Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


286 of 292 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could change your life
Dr.Richard Shames and his wife, Karilee, who is a skilled nurse,have written a book that has the potential to help millions of people feel better. As a practitioner of medicine working at the Preventive Medical Center in San Rafael, California, I have been using some of the philosophy and techniques that I learned directly from Dr. Shames to help many patients. These...
Published on June 8, 2001 by Alex Forman

versus
101 of 130 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many unsubstantiated statements
I stopped reading this book when it said that low self-esteem is a possible cause of thyroid antibodies. I'm a research psychologist and am very familiar with psychosomatic research, so I feel qualified to say that this is complete hooey. There are too many sections in this book that smack of unscientific thinking and unsubstantiated comment. I bought this book hoping for...
Published on August 19, 2005 by GenMe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

286 of 292 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could change your life, June 8, 2001
By 
Alex Forman (San Rafael, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
Dr.Richard Shames and his wife, Karilee, who is a skilled nurse,have written a book that has the potential to help millions of people feel better. As a practitioner of medicine working at the Preventive Medical Center in San Rafael, California, I have been using some of the philosophy and techniques that I learned directly from Dr. Shames to help many patients. These patients suffer from the most common symptoms such as: fatigue, depression, weight gain, insomnia, headaches, joint and muscle pain, memory loss, frequent colds and viruses, cold hands and feet etc. Previously I was at a loss to help these people and could only tell them that there was nothing "wrong" with them and that their problems were not "medical" at all. It turns out that I, along with most medical practitioners, were victims of our own dogma. In reality, when it comes to thyroid disorders, many people have so-called "normal" tests, and yet when given thyroid hormone, their quality of life improves dramatically. I am not speaking of a short term placebo response, that we see frequently with any healing intervention. Many of my patients get better and stay that way, simply from taking thyroid hormone that no "well trained" medical practitioner would dare give them, because their tests were "normal". Fortunately, with this book, the Shames family has broken that taboo and the genie is out of the bottle at last.
This book is directed and designed for the health consumer and it will help to empower them to demand the treatments they are entitled to receive. It is organized as a step by step program to help the health consumer understand the nature of the problem they may be facing and what the potential solutions are. The reader is educated at each step and encouraged to take more control over their own health care. While many Physicians encourage the mystique of the "all knowing" omnipotent Doctor, the Shames's are completely committed to breaking down that power relationship in their work. This book goes a long way to making the health consumer a more equal partner. I was particularly glad to see the emphasis on women's health issues and the encouragement of women to ask for more assistance with the problems of mid-life that are so often simply dismissed as "oh well, that's menopause for you". Women have been the victim of a patriarchal health system for too long and this book is one of many that helps women patients get the medical care they are entitled to.
The issue of thyroid dysfunction is brought down to earth in this book and the reader is given a wide range of options to try. Rather than simply accepting the divine judgment that "your thyroid is normal according to the tests", the patient has several choices, if her/his symptoms are interfering with their life. They can ask for more tests, as the simple basic thyroid tests do not necessarily have all the information needed. Particularly they can request that their thyroid antibodies be checked. I have seen many patients, who responded magnificently to thyroid medication, when their only abnormal result was high levels of these antibodies. Of course, conventional medical dogma denies this possibility and will only treat people who have a TSH level above 5. Even if all the tests are normal, this book encourages the patient to ask for a trial of thyroid hormone treatment. I can assure you that many people will improve with this simple intervention and there is no risk if one if carefully monitored. Finally, if the standard thyroid treatment fails to improve things, there are other types of thyroid hormones that might help, including the often ridiculed natural thyroid. Dr. Shames reports on many cases of people who responded far better to combinations of T4 and T3 hormone, rather than the standard T4 treatment alone. As with all who challenge the conventional dogma, I am sure there will be those who criticize this new approach. Remember anyone who takes on the established medical dogma will be critiqued severely, but often these pioneers turn out to be correct. I believe that Dr. Shames' view will turn out to be correct in the end. The tyranny of the "normal" thyroid test will be broken and there will be a new paradigm developed to explain why so many people get better with thyroid hormone supplements. While you may not find everything in this book to your liking, there were parts that I did not agree with, the overall message and thrust of this book is one of liberation and empowerment for so many women and men who are not being helped by modern medicine today.
If you or someone you care about does not feel well, from the symptoms mentioned above, you owe it to yourself to try the program recommended in this book. Of course there is no guarantee for success, but there is no risk to you if it is done with the guidance of a caring practitioner and the potential reward is nothing less than a return to a vibrant healthy life. Rich and Karilee Shames deserve our thanks and gratitude for bringing this issue out to the public and I truly hope that this new book helps spark an important reevaluation of this entire area of medicine. The fact that the forward was written by Dr. Nathan Becker, of the Department of Endocrinology at the University of California, San Francisco shows that this is not a fringe idea any longer. I also conduct research at UCSF and know that Dr. Becker is one of the leading authorities on thyroid dysfunction. I hope this review encourages more people to read this book and act on its important recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


187 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book taught me how to take charge of my thryoid disease, August 2, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
This book truly changed my life. After reading it, I not only advocated for the proper dosage of meds for my condition, but joined Weight Watchers, tailored the diet to suggestions in Thyroid Power and have lost many pounds - for the first time in years! If you, too, want to feel empowered and have some control over your condition, I'd say this book is a must. In addition to a very detailed description of traditional thyroid tests and treatments, Shames has the courage to discuss what could be WRONG with some of these tests, including questionnaires to help individuals gain information about their condition. For years, I had many of the symptoms described in this book: vauge aches and pains, overwhelming tiredness, bouts of anxiety and depression, weight gain, sleep problems and more. And yet I believed I was on the right dosage of medication because my doctor said so and the tests said so. But as Thyroid Power notes, there is more to thyroid conditions than lab tests alone can reveal. Shames also takes a look at foods which affect the thyroid and various vitamins, minerals and herbs that could be beneficial. If you like to take the best of conventional medicine AND holistic treatments, don't pass them one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to thyroid patients' info libraries, June 7, 2001
By 
Mary (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
Richard and Karilee Shames are not only husband and wife, but doctor and nurse, AND thyroid practitioner and thyroid patient. For more than twenty-five years, the Shameses have been working with people who are "low thyroid" -- the term they use to describe hypothyroidism -- in their new book, Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health. Karilee herself is hypothyroid, as are several of the couple's children, and these experiences have informed both authors, who have struggled to help not only their own family, but many patients they have treated for thyroid problems as well.
In a simply written, straightforward manner, the Shameses have organized some basics of hypothyroidism's causes, test, diagnosis and treatment into a ten-step program of information that can help patients get properly diagnosed and treated.
One of the most interesting and innovative parts of the book is Step 9 -- "Improve the Underlying Autoimmune Condition." This section shares some of the results from Karilee's weekly thyroid recovery group meetings held with other thyroid patients. This chapter talks about issues patients have experienced with emotional sensitivity, self-esteem, perfectionism, maintaining momentum, being empowered, and more, and many of the "common characteristics" of people with autoimmune hypothyroidism struck a chord personally with me.
For already diagnosed thyroid patients, Step Seven's overview of adrenal insufficiency is also a very useful adjunct, particularly for thyroid patients who do not feel well on what is considered sufficient treatment for hypothyroidism.
A unique section is titled "How to Tap the Source of Boundless Energy," which talks about energy healing, the energy chakras, and self-actualization. While not specifically focused on the thyroid, this section is an excellent introduction to the concepts of energy work for those who are not familiar with modalities such as Reiki, healing hands, or laying on of hands.
The main weakness in this book is the fact that many thyroid patients who read the book will not have access to practitioners who are even remotely as open-minded or holistic in their approach as Richard and Karilee Shames. While the Shameses are part of a growing body of alternative practitioners who are innovative their diagnosis and treatment of hypothyroidism, the vast majority of patients are still subject to very limited, highly conventional treatment protocols, and a very ingrained doctrine of thyroid treatment. Rigid adherence to TSH tests, "normal ranges" and levothyroxine as the sole treatment is the standard practice, and what standard practice is what is typically covered by HMOs and insurance companies. The Shames' use of TRH, total T3, free T3 and antibodies tests as standard, and their unbiased use of levothyroxine, synthetic T3, or natural thyroid products -- whatever product works best for each individual patient -- are encouraging, but still uncommon among most medical professionals.
But overall, as a thyroid patient advocate, I can wholeheartedly recommend Thyroid Power as an excellent addition to any thyroid patient's bookshelf.
Mary Shomon, Thyroid Patient Advocate, Author of "Living Well With Hypothyroidism: What Your Doctor Doesn't Tell You...That You Need to Know" and Editor of "Sticking Out Our Necks: The Thyroid Disease News Report"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK IS A LIFESAVER!!!!!, March 25, 2003
By A Customer
This book opened my eyes to the fact that "traditional medicine" just didn't have all the answers. As a practicing physician, I too had been telling my wife "all your thyroid tests are normal." We finally both read this book and discovered many of the truths that are not learned or stressed in medical school re:autoimmune diseases. Her antibody levels were OFF THE CHART and after a trial of multiple different medication regimens, she is now feeling better on Armour Thyroid. READ THIS BOOK or GIVE IT AS A GIFT to anyone who may be ill with thyroid problems or need a "NON-SANCTIONED" alternative approach! It opened MY eyes! Bravo and thanks to the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone finally understands......, June 5, 2001
By 
Wendy "aznurse" (Flagstaff, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
Bravo!
I was privileged to read an advance copy of this most important book. As a mid-life woman (and health care provider) who has experienced thyroid disease first hand, I am thrilled that FINALLY that book is finally here, validating my experience and that of countless others. Far too many classically trained physicians choose to ignore the subtle symptoms and (often louder) complaints of thyroid-challenged patients, adding to the frustration that we already feel.
Karilee and Rich have de-mystified the complex workings of the thyroid gland and offered a variety of strategies to identify, diagnose, and treat this often-elusive malady. They offer a clear path to enhanced quality of life and improved energy levels. They offer a variety of treatment options, embracing the best of integrative health care. The reader is constantly encouraged to seek answers on a variety of levels, from standard medical care to stress reduction to energy balancing and improved nutrition.
The book is balanced, objective, and encouraging. The health care information is nicely integrated with case stories that offer hope and guidance. Many of them bring back memories of my own journey, which included the advice of one misguided (and male) physician who told me I had panic attacks (in spite of three years of abnormal thyroid blood work!) ... and offered Prozac as his only remedy. It is unfortunate that women's complaints have long been depreciated in the eyes of the medical establishment, and it is only in recent years that we have begun to fight for equal and high quality care. This book will give us ammunition as we confront that system. The authors have included a section for health care professionals that supports their theories and advice with medical research.
Thyroid Power offers a true holistic perspective, assessing the biological, psychological, social, and spiritual components of chronic thyroid disease and offering ways to deal with the whole person, not just blood work or sometimes vague symptoms. For many it will be a light at the end of a long, dark, and frustrating tunnel, and a path to better health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thyroid patients can empower themselves, July 16, 2001
By 
R. Cox (Virginia Beach, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
Dr. Richard and Karliee Shames' book "Thyroid Power" actually "empowers" thyroid patients to improve and manage their health. It is an excellent book dealing with an insidious disease. Many patients walk around for years, suffering needlessly and losing control of their lives because of misdiagnosis. The source of many of these errors occur because physicians don't know how to order the correct test beyond the TSH, or do not correctly interpret test results. If you or someone else you know is fatigued, depressed and can't seem to figure out what is wrong, you cannot afford to miss this book. It gives you guidance on how to determine if you too may have hidden thyroid disease.
Autoimmune disease can wax and wane for years, leading to a variety of symptoms, before the TSH clearly illustrates abnormal results. If you or someone else have not felt well this book can help you possibly unmask thyroid disease. If you are a diagnosed thyroid patient and still don't feel well, this book is an invaluable reference for managing your condition. Too many physicians do not know how to manage thyroid disease or have little time to assist their patients with managing this complex disease. This book provides clear information on how thyroid patients can help themselves to live better with this chronic condition. As a thyroid patient and reporter I have investigated and read as much information as possible about my autoimmune thyroid disease, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I found there were few books that delve into the complexity of this disease. The Shames' book is one of those rare books that provides answers and helps unravel the confusion surrounding and managing thyroid disease.
"Thyroid Power" is a superb resource for all those suffering from an often-confusing disease, and is an essential guide to managing and improving one's health. I can't say enough about this book, and have recommended it to all of my fellow thyroid sufferers....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These doctors know what they are talking about!, June 11, 2001
By 
Elizabeth Kagan (Mill Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
If you don't believe what Richard and Karilee Halo Shames are trying to share with you in this bestseller on hypothyroidism, then, PLEASE, take it from a previous, regular patient of many years, that first walked into their office, with the exact symptoms they describe! (fatigue, inability to lose weight PLUS much more!). This is AFTER I had had a thyroid test, ordered by another MD, who read the test as "nothing wrong with your thyroid!" Hopelessness overwhelmed me, until I found Richard and Karilee Shames, who, quickly set me on the right pathway and ordered the four main thyroid tests. The next next thing I knew I was diagnosed with severe hypothroidism and was given immediate treatment. My entire life changed for the better: I lost over 25 lbs. and no longer bored my husband with my unusual sleep pattern of falling asleep by 6pm. Please read this book...you will quickly feel someone, finally, understands your symptoms and you will soon be on the road to a much happier life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR EVERYONE!! A PRIMER ON GOOD HEALTH, July 13, 2001
By 
lyfit (pembroke pines, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
Thyroid Power was a pleasure to read. It is clear, easy to follow and understandable to me, a non medical person. The information is presented in a manner that is conscise and VERY helpful to my everyday life. The '10 Steps' are things that I can accomplish and in fact most are very easily adaptable to any lifestyle. I noticed that I found myself nodding my head often, feeling that here at last are experts who truly understand MY experiences and are able to tie together and make sense out of what had seemed to me disparate symptoms/issues. I am encouraged and feel supported to make the positive changes spelled out by the Drs. Shames and additional I am better armed to work with my primary care physican with good questions and ways I can do more to help get me what will be optimal care. I expect great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FMS & CFS Answers, June 15, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health (Hardcover)
This book changed my life. I've looked for answers as to why fibromyalgia happened to me and after reading this book, it appears that it was just one more thing my thyroid created. I had symptoms all along but was treating each individually. If you or someone you know is suffering, read this book and share it with as many people you know. I began taking an over-the-counter thyroid supplement and had results within two weeks and continue to get better: allergies, migraines, headaches, migraines...all are connected to your thyroid; and for me, they're disappearing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A godsend to some., January 1, 2005
By 
Scott Knudsen (Air Ronge, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would have rated this book 5 stars except for one thing, it has practically nothing on Hyperthyroidism. If your dealing with Hyperthyroidism (Graves Disease), then forget about this book and do a search on amazon for books on Graves Disease.

If you are experiencing Hypothyroidism or even think you are because of being plagued with chronic illnesses that doctors cannot seem to diagnose, then this book just might be a godsend to you.

Based on years of research from the authors private practice, this book offers a perfect balance of Western and Eastern medicine. The author takes a holistic approach to hypothyroidism, in not only showing you what medication works, but what herbs and natural products work, what mental and emotional healing may need to take place, proper diet, and human energy field work.

After studying this book, you will probably be more educated on up to date thyroid treatment than your family doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health
Thyroid Power: Ten Steps to Total Health by Karilee Halo Shames (Hardcover - June 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.