Customer Reviews


633 Reviews
5 star:
 (422)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big-time drama
John Grisham novels are difficult to rate as movies. On one hand Grisham's work translates to well to pop culture that his books are almost cinematic. On the other, the "book-is-never-as-good-as-the-movie"-ism applies. Some of Grisham's books have been quite good- "The Firm" was a terrifically exciting movie (Tom Cruise was letter-perfect for the...
Published on March 23, 2000 by Michael J. Berquist

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
Carl Lee Hailey (Samuel L. Jackson) is a poor black man in a hate-filled Southern town. When his daughter is brutally attacked, he takes revenge. Novice attorney Jake Brigance (Matthew McConaughey) decides to defend Carl Lee.

This movie is so full of top-notch actors I expected to be swept up in the story and moved by it, but I wasn't. Sandra Bullock has top...
Published on March 15, 2008 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big-time drama, March 23, 2000
John Grisham novels are difficult to rate as movies. On one hand Grisham's work translates to well to pop culture that his books are almost cinematic. On the other, the "book-is-never-as-good-as-the-movie"-ism applies. Some of Grisham's books have been quite good- "The Firm" was a terrifically exciting movie (Tom Cruise was letter-perfect for the role of Mitch McDeere), and "The Rainmaker" (which gave Matt Damon his start) certainly surprised me with a touching story of an underdog who upsets the system. Some have been mediocre to bad- "The Pelican Brief" and "The Chamber" fit the latter category, "The Client" the former. "A Time to Kill", in my opinion, is the best of them all because the author gives his audience a tough choice to make about what justice is. Pack in some sterling acting performances and this is one pretty darn good movie.
The plot? After his young daughter is viciously raped and assaulted by rednecks (no, John Rocker doesn't have a cameo), Samuel L. Jackson guns down the two assailents on their way to court. He is subsequently put on trial by the local DA, and defended by an idealistic white attorney. Jackson's trial becomes a swirling tempest for local hatreds to be aired.
Director Joel Schumacher certainly surprised me with good work, despite being the man who made "Batman & Robin". It helps to assemble some serious acting talent- Samuel L. Jackson and Kevin Spacey (the DA) are both recognized actors (Spacey having won an Oscar for "The Usual Suspects", and Jackson is *long* overdue for getting one himself), so the big surprise was Matthew McConaughey's sterling performance as the idealistic, passionate attorney who defends Jackson. McConaughey is a terrific actor- laid back, easy-going but with just enough passion and intensity. This movie put him on the map and it is easy to see why he is a talent in demand. Sandra Bullock and Ashley Judd have roles here but don't make much of an impression. Donald Sutherland and Keifer both have parts too- the former as Matthew McConaughey's mentor (a role he's quite good in, incidentally) and the latter as a local redneck.
Finally, a word about the plot: the best movies give us a sticky problem that can't be resolved easily. The tricky choice in "Crimson Tide" is a beautiful example of a decision that could go either way and gives the audience something to debate about afterwards. Here we're given a tricky choice- vengeance or justice? Do we acquit Samuel L. Jackson because in our hearts he did what we all would do in his place? Or do we punish him for taking the law into his own hands? It's a rough choice to make, and the movie refuses to give us an easy answer.
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better each time, April 13, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Time to Kill [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie shortly after it came to video and thought it was a pretty good movie. Then a couple years later, I saw it again. And it just kind of stuck in my brain. I'll be reading or listening to something, and it will remind me of the movie. In conversations I bring up this film all the time because it is so relevant to important issues of our time. Racism, vigilante action, legal issues, etc. The more you watch this movie, the more it makes you think.
And if you're not interested in thinking about some of the larger philosophical issues at hand, there's still plenty of stuff for you. You've got Matthew McConaughey who does a phenomenal job, and looks great while at it. Oliver Platt imbues his character with just the right amount of sleaze and charm that you can't help but love him. Donald Sutherland is absolutely lovable as the old-school gentleman (and you and your friends can argue over whether he's a lush or or a drunk/alcoholic). Sandra Bullock does a believable job, and the men tend to find Ashley Judd rather attractive in this role. And let's not forget Samuel L. Jackson, who makes his character so real that you understand the situation he's in and why he does what he does.
So basically, there's something for everyone here. Thinking stuff with good looking people (male and female) who act well. Can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible is an Understatement, Deeply Moving, February 16, 2001
By 
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
John Grisham's tale of justifiable revenge was one of the best films of 1996. When a black man kills the two white rednecks who brutally raped and beat his daughter it seems his conviction of the murders will be cut and dry. So when the small town's lawyer is asked by the man (played with masterful skill by Samuel L. Jackson) to defend him it seems a hopeless cause. But when the klan gets involved the case becomes personal.
This film is entirely unsettling because it makes us realize that events like this still happen in small towns throughout America, especially in the South. The themes of racism, of overcoming racism, of justifiable homicide, of justice outside the law are so superbly represented in this film that it seems impossible to me that this movie wasn't nominated for many Academy Awards. But alas, the past is the past. Chock full of great performances (especially Matthew McConaughey, Samuel L. Jackson, and Kevin Spacey) and masterful direction by Joel Schumacher, A Time to Kill is one heck of a movie. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and Powerful, June 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
With an ensemble cast featuring the likes of Kevin Spacey, Sandra Bullock, Matthew McConaughey, Samuel Jackson, Ashley Judd, Kiefer and Donald Sutherland, Charles S. Dutton and Oliver Platt to name a few, you can safely bet that you won't be disappointed.
I never get tired of watching this movie, which stars McConaughey as Jake Brigance, a relatively small-time lawyer until he is tapped to defend Carl Lee Hailey (Jackson) for the murder of two men who raped his young daughter, in the single-biggest and most controversial trial Clanton, MS has ever seen. McConaughey's performance is beyond inspiring as he turns his own life and the lives of those around him completely upside down by agreeing to represent a black murderer in a white-dominated Southern community. Playing his wife is Ashley Judd who is gut-wrenching in her own right. Sandra Bullock shines in every single role. Her work here as legal assistant Ellen Roark is top-notch, even for Bullock. Even Spacey, who I normally despise, is sterling as D.A. Buckley, the condescending adversary of Brigance. My most recent viewing of the film even compelled me to finally pick up the book, which is equally intense an experience as the film. You can't miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated., January 11, 2004
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
Okay, here's the deal: I love this movie. "A Time to Kill" is one of those flicks that I can watch over and over, so when I found it marked down on DVD at a local store, I bought it. I've long since spent more than the purchase price on renting it in VHS.
Matthew McConaughey is incredibly hot, and almost a decent actor. Samuel L. Jackson is fabulous, as usual (ohmigod). Sandra Bullock, I love Sandra Bullock (got a girl-crush on her a mile wide), and I love, love, love Oliver Platt in this movie. There's a moment when Sandra Bullock's character is frustrated at not being able to find the information she needs, and she says to Platt's character (a cheerfully shameless divorce lawyer named Harry Rex), "I've asked myself, 'What would Lucien do?' and 'What would Jake do?' and "What would my *father* do?' but I just can't figure it out."
And Platt's character says, "Well, there's your problem right there. You need to ask yourself, 'What would Harry Rex do?'"
"Okay, what would Harry Rex do?"
"Cheat. Cheat like crazy."
God, I love him.
And it's great having the movie on DVD. It makes it easy to fast-forward through the horrific scenes of the little girl being attacked at the beginnng of the film. There's no reason for anybody to have to sit through that more than once. ::shudder::
But there's a problem with this DVD. A big problem, that I think people should know about before they buy it. I wish I had known. I probably would have bought it anyway, but I'm still frustrated.
The movie is continued on the back of the disk. It's a two-sided DVD, and the first half of the movie is on the first side, and the second half is on the reverse.
Yes, you have to get up halfway through the movie, go over to the DVD player, and turn the disk over, just like this was 1975 and you were still playing records on vinyl LPs.
For the life of me, I cannot figure out what in the everloving HELL they were thinking about, doing this. The movie isn't that long. There's not that much in the way of extra features on the disk. I feel like sending them an email, letting them know what I think about it, but there have probably been plenty of people who have already done that. I'll spend the time warning other potential buyers, instead.
Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamite Cast with the best Grisham Adaptation on Film, November 15, 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
What would it take to duplicate the cast of this film? Made only eight years ago I'd think today you'd break the bank putting together:

Matthew McConaughey

Sandra Bullock

Samuel L. Jackson

Kevin Spacey

Oliver Platt

Charles Dutton

Donald Sutherland

Kiefer Sutherland

Patrick McGoohan

Ashley Judd

Chris Cooper

The story is in some ways rather straightforward. Samuel Jackson's 10 year old daughter is raped and tortured by two rednecks in the opening minutes. Mercifully, the girl lives through the event and the two rednecks are arrested. Thinking that in Mississippi they're going to be acquitted "like them boys raped that girl last year" Samuel's Carl Lee Haley asks Matthew's Southern Lawyer Jake Brigance if he'd "help him out if he got into some trouble", then takes an M-16 and shoots the rednecks on the way to a court hearing, destroying Deputy Chris Cooper's leg in the process.

The rest of the movie seems pretty straight-forward, almost predictably so. Jake is tasked with defending a black man in Mississippi of murders which were committed in full sight of many people, including Jake himself and several law officers. Kiefer Sutherland, as the brother of one of the rednecks, enlists the assistance of the Klan to make sure that Carl "gets it" and to make sure that anyone attempting to help Carl is also intimidated (killed.... houses burned.... etc....) In this movie the Klan is a living, breathing entity with apparently much leeway to conduct its nefarious business.

Donald Sutherland is the alcoholic lawyer mentor of Jake - disbarred for some police violence during some political activism. Kevin Spacey is the ambitious District Attorney with a nomination for Governor in his back pocket. Charles Dutton is the black sheriff who doesn't hesitate to stand toe to toe with the Klan - the scenes where Klan members are in any way subdued are due to this strong character. Ashley Judd is Jake's pretty Mississippi Sorority-Belle wife who initially thinks that Jake accepts Carl Lee's case to "prove what a big-time lawyer" he is. When the Klan tries bombing Jake's house Ashley packs up their daughter and heads to the grandparent's house. On the first day of the case a hotshot law student comes wheeling into town, played by Sandra Bullock, wanting to make her name stamping out the death penalty.

The story is told in a linear fashion, but the performances make this compelling stuff. The NAACP come to town to provide for Carl's defense, and the scene where Carl tells them "thanks but no thanks" brings a new closeness to Carl and Jake. The movie provides for some riveting moments from Jackson as Carl and McConaughey as Jake. I've read that Mr. McConaughey delivered the summation scene in a single take. It is an astonishing piece of acting. There are several shots of extras crying, and I can't help but wonder if this wasn't an honest response to his performance.

There is a scene before the last trial scene where Carl tells Jake that he has hung onto him as his lawyer because "you one of the bad guys, Jake. I needs the jury to see me like you see me". If there is a weakness in the way that the story is told, it's that the whole movie is told the way the all-white jury would see it. The other black characters are brief and one-dimensional. Carl Lee's wife is in several scenes - looking concerned but with almost no dialogue. Since her daughter is raped and tortured and her husband is on trial, shouldn't we care as much about what SHE thinks as Jake's wife? We spend a fair amount of time watching what the Klan is doing. Shouldn't we be at least as interested in what the black community is doing?

Jake sets out to "prove a black man can get a fair trial in Mississippi". But can he prove that vigilante justice is ok even if everyone in the community knows that in race-hate-crimes in the world of this film black people can't expect fair treatment?

The movie reverberates with echoes of "To Kill a Mockingbird". Or at least it wants to. For a film of this type I can't think of a more admirable goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're just like them!", May 8, 2006
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
With a cast as strong as this one theres no wonder the film was a hit...I found myself wondering how they got all of these big ticket actors to sign onto the same film and then it hit me...this is most likely the film that launched a lot of their careers. The story is a brutally honest one about racism in Mississippi in the year 1995. A young black girl, ten years old, is raped and beaten by two white red-necks and when the young girls father (Samuel L. Jackson) takes revenge into his own hands and murders the two men resposible he's arrested and a trial is held. The film revolves around this mans lawyer mostly, Jake (McConaughey) as his family and practice is placed under fire by a newly reformed KKK as his home is scortched and his partners are harassed and his wife and child are forced to leave town for their safty. The film calls into account morality over law...whats right and wrong isn't always black and white and not so easily determined. Acting on all fronts is strong, but it's Jackson who proves to be the light in this film as his tortured father suffers with every breath as he recounts what his baby went through. Kevin Spacey, Sandra Bullock, Oliver Platt, Keifer & Donald Sutherland, Ashley Judd and Chris Cooper all give brilliant performances in this powerhouse of a film that benifits from a great script and a steller cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Grisham's novel brought to live by a stellar cast and preformances, March 17, 2006
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
THis is one of my favorite movies. Besides containing a stellar cast (Matthew McConaughey, Sandra Bullock, Sammuel L. Jackson, Oliver Platt, DOnald AND Keifer Sutherland, Kevin Spacey) You get the idea. Is there a cast member that ISN't a biggie? The casting is Genious, and the acting incredible. It's suspenseful, deep, VERY emotional.. slightly dark.. it's the perfect movie. Even the rape scene is well done by being comfortably vague while still haunting you.

A Time to kill's plot is pretty simply explained. In the deep south, a 10 year old black girl is raped by two wite rednecks, who almost kill her. A young white lawyer and father (Matthew McConaughey as Jake Brigance) is sickened at the news, and doesn't quite know what to think when the little girl's father (Sammuel L. Jackson as Carl Lee Hailey) pays him a visit and asks if he'd "help him if he were in a tight spot". The next day as the two redneck/monsters are being led up the stairs of the courthouse to their arraignment, Carl Lee Hailey pops out of a storage clauset with a machine gun and blows away the two young men that raped his daugher.

Jake Brigance agrees to defend Hailey as his murder trial begins. The insanity plea is used to "give the jury an excuse to aquit" But in my opinion, I think it was quite legitimate. What father WOULDN't be driven insane under the circumstances? the rest of the movie is Carl Lee Hailey's trial and the surrounding Drama as KKK violence emerges led by Kiefer Sutherland, and Jake's life and home are in danger, his relationship with his wife strained, and his career are seriously on the line in what seems to be a loosing battle.

My favorite scene? It might come as a surprise, but my favorite scene is when the Prosecution calls to the stand the policeman who was leading the two rednecks up the stairs to their trial. He was caught in the knee by a stray bullet, and now has half a leg. After the prosecution use the witness to incite rage against Carl Lee, and establish unerring identity of the shooter, The Defence asks him two questions.

"Do you think Carl Lee intentionally shot you?"

"No"

"Do you think he should be sent to prision for what he did?"

"He did what I would have done."

but it doesn't end there as the Policeman (remember he's missing a leg because of what Carl Lee Hailey Did) becomes very emotional and boldly confesses that if someone raped his little girl he would blow him away just like Carl Lee did. He starts screaming to the jury to "turn him loose, He's a hero!" I think this is one of the most emotion packed and well acted scenes (albeit there are many others too) (Great acting by Chris Cooper as the policeman)

Anyway.. forgive if I rambled. I love this movie and if you like courtroom dramas... star studded casts.. John Grisham...suspense thrillers..just all around good movies.. You need to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Study of Jury Nullification, January 10, 2000
By 
Sam Bethune (Lincoln, Nebraska USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's a phenomenon in the law known as "jurynullification", which means that even though a person istechnically guilty of a crime, a jury will refuse to convict a defendant if it feels the motive was proper. Basically, that's the premise of "A Time to Kill", John Grisham's first and best novel.
I note that one previous reviewer (the British gentleman who claims to have studied law) wrote a rather scathing review of the movie. Apparently he feels that this sort of thing can't take place in an American courtroom. Having been an attorney for some eight years now, I can tell you that it can and does!
The big screen version, directed by Joel Schumacher, is right up there with Francis Ford Coppola's direction of "The Rainmaker" as the best and most faithful adaptation of a Grisham novel into a movie.
If I have any problem with this movie, it's that Sondra Bullock (who's star was on the rise at the time this movie was being made) got top billing. Anyone who's read the novel can tell you that her character is a rather minor one, and the major figure of this movie is Jake Brigance, portrayed with distinction by a relative unknown (at that time) by the name of Matthew McConaughey. Ashley Judd turns in a fine performance as his wife, and Kevin Spacey is his usual excellent self as the DA. Samuel L. Jackson was also well cast as the anguished father who avenged his daughter.
Although there are some detractors who say that this movie glorifies vigilante justice, I would say that they're missing the point. The point is that we as a society have gotten to the point where we will occasionally excuse a person from otherwise criminal conduct if we agree that his motive was pure. The irony in it all is that those who committed crimes against blacks in the early days of the civil rights movement in the American South often escaped accountability by the very same means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning Film, July 22, 2004
This review is from: A Time to Kill (DVD)
I had the good fortune to see A Time to Kill in the theater when it came out in 1996. Like many other women who saw the film, I instantly fell deeply in love with Matthew McConaughy. His performance is so heartfelt and breathtaking, he should have gotten an Oscar nod. He did get noticed, though. People had a cover saying, "Where did this guy come from?" Equally high=caliber is Samuel L. Jackson's performance as a father whose little girl has been brutally raped by two rednecks.

The rest of the cast is very good. Sandra Bullock is, as always, a breath of fresh air. She and McConaughy have a lot of chemistry onscreen. Ashley Judd is good as McConaughy's spoiled, sorority queen wife.

The story is not for the fainthearted. A Time to Kill is not a light-hearted movie. It is serious, rich, and deeply moving. I challenge you not to cry. Race relations and personal convictions are put to the test when Jackson murders his daughter's accused attackers before they even go to trial. A scene where the Ku Klux Klan clash with black residents immobilized me with it's intensity.

One of the best movies I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Time to Kill [Blu-ray]
A Time to Kill [Blu-ray] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2009)
$9.98 $6.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.