Buy Used
$3.98
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by rustyrivermedia
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Eligible for FREE SUPER SAVER SHIPPING!! Amazon customer service AND delivery tracking! Overall good condition! Missing dust jacket.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tim, Defender of the Earth! Hardcover – Bargain Price, March 27, 2008


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, Bargain Price, March 27, 2008
$3.29 $0.01

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details



Special Offers and Product Promotions


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Top 20 Books for Kids
See the books our editors' chose as the Best Children's Books of 2014 So Far or see the lists by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12 | Nonfiction

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Razorbill (March 27, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595141847
  • ASIN: B001OMHVGE
  • Product Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,816,628 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

The author of The Black Tattoo (2006) lays waste to London in this similarly offbeat tale. This time, he offers a spin on classic low-budget monster flicks. Having at last perfected self-replicating, nearly invisible nanobots that can turn anything into anything else, Professor Mallahide feeds himself to his creations and sets out on a well-intentioned crusade to banish death and unhappiness from the world. With his new capabilities, nothing stands in his way—except his commonsensical daughter, Anna; her shallow but not completely useless classmate Chris; and Tim, a hundred-meter-tall, genetically “improved,” preadolescent tyrannosaur created in a subterranean British lab. Although Enthoven has the distracting habit of freezing the action to fret or explain, he pits Tim and his tiny human helpers against scads of thick-skulled politicians, sets up a series of rousingly destructive battles between the titanic dino and Mallahide (who turns himself into a mammoth half-human cockroach for the occasion), and closes with an ingenious twist. This is not quite up to M. T. Anderson’s Whales on Stilts! (2006) for sheer zaniness, but it should draw and amuse the same audience. Grades 5-8. --John Peters

Review

This fun, action-driven, science fiction tale will be snapped up by restless boys. -- School Library Journal

More About the Author

Hi! My name's Sam. I live in London, England and I write fantastical action thrillers for young people.
My debut novel, THE BLACK TATTOO was published in late 2006: that one's got swordfights, monsters, vomiting bats, flying kung fu and the end of the universe. My follow-up, TIM, DEFENDER OF THE EARTH, was published in early 2008: that one's essentially a giant monster smackdown in which most of London's famous landmarks are thoroughly and gleefully flattened. As my 'sinister masterplan to conquer the universe' rolls onward [bwah-ha! BWA-HA-HA-HA! er, sorry] you can bet there'll be more where BLACK TAT and TIM came from. I love writing my books, and I hope you'll love reading them. Thank you. :)

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Narcolepticgi on June 11, 2011
Format: Hardcover
If you're looking for a stretch of the imagination, this is the book for you.
I find, in order to enjoy a fiction novel, it must be able to make me see and hear through the main characters eyes and ears. The movie maker in my mind must begin to create the scenes. Sam's book TIM did that for me.
It is an interesting story line with lots of turns and twists and ended with me wanting to go to the theater to see the movie. It would be a terrific Godzilla feature, perhaps someday it will be. One can only hope.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Mercedes on May 3, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
SPOILERS ALERT!

From the first page, I loved this book. An advanced dinosaur, a T-Rex, has been created. When the prime minister comes to see what all the research funding has been spent on he's very disappointed. Tim is just a big dinosaur to him. He orders him to be exterminated and moves the funding to another scientist who's creating something for the military. When Tim is being gassed he panics and breaks out of his cage underground and appears in the middle of London. He's attacked by the scared tiny people and he runs to the sea. There he meets the one and only Kraken, who is the old Defender of the Earth. He explains to Tim what his duty is; to protect the planet and the life on it.

The funding is moved to a scientist who has created a nanobot. After showing how he can change a species to another species the prime minister is not impressed. He demands to see what kind of a fighting machine the nanobots are. After being shown in a matter of seconds how quickly the test subject is destroyed he approves funding. After the prime minister leaves the scientist brings the test subject back to life and makes a terrible decision.

Chris takes a school trip to the museum and ends up with a bracelet on his wrist that can't be removed. He soon discovers he's supposed to be the strength for the defender of the earth. When the scientist's good intentions turn into a power trip Tim comes to the rescue to fight him and destroy him, however, without Chris' help Tim just can't seem to make a dent. When the United States informs Britain they are going to be destroyed because of the nanobot monster that's eating up all living things and threatens to take over the world Chris will finally step up to the plate. Tim is all but dead and comes back to life with Chris' help and the crazy nanobot/man is destroyed.

This was a page turner, keeps you interested from the get go. I think this would make a great movie. I recommend it to all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Sam Enthoven's new book, TIM, DEFENDER OF THE EARTH, is a blend of fantasy, science fiction, and giant monsters that tends to range all over the place. Honestly, he does a pretty good job of mixing all the genres because not one of them can completely exist without the other. This is a confection aimed at young male readers and it shows, though there's a scrappy girl character that I enjoyed a lot too.

It's really hard to discuss the book without giving away some of the novel's progression, but I'll try to keep all the mysteries intact as much as I can. Enthoven braids his story together by bringing his characters together, and the story summary on the book's jacket gives away a lot.

In the beginning, there's TIM. Yep, all capital letters. It stands for Tyrannosaurus Improved Model, and that's exactly what he is. For years, scientist have labored in a laboratory seventy stories below the earth's surface to blend DNA to create a new soldier. They tried blending several different creatures, but the tyrannosaur model was the only one that became viable - for reasons they still don't understand.

Then we get introduced to Chris Pitman, a young slacker coasting through school and trying to fit into the cool crowd. He exists on the fringes of it, never quite getting into that longed-for territory. He's also the guy that gets outfitted with the bracelet that links him to TIM and to the magical power of the earth. He doesn't learn that for a while. I liked Chris a lot because he never comes across as the superhero type. He's just a guy who's stepped into a situation that's over his head.

Anna Mallahide is the daughter of Professor Mallahide, and she ends up being the strong, scrappy girl I enjoyed getting to know.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
On a school trip to the British Museum, Chris wanders off alone and discovers a private room in the basement. A strange woman appears and shows him a special display case. The object in the case starts to cast a strange glow around the room. The lady opens the case and places the object, a bracelet, on Chris's wrist. It clamps shut and Chris is unable to remove it. With the cryptic words "You've been chosen" uttered to Chris, he is sent back upstairs to join his class and try to figure out what it means.

Seventy stories below the center of London, a strange creature has been created and slated to be destroyed. With voices inside the creature's head, it starts to fight and break its way to the surface and to freedom.

And in another secret location in the city, a brilliant scientist is given the funding from the British Government to proceed with his illegal experiments that will break the Nanotech Non-Proliferation Treaty. Little does the British Government know that the scientist has a secret agenda of his own.

The city of London is under siege by a swarm of nanobots controlled by Professor Mallahide. The hopes and future of the city, and ultimately the world, rest with a boy and a mysterious creature named TIM (Tyrannosaurs: Improved Model). With the help of Ms. Plimpton from the museum, and Anna, a schoolmate and the daughter of Professor Mallahide, Chris and TIM stand a chance of fighting the swarm and the Professor.

I have to admit that I offered to review this book because my son is a dinosaur fanatic. The concept sounded interesting enough on its own merits, so I gave it a go. Well, I was hooked from the first page! For fans of Michael Crichton, TIM, DEFENDER OF EARTH will not disappoint.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search