Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking back, a legend reflects and retunes...
"It's My Life," "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood," "We Gotta Get Out of This Place," "House of the Rising Sun," "Don't Bring Me Down," and so many more. Eric Burdon and the Animals were a very unique and original band and his later work with War and on "The Twain Shall Meet" ("Sky Pilot," etc.) is also quite unique. These songs were much deeper, more raw and gritty than a...
Published 20 months ago by Bron

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still a great voice.
Eric still is a commanding Rock/Blues voice. His song selections and lyrics on this album are average at best. His back up band is nothing to speak about.
Published 7 months ago by Ronald J. Trimble


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good album, March 27, 2013
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
This is a very good album from one of the great performers and great survivors of rock. The word "legendary" is overused, but can be deservedly applied to Eric Burdon. Even so, when a rock performer turns 70 there is always a worry that any new work will just show a talent in decline, but not here. The man has still got it - his voice is in remarkably good shape and his ability to put over a great blues song is undiminished.

The material here is all blues-based in its many different forms. There is a powerful rocking opener in "Water," some more soulful funky stuff, elements of gospel and a terrific tribute to Bo Diddley (Bo Diddley Special) which is a great evocation of the man's spirit as well as a heartfelt thank you to him. Throughout, Eric is backed by a really solid, skilful band and has complete control over his delivery, with the same phenomenal power when he decides to unleash it. It's a very good, varied selection of songs.

Despite some terrific highlights, I'm not sure the material on this album is consistently great enough to make it a true classic, but it's a very fine piece of work. I really like it and warmly recommend it to anyone who likes well played and very well sung bluesy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album - thankfully Eric's river hasn't run dry, March 10, 2013
By 
Cooley Reece. "DavidROA" (Roanoke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
Eric Burdon is one of the most under appreciated artist's that originated in the 60's. Under appreciated maybe by all except by those that have followed his career. The original Animals, the New Animals, Eric Burdon and the Animals, and War, ETC. all created exceptional music that still sounds fresh. With each step Eric brought something new to the table. The blues of the original Animals through the R & B/Funk of War, and beyond.

Eric, always an excellent song writer, had a penchant for writing songs that captured a time. Think: Monterey, San Francisco Nights, Sky Pilot, Winds of Change, and White Houses to name a few. The new album offers another excellent addition to the list for 'Forever 27'.

Eric along with the Animals actually are responsible for introducing me to Bo Diddley. 'The Story of Bo Diddley' was the first song on the first Animals album, The Animals'.

Eric's passion for Bo Diddley continues with this album. Riddin' on that 'Bo Diddley Special' is a great tribute to and old and admired friend. For those with the need to compare, the music of Eric's new album is closer to the Original Animals. Not to say the sound is dated or stale. It is quite the opposite. This release captures it all, great blues, great lyrics, great arrangements, tight band, varied styles, and perhaps most importantly Eric's great soulful voice.

Each song on 'Til Your River Runs Dry' is excellent.

'Til Your River Runs Dry' will be a welcome addition to anyone's music collection. It will be an especially welcomed addition to the collection of those that have appreciated any of Eric's music through the years. There are reminders of those different stages throughout this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old People Still Can Rock It !!!!, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
Eric Burdon's new album is awesome. Great Bluesy Rock and Roll. He sounds great The songs are wonderful and he really mixes it up! Get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still a great voice., February 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
Eric still is a commanding Rock/Blues voice. His song selections and lyrics on this album are average at best. His back up band is nothing to speak about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eric Burdon goes on, November 11, 2013
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
In the 1960s, one of the most powerful rock songs for me was Eric Burdon and the Animals singing "House of the Rising Sun," raw and powerful. Now, a new CD--"'Til Your River Runs Dry."

Burdon continues to be a fine performer--and a good lyricist. 12 songs on this CD. How do these work?

A few examples to illustrate.

"Water": A nice rocking tune. Burdon's voice still serves as a musical instrument (compare Keith Richards' voice now and then!!). Key line to me: "Water, water water; The truth, the shame, the liar." And: "The enemy does not know who the enemy is."

"Memorial Day": A very political song. About soldiers. "It's a rich man's war but the poor will play." Musically? Nice rhythm work. Burdon's voice works well.

"Devil and Jesus": Provocative song. A bit strange with a slow tempo. "The devil and Jesus, controlling my soul. But I pay the toll."

"Bo Diddley Special": I looked forward to this, thinking that Burdon would use the Bo Diddley riff. No. Still, nice to listen to something of an homage to Diddley.

Overall, a nice work, showing that Eric Burdon's creativity still exists. . . .

Then, "The River Is Rising." A slow tempo. "The river is rising; Carry me to another world; The river is rising." Burdon speaks much of this rather than singing. An interesting song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric is Here!, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
This is incredible! An Eric Burdon release in 2013, that rivals his best.

In good voice and hitting a variety of great songs, many recalling the glory days, Eric Burdon reasserts as a Major Dude. With songs about friends who died young, Two Bo Diddley themed songs, the GREAT "Devil and Jesus" a song about Katrina and New Orleans and bluesy blues this is about as good as it could possibly be.

I already wrote to Eric and thanked him. Its another renaissance for one of the best of the MANY singers to erupt from Britain in the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best in a long time, February 8, 2013
By 
J. Anderson (madera, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
Eric has always been one of my favorites, but his output had been slow of late, but this release make the wait worthwhile.
He still has his destinctive voice and has some fun on this release. Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Hits A Homerun!!!!!!!!!!!, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
This is what good ole blues rock sounds like. The writing, music and singing are spot on. All rockers should get there que from the Great Eric Burden. Ol guys rule!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
Nice to hear from Eric. This CD, I guess reminds me of my career, "Chuck Sadosky". Great piece of work from Eric especially because he wrote most of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still great after all these years, January 29, 2014
By 
D. Allin (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til Your River Runs Dry (Audio CD)
I think Eric Burdon is the best rock vocalist ever, and I have almost all his albums. This one is better than most, but not quite as great as his best. My favorites are Love Is, Sun Secrets, and the 2010 album, My Secret Life. This one is similar to My Secret Life, but not quite as catchy. It's less dark and melancholy than Life, but doesn't have quite the same edge. His voice is still excellent, and his back-up musicians are wonderful. One of the backup singers is listed as Will Wheaton--the nemesis of Sheldon Cooper? My favorite song on this album is Bo Diddley Special. Listening to the album makes me feel like I'm in a small jazz club enjoying a live performance. Great music, but no songs that I want to listen to over and over, like Over The Border on the My Secret Life album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Til Your River Runs Dry
Til Your River Runs Dry by Eric Burdon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.