Customer Reviews


618 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (56)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOT A MINUTE?
In the future "time is money." Literally. People live to 25 years old, after which time they have one year left, then they die. The good news is that you can buy time and live forever, but only the rich can do that. Everyone else is struggling to stay alive. Currency is done in time, transferred by computer chips installed in the forearm. A cup of coffee will cost you 4...
Published on November 6, 2011 by The Movie Guy

versus
132 of 171 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such A Good Concept... So Poorly Done
I'm a sucker for a good sci- fi / action movie. I'm rather forgiving in just how much I will overlook in the name of quality entertainment.

First, the Good: Some of the acting (Cillian Murphy, Justin Timberlake and a few others) are respectably solid. Also, the overall concept is very intriguing... the world currency is time, and when a person turns 25 their...
Published on February 6, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 171 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such A Good Concept... So Poorly Done, February 6, 2012
This review is from: In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm a sucker for a good sci- fi / action movie. I'm rather forgiving in just how much I will overlook in the name of quality entertainment.

First, the Good: Some of the acting (Cillian Murphy, Justin Timberlake and a few others) are respectably solid. Also, the overall concept is very intriguing... the world currency is time, and when a person turns 25 their "life clock" actually begins. From the time you are 25, life's objective is to keep your life clock from expiring. If it expires, you die. Not a problem for the rich, who have more time than they know what to do with: a "wealthy" person may have centuries to live, while the "poor" continuously struggle for more time. It's a very interesting premise that becomes more interesting when a poor worker (Justin Timberlake) saves a "wealthy" man from a time stealing mob boss while flaunting his wealth in the ghetto. in return, he gives Justine Timberlake all of his time (over 100 years). In a short but very philosophical discussion the wealthy man, who has mentally lived too long, says "We are meant to die."

So begins a science fiction tale that promises to serve up plenty of symbolism, philosophical overtones about economy and the meaning of existence. Could it possibly be the rare sci fi / action film panned by critics but destined to become a cult classic somewhere down the road?

Hell no.

Unfortunately, that's about as good as the film gets.

Actually, the movie starts to go down hill and remains spiraling out of control with the entrance of Amanda Seyfried. Sadly, the story abandons all of its earlier adult-oriented promise to become a vapid "love story" seemingly aimed at a much younger audience. I was not impressed with Seyfried in "Red Riding Hood" and even less impressed with her here. This suprises me, because normally I think she's a good actress. In this movie, she serves well as eye candy, but her acting in this movie was cardboard flat awful. However, in her defense, the characters aren't scripted very well and she really wasn't given much to work with.

For example: she plays a wealthy girl who is kidnapped by Justin Timberlake and taken to the ghetto. They are both rendered unconscious and robbed of nearly all their time. Now they have to stay on the move and struggle to stay alive without running out of time. Excellent premise! However, never once does she seem very concerned that she is mere minutes from certain death. She acts incredibly hum-drum for a rich girl who always had an over-abundance of time and now, for the first time in her life (presumably) literally has almost none. The sense of non-urgency really detracted from what could have - and SHOULD have been an incredibly suspenseful segment of the film. Just another example of weak script, weak acting and weak directing all coming together.

The third act gets even worse when the two lovers turn into Robin Hood-esque characters, stealing from the wealthy and giving to the poor. The movie becomes so trite that anything once redeeming is no longer a part of the equation. Not that I have a problem with the class warfare message behind the film: I agree with a lot of it. I just felt the execution of that message fell flat.

Also, the 'ghetto' was way too tame: in a world where time can be exchanged simply by grabbing someones arm, think how chaotic, dismal and brutal the ghetto would really be with people killing eachother just to survive a few more minutes. The movie becomes its own worst enemy by completely santizing what it's attempting to condemn in the first place. I understand they didn't want to cross over into R- rated territory, but the ghetto should have been much more chaotic and gritty- even at PG-13.

All in all, this movie is so incredibly disappointing because it started with so much promise and then took all that promise and wasted it. Some the actors were solid- I've always been impressed with Cillian Murphy and I must admit that Timberlake easily holds his own as well (except for the god-awful scene when his "mother" is killed, which was cringe-worthy bad).

With a tighter script and direction, more concentration on story and suspense as opposed to a vapid love story between the stereotypically over-indulged rich girl and the poor boy from the opposite side of the tracks- this could have been so much better than it actually was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOT A MINUTE?, November 6, 2011
This review is from: In Time [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital copy] (Blu-ray)
In the future "time is money." Literally. People live to 25 years old, after which time they have one year left, then they die. The good news is that you can buy time and live forever, but only the rich can do that. Everyone else is struggling to stay alive. Currency is done in time, transferred by computer chips installed in the forearm. A cup of coffee will cost you 4 minutes of your life. I kept thinking about "Logan's Run" as I watched this film.

The cliche possibilities are endless and they are not shy about using them. "All the time in world." "Got a minute." "Too much time on my hands" "Who's got the time?" "You must come from time." "Taken years off my life." "Drank his life away." "Too much time in the wrong hands..." "I had the time to buy one of these." "Thank you for your time." "The time he has taken." "It would take a million years." Ouch!

"Hey big spender, spend a little time with me." "I'd give a year of my life just to spend an hour with her." These didn't make the cut.

Timberlake plays Will Salas, a man struggling to pay the bills and stay alive along with his mother Rachel (Olivia Wilde). Will saves the life of a rich man who was 108. He wanted to die. From him we get the class warfare speech of the movie. Many must die so a few might live. Taxes and prices are raised to make sure the poor die. Like most science fiction features, they have a social commentary.

While Will was asleep, the rich man gives him his time so he can die. Rich people literally live in a different "time zone" so they don't get mugged by those who work for the weekend.

Timberlake is 5 stars in comedies, but as a dramatic actor, he was unconvincing in this role, which may have been the director's fault. Will is supposed to have passion to distinguish himself from the cautious rich. He lacks, he should have never been in that role (Keanu Reeves spoiled us). Timberlake would have been more convincing as a rich tycoon. Much of the acting was stiff by design, but that made for a bad movie. Other than the time devices, the technology was circa 1985 with no pay phones, 80's automobiles, and no cell phones.

No real sex or nudity. One f-bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You got the the time?, February 8, 2012
This review is from: In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this was a fun film. Good acting all the way around, not extremely deep character development but it's enough to let you relate. I think the main plot of the movie is fantastic, it's kind of a representation of current society and how 1% are killing off the other 99. It does seem to drag on at about 2/3 in till the climax. No big surprises really, but the ending was fine. I enjoyed Matt Bomer but wish they would have expanded more on his storyline, but enjoyed his role regardless. I give it 3.5 out of 5. Definitely a fun watch but don't expect anything super groundbreaking or anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Information on the Blu-Ray Extra Features, January 29, 2012
This review is from: In Time [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital copy] (Blu-ray)
There are already a bunch of people that have reviewed the movie and I assume even more will review it later, so I'll be brief and just say that I absolutely love the movie (5/5 stars) and already have it on pre-order.

However, for those of you trying to decide between blu-ray and the regular DVD, here are a few things that might help:

First off, the Blu-Ray really only has two true extras, "The Minutes" and extended/deleted scenes. Overall, the Minutes special was good. It was probably about 15-20 minutes long. (I didn't time it so I'm just guessing by what it felt like.) However, it is NOT a making-of feature like I originally thought.

It's actually a bunch of fake interviews that took place before the movie was made that involve most of the main characters, as well as some new ones, such as one of the original creators of immortality. They were interesting and added extra information to the world, but if you're looking for an actual documentary on the creation of the movie, you'll have to look elsewhere.

As for the deleted/extra scenes, they were hit and miss. Some of the scenes added some very interesting information that I wish they'd kept in the movie while others merely added a line or two to an existing scene and it didn't make any difference at all. Overall, I think there were about ten of them (again, I'm guessing since I didn't count) but the first three or four are the "added a line or two" variety and pretty boring.

So, that's all I gotta say. I just wanted to let people know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timely, November 12, 2011
This review is from: In Time (DVD)
In Time is a retro-sci-fi period piece that uses a dystopian setting to make a political point. Depending on your willingness to listen to the polemic that one's wealth is directly tied to one's longevity will determine how much you enjoy the film.

That one point - money is life - is key to In Time's premise, and it's the cost of entry to watch what amounts to Bonnie and Clyde meets Logan's Run. In this non-future, everyone ages to 25 and then begins paying their dues in seconds off their remaining life, a form of population birth control. The good news is that they will be young and beautiful for the rest of your days; the bad news is that only the rich can afford to be immortal.

And that's at the crux of In Time. Is it better to live a short, exciting life or an eternally long safe one? On the brutal and short side is Will Salas (Justin Timberlake), his hottie mother Rachel (Olivia Wilde), and his best friend Borel (Johnny Galecki). In Time playfully teases us by openly embracing a common movie foible: mothers, sisters, daughters, and wives all look young and beautiful. The intimate moments between mother and son are uncomfortable for the audience because we can't help but ogle Will's 50-year-old mom.

The flip side features the very rich and suicidal Henry Hamilton (Matt Bomer), over a century old and bored to death. When Salas saves Hamilton's life from Minutemen mobster Fortis (Alex Pettyfer), he bestows a century on him with a flick of a wrist. In this universe, everyone's time counts down on their forearm and it can be given or taken by whoever "has the upper hand" - two forearms touching exchanges time to the arm on top.

See what I just did there? It's impossible to avoid the use of clichés in reviewing this film because the script's dialogue gleefully embraces the absurdity of it all. From "cleaning clocks" (killing people) to "keeping time" (policing citizens), no ironic turn of phrase goes unspoken. Speaking of keeping time, the only law of consequence are the Timekeepers, led by veteran Raymond Leon (Cillian Murphy), who is convinced that Salas stole his time. When Salas' mother runs out of time, he transforms into a daredevil with nothing to lose, hellbent on getting revenge against the system.

The system is embodied by one of the richest men in the sector, 90-year old time-lender Phillipe Weis (Vincent Kartheiser) and his wide-eyed 27-year-old daughter Sylvia Weis (Amanda Seyfried). It's not long before Salas climbs his way up the social ladder through ample measures of wits, charm, and violence.

In Time has an art aesthetic similar to Equilibrium, embracing a militaristic style of dark colors, smooth lines, and hot women sheathed in stockings and heels. No one wears sensible shoes in this movie. There are no cell phones and the vehicles look like muscle cars from the 60s.

In Time is only as effective as its polemic. Lurking beneath the movie's long shots of pretty people are hot button topics: class warfare, overpopulation, credit scores determining your future, conspiracy theories about an unjust government, the plight of the working man and his aspirations, bank bailouts, and more. In Time is a little rough around the edges, the dialogue is occasionally trite, and the plot can be uneven, but its message is very - ahem - timely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Promising concept ruined, June 29, 2013
This review is from: In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
While the premise of this movie (money is literally time!) is not novel, it is interesting and I looked forward to seeing the movie. Unfortunately, the premise is ruined by the plot -which is absurd and has too many inconsistencies to be taken seriously.

We are told that prices are constantly going up. Yet whenever prices go up, the characters in the movie act shocked. Basically, when their wallet, printed on their arm, goes to zero, they die. Their wallet also ticks down during the day. So, some careful budgeting is required. Yet people routinely cut things to the last second then realize the transportation they need to get home has experienced one of the many previously mentioned price hikes so now they are out of luck.

We are also shown that crime is rampant in the city and you can kill people and take their money from their arm. How much sense does it make that people would be walking around with the equivalent of thousands of dollars of benjamin's taped to their forearms?

But anyway...apparently this advanced society apparently hasn't invented ATM's or paypal or remote money transfer yet. In one hilariously inept scene, Will's mother has only an hour and a half left to live but two hours walk until she can reach Will! (who will give her some more time I guess). So she decides to run. At the same rime, Will realizes something is wrong and starts running down the path towards where she would be. I don't know about you, but I can easily, easily run two hours worth of walking in an hour and a half, and these people are all permanently frozen at age 25 and thus in excellent shape.

In such a future, you would have ATM's sprinkled about and ways for people to transmit and receive money remotely - and in fact, we SEE SOME OF THESE WAYS LATER IN THE MOVIE. But alas, Will's mom dies comically and hilariously right as she flies into Will's arms and before he can give her the handshake of life. Why didn't he just wire her like..20 minutes? We are shown that technology for the remote transfer and tracking of money exists. Every family would have a shared account set up for just situations like this.

The movie also mentions that the constant price increases are a dastardly plot by all the evil rich people to curb overcrowding...these are the very same rich people who apparently let everyone live for free until the age of 25 and then give them a years salary, for free. Needless to say...even if every single person was dragged out and shot at age 25 the population would still keep increasing because of all the sex and child birth and what not that happen during those wild teen years and early 20's. The evil guys evil plan to prevent the world from being overpopulated doesn't even pass the laugh test.

It's hard to take a movie that earnestly tries to present a new vision for humanities way of living remotely seriously with such glaring inconsistencies and plot holes. Suspension of disbelief is fine, internally contradictory and incoherent world building is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic Robin Hoods, rob from the rich and give to the poor!, February 14, 2012
This review is from: In Time (DVD)
This review contains spoilers!
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Mankind has been genetically altered. At the age of 25 they stop aging but a timing system only gives them 1 more year to live. To get more time they have to work hard and they get compensated with time as currency. Everyone looks 25 but in reality they can be well over 100 years old with thousands of years more time on their biological clocks.

Everything you want is paid with minutes, hours, days or years of lifespan. Unfortunately the same establishment that gives you time payment for your work also keeps raising the cost of living (cost of living has a new meaning now doesn't it). Prices seem to go up every day. It is a method of population control.

Will Salas (Justin Timberlake) and his mom live day to day just barely having enough time left to survive each day. A stranger who Will saves gives Will over 100 years of time leaving only 5 minutes to himself because he wants to die. When Will realizes what has happened he plans to meet his mom to share the time and rejoice.

The story leads to Will seeking vengeance for such a ruthless system when he realizes that the rich can be immortal while the poor live day to day in fear. He meets Sylvia Weis (Amanda Seyfried) whose father is a timer broker and together they figure out how to get justice and share the life time currency with those who really need it.

This movie has a great premise and has several analogies with the rich and poor in the world today. Can you imagine knowing the time of your death and being helpless to prevent it? Unfortunately the movie that could have been great falls short on several issues. Two people with no criminal history are making daring robberies and stealing the most precious commodity in the world while millions just passively face death every day.

With a better script and perhaps an underground movement to support them, this movie could have been a lot better. Expecting two people to save millions is a little over the top.

I gave the movie 4 stars as it was entertaining but the potential was so much more.

Nobody should live forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had a point to make, February 15, 2012
By 
Darryl (Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm going to just avoid all the political details and say, this move was created with political preaching in mind. If you like having another person's ideals shoved down your throat for over an hour you'll probably like this, if not, you'll probably be in pain 90% of the time. Cliche, cliche, cliche. Bad boy meets hot good girl, they fall in love and she wears high heels EVERYWHERE. Little explanation given on anything, but who needs explanation when your main point is to make a point? This movie falls into the same trap that a lot of religious entertainment does, the creator is so focused on making a point they forget to entertain, or make sense at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining yet Philosophical, February 3, 2012
This review is from: In Time (DVD)
Im not a film critic so i miss a lot things those in the know may complain about, but i liked it a lot!
Simply it's Sci-Fi with Robin Hood as Bonnie & Clyde meet Logan's Run.
Logan's RunLogan's Run: Complete Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more like 2.5, August 21, 2014
reat concept. I couldn't wait to wach this movie. Unfortunately it falls short. The writting was horrible.Best line in the whole movie. Vincent Kartheiser "These are confusing times...Is she my mother, my sister or my my wife?......" Then the movie went to hell. As if this was written by college students who obviously ditched their writting 101 class. The acting was ok, although the chemistry between the 2 main characters (Amanda & JT) was non existent. Who was hoping the waitress had a bigger part?..lol I was!. Supense? barely! Action? not believable in any way. Did you see that "FIGHT" scene?. Thriller? I sure was not thrilled. Here's hoping for a remake with different writters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Time [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital copy]
In Time [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital copy] by Andrew Niccol (Blu-ray - 2012)
$39.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.