Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very illustrative...
This book is definitely very illustrative about the process of creation of a film of the caliber of `The nightmare before Christmas'. With a foreword by Tim Burton, the book includes everything related with the making of this stop-motion animation classic. This book is more a documentary about the making of the film; it is divided in three sections (described below) and...
Published on July 11, 2005 by R.Suarez

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a Nice Little Touch to a Collection
If you know the movie, you know the manga already. I think the only real difference between the two is you see more of the story from Sally's point of view than in the movie.

Honestly, I am not a fan of manga art, and I do not think was a suitable form for this film. The twisted look was not really captured, and a lot of the characters looked soft, cuddly, and...
Published on December 30, 2008 by VNightmare


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very illustrative..., July 11, 2005
By 
R.Suarez "R-Suarez-" (Mc Allen, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is definitely very illustrative about the process of creation of a film of the caliber of `The nightmare before Christmas'. With a foreword by Tim Burton, the book includes everything related with the making of this stop-motion animation classic. This book is more a documentary about the making of the film; it is divided in three sections (described below) and takes you through the whole process of creation of the movie. It is an interesting document indeed for people wanting to know about the creative process of making a movie of this kind. A perfect companion for the film!

The Film

The first part of the book focuses on the story ans the lyrics of the movie songs, beautifully illustrated with pictures from the movie, designs and Burton's sketches. Some movie facts are also given in this part of the book.

The Art

The original poem by Burton in which the movie is based on is presented in the firt part of the section. Most of Burton's sketches and character designs are here. The design of the sets, the characters and storyboards are well explained and presented in this section of the book with beautiful pictures, colored sketches and original drawings by Tim.

The Vision

In this section we get to meet all the people involved in making this film possible, and a little background on her profiles and how they were selected to partake on this project. Tim Burton, Henry Selick, Danny Elfman, Caroline Thompson, Kathleen Gavin and Denise Di Novi participate with comments and thought about the project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved every page, picture, this book was really great, December 26, 1996
By A Customer
For anyone who likes The Nightmare Before Christmas this book is extremely rewarding and something
to have. It is filled with tons of drawings and pictures you can't find anywhere else. It gives you a lot of detail
on exactly what went into making the movie and gives you insight from the people who worked on it. For any fan of
"Nightmare" it's definitly something you must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful companion to the film, November 8, 1999
This colorful, coffee-table book turns out to be quite a very interesting read and an excellent book for both TNBC fans and Tim Burton fans in general. The book gives a solid overview of the creation of TNBC, from concept to production to the finished product.
On the plus side: Many original, and beautiful, concept sketches and artwork, both by Tim Burton and other conceptual artists; the complete lyrics to all of Danny Elfman's score, a very facsinating look at the actual production (creation of sets, puppets, mechanics behind stop-motion) of TNBC.
On the negative side: Nothing to speak of. A nice touch would've been the inclusion of Burton's original poem (now woefully out of print), but ah well.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK, May 5, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this book for my husband and it's a must have for fans of Tim Burton and Danny Elfman. The book contains beautiful photographs and drawings that made this movie come alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few very interesting nonfiction books, December 27, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision (Paperback)
I got this book at Disneyland yesterday. It was SO great! I'm glad I bought this instead of a stuffed Sally doll. It was very interesting, and I'm very pleased to see storyboards and the very informative contents of the book, especially the poem of The Nightmare Before Christmas. However, I wish I could've read more of the poem Tim Burton wrote. Then I could compare it to the original poem of The Night Before Christmas. Tim Burton is an exceedingly creative man, and I'm glad he makes stop-motion animation, because I'm SO sick of all the stupid computer animated movies that studios make nowadays. Tim Burton follows his own ideas, and this movie inspired me to be a stop-motion animator when I grow up, alongside with a career as an author.

-Jo W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E.A.'s Review, January 28, 2007
The drawings alone are worth buying this manga. It is also in the traditional Japanese format which makes it 10 X more fun to read. The story is nearly identical to the movie which may or may not be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must have for your nightmare collection, January 17, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful addition to any collection whether it be Elfman,Burton,Artwork or interesting books.
It gives a wonderful background to the movie and includes much of the storyboard artwork and some of Mr. Burton's original drawings.
I liked it particularly for the artwork and the behind the sceens stills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!, November 6, 2000
By 
"burtonland" (Austin, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
An extremely wonderful book, and a must-have for all die-hard Nightmare fans. Aside from the new special edition DVD of the film, this will give you all the behind-the-scenes info that's readily availible to the public. The book tells everything about Nightmare--from the poem Burton wrote while at Disney, to the credits of who worked on the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a companion to the movie....!!!, May 23, 2004
This review is from: Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision (Paperback)
Believe it or not i first read the book and watched the movie later! A very good book to discover the amazing world and the huge amount of work, people and creativity hidden behind this film and stop motion animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, BUT WOULD HAVE LIKED TO SEE MORE, April 5, 2005
This review is from: Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision (Paperback)
I bought this book wanting to know more about the making of the movie, but didn't get as much as I'd hoped for. It does include many sketches from Tim Burton, but hardly an from others who worked on the film. Yes, it does include lyrics to the songs featured in the film, all except for the one I was hoping for ( I can't remember the name, but it's the last song in the movie sung by Jack & Sally... "if you don't mind, I'd like to join you by your side, Where we can gaze upon the stars, And sit together, Now and Forever..")

Most of the book is a pictoral reference on the movie, and though I certainly would have loved to see more, it was still a good buy. It's just too bad I didn't get to read anything on the making of the film, or Burton's thoughts on its production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision
Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas: The Film, the Art, the Vision by Frank Thompson (Paperback - August 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $1.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.