Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've missed Ellie & Rudy!
As a dog-lover, I so enjoy this series! The "conversations" between Ellie and the dogs are always entertaining, and in this installment Rudy and Twink are more involved than ever in the investigation; Mr. T's commentary at times is priceless. The addition of a crazy bird with a talent for mimicry provides several laugh-out-loud moments (for this reader, anyway!)...
Published on August 6, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the others in series
I have enjoyed this series until this book. It moved very slow and then Ellie did not seem to really investigate as she has in past books. Her friend Viv stole her thunder in the investigating and her dog, Rudy, really did not live up to his regular investigative self. It will not prohibit me from reading more in the series. I just didn't think this one lived up to...
Published 18 months ago by Kate Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've missed Ellie & Rudy!, August 6, 2011
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
As a dog-lover, I so enjoy this series! The "conversations" between Ellie and the dogs are always entertaining, and in this installment Rudy and Twink are more involved than ever in the investigation; Mr. T's commentary at times is priceless. The addition of a crazy bird with a talent for mimicry provides several laugh-out-loud moments (for this reader, anyway!).

Ellie and Viv head to the chi-chi Hamptons for the wedding of Viv's sister Arlene. The groom is late for the pre-wedding party....and is found dead. As the evidence piles up against the son of Arlene's housekeeper, Ellie is pulled out of vacation mode into investigating the murder. Stir in drugs, a mysterious hot man and Viv's family dynamics and you have the makings of some major drama as the case unfolds.

Keep writing, Judi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, October 12, 2011
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Ellie Engleman has a job any canine lover would, well, kill for. She's a professional dog walker in Manhattan. But Ellie doesn't just walk dogs. She talks to them, too. Okay, I admit that may not seem unusual. Don't lots of us do that? The difference is that the dogs talk back to Ellie, particularly her "main man," Rudy, a Yorkiepoo with a smart mouth who's fiercely protective of his mistress.
In "Till Death Do Us Bark," the latest book in the Dog Walker mystery series, Ellie and Rudy are invited by BFF (and very bad driver) Vivian to attend a family wedding in the posh Hamptons. But before the bride--Viv's sister--can say her wedding vows, the groom is found dead, which does put a damper on the festivities. Suspects crop up all over the place, including some members of Viv's own family, a weird and grumpy group of wealthy artistic types.
Viv begs Ellie and Rudy to investigate and find out the truth about her almost-brother-in-law and why he died. Of course, Rudy has a distinct advantage because people will say anything in front of a dog, even reveal their darkest secrets.
Ellie and her canine sidekick are a formidable detective team. "Till Death Do Us Bark" is a fun read and a warning to all us dog lovers to be careful what we talk about in front of our pups!

Reviewed by Susan Santangelo, author of "Moving Can Be Murder" for Suspense Magazine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read in the Dogwalker series, August 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Judi McCoy's latest entry in her Dogwalker series continues a winning streak that started with "Hounding the Pavement" in 2009. "Til Death Do Us Bark" finds Ellie and Rudy in the Hamptons with Viv and Mr. T. I was pleased to see the fun development of Viv's character - in earlier books we heard way more from the assertive Mr. T. than from his owner. The plot is well-constructed, the dialogue sprightly, and the ending believable - although I wouldn't have been as forgiving to certain characters, who will remain unnamed in this review. "Fashion Faux Paw" will be out in March - I've already pre-ordered my copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the others in series, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I have enjoyed this series until this book. It moved very slow and then Ellie did not seem to really investigate as she has in past books. Her friend Viv stole her thunder in the investigating and her dog, Rudy, really did not live up to his regular investigative self. It will not prohibit me from reading more in the series. I just didn't think this one lived up to the others I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, September 29, 2011
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
With Viv's family at the forefront, it was fun watching Viv's relationship with her family as she worked together with Ellie and the dogs to prove a person's innocence. The banter between Ellie and her canine friends is just as entertaining as the conversations she has with her human friends. This was another good story in this likeable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner From Judi McCoy, September 16, 2011
By 
Sherry Lawson (PLAINFIELD, IL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I was saddened to finish this book so quickly, because I now have to wait until March 2012 for Judi McCoy's sixth dog walker mystery, "Fashion Faux Paw" to be released......I read most of this book in one night, and finished it the following morning because it was so darned entertaining and funny! I actually laughed out loud several times at the engaging dialogue.

Ellie, Rudy, and Viv were in the Hamptons for Viv's sister's wedding, so we were able to leave Manhattan and head off to the beach in this installment of the dog walker series. There were several interesting human characters to meet and observe, and an African gray parrot, named Myron, who stole the show. He would imitate noises and people's comments, along with singing songs that were prompted by words in the conversations he overheard at the house. Because of these abilities, he was very helpful in the murder case. Bringing Myron in as a main character was sheer genius, and the combination of his antics and Rudy's smart alecky remarks made this book a delight to read. This book is now combined with "Heir of the Dog" as my favorites, although the remaining books are not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ellie and Rudy go to the Hamptons!, August 22, 2011
By 
Emily M. Cullen (Mulberry, FLORIDA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Ellie leaves Manhattan for a well deserved vacation without Sam, in the Hamptons. The characters are wonderful, many new ones, and I didn't guess who the culprit was until the end! The new location was refreshing and exciting. A wonderful summer read! I can hardly wait for the next one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series for both cozy lovers and dog lovers, August 10, 2011
This review is from: Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Judi McCoy's Till Death Do Us Bark was my book choice for today. Professional dog walker and amateur sleuth Ellie Engleman gets a much needed break when she heads to the Hamptons with her best friend Viv to attend Viv's sister Arlene's wedding. Even better their dogs Rudy and Twink are also invited. But a relaxing vacation is not to be. A murder means they will be holding a wake instead of a funeral and Ellie is brought into the investigation when the housekeeper's son is suspected of the crime.

The investigation turns up family drama and an epidemic of drug use among the well-to-do. Rudy and Tink (a.k.a. Mr. T) are a riot as usual and they are joined by a parrot who heard more than he should have in helping Ellie with the case.

Enjoyed the banter between the dogs and Ellie (who can hear their thoughts) and found the addition of a new mysterious man who seems to have more than a professional interest in Ellie interesting. Don't forget to check out her other books in the Dog Walker Mystery series as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best in series, August 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i was disappointed in this entry for many reasons.
1. never ever feed chocolate to any bird, it is a bird poison. with the amount of chocolate stuffed into the parrot, it should have died in the middle of the book
2. i was annoyed at the disparaging comments about the parrot. the African Grey, is one of the most intellingent of parrots, an IQ comparable to a preschool child. they do not aimlessly repeat words. they are cognitavely intact intelligent animals.
3. the characters were annoying and the human conversations lacking in any intelligence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh approach, April 6, 2014
By 
Vicky Cartmell (Wapakonte,, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the new approach of someone actually being able to chat with the dogs and getting their perspective. What fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery
Till Death Do Us Bark: A Dog Walker Mystery by Judi McCoy (Mass Market Paperback - August 2, 2011)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.