Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision Paperback – August 2, 2002

226 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, August 2, 2002
$37.22 $0.12
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Summertime is Book Time
Discover our hand-selected picks of the best books for kids of all ages. Browse by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

An in-depth, behind-the-scenes look at this 1993 animated holiday film.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

This year's holiday animation release from Walt Disney is a real departure for the studio. The first major movie done entirely in three-dimensional stop-action animation, Nightmare before Christmas is the macabre story of Jack Skellington, "the Pumpkin King of Halloween," who is so delighted when he discovers Christmas that he decides to take over the role of Santa Claus. Tim Burton (Batman, Beetlejuice) came up with the idea 10 years ago when he worked as an animator at Disney during a more straitlaced era; since, things have loosened up enough at the studio for Burton to get the green light on his pet project. This volume, timed to coincide with Nightmare's theatrical release, chronicles the film from its inception through all stages of production, with commentary from Burton and the other creators. It's loaded with artwork ranging from Burton's original sketches through scenes from the finished film. The groundbreaking movie is a commercially and artistically risky venture, but considering the track record of Burton and the success of Disney's recent animated features, it might just become a holiday perennial; if so, libraries would do well to have this print tie-in on hand. Gordon Flagg --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Shop the New Digital Design Bookstore
Check out the Digital Design Bookstore, a new hub for photographers, art directors, illustrators, web developers, and other creative individuals to find highly rated and highly relevant career resources. Shop books on web development and graphic design, or check out blog posts by authors and thought-leaders in the design industry. Shop now

Product Details

  • Age Range: 18 and up
  • Grade Level: Preschool and up
  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Editions (July 29, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786853786
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786853786
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 0.5 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (226 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,283,107 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 14, 1997
Format: Hardcover
I bought a copy of this book a couple years back, only to find my young nephew (only 5 back then) reaching to look at it often when he visited. I've now decided to buy him his own copy of this book, while it's still in print, because I see this movie's "legend" continuing to grow as an annual Halloween classic. Such is the unique and wonderful world of Tim Burton; his style often does not catch on immediately, but it slowly finds its way beyond "cult" viewing and into the hearts and minds of mainstream audiences. This book features a generous offering of pre-production designs (including many of Burton's own drawings) and behind-the-scenes photos, which are fun to look at again and again. A beautifully illustrated book, and fun to own
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful By R.Suarez VINE VOICE on July 11, 2005
Format: Hardcover
This book is definitely very illustrative about the process of creation of a film of the caliber of `The nightmare before Christmas'. With a foreword by Tim Burton, the book includes everything related with the making of this stop-motion animation classic. This book is more a documentary about the making of the film; it is divided in three sections (described below) and takes you through the whole process of creation of the movie. It is an interesting document indeed for people wanting to know about the creative process of making a movie of this kind. A perfect companion for the film!

The Film

The first part of the book focuses on the story ans the lyrics of the movie songs, beautifully illustrated with pictures from the movie, designs and Burton's sketches. Some movie facts are also given in this part of the book.

The Art

The original poem by Burton in which the movie is based on is presented in the firt part of the section. Most of Burton's sketches and character designs are here. The design of the sets, the characters and storyboards are well explained and presented in this section of the book with beautiful pictures, colored sketches and original drawings by Tim.

The Vision

In this section we get to meet all the people involved in making this film possible, and a little background on her profiles and how they were selected to partake on this project. Tim Burton, Henry Selick, Danny Elfman, Caroline Thompson, Kathleen Gavin and Denise Di Novi participate with comments and thought about the project.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful By ModernOrchid on December 21, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I was lucky to find this at Borders a couple of days ago. My 5 and 3 year olds love it and so do I! It is a shorter version of the movie, thus NO Sally, or Oogie Boogie in the plot. However, they do make an appearance as citizens of Halloween Town. It is in a rhyming verse and this adds to it's charm , one of my fave lines is

"He visted the house of Susie and Dave;

They got a Gumby and Pokey from the grave.

Then on to the home of little Jane Neeman;

She got a baby doll possessed by a demon.""

There is also a spooky parody of "T'was the night before christmas" and Zero as Rudolph, of course. I look forward to reading this book at bedtime or anytime because it is such fun!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Puddin' Tane on January 12, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is Tim Burton's original version of this story. It is different from the film of the same title. It is basically a long poem, not unlike "The Night Before Christmas" as teh title suggests. The drawings are superb, the story excellently witty, and it is a must have for all 'Nightmare Before Christmas' movie fans, and Tim Burton fans alike. As I say it does differ from the movie, I can't say it is better because it is much more brief and less detailed, but it is by no means worse- just different. A cute, fun story all around! I recommend it highly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on September 7, 1998
Format: Hardcover
Although this book is aimed toward the younger readers, it is the original poem of the Nightmare Before Christmas, so no matter if you are a Burton fan or study literature, this is an essential item to add to that collectio
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on December 26, 1996
Format: Hardcover
For anyone who likes The Nightmare Before Christmas this book is extremely rewarding and something
to have. It is filled with tons of drawings and pictures you can't find anywhere else. It gives you a lot of detail
on exactly what went into making the movie and gives you insight from the people who worked on it. For any fan of
"Nightmare" it's definitly something you must have
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 5, 2000
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I got this book for my husband and it's a must have for fans of Tim Burton and Danny Elfman. The book contains beautiful photographs and drawings that made this movie come alive.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By "emmc" on November 8, 1999
Format: Paperback
This colorful, coffee-table book turns out to be quite a very interesting read and an excellent book for both TNBC fans and Tim Burton fans in general. The book gives a solid overview of the creation of TNBC, from concept to production to the finished product.
On the plus side: Many original, and beautiful, concept sketches and artwork, both by Tim Burton and other conceptual artists; the complete lyrics to all of Danny Elfman's score, a very facsinating look at the actual production (creation of sets, puppets, mechanics behind stop-motion) of TNBC.
On the negative side: Nothing to speak of. A nice touch would've been the inclusion of Burton's original poem (now woefully out of print), but ah well.
Highly recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?