Customer Reviews


286 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


200 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Game Options And A More Comfortable Ride
The Ticket to Ride 1910 Expansion (TTR 1910) is an expansion for the basic Ticket to Ride game only. The expansion is great in that it adds game play options as well as improves the basic comfort of the game itself. Some game expansions are just a way to get you to spend more money on a game you already own without adding a lot to game play. TTR 1910 is worth the...
Published on May 21, 2008 by M. DiGioia

versus
49 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive add-on but rejunvenates the game
Greatly improves the gameplay because in the original version of TTR whoever builds one of those long, northern routes with 5 and 6 car links always wins the game. The expansion set creates many smaller routes which can be doubled-up with existing routes and it makes it more worthwhile to pickup more destination tickets. Also, the bonus for most routes completed finally...
Published on July 14, 2008 by Victor R. Volkman


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

200 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Game Options And A More Comfortable Ride, May 21, 2008
By 
M. DiGioia (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
The Ticket to Ride 1910 Expansion (TTR 1910) is an expansion for the basic Ticket to Ride game only. The expansion is great in that it adds game play options as well as improves the basic comfort of the game itself. Some game expansions are just a way to get you to spend more money on a game you already own without adding a lot to game play. TTR 1910 is worth the investment. It adds fun and convenience to an already great game.

TTR 1910 significantly increases the number of destination tickets available adding 35 new long and short haul routes to the game. The new routes are fun and varied, and allow each player to customize his or her strategy around certain city connections.

Also included are four cards from the out of print "Mystery Train Expansion." These cards are for very short routes and are low scoring. They don't add much to the game play.

The expanded rules offer instructions for different game variations that focus on big cities, the new 1910 destinations, or the Mega Game featuring all 65 destination tickets in the box. We tend to stick with the Mega Game for large groups, but for games with fewer players the other variations make for new and fun experiences. We really enjoy the opportunity to develop new game play strategies.

There's also a new 15 point bonus card to reward the player who completes the most routes. This is a nice addition to the game.

In addition to improved game play, the expansion cards are now the same size as regulation playing cards making them significantly easier to hold and play. You get reprints of all of the cards included with the original game so you don't have to mix the cards or choose between the original set or the expansion. For my friends and I, this was a significant improvement over the tiny set that came with the original game.

You might also consider picking up a GLD Pitboss 55-0112 Four Deck Card Shuffler. You'll go through the cards pretty quickly and the shuffler keeps things moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expansion pack expands the fun!, July 8, 2007
By 
T v H (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
Our family loves Ticket to Ride. We play the standard boardgame quite often and even occasionally take up a challenge on-line at the company website. Of course the 1910 Expansion Pack seemed a likely "must have," and we were not disappointed.

The card deck of wagon cards is completely replaced so you don't have to worry if your original deck is getting a bit worn. They are also proper playing card size, and much easier to shuffle and deal. The pack has the standard destination cards from the first game, the 1910 destination cards, Big City destination cards, and the Mystery Train destination cards. You can play the standard format, Big Cities only, or go for the gusto and challenge of the MEGA game by playing with all expansion packs together! Talk about a challenge!

The new cards include every city on the map as one terminus of the destination tickets. It ads a new element and makes things very unpredictable. There is also a "most destination cards completed" extra point card, adding a new twist and taking you away from the longest train and making those short hops on the East Coast really worth going for.

I would highly recommend this expansion pack to anyone who has purchased and enjoys the Ticket To Ride Game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had the Mystery Characters!, March 13, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
When I first received my Expansion Set I was a little disappointed. Some descriptions online aren't very clear when they say that the set includes cards from the Mystery Expansion set (long out of print and no longer available). Well I'll clear it up for the newer game players like myself. The original mystery set was a giveaway at a show and came in a magazine back in 2004. It included 4 new tickets and 5 character cards. The cards were mixed into the ticket deck after the initial tickets were given out at the beginning of the game. The character cards were something special though! There were 4 different characters which granted the person that found them a prize/power of sorts. The Tycoon, gave the owner 10 extra points at the end of the game if they had a coast to coast connection. The Inspector, let the owner double the value of any card worth 10 or less points. The Station Agent, gave 10 points to the owner if they visited the most cities at the end. And the Engineer, in which there were two cards, let the owner dig through the ticket deck and pick out a ticket of his choice. Sounds fun right!? Well the 1910 pack includes the 4 tickets but NOT the character cards. But I have a solution for this at the bottom! First, the review!

I love this expansion for a couple reasons.

1. I really enjoy the new rule set, especially 1910 Mega, which throws a whole bunch of extra tickets in the mix. You get 5 tickets at the start (keep 3+) and it also throws in a the globetrotter card which gives the person with the most tickets at the end 10 more points.
I like the other two variants as well, Classic, which swaps the longest track with the most tickets card, and then the big cites variant that tosses both those cards out and only includes tickets connecting to Big cites. Like I said I enjoy all of them, but the Mega game usually gets crazy with people taking tickets left and right.

2. I love the new card sizes! The cards in the original game were annoyingly small but in the expansion the cards are the size of normal playing cards. And not just the new cards, the expansion includes new versions of all of the cards from the original game as well! So this expansion takes the place of the cards from the original. Much easier to shuffle and hold on to. I recommend this set for that reason alone.

So back to the Mystery Characters. I told you I had a solution and here it is!

I made my own custom Mystery Character cards! And you can too! The original cards were the size of the original cards and purple, so a player knew when one was up. Well I prefer for a little more mystery in my mystery cards. ;) So I created a set which is the same size as the 1910 set and has the same back as well. I printed them on card stock and rounded the edges so it is really difficult to see if you're about to get a mystery character.

I've also set this up so that you can do it too! Unfortunately, Amazon won't let me link directly to my files but there are two ways you can find them. First, I made a post on the BoardGameGeek Ticket to Ride forum on 3/12/2012 which links to them (my screenname is FujiToast). Otherwise right now a google search of "Custom Mystery Characters" will also take you directly to the forum post.

Have Fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Ticket to Ride USA!, August 23, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
Ticket to Ride was one of the first games we got when we discovered there was more than Monopoly out there. As much fun as it was, it did seem to get old a bit faster than I wanted it to. Then I discovered the 1910 expansion which others said infused new life into the game. And they were right! Not only does it add lots of extra tickets, it gives you the full size cards to replace all the tiny ones that come with the base set. What we do is use all the tickets and both bonuses but there are several ways to mix it up if you prefer. There are just three of us playing usually which means you cannot use the second route of a double route so this expansion keeps everyone too busy to spitefully block you and makes it much more difficult for someone to be sure of exactly where you're going. Still, we get in each others way all the time, eliciting lots of groans and sighs! We play this game in a fast and furious fashion and it's so much fun that it's our usual after-dinner game choice.

If you are new to gaming, this is a wonderful introduction. If you love it, check out boardgamegeek (.com) for all the info on games you would never have known about otherwise. Our favorites for three or more players (all except Ticket to Ride also play great with only two!): Ticket to Ride USA w/1910 Exp, Alhambra, Ra, Macao, Stone Age, Survive Escape from Atlantis, Carcassonne Hunters & Gatherers, San Juan, Bohnanza. Strictly two player: Jaipur, Odin's Ravens, Balloon Cup, Lost Cities, Jambo, Battle Line. Gaming is a great family or couples activity, takes everyone away from the tv and is great fun. Happy gaming, everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive add-on but rejunvenates the game, July 14, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
Greatly improves the gameplay because in the original version of TTR whoever builds one of those long, northern routes with 5 and 6 car links always wins the game. The expansion set creates many smaller routes which can be doubled-up with existing routes and it makes it more worthwhile to pickup more destination tickets. Also, the bonus for most routes completed finally breaks the dominance of the long routes (near the Canadian border).

On the minus side, I just paid 20 bucks for a pack of cards. Hello???? Otherwise it would have gotten 5 stars. Also, there is no way to "dock" the expansion set with the original box so now I have two boxes to carry around. Thanks alot WOW.

There are three full variants included which require different strategeies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necessary expansion for Ticket to Ride, June 5, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
The design of Ticket to Ride USA (compared to other versions such as Europe) makes this an essential expansion to the game. It overcomes the two main shortcomings of the original game: the tiny playing cards and the limited number of destination tickets.

The tiny playing cards of the base game are a bit of an annoyance. In TTR you'll find yourself having to shuffle often which is a bit of a pain to do with tiny cards. The 1910 expansion comes with standard-sized playing cards, which really do make a difference.

The TTR base game has a limited number (30) of destination cards, and if you are playing with aggressive players, the stack will get thin pretty quick. The expansion adds 39 more destination tickets (and revises the score on a couple of tickets). The new tickets are a mix of long and short routes (such as Vancouver to Portland).

The rules are set up so you can just play with normal sized versions of the base game cards (ie only the original 30 destinations) or you can play a mix of some old destinations and some new destinations. You can also play with all 69 new destinations if you wish (which is what my group does). The game also adds a globetrotter bonus card that gives bonus points for the most completed destination tickets -- similar to the longest route bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes the regular USA game better, October 5, 2011
By 
MountaineerDoug (Ellwood City, PA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
The expansion pack definitely makes the game better. 1) The larger number of destination cards makes the game less predictable and gives more incentive to pick destinations. 2) The larger cards are a HUGE improvement because you can actually shuffle them like a deck of cards instead of trying to fumble with the little cards that came in the original game. The only drawback that I see to the expansion pack is the price. It seems like what you're paying for are just fixes to things that were wrong with the original game and given the price of the original game it kind of feels like you're getting ripped off to have to pay extra for this. That being said though, it does make the game better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New stratagies for the board game!, January 19, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
My girlfriend loves Ticket to Ride, so I gave this to her as a Christmas gift. I haven't used it, but she's commented that she loves it. One interesting thing she showed me is the clear difference in colors. This is an improvement. Anyone who has the original game knows that the colors can be difficult discern. Especially, between red and orange. Another positive improvement is the increased size in cards. They're not as tiny. Basically, the biggest reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think all the Ticket to Ride stuff is grossly overpriced. Especially compared to other board games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for extra routes but poor design, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
Can't really be combined with original game because the cards are different sizes. Also the routes are so small that you have to get thirty of them to win the game. It was fun to change it up but wish I had just bought another version instead of an expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, December 4, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion (Toy)
The 1910 expansion is well worth the money. I play Ticket to ride a LOT and the mega game is by far my favorite. Also, the bigger cards are much easier to hold and shuffle than the little cards that come with the original deck.

Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ticket To Ride 1910 Expansion
$19.99 $16.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.