Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision Paperback


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$15.95 $1.73
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Shop the New Digital Design Bookstore
Check out the Digital Design Bookstore, a new hub for photographers, art directors, illustrators, web developers, and other creative individuals to find highly rated and highly relevant career resources. Shop books on web development and graphic design, or check out blog posts by authors and thought-leaders in the design industry. Shop now

Product Details

  • Age Range: 18 and up
  • Grade Level: Preschool and up
  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Editions (August 2, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786853786
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786853786
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 8.5 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #797,394 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

An in-depth, behind-the-scenes look at this 1993 animated holiday film.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

This year's holiday animation release from Walt Disney is a real departure for the studio. The first major movie done entirely in three-dimensional stop-action animation, Nightmare before Christmas is the macabre story of Jack Skellington, "the Pumpkin King of Halloween," who is so delighted when he discovers Christmas that he decides to take over the role of Santa Claus. Tim Burton (Batman, Beetlejuice) came up with the idea 10 years ago when he worked as an animator at Disney during a more straitlaced era; since, things have loosened up enough at the studio for Burton to get the green light on his pet project. This volume, timed to coincide with Nightmare's theatrical release, chronicles the film from its inception through all stages of production, with commentary from Burton and the other creators. It's loaded with artwork ranging from Burton's original sketches through scenes from the finished film. The groundbreaking movie is a commercially and artistically risky venture, but considering the track record of Burton and the success of Disney's recent animated features, it might just become a holiday perennial; if so, libraries would do well to have this print tie-in on hand. Gordon Flagg --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Believe it or not i first read the book and watched the movie later!
A. Papatheodoulou
If you're interested in knowing more about Tim Burton's movie The Nightmare Before Christmas, this book is a great buy.
Nora D. Ruelas
I bought this and read it, and let me say they did a good job taking it from the movie.
M. Woodman

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By R.Suarez VINE VOICE on July 11, 2005
Format: Hardcover
This book is definitely very illustrative about the process of creation of a film of the caliber of `The nightmare before Christmas'. With a foreword by Tim Burton, the book includes everything related with the making of this stop-motion animation classic. This book is more a documentary about the making of the film; it is divided in three sections (described below) and takes you through the whole process of creation of the movie. It is an interesting document indeed for people wanting to know about the creative process of making a movie of this kind. A perfect companion for the film!

The Film

The first part of the book focuses on the story ans the lyrics of the movie songs, beautifully illustrated with pictures from the movie, designs and Burton's sketches. Some movie facts are also given in this part of the book.

The Art

The original poem by Burton in which the movie is based on is presented in the firt part of the section. Most of Burton's sketches and character designs are here. The design of the sets, the characters and storyboards are well explained and presented in this section of the book with beautiful pictures, colored sketches and original drawings by Tim.

The Vision

In this section we get to meet all the people involved in making this film possible, and a little background on her profiles and how they were selected to partake on this project. Tim Burton, Henry Selick, Danny Elfman, Caroline Thompson, Kathleen Gavin and Denise Di Novi participate with comments and thought about the project.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on December 26, 1996
Format: Hardcover
For anyone who likes The Nightmare Before Christmas this book is extremely rewarding and something
to have. It is filled with tons of drawings and pictures you can't find anywhere else. It gives you a lot of detail
on exactly what went into making the movie and gives you insight from the people who worked on it. For any fan of
"Nightmare" it's definitly something you must have
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By "emmc" on November 8, 1999
Format: Paperback
This colorful, coffee-table book turns out to be quite a very interesting read and an excellent book for both TNBC fans and Tim Burton fans in general. The book gives a solid overview of the creation of TNBC, from concept to production to the finished product.
On the plus side: Many original, and beautiful, concept sketches and artwork, both by Tim Burton and other conceptual artists; the complete lyrics to all of Danny Elfman's score, a very facsinating look at the actual production (creation of sets, puppets, mechanics behind stop-motion) of TNBC.
On the negative side: Nothing to speak of. A nice touch would've been the inclusion of Burton's original poem (now woefully out of print), but ah well.
Highly recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 5, 2000
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I got this book for my husband and it's a must have for fans of Tim Burton and Danny Elfman. The book contains beautiful photographs and drawings that made this movie come alive.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on December 27, 2005
Format: Paperback
I got this book at Disneyland yesterday. It was SO great! I'm glad I bought this instead of a stuffed Sally doll. It was very interesting, and I'm very pleased to see storyboards and the very informative contents of the book, especially the poem of The Nightmare Before Christmas. However, I wish I could've read more of the poem Tim Burton wrote. Then I could compare it to the original poem of The Night Before Christmas. Tim Burton is an exceedingly creative man, and I'm glad he makes stop-motion animation, because I'm SO sick of all the stupid computer animated movies that studios make nowadays. Tim Burton follows his own ideas, and this movie inspired me to be a stop-motion animator when I grow up, alongside with a career as an author.

-Jo W.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By E.A. on January 28, 2007
Format: Paperback
The drawings alone are worth buying this manga. It is also in the traditional Japanese format which makes it 10 X more fun to read. The story is nearly identical to the movie which may or may not be a good thing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on January 17, 2003
Format: Paperback
This book is a wonderful addition to any collection whether it be Elfman,Burton,Artwork or interesting books.
It gives a wonderful background to the movie and includes much of the storyboard artwork and some of Mr. Burton's original drawings.
I liked it particularly for the artwork and the behind the sceens stills.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A. Papatheodoulou on May 23, 2004
Format: Paperback
Believe it or not i first read the book and watched the movie later! A very good book to discover the amazing world and the huge amount of work, people and creativity hidden behind this film and stop motion animation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa57309cc)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?