Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2010
Anyone who owns Ticket To Ride : Europe probably already knows that it is one of the best of the Ticket to Ride games, with a map that creates interesting challenges and roadblocks.

The one drawback with Ticket to Ride: Europe is the lack of routes, with only about 45 or so routes (including only 6 'long routes'). After 20 or so playings, it becomes fairly easy to tell what long route someone is attempting at any time. In my view this expansion is essential, and to a large extent fixes what is the only drawback of Europe I can find.

Europa 1912 adds another 6 long routes. They are designed in such a way that it is now much more difficult to know which long route someone is attempting, no matter what long route they have. These routes are typically slightly shorter than the existing long routes, and worth 16 or 17 only. Also, all long routes now have a different back - good for finding them to shuffle and deal seperately, but everyone will know if you keep it or not!

Additionally, there are 19 more 'short' routes, and these are carefully designed to make those cities and tracks that are underutilised in the original game more important. In my view, with these cards there is a fairly good chance of use (and even of two or three players wanting the track) for any track on the board.

Lastly there is a large set of 'Big Cities' routes. As with both the above sets of cards, it is optional to use these cards. On these cards, nine cities are picked (London, Paris, Berlin, Roma, Athina, Wien, Madrid, Moskva, Angora) and a route is introduced between every combination of these cities. Since only a handful of these routes already existed, this brings in a large number of new routes. Some are short (Berlin - Wien is worth 3 points only) while Madrid to Moskva, worth 25, is the longest route in the game, despite not being a 'long route'. Using this set of cards significantly increases the importance of and the competition for tracks around those 9 cities. In my view this makes for a very different game. My preference is to always play with the other new cards, but to play with the big cities cards only when everyone is up for a cutthroat game.

All up there are about 55 new route cards, a significant expansion on the number there were in the original game.

The last addition is 'Warehouses' and 'Depots'. Descriptions of how this works can be found elsewhere on the web, and although they add a different element to the game, for me they are not the drawcard in this expansion.

All route cards from the original game are reprinted, but there are ways to tell them apart. It's important to note that some of the original routes will be found in the 'Big Cities' pack.

I recommend that everyone who owns Europe buys the Europa 1912 expansion. The extra routes are really worth the money, they make the game more even and less similar from game to game. Additionally, it was very hard for me to find. I suggest you buy now while you can - there is no guarantee with Days of Wonder that there will be a reprint!
0Comment|145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2010
This card expansion addresses the one critical issue my friends and I noticed as we played TTR:Europe to death -- the long destinations (and the rest of the routes, in general) are too obvious. By the third or fourth turn most of us had an idea of what the other players were going to do for the rest of the game and it usually degraded to a rush for the 6/8-length routes and volleying for the critical intersection cities pretty rapidly from there on out.

The addition of more long destinations as well as all of the benefits of the 1910 expansion give this game the refresh it needs to perpetuate its replayability much further. It was quite refreshing seeking alternate paths across the map and seeing the hot-spots of the original deck all but disappear. The expansion also contains all of the original cards giving a nice deck refresh. The warehouse addition is fun, but we're plenty occupied with all of the new routes and it's not quite as appealing as originally hoped.

The cost is a bit high for a card expansion, that's the only real reason I docked a star. very fun.

UPDATE (2/14): added 5th star, price is more reasonable, and after more use this is still a solid addition to the game.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
Despite Amazon's product description, this can ONLY be used with TTR Europe. While this "1912" Expansion doesn't provide as much value as the "1910" Expansion did for the USA version (mainly because Europe already comes with oversized cards), it still helps the game in several ways.

On the plus side for 1912 is all of the new destination tickets. These do make the game better, providing longer routes and making it harder for others to know where you are going. It also makes it more likely you'll want to draw additional tickets throughout the game, as there are many shorter routes added that make it more likely you can complete a route that is drawn in later rounds. From a variety standpoint, people will end up going to more spots on the board, and overall the new cards do freshen things up.

The other new component of the game is the addition of "depots" and "warehouses". Essentially, every player gets several depot playing pieces and a warehouse, and every time they draw train/wagon cards they must also draw/place another one on their warehouse (a colored piece of cardboard). If you complete a route to a city with a depot, you get the train cards that are associated with that warehouse (you can think of the whole concept somewhat like "free parking" in monopoly). We have found their use problematic in some ways, chiefly because it injects a lot of luck into the game, and also some rules ambiguity over whether a player could place a depot immediately before their turn (players place depots as a free move, and get cards for connecting to even their own depot). We decided to play that you could place depots only after your regular turn, and while an OK variant, we think they could have come up with something better.

The depot pieces themselves are also somewhat bland. Unlike the nice plastic station buildings in Ticket to Ride Europe that matched the trains and had some detail, the depot markers here are basically just pieces of colored wood.

It's still worth getting for the new tickets, especially if you can get it at a good price, but I almost rather they just gave me replacement train/wagon cards or a new colored bonus train or something similar instead of the depots/warehouses concept. Most folks will still want to buy this, but I would wait for sales and/or used sets.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
As the title of the previous review suggests, this is an essential expansion that changes the game play dynamic fundamentally if you so choose to take advantage of the new rules.

You could play the game using this expansion pack without resorting to using the strategies that it requires, but it is far more compelling and fun to take advantage of the new ways you could approach the game.

Players get a warehouse and 5 depots. At the beginning of the game each player must decide where to place one of their depots (in a city on the map). The game starts, and warehouses are used to store a single card a player draws before his or her turn. The player must then place this card in any of the warehouses (including his or her own) on the board (each player has a warehouse). The player will then draw his or her two cards per usual game rules. Later in the game you may, if connecting to a city occupied by a depot, collect all the cards present in the warehouse that corresponds to the color of that depot. This allows to to collect a substantial number of cards that accumulate in warehouses, and in turn allows you to complete your routs faster. In return you give up one of your four remaining depots. The player with the most depots at the end earns 15 points... but it's far more rewarding to use the depots to capture additional cards. If this strategy is used correctly, you could complete routs very quickly and get a head start early in the game.

One of the limitations of the European version is the introduction of stations that limit your ability to block people. This reduced the cutthroat approach that made the American version so compelling. This expansion, however, adds new strategic depth, and a nervous edge to game play where players have to decide when to make a move and capture cards.

Great expansion.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
“Europa 1912″ is the expansion to “Ticket to Ride: Europe” and like “USA 1910″ (the expansion to the original “Ticket to Ride”), you’ll need the base game in order to play it.

Warehouses & Depots

Each player will get a warehouse and five depots at the beginning of the game. In counter-clockwise order, starting with the last player, they’ll seed one depot onto an empty city. Whenever players opt to draw train cards on their turn, they MUST take one from the deck and place it next to any player’s warehouse (which is sitting in front of them). Players still get to draw two train cards per turn when they opt to do so.

When a player claims a route that contains a depot, they may discard one of their own depots (which are sitting in front of the player) to take all of the train cards from that player’s warehouse. Players can also, as a free action on their turn, place one of their unused depots onto an empty city…placed depots cannot be returned to the player and they cannot be discarded to utilize the collection of train cards after claiming a route with a depot.

The person with the most unused depots at the game’s end scores ten bonus points.

Variants

Players can opt to use any of these new variants (taken from the manual):

Europe Expanded – Add the 19 new regular routes (with the 1912 logo) to the original set of Destination Tickets (cards without a 1912 logo). All other rules remain unchanged.

Mega Europe – Shuffle all 12 long routes together, and deal 2 to each player. Each player may keep one or none, but not both. Discard all long routes that aren’t kept; remove them from the game. Shuffle all the other Tickets (both regular and big city, new and original) from this expansion together and deal 5 to each player. If a player kept a long route, he must now keep at least 2 of these other Tickets. If he didn’t keep a long route, he must keep at least 3 instead. All other rules remain unchanged.

Big Cities of Europe – The long routes are not used in this version. Place the Big Cities of Europe card visible to all players. Shuffle all big city Tickets (cards with the Big Cities logo). Deal 5 to each player. Each player must keep at least 2. During the game, if a player chooses to Draw Destination Tickets, he draws 4 and must keep at least 1.

The Review

Compared to “USA 1910″, this expansion offers a bit more, what with the inclusion of warehouses and depots. The “USA 1910″ expansion was a bit more cosmetic, I felt, as it mainly addressed the card size and added new routes (but no new gameplay mechanics as significant as warehouse and depots). The warehouses and depots can even be used in the regular “Ticket to Ride” game, if you happen to own both. I’ll say here what I said about the “USA 1910″ expansion…it’s great for folks who play “Ticket to Ride” religiously, but not necessary to get the full enjoyment out of the core game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
I bought the 1912 expansion to add some spice to my Ticket to Ride Europe game. I had read great reviews so I was excited to give it a try. The box comes with a few different variants of game play. The first are depots/warehouses which can potentially allow players to accumulate extra train cards. It was an interesting variety but placing depots causes a player to subtract points in the end (not a large amount but still some) so I found my friends avoiding them rather than using them. I see how it could add exciting strategic play, I think it just depends on who you're playing with. On the other hand, my favorite variant would have to be the big cities of Europe cards. For this version you use special Big Cities cards instead of the tradition route cards. While certain European cities are skipped (hence the "Big Cities" part) there are a lot of great small and long routes included giving to possibility for a player to rack up a lot of points. When I'm playing Ticket to Ride Europe with only 1 other person this is the variant we usually choose because it allows a lot more exciting and challenging game play than the original cards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
This expansion much like the American counterpart is good for the extra cards and adds a lot more variety to the game. I am of the opinion though that these should just be included in the base game and are a bit expensive for what you get.

The other parts of the expansion, the warehouses, seems needless and just muddies the base game which is already great. I am guessing they add this new mechanism to try and justify selling the expansion. I would just prefer if they gave us the cards for cheaper and not try and add some new rules which, lets be honest, are convoluted, in each expansion.

Overall the cards are good and add more fun, but it seems like a money grab.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
If your Ticket to Ride experience started with the American version of the game, you should have seriously considered the 1910 expansion, if only for the full-sized train cards. The European game already comes with the larger cards and with rather more complexity -- both in terms of how routes are claimed and the introduction of "stations" (a bit of a mis-nomer) that allow co-option of a route already claimed by an opponent.

The 1912 expansion is for the European game only and offers (as does the 1910 for the American) a larger deck -- much larger -- of destination cards. It also offers even more complexity (optional). As we use the game with school-age children, there is already enough complexity in the base game; in fact they tend to prefer the simpler American game.

My suggestion is that you start with the base European game. If you like it, you can go for the expansion set if only for the richer repertoire of destinations. And then if it becomes too boring, you've got another way (indeed, ways) to make the strategy more challenging.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
Quite a few parts of this expansion that I doubt I'll ever use. When I first played TtR Europa, I felt that the routes were very limited by the cards. This expansion opens that up and adds all sorts of features. It is not as essential as the USA version, but that could also be a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2016
The expansion pack adds some interesting new features that definitely make the game more challenging. So far, however, we've avoided the warehouses and depots after our first play through with them. This is mainly due to the fact that it takes longer to finish a game, not because of the added tactical complexity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.