Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2008
Nicely presented book. Lots of good colour pictures and pertinent info ..sadly nothing for the veg.gardener but certainly a good reference for the PNW
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2009
I ordered this book after getting it at the Library. I had to have it! The book is so complete and informative that it replaced many of my gardening reference books. I don't think I would buy a shrub or tree without consulting my new Best gardening book.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
I'm in the process of moving from the desert to the pacific northwest. This book helped me understand what to expect and how to plan my new garden in a completely different climate. The tone is casual but informative and clear. The remarks about the weather were obviously written by someone who truly loves and appreciates the region but has a sense of humor when it comes to some of the quirks of the weather. I would recommend this book to newcomers such as myself, and I can also see myself using it as a useful reference for years to come. Excellent resource for general information as well as for plant portraits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2010
Awesome book, I also took it from the library but will buy it;
tons of info about our climate, plants, chores schedules;
beautiful pictures - truly wonderful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
It is clear that Hall, the author, has been doing diligent scientific research on Northwest Gardening. Yet, despite that fact that he's taken a scientific approach, his advice takes an-easy-to-understand, practical, common-sense approach. The text is organized both by chapter topic and my individual species. That is,
you can read the book cover to cover for an excellent overview on all aspects of Northwest Gardening--or you can find you specific plant in the index and
focus on that. I've applied the knowledge from this book in several ways--I've learned now why "Golden Jubilee" hybrid corn seed works so well in a Northwest low thermal environment, the advantages to furrowing Potatoes, and the
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
I bought this book some time ago and find I have used it often to check for plants and growing conditions for my flower as well as vegetable garden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
This is a great resource for Northwest gardeners, especially those new to the area. I highly recommend it and would purchased it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2011
My daughter who lives in Seattle, is putting in her first garden. She says this book is extremely helpful with much helpful information!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
Filled with helpful practical advice, this keeps me on track each year with actionable advice, decent photographs and all in all a clear approach to share the information. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I now know more about gardening in the North West. Book seemed informative, not inspirational. Would seek help elsewhere, next time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse