Customer Reviews

119
4.6 out of 5 stars
Time Splitters 2 - PlayStation 2
Platform for Display: PlayStation2Change
Price:$68.75
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
Let's start at the beginning. A few months ago, I passed by Timesplitters 2 on the shelves, simply because I was not interested in it. But I read the reviews, the TERRIFIC reviews of TS2. I knew that I had to get the game. Within about a day, I was hooked, and I was determined to get every character, level, and game mode. By now, I still have 25 characters to unlock, and several game modes. I have gotten every level. But note that TS2 is NOT an easy game. The story mode is a cinch, but in the later arcade missions, the game becomes damn near impossible! And the best characters come in the later arcade missions. But what is even tougher than later arcade missions are the later challenge missions. The name says it all. The challenge missions will challenge you and sometimes take a good day to beat, all for an extra character or level. The multiplayer game is great all in all, but let's not throw away the story missions, which are very fun as well. Similar to Eternal Darkness, a great Gamecube title, you will play through various levels set in differnt time periods. Some are 1932 Chicago, Notre Dame in the late 1800s, and even a fun shootout in the Wild West. I don't mean to insult, but the futuristic missions are tough and boring. My favorites are Chicago, whee you play as a detective trying to bust a greedy mob. The level is excellent, and it really feels like a gangster-ridden, seedy 1932 Chicago. Notre Dame is fun as well, where you play as a gypsy-like lady sent out to help a hunchback(of course!)free some maidens, and destroy an evil Jack the Ripper-like guy. The sound is great, and the music in each level is superb, along with good voice acting. The graphics' greatest weakness are also their greatest strength. The game looks semi-cartoony, but after a while the game looks pretty good, but definitely cannot compete with UT2003 or Resident Evil. Overall, Timesplitters 2 is the best game in my collection aside from GTA Vice City, and I love it! You will too if you loved Goldeneye, because the developers of Goldeneye designed this game. Remember Dr. Doak, any Goldeneye fans? The best FPS to come to come out for the PS2! My Rating:9.8!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on April 24, 2003
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
...Then came the original Timesplitters. It didn't really look that good. A few years pass, and Timesplitters 2 comes out. I was highly anticipating this one. They said the graphics had been upgraded and the weapons were cooler. It's true! When I got the game, the Story mode was great. I'm still stuck on NeoTokyo (the hardest level). Also, you will spend much time playing the "Arcade" levels.
An evil alien race (the Timesplitters) have gone back into different eras in time to defeat all mankind. You (co-op if you have a buddy) go back to Siberia, Chicago, Notre Dame, Planet X, NeoTokyo, Wild West, and many more places. You have to retrieve time crystals from these environments and bring them back.
Graphics - The graphics are very well done. Some think of them as cartoonish. Sure, the people do look funny when they scream or talk, but it's a game. Also, there is a lot of humor in this game. Anyway, the graphics are nice and crisp. I loved them!
Graphics - 99
Gameplay - It will take some getting used to for the controls. Play "Challenge" or "Arcade" first. Then play the Story mode. The Story mode is great. I like that and "Arcade".
Gameplay - 94
Weapons - The weapons in this game are pretty nifty. I like the minigun, shotgun, Garret revolver, flamethrower, and many more. They really updated the look of the weapons and they all have nice sounds when they shoot.
Weapons - 97
A.I. - The A.I. in this game is really good. They will duck and cover. If you throw mines on them, they will actually run away with the bomb (always fun to watch them explode!). Also, there are so many enemies. There are soldiers, cowboys, gangsters, aliens, and zombies (only way to kill them is to decapitate them!). Love the A.I.!
A.I. - 96
Environments - The environments in this game are really good. I like Chicago in the 1930's and Notre Dame. Chicago has all the gangsters that you get to shoot up. Notre Dame consists of zombies and one big monster in the end. I love the levels.
Environments - 94
Replay Value - I would play this game over again. It has a lot of cool things to do and many ways to do it. So, yah I would play it again!
Replay - 94
Violence - This game contains a lot of violence (burning people, decapitating zombies). There isn't any gore (except for heads rolling!), but there is a lot of violence. So parents, if you don't like violent games. Don't get this one for kids 8 and under!
Violence - HIGH
Overall - This is a great game. It has a great feel and you love to see what time era you are playing in next. You will love the weapons and the graphics. Remember though, there is a lot of violence.
Overall - 96/Awesome Game!
Rated Teen for strong violence and some very light gore.
G. Mike
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
TimeSplitters was a popular game when it came out. It took the normal shooter game and added in changes in environment - you moved through time to persue your enemies. TimeSplitters 2 expands this with better graphics, sound, and multiplay features.
The plot isn't much to get enthusiastic about. An evil enemy race is trying to wipe out humanity, and they have a time portal. They run back through time with crystals and you have to go back into each time period to track down the crystal and do other miscellaneous tasks while you're there.
The graphics are indeed nice, from flaming torches to dreary sewers and polished marble floors. But when you compare them to the likes of Halo or Kingdom Hearts, they're a bit old looking. There aren't shadows. The backgrounds aren't very dynamic. You shoot walls and get tiny holes, unlike the deformable terrain of other current games. The textures seem flat and a bit repetitive.
They did make an attempt to have the sounds match the eras, with lovely chanting during Notre Dame and twanging during the Western era. Even so, you don't feel 'immersed' in the game. Characters don't make noise when they walk. There isn't really any ambient noise.
The weapon choices are fun and time-appropriate. In Chicago of 1932, you've got Tommy Guns. In Notre Dame you're playing with shotguns. So there's always new variety as you go from level to level.
The missions aren't very challenging compared to other games that are out. They are extremely linear and there's rarely any brainpower involved. There's side missions like "blow up file cabinets along the way" or "shoot out whiskey barrels". There's usually a rationale given but it's pretty flimsy.
There are other 'mini-games' that you can play. Do things like fight off the living dead, smash the glass and so on. Try to get the best times to get high rankings.
Where the game really shines is multiplayer. There are HUNDREDS of characters to choose from in multiplay, and tons of ways to play that you unlock as you go. There are the standards like deathmatch as well as more interesting variations. The game is savvy about game hook-ups and LANs to open the game up to as many players as possible for your system.
In addition, TimeSplitters 2 comes with a MAP EDITOR. This is something rarely seen in a console game!! You can choose from a beginner or advanced mode and design your own maps, and then have your friends play through it! Customize the tile set, bot placements, choose weapons, music, you name it. You can create your own full maps and play a new game every day!
A great game if you're into multiplayer or map creation, and a fun shooter if you're not too particular about graphics or sounds.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2002
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
This is one of the best, and most fun games to hit the playstation 2 in a long time. To start off, if you have ever played the first game and liked it, or have played Goldenye and liked it, then you should BUY this game. You will no doubt fall in love with this game. The controls are easy and don't take long to pick up. The graphics have improved 100% over the first game and the major keyword in this game is, VARIETY. This game has so many modes that you can be hooked for months. The other games don't compare. There is a story mode, 2 different kinds of arcade modes, a challenge mode, and a create a map mode. And the game constantly rewards you so that you will always want to keep playing. Even though the game lost its online play, there is still tons to like here. There are nearly twice as many levels as the first game, twice as many characters and twice as many "story" mode levels. Basically, if you love FPSs, this game will make you cry tears of joy. It's fast, fun, has tons of replay value, a blast with friends or alone and belongs on the list of the 5 best FPSs ever. Check it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2003
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
Well, at first, getting used to the controls in TimeSplitters2, it felt a little bit stupid. The auto aim was awful, the graphics didn't immediatly impress me, and the overall gameplay was just boring. But I kept playing, and soon I found myself on the second mission, kicking butt, and realized 2 hours had passed. I had to stop and tell the world! "Why?" THIS GAME IS AWSOME!...
1. Gameplay: First off, if you're an expierienced gamer, shut the auto-aim OFF in preferences. It really kills the gameplay. Second, realize how cool the gameplay is. There are dozens of guns to try out, the graphics are awsome, and your enemies actually use their brain. That's what made this game such a challenge. To begin the game, you see a little movie about an Alien race called the "TimeSplitters" . They travel through time, and are here to take over the world. So Earth sends out a last hope with a group of Marines. They send 2 (you and if you have a friend, a second person) marines on to the Alien's ship. They battle their way to the bridge, where 9 Aliens have already disapeared into a time warp. Each is in a different time with a time crystal you have to retrieve. So you follow these Aliens through each time period, shooting your way through anything from zombies, guards, aliens, other marines, spies, robots, etc...it's really cool. Once you finish the game, the world is saved. The thing is, once you beat a game on the hardest level, u unlock an even harder difficulty setting. Can u beat it on a harder level, than the next? Really cool, and you can re-do any level on any setting, at any time. And you can do all these levels in one player, or 2 player. So me and my best friends could go through the story as a team. What a blast!
You have anything from grenades, snipers, shotguns, pistols, machine guns, etc... and it just gets better. This is just the story. Should I move on?
2. The graphics: Not the greatest we've ever seen, but still quite good. You see gun shells fall to the ground, watch water spray down from a waterfall, see heads fall off and roll to the floor (only from zombies, no gore here!). When u shoot at wall, the gun marks appear and stay for the game. Glass shatters, people fall back when u shoot. Good explosions, etc... It gets the job done and a little bit more. Graphics here are good, but don't expect Grand Theft Auto.
3. Sound: Very good. Each gun makes it's own sound, voice acting is pretty good, the alarms make u jump with the realistic screech. Unfortunantly, you don't here the people walk. Little things like that aren't here, but once again, it gets the job done. 3.5 out of 5 stars in sound. But u don't really notice anything bad during the awsome gameplay. As for the menu music, FANTASTIC! Very good game, and the music really gets u excited for the games. I love this game, and the sound was part of it!
4. Multiplayer: AWSOME! 4 player, 3 player, and 2 player. You can play through the story through 2 player, and have 4 player fighting frenzy after that. You can do a deathmatech (where your 4 players fight off impossible odds working together), challenge (where you make a challenge and face it), campaining (where you have 2 teams with dozens of people going through all out war! Players pick their side), and the good 'ole 4-player killing spree. You all face each other, battling for kills, points, and the right to stay alive and call yourself the champ! These are just a few (to give you an idea). And with over a 100 characters to choose from, dozens of levels to fight in, and a ton of game types, this game will keep you entertained...for awhile!
Overall, this game rocked. I wasn't expecting such a fun game when I picked it up. Definantly worth the buy. And if you share an XBOX with good friends, room mates, brothers and sisters, etc.. you can work as a team in multiple ways, including going throug EVERY singlr mission in story mode, guarding each other's back.
It wasn't Grand Theft Auto, or SOCOM: NAVY Seals, but it was a great game. No gore, and a ton of awsome fun, TimeSplitter's 2 (the sequel to the classic TimeSplitter's for the PlayStation) lives up to the hype, and can be compared to games like Perfect Dark, Golden Eye, and even SOCOM in some terms.
Hope this helped, now I gotta go play TimeSplitter's 2!...
Thx!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 23, 2002
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
Timesplitters 2 is a first-person shooter similar to Doom, Quake, Halo, and many others. Crisp graphics, a smooth frame rate, responsive gameplay, great music...everything is top notch (at least as far as the PS2's capabilities go). What sets it apart from other typical games in the genre, however, is the wild variety of environments, characters, and weapons. It includes over 10 different times and locations ranging from the old west to futuristic cities, plus over 20 different weapons overall (shotguns, crossbows, laserguns, rocket launchers, flamethrowers, you name it). Timespitters 2 takes itself less seriously than other fps. With cartoonish style graphics, and humorous cinemas obviously poking fun of today's pop-culture movies, it's a welcome change from the typical war-hardened commando theme found in most of these games. As far as modes and options go, Timesplitters 2 has you covered there too. After you've plowed through the story mode, there are still a massive amount of arcade and challenge battles to keep you busy. Factor in the multiplayer matches and the map editor mode, and this game has almost limitless replay value. The only thing missing from this game is a jump button, but once you get into playing for a while you probably won't even notice it's absent. While in terms of gameplay balance and graphical quality Halo still has this game beat, Timesplitters 2 remains an excellent choice for any fan of the first-person shooter genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2002
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
If the majority of your gaming time is spent playing with friends, then you should definately get Timesplitters 2. There are 16 multiplayer modes, tons of levels, over 100 characters and the frame rate never dips below 60 FPS even during frantic multiplayer matches. Plus, if you're so lucky, you can hook up multiple PS2 systems and TVs and play with up to 16 players. Another great feature is a co-op mode in which you and a friend can relive the story mode of TS2. The only negative I've encountered with the multiplayer is that in the Assault mode you can never be on the defending team, a major disappointment for me. If you don't know what I'm talking about then you wouldn't have noticed it in the game (:
The single player story mode is average and nothing special. The story line is weak and the levels are short. However, the numerous arcade modes and challenges are entertaining.
Basically, if you're having a party or play videogames with friends, you need to get TS2 (note-at the outset only a few multiplayer modes are available-you need to put in about 2-3 hours of single player work to unlock all those modes).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2002
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
This is one of the best 1st person shooters I have ever experianced. It offers tons of modes to play in, with a vast array of levels. People who play the demo please listen: I must admit I played the demo at first ...), but trust me, the full game is SO MUCH more fun then the demo. The demo is half of level 1 in story mode; there is much more to the game than that. I have also played unreal'03 and compared the two. In my opinion, Timesplitters 2 is a much better buy. The only thing it lacks is no network capability, except the i.link cable. But other than that, it is a great game! A lot of people complain about the controls. Believe me: you will find the controls very easy after a little while, and come to realize that the comtrols for this game are the best choice for the PS2 controller. The graphics for this game are incredible, as are the sound effects. Well, I don't think I can say anything else; for all you shoot 'em up fans out there, this is the game for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2003
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
This game absolutely rocks! I had to give it only four stars because all of the other reviews gave it five and while it is excellent, it does still have some flaws.
The Good! - Can you say multiplayer mayhem! The multiplayer mayhem is intense. With tons of modes to play from the traditional deathmatch and capture the flag to the not so traditional shrink (size based on standing - lower=smaller) and monkey assist (a group of monkeys come down and help the person in last place). The variety of multiplayer levels, weapons, and characters will keep you coming back for more.
The Arcade and Challenge modes are good as well. This is where you will do most of the multiplayer unlocking. These modes work with the multiplayer (and some single player) levels and have you complete various objectives (save the dam from the bouncing bomb filled monkeys, complete the level without being spotted, you and a bot assistant must infiltrate the enemy bunker, etc). Good fun for everyone, and a challenge to boot. You've never had so much fun unlocking stuff!
The single player game is good as well. The story is fun and it puts you in different time frames with different styles of gameplay, from stealth in the siberian dam and Neo-Tokyo levels, to an all out time rushed frenzy in Atom Smasher and Space Station levels, to strategy and patience in the robot factory.
My ultimate favorite - Co-op Story Mode rocks!!!
The Bad! - So many of the single player levels could have been dons so much better! The demo disks that were floating around gave you a taste of the first level (Siberian Dam). It was definitely an ode to GoldenEye. However, that was the best level by far, and i felt a little cheated when many of the other single player levels did not live up to that first one. Also, much of the storyline left you wondering, "How does this level have anything to do with the overarching story?"
The Level Editor was a major disappointment. It was kind of fun and had some definite pluses. However, the miniscule size that the levels were allowed to have and the lack of ability to connect the levels together to create a bigger level really limited things.
The controls take a bit to get used to. This is one of the areas where Halo fans tend to get a little frustrated. On primary view, there is no crosshair. If you switch to aim view there is a crosshair, but also a soft spot in the center. It's very logical in that the main view is like shooting from the hip while the aim view is like using the gun's sights. It can be a bit frustrating at times if you are used to having the crosshairs, but after playing it for a bit you get used to it and it feels rather natural.
No jumping! This also tends to be a point of contention for the Halo and UT fans. In TS2 there is no need for jumping and to avoid the rabbit effect (people bouncing around all over the place to avoid being shot in multiplayer looking like stupid rabbits) FreeRadical made a decision not to include it purposefully. Of course some would consider this a point for the good list.
On difficult, the difficulty level is extreme. This can be both good and bad because while it makes you strive for perfection and grow as a gamer, it can also be insanely frustrating... especially if you are going for that highly coveted 100% completion. Then again, no one got anywhere by not being challenged.
The Ugly! - No online play!!! With promise after promise of online multiplayer mayhem by both FreeRadical and Eidos, the anouncement only weeks before shipping that the online play was going to be scrapped made many fans angry to no end. The release date had been moved back six months for adaptation to a multiplatform release and for online play preparation then the loss of one of the most important aspects of the game brought a great deal of frustration.
Overall, the good definitely, and by far, outweighs the bad and ugly, but the game is not perfect. Trust me everyone. This is a game worth owning. I bought it the first day that it came out, and even almost a year later i'm still playing the multi-player rather regularly with my friends. I would rate this game as a 9.5 out of 10. It's excelent (unlike my spelling), but not perfect.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2002
Platform for Display: PlayStation2
This game was GREAT!!! BUy it definitly if you want a spectacular multiplayer game to play with 3 (4 player) or 15 firends. The story mode is also very amazing in look and detail. The characters are a bit comical, instead of the usual sincere characters in games like Red Faction. The weapons are very realistic, not golden guns or 1 hit kill rocket launchers. This game can also allow you to create your own map to play against friends, so you know where to go and kill them easily. 5 is a low number to me to rate this game, but it is the highest of the stars, SO BUY THIS GAME!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Time Splitters PS2
Time Splitters PS2 by Eidos Interactive (PlayStation2)
$28.95

Time Splitters 2
Time Splitters 2 by Gamecube (GameCube)
$81.33

Time Splitters: Future Perfect - PlayStation 2
Time Splitters: Future Perfect - PlayStation 2 by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
$74.95
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.