Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Oekekerk Is NUTS! And It's GREAT!
Steve Oedekerk definitely has windmills in the splinters of his mind. But insanity isn't always a bad thing. Take Thumbtanic, for example. A hilarious send-up of blockbuster Hollywood movies is Steve's forte, and it is done here in style. Funny, fast paced, sight-gags a plenty, special effects, not-so-special effects, a cyclops, a giant marauding sp... well, shouldn't...
Published on May 17, 2002 by Doc Farmer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spend your money on a better flick!
Thumbtanic is one of about 5 film shorts with thumb actors. Out of the 2 that I have seen this is the one lacking in humor. I highly recommend you buy Thumb Wars instead. I got MANY more laughs out of it than I did Thumbtanic.
Published on September 15, 2002 by G. Sowa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Oekekerk Is NUTS! And It's GREAT!, May 17, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
Steve Oedekerk definitely has windmills in the splinters of his mind. But insanity isn't always a bad thing. Take Thumbtanic, for example. A hilarious send-up of blockbuster Hollywood movies is Steve's forte, and it is done here in style. Funny, fast paced, sight-gags a plenty, special effects, not-so-special effects, a cyclops, a giant marauding sp... well, shouldn't give too much away here.
Warning! As with any "Thumb-mation" epic, don't eat or drink during the viewing. You'll be laughing too hard to do that, anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, October 10, 2002
By 
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
This movie was great and very funny, it's an excellent parody of Titanic and it is better than the Blair Thumb. The extras arent great there is only some trailers, commentary and storyboards. The review under this says "The additional "cast interviews" are a riot". There are no cast interviews, so dont think there will be when buying this. I think anyone with a sense of humour must get this movie now and will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, July 12, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Steve O from Thumb Wars, Kung Pow, and the Blair Thumb. Of the thumb trilogy, I'd put Thumbtanic at #2 behind Thumb Wars. This is a good flick and well worth the purchase if you're a fan of wacky humor and talking thumbs with goofy facial expressions. The music video spoof had me rolling. I also own the original Titanic, which helps in getting all the parody elements. Definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, Inventive And Extremely Creative Steve O.!, August 13, 2002
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
Thumbtanic is another clever little short that makes me laugh. It has humor, sarcasm, wit and innuendos that are not always for children. (But the kids will love it.) They are actually Thumbs that have faces that will be superimposed on them.
It parodies very well Jim Cameron's Titanic very well. And duplicates scenes and situations that are all twisted and almost perverted at times but stay true the basic sarcastic tone of the original film. The story is the ship sinks in a very funny way and the funniest part is the theme My Thumb In My Heart. (A Celine Dion parody.)
Steve Oedekerk (Best known for the Ace Ventura films, Jimmy Neutron, The Nutty Professor and recently Kung Pao.) is the writer, producer and creator of several of these O Entertainment productions - including Bat Thumb, Thumb Wars and The Blair Thumb Project. He is slapstick and sarcastic in nature and these Thumbs have personality and an almost weird charm about them.
This is funny, short and they are technically well done. The art direction, special effects and even the music - which I thing is clearly superior - all make this adventure fun and exciting. To those who like oddball humor this is a must DVD to own. The extras include hysterical commentaries, outtakes, previews and storyboards. Get This DVD. (8-13-02)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spend your money on a better flick!, September 15, 2002
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
Thumbtanic is one of about 5 film shorts with thumb actors. Out of the 2 that I have seen this is the one lacking in humor. I highly recommend you buy Thumb Wars instead. I got MANY more laughs out of it than I did Thumbtanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I never saw the 3 hour long 'Titanic'..., February 24, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thumbtanic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
and if God is willing, I never WILL. But I did see 'Thumbtanic', a lovely picture of an event that never happened, about a ship, a giant piece of ice and a big spider. The hero, Jake, and his true love, Geranium, fall in love, do the nasty, learn to spit and escape the ship all in about 27 minutes. The rich thumbs make fun of the poor thumbs, the Captain is ALWAYS wearing a life-jacket and there are LOTS of funny accents. What MORE can you ask for?
If you liked this movie you will LOVE 'Thumb Wars'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gut-busting fun, June 2, 2004
By 
"queensarina" (Phoenix, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
You know that feeling, when you laugh so hard that it hurts your abs and makes you gasp for air, like someone punched you in the stomach? Well Thumbtanic punched me straight in the gut within the first five minutes. I own it and have seen it no less than six times, and I find something to laugh at every single time. See it, see it my friend! Sometimes you must swallow your pride and step away from the AFI Top 100 list and just go for a fun movie that will take your breath away-- literally. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art, August 18, 2003
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
Thumbtanic is one of those movies that you think will be stupid and pointless, but you end up falling in love with it! This movie has non-stop leaughs through the entire flick. The way that the movie captured each thumb's personality is amazing! This movie may not be the best thumb movie yet (The Godthumb is) but it comes close and leaves a funny feeling in you after watching it! Take it from me, this is one comedy/parody you just can't afford to pass by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part III of the Thumb series, July 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
This is a very funny short and one of the better in the series. A lot of the jokes are laugh out loud funny, but a few still don't work. Not as good as Thumb Wars, but good enough.
The DVD includes: A very funny commentary, storyboards, and trailers for this, Blair Thumb, Bat Thumb and the unreleased Frankenthumb.
This is the worst of the DVDs so far in the series because of barely any extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great!, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thumbtanic (DVD)
Funny remake of Titanic,highly reccomend buying as many thumb movies as you can,besides the blair thumb.Unless you think it would look good on your shelf,which i approve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thumbtanic
Thumbtanic by Todd Portugal (DVD - 2002)
$9.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.