Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should have been called Switzerland + India . . .
The Ticket To Ride series continues to roll along with this latest double feature expansion. Like the previous Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1, this is an expansion pack, not a complete game. You'll need a copy of the original Ticket To Ride (North America) or Ticket To Ride - Europe to get the plastic trains and train cards. What you get in this set are...
Published on January 27, 2012 by Baron Von Cool

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars there are no tunnels, in reality the railway has many
The map is the older version, like the undivided India, that feels great but we need to learn names of new kingdoms! There are no tunnels to build so the game overall feels very easy and not challenging.
Published 10 months ago by Anj Jay


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should have been called Switzerland + India . . ., January 27, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
The Ticket To Ride series continues to roll along with this latest double feature expansion. Like the previous Ticket To Ride Asia: Map Collection - Volume 1, this is an expansion pack, not a complete game. You'll need a copy of the original Ticket To Ride (North America) or Ticket To Ride - Europe to get the plastic trains and train cards. What you get in this set are two rulebooks (with one page of rules repeated in a bunch of languages), a double-sided map board, and two decks of route tickets, one for India and one for Switzerland. The components are all sturdy and handsomely put together as usual for a Days of Wonder product.

The new India map is vertical and features ferries but no tunnels. It is a challenging, well-thought out map with many choke-points. As usual with the foreign sets, it's hard to find the cities because the city names are almost entirely unfamiliar to western ears, as is the geography. There are are a few deceptively similar sounding cities, like Calicat (sp?) and Calcutta, so make sure to double-check your tickets. The game's end rewards the player with the longest connecting route (+10 points) and also up to 40 bonus "mandala" points if you can connect your target cities two different ways. The more tickets you can complete multiple ways, the bigger the bonus. Basically, you're building circles around your target cities. This map is designed to reward players who do this early, so that means it's easy to get cut out of a city if you don't secure it quickly.

I found this mandala rule confusing, poorly written, and annoying. It is really hard to accomplish even building one circle and means gambling trains potentially better spent elsewhere (as in used to complete extra tickets). It is also the only new rule featured in India, which is a big letdown, like "is this the best they could come up with?" But don't get me wrong: that's not to say India is bad; I'd certainly play it again, but it is why I'm knocking a star off my rating. I've played several games with it now and never enjoyed the mandala rule; only once did anyone ever successfully build a circle. The good news is that if you don't like the new rule, you can completely ignore it and play India like a normal game of Ticket To Ride (I doubt anyone will be building many circles anyway). India is designed for 2-4 players; you'll need 4 to use both tracks on the double routes.

Switzerland is the real star of this set, easily five stars on its own (which is why when the original edition was out of print, it was selling for crazy money). This horizontal map features tunnels (lots of 'em) and the locomotives can only be used to complete tunnels, so you can grab two face-up loco's if you are drawing cards. Some route tickets connect to the surrounding countries: Austria, France, Germany and Italy. Some require you to connect to a specific city as well as another country, and some simply require you to link up two different countries. However, it is up to you which country you connect to. Each country has a different point value based on how far and/or hard it is to connect to. If you connect to multiple countries, you get the points to the best possible country. If you fail to complete the route, you get the negatives for the country with the lowest point value.

Unlike every other version, you only get 40 trains, not 45, and unclaimed route tickets are not discarded to the bottom of the deck, but are out of the game--thus making it possible to run out of route tickets! The game's end rewards +10 points to the player with the longest connecting route. This can be an incredibly challenging map with lots of ways to cut off opponents and it's no wonder this is Ticket To Ride creator/designer Alan R. Moon's favorite map. Switzerland is designed for 2-3 players; you'll need 3 to use both tracks on the double routes. Note that you can play Switzerland if you have Ticket To Ride Online (it's just a few bucks extra).

If you like Ticket To Ride, you'll like this latest double feature expansion. I look forward to seeing what new rules and countries they come up with next.

UPDATE (Jan. 25, 2013): Played a lot more games with the India map now and while it's fun, I still have to say this is my least favorite Ticket to Ride map. Too easy to get cut off from the top or bottom of map, building circles is usually too much work (and it's practically impossible to do in 4-player games). Switzerland still kicks butt, of course. The new Ticket to Ride Map Collection Board Game: The Heart of Africa, Volume #3 is currently my gaming group's favorite because the addition of terrain cards makes it so anyone can win regardless of the number of tickets completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My two favorite TTR maps, April 20, 2012
By 
louis917 (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
If you enjoy tight, cutthroat maps, where claiming routes early can be a major advantage, this expansion is a must!

The India map is wonderfully creative, with so many different strategies capable of winning. You can go ticket-fishing, you can rack up tons of points with a Mandala bonus, or you can concentrate on claiming the limited long routes and ending the game quickly. No single strategy is a sure bet! In my opinion, this map has the best blend of offense and defense, and also the most striking artwork and colors in the TTR series.

I've been playing Switzerland for a few years now. Prior to India, it was my favorite. The tight map and fewer trains usually make it a fast-paced ticket-drawing contest. If I have a criticism, it's that there are fewer winning formulas. Taking a central path west to east and getting into all four countries is almost always your best bet, no matter what tickets you draw initially. For Switzerland to be really fun, you need to play defensively.

In short, if you like Ticket to Ride but wish it had more player interaction and tension, India and Switzerland will be welcome additions to your game nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Favorite Expansion for Ticket To Ride... Some Great Additions and Lots of Bang for your Buck, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
Length:: 1:24 Mins

Note: A copy of a base TTR game is needed to play this expansion (it comes with destination tickets and maps, but not the train cards or trains).

My fiancé and I like to play games that rely at least a little on luck and aren't too complex (for her), but that also involve some strategy and complexity (for me). We usually play two-player, and we play TTR USA with the 1912 expansion at least a few times a month. So, we decided to give a couple of the expansions a try, and Switzerland and India seemed like it had some nice additions to the game, plus a good amount of bang for the buck. We were not disappointed.

This is a wonderful addition to Ticket to Ride. You get TWO maps / sets of destination tickets, and each map introduces a new way to play vs. the base Ticket to Ride USA game (i.e., Switzerland adds tunnels and India adds ferries). We found this to be a great way to introduce these new mechanics to the game (as opposed to adding both at once as TTR Europe and TTR Nordic Countries do).

Another thing we loved is that TTR Switzerland added two new types of destination ticket:

(1) For City-to-country tickets you have to connect the city in question to one of the four countries on the map. Each country is worth a different number of points, and you get the points for the highest scoring country connection completed (and if you don't connect to any country you lose the lowest points on the ticket).

(2) For Country-to-country tickets you have to connect form the primary country to any of the other three countries. Again, each country is worth a different number of points, and you get the points for the highest scoring country you connect (and if don't connect to any country you lose the lowest points on the ticket).

Finally, for TTR India they added a fun end game bonus for connecting two cities on a destination card using two different routes (the routs can intersect but not overlap or share any trains). These are not always easy to get, and the scoring is reasonable and not game breaking when you do get them.

We have played TTR USA with the 1912 expansion, TTR Europe, TTR Nordic Countries, TTR Nederlands, and this one... I would pick up whatever TTR base set you like best (because the base set is still needed to play), and if you could only pick up one more expansion I would definitely recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Swiss Map is the Best I've Played, July 7, 2013
By 
theffx (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
I find the Switzerland map to be very well designed. I've literally played it over one hundred times and its still fun. There are some interesting strategies you can use and the map seems well-balanced. Great for if you are only playing 1 or 2 other people, although I think I slightly prefer to play it with only 1 other person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this Game! We play it all the time. A little disappointed that one side is only up to three players unlike Asia that has the 6 player team version. But still an awesome expansion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
My husband and I love to play the Switzerland map of this. We play it all the time. It's perfect for 2 players!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun times, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
Amazing game to play with family and friends. Age no bar!! Go get one for your family!! A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
The two maps in this collection are a great addition to the game. They add just enough new rules and twists to make the game new and exciting, but keep the basic gameplay of Ticket to Ride that I already loved. Note that Switzerland is only 3 players, and India is limited to 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best expansion for 2 players, April 9, 2014
By 
Eric D (Columbus, OH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
Europe and USA are fantastic games in their own right; but the games are not nearly as exciting with only 2-3 players. India, on the other hand, feels like a completely different game. The shorter routes and lots of criss-crossing makes for a very exciting 2 player game. We found ourselves completely changing up strategies that we have used in the base sets.

Of course some of the city names are difficult to pronounce and find, but I knew that going in. It isn't any worse that Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any Ticket fan!, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2 (Toy)
Great Addition! Comes with 2 boards that are equally fun to play. India is a blast, the game goes quick and different strategies are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ticket To Ride India: Map Collection - Volume 2
$29.99 $24.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.