Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing expansion set!
I'm a huge fan of the Ticket To Ride series; I own all the board games and am proud to say this new Asian expansion set does not disappoint. You get not one, but two, extremely challenging new maps on a durable, double-sided board. The new maps feature cities from Mecca to Kobe. You'll build routes between the Middle East, Russia, India, China, Korea, Japan and all...
Published on November 20, 2011 by Baron Von Cool

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MUCH too dependent on luck of the card draw
We loved the original Ticket to Ride with the 1910 expansion deck added--strategy is the key in this game. The Asia Ticket to ride seemed a fun new map to explore but the game relies mostly on whether you can draw the right cards as there are few options to get to destinations. We tired of this game quickly. The two-team game board on the reverse side is better and may be...
Published 9 months ago by BothellDeb


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing expansion set!, November 20, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
I'm a huge fan of the Ticket To Ride series; I own all the board games and am proud to say this new Asian expansion set does not disappoint. You get not one, but two, extremely challenging new maps on a durable, double-sided board. The new maps feature cities from Mecca to Kobe. You'll build routes between the Middle East, Russia, India, China, Korea, Japan and all points in-between. Side one features cooperative team play for 4 or 6 (not five) player games. Side two offers traditional competitive play for 2-5 players featuring ferry routes (as seen in the Europe and Nordic Countries sets) and all-new Himalayan Mountain Tunnels.

Both maps are fun and having the ability to accommodate six players is always nice for when we manage to get that many people together for game night. As usual there's only one page of easy rules, and if you're already familiar with previous editions, all you need to do is understand the tweaks they've made to freshen this version up and make it stand out on its own.

As this is an expansion set, not a standalone game, this review assumes you are already familiar with how to play Ticket To Ride and will focus on the new rules in Asia.

NEW RULES IN COOPERATIVE PLAY: You split up into teams of two. Each team uses one set of colored plastic train pieces (45), adding in the nine matching color bonus pieces provided in Asia; you then split the trains up into two piles of 27. Each teammate gets that to build with. You and your teammate can only share commonly-held information, not discuss what it is in your private hand of cards and route tickets. On your turn, you may put up to two of your route tickets in your common route ticket holder so both of you know where to build them. That takes up your entire turn. When you draw train cards, you draw one, decide if you will put it in your hand or in the common train card holder, then select your second train card, which you must then do the opposite action with. The exception is if you draw a face-up locomotive (wild card), it automatically goes to the common holder. When building a new route, you may use any number of cards from the common train card holder and your hand to complete the route. The challenge is trying to coordinate with your teammate while not having all the information available. Especially if your teammate is not sharing his or her routes with you or is taking cards you need out of the common card holder or is just not much of a strategic thinker. End game is initiated when a team has four trains or less (either together or separately). You and your teammate are scored together collectively at the end of the game (including minuses for failed routes). Longest route gets a 10 point bonus, as does most tickets completed (you can earn both if you're lucky).

Also new to cooperative play are Himalayan Mountain Tunnels. These work like regular tunnels in the Europe, Nordic Countries and Switzerland editions, but with the added twist that you must turn over more cards from the train deck in order to complete them. Previous editions used a standard three card flip. Asia uses a variable 4-6 card flip, determined by the number written on that route on the board.

NEW RULES IN COMPETITIVE PLAY: Unlike cooperative play, in order to claim a Himalayan Mountain Tunnel, you need the usual cards of the same color (and/or locomotive wild cards), plus you must discard one additional card (of any color) for every "x" on the mountain route. These discarded cards are worth an extra 2 points each, but if you don't have enough cards to discard, you can't claim the mountain route. Longest route gets a 10 point bonus.

TWO MINOR COMPLAINTS: 1) As with Ticket To Ride: Nordic Countries, some of the route tickets are hard to figure out, with the ending city given first, rather than the starting city. I think all routes should be listed with cities from left to right or top to bottom, not randomly. With my limited knowledge of Middle Eastern, Russian, and Asian geography, it makes it difficult to know where the tickets go. Also, since the game takes place in 1913, not all of the city names are the same as used today (Peking instead of Beijing, for example).

2) Japan is not shown on the cooperative map, but thankfully, it is available on the competitive map. My friend's Japanese wife couldn't believe that her country was not included on the coop map, and not better represented on the competitive map. It's definitely the most disappointing feature of this set, as Japan is one of the first countries most people think of when they think of Asia. Maybe a Japan-only expansion will be coming in the future, like the India-only one already scheduled for release in December 2011. If so, it makes more sense that Japan was shortchanged in this set, but it's still lame. On a related note, The Philippines, Indonesia, and Malaysia are completely absent from both maps, either because they are too far from the mainland to ferry to or for space considerations.

Regardless of these nitpicks, if you love Ticket To Ride, this Asia Map Pack is another winner in this amazing series. Definitely a worthy addition to your Ticket collection!

IMPORTANT NOTE: This is an expansion set, not a standalone game (hence, the lower price). It does not include the plastic trains (except the additional ones required for team play), nor does it include the train cards. You will need one of the following games to get the required pieces: Ticket To Ride or Ticket To Ride - Europe. While Ticket To Ride - Marklin has these pieces, the plastic trains are not all the same color as the previous sets and there are a bunch of Marklin-only passenger cards you'll need to remove from the train card deck. Ticket To Ride: Nordic Countries has all the train cards, but it is only for 3 players max, and again, the plastic train colors don't match previous sets. So you'll want either the original (North America) version or the European one in order to make use of this new Asia map pack. Keep this in mind for Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 and other map pack only expansions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, February 8, 2012
By 
B. Burns (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
My husband and I have been fans of the Ticket to Ride series for a while - we have the original game, the Switzerland edition (which is great when you only have two people), and the card game. We got this one largely because it's the only Ticket to Ride game which you can play with six people (most of the others max out at five).

We tried out the Team Asia version on New Years Eve with two other couples, and it was so much fun! The way it works is each pair has one set of trains to share between them, but each individual has their own train cards and routes. You're not allowed to discuss your strategies, and the only way you can share information with your teammate is by using one of your actions to place cards on the common rack. The result in our case was a hilarious, intense game full of meaningful looks, outbursts of frustration, and lots of, "Why can't you read my mind???"

The Legendary Asia map is fun too, but the dynamic of Team Asia is totally different than the other Ticket to Ride games. Highly recommend!

Keep in mind this is an EXPANSION, not a standalone game! You need a copy of the original to play this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the Ticket to Ride Games, November 30, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
I highly recommend Ticket to Ride Asia for anyone who likes this game series. This set allows you to explore Asia in two games. Game 1 allows for team play if you have 4 or 6 players. If you have 2, 3, or 5, you can use Game 2 which plays like all of the other Ticket to Ride games. Great Fun for the whole family. I don't know anyone who has played these games and didn't like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ticket to Ride yet, February 6, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
Ticket to Ride Asia brings a great dynamic to the game with team play. I enjoyed the America and expansions, Europe and Swiss games, but they don't match up to the team play in this edition. Best part is that if you don't want to do the team play you have the other side of the board for a different solo game play. Great addition for anyone who likes the Ticket to Ride game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, August 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
The two-sided game board is a wonderful idea. It adds depth and freshness to the original Ticket To Ride game, taking you around the world to different locations. The rules are basically the same with a few minor exceptions. This is an expansion and does require that you have a copy of Ticket To Ride so that you have all the necessary pieces. One of the sides of this game is designed specifically for team play, this is something that a person may want to realize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Expansion, February 1, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
This is a great expansion. There are 2 sides to the board. One side plays basically the same as the USA or Europe versions (with a few minor rule changes). The other side is for team play, either 4 or 6 players. Team play adds a new element to the game. Highly recommend this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun expanded gameplay., January 26, 2012
By 
J. Pace (Ogden, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
Ticket to Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 is a delight to play. The ticket to ride games are a favorite at my house. The expanded maps, alternate rules and additional game features make the gameplay new again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great expansion, December 30, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
Great expansion. the team version is a lot of fun just dont play on the same team as your wife. the 2-5player map is also excellent
Cool changes from europe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MUCH too dependent on luck of the card draw, March 18, 2014
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
We loved the original Ticket to Ride with the 1910 expansion deck added--strategy is the key in this game. The Asia Ticket to ride seemed a fun new map to explore but the game relies mostly on whether you can draw the right cards as there are few options to get to destinations. We tired of this game quickly. The two-team game board on the reverse side is better and may be worth the purchase, however. We enjoyed more. It did get a bit crazy to play as our team would have usually 10 routes we were working on at one time. We have played Asia 5-10 times and are done with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Asia is Great, October 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1 (Toy)
Fans of Ticket to Ride USA will definitely enjoy this expansion! You get a two-sided board with two different options of play; one is team play and the other is not. I actually really enjoy the 2-5 player side of this board. Many people seem to favour the team play, but I find the 2-5 player side is one of the best maps of Ticket to Ride. All players get the option of a long ticket, and all other tickets are close in value. This makes for a much closer and tense game. As much as I love the original TTR, sometimes there can be big gaps in player scores and this doesn't happen in the Asian TTR nearly as much. I also enjoy the introduction of tunnels. I won't explain how they work since others have done that, but the tunnels make for a shorter game since everyone is discarding trains. People can also build on tunnels strategically and trash trains to end the game so opponents don't finish their tickets. Overall the Legendary Asia map is done very well and is highly enjoyable.
The team map is also fun, but I've noticed some people don't like it too much. Playing with a partner and not communicating plans can be very stressful and some just don't fancy that type of play. In one game, my partner had used all of her trains early and I still had trains left and we lost because the opposing team got two turns for every one I took. This was frustrating. Adding a 6th player is nice though, and I've had pleasant experiences with this variant as well.
The components are ok. The cards are flimsy and could have been much better. I really like the cardholders this expansion gives you and I almost always use them in other TTR games. I'm happy to have bought this expansion and recommend it to lovers of TTR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1
$34.99 $30.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.