Tiger Eye: The First Dirk & Steele Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Tiger Eye Paperback – January 1, 2007


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.68 $9.69
Paperback, January 1, 2007
$10.11

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $1.99 (Save 71%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuchverl (2007)
  • Language: German
  • ISBN-10: 3442244978
  • ISBN-13: 978-3442244973
  • Product Dimensions: 7.2 x 4.9 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.1 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (112 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,585,391 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Marjorie Liu is an attorney and novelist, whose paranormal romance and urban fantasy series have made her a New York Times Bestselling author. She writes for Marvel Comics, including Dark Wolverine (with Daniel Way), Black Widow, X-23 -- and most recently, Astonishing X-Men, which was nominated for a GLAAD Media Award for its "outstanding representation of the LGBT Community". Marjorie divides her time between Boston, Indiana, and Beijing, China.

Customer Reviews

Once I started reading, I didn't put the book down until I finished and I wanted more.
Feel The Need, To Read!
Fans of Kay Hooper, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Maggie Shayne, Christine Feehan, and Amanda Ashley should especially enjoy Liu.
Himura Seraphina
The characters were well written and there was a nice balance of action, adventure and romance.
Bookenz

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

79 of 82 people found the following review helpful By Julia on February 23, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback
To Della, what others call "supernatural" is commonplace, but she believes there is a scientific reason for the fantastic things her family and friends can do. Just because she might not understand the science, doesn't mean its magic. Through an interesting turn of events, Della finds herself the unwilling mistress of a two-thousand-year-old shape shifter, who is cursed with immortality as a slave without his animal form. Della is hard-pressed to rationalize the situation as anything other than magic. Hari is surprised and suspicious when Della informs him that she will not command him, and that she intends to help him break his curse. Della seems to see him as a man; he as trouble accepting this, because his previous masters have all treated him as a belonging or a weapon, or worse, a ready outlet for sadistic torture. He fears her ultimate betrayal, yet finds hope that she is genuine. Their task is complicated by return of the wicked magus who placed the curse on Hari. He wants Hari as his slave, and will stop at nothing to get him. Then, an assassin targets Della with a stolen blade, which she created for a special client, one with dubious underground connections, a client with powerful friends and merciless enemies. With threats on two separate fronts, Della and Hari call in her friends, all psi-wielding mercenaries, working for Della's family-run detective agency. They're all bad boys who are also good and honorable men. In the midst of the danger and chaos, Hari and Della, find trust and friendship in each other, and eventually love grows strong and unwavering between them.Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful By Deborah MacGillivray HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on March 6, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback
An utterly brilliant debut book that will knock your socks off!! This novel has been gaining word of mouth through reviewers, and with good reason. This book is imaginative, powerful, and literally hard to believe it's a debut book. So grab it quick, read it and then you can turn all your friends onto this great new author from Dorchester Publishing. Dorchester is known for giving new talent that chance to spread it's wings, and some of the best writers in Romance today came through Dorchester Publishing's tutelage. Marjorie M. Liu, is simply an amazing writer and will be one Romance readers wait eagerly for until her next book. It won't be a long wait as A Taste of Crimson comes out in August 2005.

Dela Reese (Okies...I had a little stumble at the start because of the name is too similar to Della Reese the actress, but I quickly was able to get past that mental image because of the powerful writing) is a sculptor of metal. She uses this talent to create stunning weapons and statues. But she is not just a regular armourer, she is from a family of people with psi power. The "core family" uses their powers to combat forces of evil in the world. Dela is not so strongly gifted, so she pours her psi power into the creation of weapons. Having a deep love for swords and a collector of them myself, a character with the same passion really intrigued me.

Hari is a tiger (love the imagery). But like Dela he's more...much more. He is a shapechanger. Finally something besides werewolves...lol! An evil Magi bespelled him, and has kept him prisoner in a puzzle box. Dela is hunting antiques when she comes across the box. She releases Hari and now he is bound to her. Only her djinn from the bottle...hum box...is not a happy camper.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 19, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I recently decided to reread the Dirk & Steele series because I have fallen behind and haven't read the last couple books. Since the later world building gets more and more detailed, I figured I had better freshen up so as not to find myself confused by forgotten plot elements. Plus, they're good. How can I say no to a sure thing? :)

If you've read the back of the book and been underwhelmed, just wipe that slate clean. I don't know who wrote that summary (fingers crossed that it wasn't the author, because, awkward!) but it doesn't do the story any justice. The bare bones setup is that Hari, a tiger shifter, has been imprisoned in a puzzle box for the last two thousand years and forced to serve as a slave for whichever master owns him at the moment. Dela buys the box not knowing what it is and finds herself bound to Hari when she opens it.

Let's pause it right there. I can already sense some of you rolling your eyes, but really, this story does not fall into familiar lines. Liu takes the clichéd setup and turns it into something tender and heartwarming.

Hari has been used and abused constantly throughout his time as a slave and he is not happy to have another master. Dela has a magical gift herself, but when she's dropped into this situation with Hari, she has a hard time swallowing it. They both have to find a way to make it work because even though Hari has a hard time believing in her, she can't stomach the thought of making the situation easier for herself by getting rid of him. She didn't want her life tied to some random stranger, but she can't turn away when she sees his suffering. Hari fears trusting her, but he can't keep himself from hoping that she really is different than all the rest.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa2955f90)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?