Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collection just might be his best........
Approaching this album as an admirer (but certainly not a dedicated fan), I was not prepared for the impact it would have on me. Here is an album, released at a time when most artists would be wrapping up their careers, that is as strong as anything he has ever done. While a few tracks manage to get the foot tapping in pleasure, the CD overall is full of regret,...
Published on June 16, 2000 by Brooke276

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Older Dylan Doin' His Best!
This is a good album, not my favorite mind you, but ok. Perhaps because Dylan's voice has changed somewhat it seems and is now a bit more piercing than it was, so it lends itself to the tunes in a way that is a bit detrimamental to his poetic lyrics which are fine!
Published 5 months ago by jzactor


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collection just might be his best........, June 16, 2000
By 
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Approaching this album as an admirer (but certainly not a dedicated fan), I was not prepared for the impact it would have on me. Here is an album, released at a time when most artists would be wrapping up their careers, that is as strong as anything he has ever done. While a few tracks manage to get the foot tapping in pleasure, the CD overall is full of regret, lamentation, sadness, and the inevitable approach of death. Sung with grit and passion, the songs demonstrate that there are indeed second acts in the lives of Americans (and musicians). Dylan is one of the few artists remaining who has lyrics worth listening to (each song is like an intimate story told by an old friend) and for anyone interested in understanding how all of us are burdened by the past, pick up this disc immediately. Dylan's scars are well-earned and he commands our attention with every note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan's hommage to blues, January 9, 2000
By 
Chad Gould (St. Petersburg, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan I think has fooled some of his fans by creating one of the best blues-inspired albums I have heard. Those who know him in his folk days may be disappointed, but fans of traditional blues should flock to this album. Well-crafted lyrics focus largely on the aspects of aging and the pain of love, and love lost; the background is simple, inspired by blues with a touch of folk to help things along. The ballads are the best; "Tryin' To Get to Heaven" and "Not Dark Yet" are my personal favorites.
Daniel Lanois's production adds an ambient feeling to the album. Its a mixed bag: For the ballads (which tend to be the odd numbered tracks), the ambient touch gives the songs a certain distance that really emphasizes the loss and the sorrow in the lyrics. It helps these songs immensely. For the improv blues tracks (which tend to be the even numbered tracks), I'm not so sure that a more forward production would've been more beneficial, to give the production a rawer feeling. Irregardless, to me, it's not enough of a distraction to seperate the listener from the lyrics. Some listeners may view this differently.
I'm a big fan of blues in itself; what Bob Dylan has done with this album is amazing, if you look at it from a blues angle. The album is NOT very folk-rock oriented; if you come into this album expecting "Highway 61 Revisited", you are probably going to be disappointed. In my opinion this album is best appreciated with repeated listenings. You will then appreciate what its got: simple lyrics and simple music that produce a powerful impact. A masterpiece of a different kind, proving that Bob Dylan is incredibly talented at writing music from the heart, even 30 years after he began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis was right..., July 14, 2006
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
...Costello that is. Who once said that he thought this was Bob Dylan's best album. Everyone guffawed at Costello's hyperbole at the time. I mean better than 'Blood on the Tracks'? 'Highway 61 Revisited'? 'The Times They Are a Changin'? 'Blonde on Blonde' for God's sake? Well now it's nearly 10 years old and it just gets better and better. It doesn't have the shock factor that those earlier issues had but rather it just seeps into you over repeated listening. It's subtle and quietly profound. It's the best album he ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Truth Is Called Terrifyingly Bleak - We're In Trouble, November 23, 2005
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
I really don't understand why so many see this brilliant work of Bob Dylan as "bleak," let alone terrifyingly bleak. Even when I was a kid...a little kid...and my sister died in 3 days of some mysterious ailment, I knew life somehow might not have a "happy" ending. The point is this: who really cares whether a great artist - no, actually the greatest artist in poetry-music-and-composition with a dash of magic and mysticism [who gifts us with his take of "time" (illusive at best) or "mind" (virtually impossible to navigate)] is being "positive" or "negative?" I destest those words, and I am not evolved enough to label genuis. I can't frame Bob Dylan in this album or any other. I can't even define myself! It changes, moves, flows, grows, or it's dead. All I can say as a woman who came of age in the 1960's that - I want the truth - unvarnished, stripped of any sugar-coating but with style, panache, class, and grace - oh yes, genius too. If I'm honest, there's many a time for feeling sad, (maybe even sadder than sad)...and one reaches for a companion along the way. It doesn't have to be a voice at the end of a phone; or a typed reply at the end of some email. It need only be sublime poetry and music from a man (a real man...) who knows just how tough this world is, and simply refuses to dissemble. That, in and of itself, gets me up off the floor and standing once again. For when we really are afraid of truth, we are running away from ourselves...and thank God there are many who refuse to do so - like the one, and the only, Bob Dylan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, poignant classic, July 14, 2001
By 
"unionlarry" (Farmington, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
With "Time Out of Mind," Bob Dylan has created a masterwork of longing and regret that stands with the best of his legendary career. More than the poignant, frightening ruminations of a man nearing 60, "Time Out of Mind" is the particular product of Dylan's fertile imagination and musical pedigree. You could not imagine it being anything but the offspring of the same heart and mind that begat "Blonde on Blonde" and "Blood on the Tracks."
Dylan sings with the blues-soaked intensity of a late-night confessional, the architecture of which can be credited to Daniel Lanois' clean and reverentially hushed production. Virtually every track is an exercise in hard living and the settling of emotional accounts. Standouts such as "Dirt Road, "Cold Irons Bound" and "Not Dark Yet" are among Dylan's most haunting and affecting efforts.
As he is occasionally wont to do, Dylan sprinkles in a couple of throwaway numbers; these do not serve to detract from the album so much as to illuminate the extraordinary depth of the other songs, such as "Highlands," a 16-and-a-half-minute talking blues that closes the release and finds Dylan surveying his own charred emotional landscape.
"Highlands" is heavy stuff for sure, particularly when Dylan spots a group of kids drinking and dancing on the public green and longingly admits, "I'd give anything to turn back the clock"; or when he brutally acknowledges, "The party's over, and there's less and less to say." Yet throughout the song Dylan leavens desperation with his unique deadpan wit and ornery sense of perseverance, as when he blasts Neil Young on the stereo, only to be admonished by his neighbors, or when he slyly observes he wouldn't know the difference between a real blonde and a fake. These are the moments you realize "Time Out of Mind" is not so much a last will and testament as it is an affirmation of the beauty borne of pain.
"I been to Sugar Town and I shook the sugar down," Dylan sings in the beautifully wistful "Trying to Get to Heaven." His words assume an almost oracular power, possessing a force that cuts to the heart of the mystery and complexity that have been hallmarks of Dylan's career. As seemingly dark and depressing as it sounds on the first few listens, "Time Out of Mind" is ultimately an act of inspired defiance by an elder whose wit, grit and wisdom flow ever more clearly and forcefully from the wellspring of a bruised heart and a battered psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Masterpiece, May 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
"Time out of mind the piratical proas of the Malays, lurking among the low shaded coves and islets of Sumatra, have sallied out upon the vessels sailing through the straits, fiercely demanding tribute at the point of their spears." Herman Melville "Moby Dick"

We can't know for certain that Dylan took the title of this landmark CD from Melville's classic novel, but we do know that, based on his statements, he has read Melville, along with other classics. Dylan's sensitivity towards words is matched in the great classic literature. The phrase, "time out of mind" means, according to Merriam-Webster's Third International Abridged Dictionary, "time immemorial."

This recording is one of Dylan's best, if not his very best. Upon repeated listenings, one hears greater and greater depth, as Dylan, adopting a somber tone, ruminates upon his own mortality and the sadness of life's disappointments.

The songs and production perfectly capture a contemplative Dylan, an Everyman of sorts because he has the genius to give artistic voice to feelings that so many people can relate to. The opposite of pop art and pop junk, the music on this recording reaches great levels of feeling. Comparing the work on Time Out of Mind to typical popular music is like comparing the psalms of King David to Hallmark Greeting Card sentiment.

Time Out of Mind reinforces Dylan's legacy as the minstrel poet of his generation. Highly recommended and destined to be among Dylan's most enduring works. In my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, evocative, beautiful, and heartfelt, June 27, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
If Dante had been a rock n'roller, he might have come up with an album much like "Time Out of Mind." It reminds me of nothing so much as a trip to the inferno and (nearly) back. Spooky, if not outright frightening, made tolerable only by the honest humanity of every song.
Dylan has never been more straightforward in his lyrics--gone are the hallucinatory, expressionisticaly inscrutable turns of phrase. The music and lyrics are so simple that on the first few listens--and after reading lots of glowing reviews--I wondered whether the emporor was wearing any clothes. But it's beside the point, becuase if he isn't, he knows darn well he isn't, but has to go on anyway. The result is haunting. If you can't relate to lyrics like "last night I danced with a stranger/but she just reminded me you were the one" you'd better check your pulse (even if you've never danced with a stranger). Possibly Dylan's best ever--and that's saying a mouthful. But I don't think that Dylan is competeing with himself here so much as he is with the great masters of American song: Hank Williams (Sr., please), Stephen Foster, Robert Johnson. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great art from a different artist, June 15, 2005
By 
Elliot Knapp (Seattle, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
"Time Out Of Mind," Dylan's Grammy-winning 1997 album, deserved the award. The songwriting is top-notch, Lanois's production is dreamy (almost psychedelic), and the album cohesion is perfect. What you need to know is this: Bob Dylan isn't the same artist he was when you (might have) stopped paying attention to him in the mid-70's. Yes, his voice sounds utterly different. No, he's not writing songs that are made of strung-together literary allusions. The Dylan on "Time Out of Mind" is weary, cynical (still), cryptic, but still secretly optimistic. This album (along with "Love and Theft") are essential listening for anyone who is thinking about seeing Dylan live but hasn't been paying attention the last few decades. Some highlights of this dark masterpiece are the opener, "Love Sick," the paradoxically dreary/optimistic "Not Dark Yet," the bluesy "Cold Irons Bound," and the ballad "Make You Feel My Love." However, thanks to the production and general feel of the songwriting, this album's overall quality is greater than the sum of its parts--a great mood listen from start to finish. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grammys were deserved -- extremely memorable, June 2, 2000
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
A stunning album in which Dylan builds on 1989's Oh Mercy and 1993's World Gone Wrong to create a musical landmark that transcends genre, though if you had to classify it it is more blues than anything else -- a raw, juke-joint blues whose apparent spontaneity of performance coexists with incredible songwriting artistry.
There are no wasted words here, and Dylan is even more direct than on Oh Mercy or Blood on the Tracks. His ravaged voice is still amazingly expressive and musically precise. Every song is strong, but deserving special mention are Highlands (for its hilarious restaurant scene and powerful emotional journey), and the masterpiece Not Dark Yet, a devastating portrait of the singer's awareness of his dwindling emotional and spiritual resources. Dylan's vocal on this song is extraordinarily accurate, capturing both subtle tonal gradations and large tonal slides in a way musical notation can't reproduce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Stars, November 28, 2007
By 
Jamie (Kailua, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Get this cd. Sit down and listen to the whole thing once. The next day find and listen to the songs on this cd that you can't get out of your mind. From then on - you are hooked on this cd. The experience merits six stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Time Out of Mind
Time Out of Mind by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.