedicated to releasing metal, consistently producing top-notch discs by bands that push the envelope. Neurosis has been one of those bands for a lot of years now.
Through Silver in Blood, the band's fifth full-length disc, combines straight-ahead metal, vocals that tread lightly into hardcore territory, epic structuring (four songs either approach or exceed ten minutes, none of them with Eric Clapton-ish extended bits that have nothing to do with the song's overall structure), and actual dynamics. Yes, there are soft bits!
The lyrics are a bit, well, twee ("Our destiny awaits/Survival of our wrath/The frigid apparition/Waits silently transcendent..." from "Purify," for example), but that's not terribly unsurprising on an album so top-heavy with mystical topics. But then, Steve von Till's shattered-glass-filled throat is going to make most of them unintelligible to you until you've listened to the disc enough that the music has you utterly captivated.
One of the better metal albums in my collection. Almost on a par with Elhaz' The Black Flame. **** ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reminiscing, May 19, 2008
This review is from: Through Silver in Blood (Audio CD)
I was revisiting this gem a few weeks ago and for some reason or another was moved to share my opinion of it with the world...I'm such a narcissist.

If the onslaught of various obnoxious subgenres don't raise any flags (alternative metal, apocalyptic metal, folk metal), let me assure you: Neurosis is not your average "metal" band. Newcomers beware! Truth be told, this is not a band that one just listens to. This is a band whose music (and visual accompaniment) is to be experienced. Do not just try to pop this into your car stereo for a casual listen on your way to the grocery store. You make time for this band.

From the opening seconds of the first track, you know you're in for something different. Tribal drumming lays the groundwork and makes way for the hypnotic guitar riffs and passionate vocals found throughout this
release. Through repetition and structural evolution, they transport the listener to another world. Who needs drugs when there are bands like Neurosis? Sculpting sound with emotional fervor, they paint sonic landscapes with aural brushes. Cavernous drums wed with mountains of low-end distortion and waves of agonizing screams. The music blends seamlessly from brutally heavy to serenely calm and back again. Despite the occasional breath-catching oasis, this remains a truly intense album.

Neurosis have been known to create devastatingly crushing, spiritually influenced records and this is definitely their most aggressive offering. It is with "Through Silver In Blood" that Neurosis push their way to the frontlines as one of the heaviest bands on Earth.

Other notable Neurosis releases: "A Sun That Never Sets", "Given To The Rising"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Through Silver in Blood
Through Silver in Blood by Neurosis (Audio CD - 2000)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.