Customer Reviews

64
4.2 out of 5 stars
Thundercats - Season One, Volume Two
Format: DVDChange
Price:$13.98 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
I love Thundercats. The stories are well written and well animated. Unfortunately, WB released these episodes without any restoration.

The good news is that I get to watch them on DVD. Once again, the box art is really cool. The DVD art is awesome as well. I guess that is where the money went into releasing this series. No inserts this time. Will we ever see Season 2? One can only hope.

Fans should be pleased with this sets special features as they are much better than part one. We actually get to see interviews with people from the show including voice actors. They even talk about the outtakes, which I was very happy to see verified.

More continuity issues as the famed Anointment Trials are broken up onto a few discs and are never back to back so if you want to watch them all in a row, prepare to skip around.

Hopefully enough people buy this so that other episodes are released and possibly restored one day.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2008
This cartoon is just amazing. It immediately took off when it first appeared on tv in 1985. I was 12 so a bit older but still very impressionable and was amazed with the series.

I don't know much about the technicalities of cartoon animation cause I still love scooby doo even though they go past the same spot about ten times as they run away.

But I do know, Thundercats stories have great morals. Very good topics and lessons for all to learn. I am a Christian and would let my children watch this cartoon. I plan on getting the whole series to own.

Simply an amazing show. I think it's great!

If you like this you may also be interested in the ORIGINAL He-man cartoon animation series. He will defend himself from evil. Never aggresively harm another person and helps out his enemy's that are in danger. Very good morals in this cartoon as well. And again with a valuable lesson to learn for all who watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2005
It is now time to complete the first season of Thundercats- the cartoon story of a long-running battle between good and evil, as our heroes the Thundercats use the power of their mystical sword of Omens to defeat the supernatural powers of the evil mummy Mumm-Ra and the troublesome mutants.

There are various highlights but the most important to the Thundercats saga are Lion-O's annointment trial days as he earns the right to be Lord of the Thundercats. On Day 1 he challenges Panthro's strength, on day 2 he challenges Cheetara's speed, on day 3 WilyKit and WilyKat's cunning, day 4 Tygra's mind power, and day 5 is the big one as he challenges his most powerful enemy Mumm-Ra. It is the first time we see Mumm-Ra destroyed- he was destroyed several times throughout the series before the Thundercats finally decided to leave him in existence and deal with him when it became necessary. I remember seeing the trials for the first time back-to-back but they are spread out between various episodes here. I think that's how it was originally broadcast. Other highlights include mutant Monkian confronting Mumm-Ra, the sword Excalibur defeating the sword of Omens and the introduction of Mumm-Rana. There are so many highlights here which nostalgic fans will be very happy to revisit. It is also the last time we see the adventures of just the original Thundercats, for new Thundercats are introduced at the beginning of Season 2.

This boxset has 1 special feature- Thundercats Ho! The Making of a Pop Culture Phenomenon. In it Executive Producer Arthur Rankin Jr. shares secrets from the show.

For those new to Thundercats this holds up very well with current television cartoon series- the animation may indeed be average but the action and adventure is top notch. And to nostalgic Thundercats fans, again we say HO!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
I was five when the original ThunderCats series aired. I remember sitting directly in front of the TV and eagerly watched each exciting episode. The sets were expensive when they first came out, but I waited a few years until they were about twenty dollars each!

The episodes in Season One Volume Two are:

Disc 7:

Queen of 8 Legs
Sword in a Hole
The Evil Harp of Charr-Nin
Lion-O's Anointment First Day: Trial of Strength
The Demolisher
Monkian's Bargain

Disc 8:

Tight Squeeze
The Micrits
Lion-O's Anointment Second Day: The Trial of Speed
The Rock Giant
Jackalman's Rebellion
Turmagar the Tuska

Disc 9:

Lion-O's Anointment Third Day: Trial of Cunning
The Mumm-Ra Berbil
Mechanical Plague
Trapped
Lion-0's Anointment Fourth Day: The Trial of Mind Power
Excalibur

Disc 10:

Secret of the Ice King
Good and Ugly
The Transfer
Divide and Conquer
Dream Master
Out of Sight

Disc 11:

The Mountain
The Superpower Potion
Eye of the Beholder
Lion-O's Anointment Final Day: The Trial of Evil

Disc 12:

The Trouble with ThunderKittens
Mumm-Rana
The Shifter
Fond Memories
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2005
I know the dvds arent remastered are anything like that, I am just happy that Tcats are out on dvd. I dont problems with my sets, I wasnt missing any soundtrack on the first volume.

Yes, they could have been remastered and all that, but like I said, I am just excited to be able to watch them again, the tapes i had them on are getting old, pushing 18-20 year old VHS tapes, that quality was getting bad.

Just a side note to some, the Annointment Trials were originally broadcasted once a week for 5 weeks (the other 4 days were other new episodes), so the DVD is in the original broadcast order, they were rerun back to back in the subsequent reruns of the show.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 2006
I want to first say that I love Thundercats. Along with gi joe and transformers, it ranks as one of the greatest cartoons of the '80s. The reason for my 1 star review has nothing to do with the show, but instead with the dvds. For such a price it really is highway robbery.

The episodes look like they were taken from tv. No remastering or enhancement, you can still see white marks and scratches. Also, as mentioned in another review, the background music is missing from some episodes. Along with that, the menus are sorely lacking. They're very short and without any imagination or flair. Except for the main menu, all the submenus are just still images from the show.

And don't fall for the specials. There is a 25 minute documentary with some of the voice artists and producers, but it felt rushed. Not all of the voice artists were interviewed, and with such a show, I'm sure they have enough material for a full 60 minute documentary. One further complaint, no chapters in the episodes. The entire episode is just one big chapter. At least rhino was able to split the episodes into scenes.

I would swallow my pride if this cost 19.99 or thereabouts, but not for this price. The lack of detail and quality just shows all over this release; don't you just hate corporate greed.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2005
I don't care about extra features or remastered "special editions" of these classic cartoons... I just want the great experience I had 20 years ago as I remember it, all over again!!!

I bet all of these people complaining about the poor original quality of Thundercats are the same geeks who were mortified by George Lucas' changes to the Star Wars movies, as they demanded the original versions! These people are walking contradictions! And about the company...

Warner Bros did make good on their promise to correct the mistake of disc one: they reissued disc one (via mail) with music restored to the second episode to whoever signed up for it. I received mine, checked it out, and it was great. They have restored my faith in them. Volume 2 should be awesome!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on January 17, 2014
The second volume of the series is just as good as the first if not better. Here’s a review of the episodes, with synopsizes from Wikipedia.

Disc 7

34. Queen of Eight Legs: Disguised as a diamond fly, Mumm-Ra plans to lure Lion-O into Spidera's Kingdom of Webs. A

35. Sword In a Hole: The ThunderCats respond to a space liner's SOS only to be captured by mercenaries on Mumm-Ra's pay. Captain Shiner is one of the best villains. I’m sorry he wasn’t used more often. A+

36. The Evil Harp of Charr-Nin: Wily-kit and Wily-kat find a magic harp containing a genie. Mumm-Ra offers to free the genie if he helps to destroy the ThunderCats. A-

37. Lion-O’s Anointment First Day: Trial of Strength: Snarf tells Lion-O that he must earn his title as Lord by completing five trials, the first of which will be to defeat the mighty Panthro. The start of one of the greatest five part stories in a cartoon ever. Make sure you wait until the end to watch this & the next 4 parts. A+

38. The Demolisher: A bored galactic conqueror comes to Third Earth to battle Mumm-Ra. After defeating Mumm-Ra and hearing of the ThunderCats power he rushes off to battle Lion-O. The Demolisher is another great guest villain. A+

39. Monkian’s Bargain: Monkian makes a deal with Mumm-Ra to give him power orbs whatever the cost. A great spotlight for Monkian. A

Disc 8

40. Tight Squeeze: After a disagreement, Vulture Man leaves Castle Plun-darr and destroys all the Mutants' technology. Slithe is forced to ask Mumm-Ra to take away the ThunderCats' weapons, which he seals within the sword chamber so that the ThunderCats cannot reach them. This was the first episode I ever saw. A

41. The Micrits: Lion-O is captured by very small creatures who see him as a threat to their village, and disable Cats Lair and the Thundertank. The Mutants seize the opportunity and wreak havoc on the other Thundercats who do not know where Lion-O is. An above average episode that surprisingly shows the Thundercats accidently causing damage to innocents. A-

42. Lion-O’s Anointment Second Day: The Trial of Speed: Lion-O must beat Cheetara in a race to pass the second anointment trial. An excellent continuation. A+

43. The Rock Giant: Mumm-Ra awakens a monster made of rocks to defeat the ThunderCats. B

44. Jackalman’s Rebellion: Jackalman forms his own army and steals weapons from the Mutants. Vultureman is my favorite of the Mutants, but Jackalman’s my second favorite. A+

45. Turmagar The Tuska: A strange traveller crash lands next to Cats Lair & he enlists the ThunderCat's help to battle a war machine. A+

Disc 9

46. Lion-O’s Anointment Third Day: Trial of Cunning: Lion-O must outwit Wilykit and Wilykat in the Maze of Infinity but there are more than ThunderKittens lurking about ready to stop him. My least favorite part, but it’s still excellent. A+

47. Mumm-Ra Berbil: Mumm-Ra disguises himself as an injured Berbil to infiltrate Cats Lair. A great episode with some creepy scenes. A

48. Mechanical Plague: Mumm-Ra takes advantage of the ThunderCats being separated as they make their own home movies. He gives life to a mechanical plague of robots for his plot to destroy the ThunderCats. A+

49. Trapped: Sheltering from a storm inside an old Suspension Capsule, Wilykit and Wilykat become trapped. Things take a turn for the worse when the Mutants find out about it. B

50. Lion-O’s Anointment Fourth Day: Trial of Mind Power: Lion-O must overcome Tygra's mental powers and face his greatest fear. A+

51. Excalibur: Mumm-Ra assumes the form of King Arthur in order to claim the greatest sword of all time, Excalibur. His plot is that he desires to use Excalibur against the Sword of Omens. One of the most epic episodes of the whole show. A+

Disc 10

52. Secret of The Ice King: An Ice King who has been frozen for 1,000 years is suddenly awakened and is wreaking havoc on Hook Mountain. A

53. Good And Ugly: Two aliens arrive in spaceships and fight near Cats Lair and Lion-O must learn a lesson about first impressions. A

54. The Transfer: An unknown ship containing a dangerous radioactive device approaches Third Earth. B+

55. Divide And Conquer: Vultureman creates a voice imitator and the Mutants use it to trick the ThunderCats into splitting up to trap and destroy them. B+

56. The Dream Master: Mumm-Ra assumes the form of the Dream Master to take control of the ThunderCats' unconscious selves. He casts an evil spell on the ThunderCats and Lion-O must break the spell to free his friends. A-

57. Out of Sight: Willa is captured by the Mutants so Tygra makes himself and Nayda invisible to infiltrate castle Plun-darr, not knowing the consequences. This was quite possibly my favorite of the episodes I remember seeing on Cartoon Network. A+

Disc 11

58. The Mountain: Out of sheer boredom, Lion-O climbs an unknown mountain. The Mutants decide to attack, putting themselves and the ThunderCats in danger. A

59. The Superpower Potion: Vulture Man strikes a bargain with Mumm-Ra after he invents some kind of potion that gives him super powers. A

60. Eye of the Beholder: The ThunderCats create a fake Sword of Omens and use it to trick the Mutants. But the plan backfires when Snarf is captured. B+

61. Lion-O’s Anointment Final Day: Trial of Evil: Lion-O must defeat his greatest enemy, Mumm-ra, to complete the trials. For those of you who followed my advice, aren’t you glad you saved this for last? A+

Disc 12

62. The Trouble With Thundercats: Eager to prove that they are old enough for adult weapons, Wilykit and Wilykat sneak off with the adult Thundercats weapons for some practice. The Mutants seize an opportunity and the kids escape, but the weapons are now in the hands of the Mutants and the kids will have to confess to Lion-O what they did to gain his help in retrieving them. B+

63. Mumm-Rana: After a space battle, the Mutants' escape pods land next to a white pyramid. Inside, they meet Mumm-Rana who is the good equivalent of Mumm-Ra. Mumm-Ra arrives and takes control of her mind to use her power against the ThunderCats. The worst episode on the set. If you’re going to have a good female counterpart to Mumm-Ra, don’t make her such a weakling. It’s sort of insulting. C

64. The Shifter: Vulture Man builds a device that switches the consciousness of two beings and takes aim at the ThunderCats. Body swapping episodes can also be annoying, but this one is actually pretty good, with some laugh-out loud moments (Altogether now: “Get your foot off the blasted samoflange!”) B+

65. Fond Memories: Mumm-Ra creates a living museum of the ThunderCats' most formidable enemies as part of his trap he sets for Lion-O. Not the best way to end the first season, but it could’ve been worse. C+

Just remember to save the Anointment Trials for last, and you will end the set on its highest note. Tune in next time, when we come to the second season, which although not perfect was definitely a worthy addition to the franchise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
VINE VOICEon April 29, 2009
Picking up where Thundercats - Season One, Volume One left off, with the remaining 32 episodes of the first season, Thundercats - Season One, Volume Two is a 6-disc (736 min.) set which contains episodes 34-65 of 65 from the first season. The set features Full Frame (1.33:1) video; English, French, Spanish mono audio; English, Spanish, French subtitles; plus the following Special Feature: "Thundercats Ho! Creating a Pop-Culture Phenomenon" - Featurette explores the origin and creation of the characters and also examines the popularity of the series thru interviews with cast and crew. Episodes include: Queen of 8 Legs, Sword in a Hole, The Evil Harp of Charr-Nin, Lion-O's Anointment First Day: Trial of Strength, The Demolisher, Monkian's Bargain, Tight Squeeze, The Micrits, Lion-O's Anointment Second Day: Trial of Speed, The Rock Giant, Jackalman's Rebellion, Turmagar the Tuska, Lion-O's Anointment Third Day: Trial of Cunning, The Mumm-Ra Berbil, Mechanical Plague, Trapped, Lion-O's Anointment Fourth Day: The Trial of Mind Power, Excalibur, The Secret of the Ice King, Good and Ugly, The Transfer, Divide and Conquer, Dream Master, Out of Sight, The Mountain, The Superpower Potion, Eye of the Beholder, Lion-O's Anointment Final Day: The Trial of Evil, The Trouble with Thunderkittens, Mumm-Rana, The Shifter, Fond Memories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2006
Awesome!!!

A work of art. Better than most of the cartoons out today.

Buy this boxed set, it is worth every dollar.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Thundercats - Season One, Volume One
Thundercats - Season One, Volume One by Larry Kenney (DVD - 2006)
$11.11

Thundercats - Season Two, Volume One
Thundercats - Season Two, Volume One by Larry Kenney (DVD - 2006)
$18.99

Thundercats: The Complete Seasons 1 and 2
Thundercats: The Complete Seasons 1 and 2 by Artist Not Provided (DVD - 2006)
$90.00
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.