Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The desk reference you must have
Good book but it takes a bit to learn how to use it. It can be overwhelming at first but just break it down into pieces and it becomes easier to read.
Published 17 months ago by B Rad 16

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Usefulness
As a practicing L.A., I have bought several McGraw-Hill Construction Books. I get a similar result each time: They seem on first look to fulfill the promise, but I found they don't well serve the need in real life. I get far better use out of Architectural Graphic Standards, and I'm looking forward to Wiley's Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards.
Published on July 15, 2006 by Ronald W K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Usefulness, July 15, 2006
By 
Ronald W K (Camarillo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
As a practicing L.A., I have bought several McGraw-Hill Construction Books. I get a similar result each time: They seem on first look to fulfill the promise, but I found they don't well serve the need in real life. I get far better use out of Architectural Graphic Standards, and I'm looking forward to Wiley's Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old and busted, May 5, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
I have always found this book to be cumbersome, difficult to navigate, poorly organized, and lacking in sufficient detail. But of course for years it was basically the only game in town, so everyone relied on it. Those days are over. I recently purchased Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards, and it is an outstanding book. If you're trying to decide which one to buy, definitely get Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards instead. And even if you already own Time-Saver Standards, do yourself a huge favor and buy Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards anyway. It covers everything that Time-Saver Standards does plus numerous other topics, all with much better explanations and details. To top things off, it has FAR more graphics and the entire book is better organized an easier to navigate than Time-Saver Standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The desk reference you must have, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
Good book but it takes a bit to learn how to use it. It can be overwhelming at first but just break it down into pieces and it becomes easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an industry standared, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
I will use it and have already done so.
Good to have this newer version.
I used it for college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any landscape architect, April 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
Fantastic detailed drawings with standard practice for graphic technique. Includes a wide variety of information but goes in depth with each one as the book is almost a thousand pages. Would certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, overview, December 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
The Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture is large and heavy; however, it provides an overview of Landscape Architectural standards. I purchased mine as a LA student for class, which I believe to be where the book is best suited as a reference and introduction to the profession demonstrationing how plant and hardscape details are created, design and construction process of a landscape design, and description of design elements (paving, water, light, vegetation, ect). I've found the book helpful with my studying for the LARE (Landscape Architectural Registration Exam) as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to use as a study tool., February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
This is a great learning tool for Landscape Architects. I have been using it for studying sections of the LARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LOW QUALITY GRAPHICS, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
Very valuable source book with tons of low quality graphics. It is also very heavy to carry around. Good for your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, September 18, 2008
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
This manual is a MUST for practicing land professionals. This is considered a "bible" for anyone who works with the land. As you know this field is constantly changing but this book is fundamentally sound and thorough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, November 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture (Hardcover)
The book you need when you're designing or reviewing the design of any construction activity related to landscape architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture
Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture by Nicholas Dines (Hardcover - November 22, 1997)
$165.00 $131.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.