Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planners
This is a a "must have" for anyone in the interior design industry. The best book since Architectural Graphic Standards for the Interior Design Profession. Very Specific and all inclusive, excellent details for just about every application.
Required purchase for my Interior Design Students to use through out their educational and professional careers.
Published on January 22, 2002 by Dan E. Stoddard

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't Not Have This
This is a required book for anyone in Interior Design for a good reason: it has about everything, including the (many kinds) of kitchen sink. What I really can't stand about using it is the seemingly arbitrary indexing, scattered locations for information and nearly impossible to decipher graphics on some pages. I do not agree that it has much useful information on...
Published on July 2, 2008 by Tat Brat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planners, January 22, 2002
By 
Dan E. Stoddard (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This is a a "must have" for anyone in the interior design industry. The best book since Architectural Graphic Standards for the Interior Design Profession. Very Specific and all inclusive, excellent details for just about every application.
Required purchase for my Interior Design Students to use through out their educational and professional careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't Not Have This, July 2, 2008
By 
Tat Brat (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This is a required book for anyone in Interior Design for a good reason: it has about everything, including the (many kinds) of kitchen sink. What I really can't stand about using it is the seemingly arbitrary indexing, scattered locations for information and nearly impossible to decipher graphics on some pages. I do not agree that it has much useful information on furniture styles: you'd be better off to shell out for Aronson's "Encyclopedia of Furniture" or Miller's "Furniture" and get right to what you need. The standard dimensions are useful, though, especially for space planning purposes. Don't be surprised if there is information missing in some cases, or it is outright incorrect. Be sure to cross-reference and here's another tip: make a cheat sheet for yourself for the pages you use most, tape it to the inside cover and go from there. The Index is a goose-chase. Why three stars? Because I think they can do better. It is time for a rehaul of the Silver Monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How good is your eyesight?, June 3, 2008
By 
Nan "Creative Book Worm" (Punta Gorda, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This is a tome of a book, and its contents are initially very impressive, but it STILL contains many old and out of date details which have been pulled and photocopied from projects that are rather worn and ragged looking. Also, many of the drawings are not legible due to size and lineweight quality, and so you may have to resort to pulling out a magnifying glass to decipher the information.

In my opinion, a superior resource is "Interior Graphic Standards" by Kelsey Kruse and Maryrose McGowan. Or, at least, one should have both books but check the information in this one against the far more accurate volume by Kruse/McGowan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource..., May 23, 2006
By 
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
As an Interior Design student at OSU this was an invaluable resource to have. No student or designer should be without it in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designer's Bible, March 2, 2008
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Besides just being large and heavy, this book is filled with great information. For a beginner, it can be overwhelming, but it is definitely a book every designer should have on their bookshelf. It provides guidelines, dimensions, and tons of illustrations for creating the proper space. The book acknowledges designing for handicap, retail, hospitality and residential spaces. It reviews the standard sizes for furniture pieces, ceiling heights etc...Once you find what your looking for (through all of those pages), you definitely get good direction from the information provided on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not worth 100 dollars, August 16, 2007
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
While there is a lot of information in this book, most of it is too small to read or see easily. Many of the drawings are too small and unclear. Also, the material is not presented in a way that makes it easy to access. I will be looking elsewhere for the information. I sent mine back in spite of the shipping cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiem Saver Standards - MUST HAVE!, November 6, 2006
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This book is it. For an Interior Design student it is the only book I go back to again and again. It really helps with those beginning questions like... "how big is a standard king bed?" "How high should kitchen countertops be for wheelchair access?"

Completely worth the price tag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, November 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Would have been nice if the publisher would have actually used CAD for the drawings as some of the handwriting is hard to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book, June 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this book in college because it was part of my required text for my degree in Interior design. I have been out of school for 4 years and I still keep it at my desk or nearby when I am doing drawings. I recommend this book to anyone who is in the design industry. The details and information in this book saves the designer from having to go through multiple books looking for specific details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eds Review, September 8, 2007
By 
Ed Singer "Ed" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Very comprehensive source for specifications and details that are relivent to interior design. Not sure yet about the ebook.
Ed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd Edition
$170.00 $129.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.