Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Stars are Available!
Paisley has been turning out solid country tunes for albums now but he seems to have fleeting moments on radio sometimes. On this album, Paisley seems to be at his sharpest. He takes on fast tracks "Alcohol" & "You Need a Man Around Here" and lays on the humor and great song writing without killing traditonal country roots -- take a note Keith Urban.

There are...
Published on August 16, 2005 by A*

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Includes one of music's finest ballads!
I bought this CD in order to have the sounds of Brad Paisley's "When I Get to Where I’m Going". Accompanied by the melodious harmony of Dolly Parton, this is one of the most moving, cathartic, and simply beautiful songs I've ever listened to. Brad is a one of a kind, unlike any other country singer; it's obvious why he was inducted into the Grand Ole...
Published 8 months ago by Chris Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Stars are Available!, August 16, 2005
By 
A* (New York, N.Y. United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Paisley has been turning out solid country tunes for albums now but he seems to have fleeting moments on radio sometimes. On this album, Paisley seems to be at his sharpest. He takes on fast tracks "Alcohol" & "You Need a Man Around Here" and lays on the humor and great song writing without killing traditonal country roots -- take a note Keith Urban.

There are the romance ballads such as "The World" & "Flowers" that I hope are hits on Radio and video format as well.

But there is a single song on here that is worth the purhcase alone. The heartbreaking ballad, "When I Get Where I'm Going" has to be one of the most beautiful songs of the last 20 years. If this song doesn't warm you up then there is no hope. It guests, Dolly Parton -- who has been turning out pure Bluegrass heaven on her last three discs. Their vocal harmonies and soaring melodies is a amazing. I can't recommend the disc enough.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No time wasted here!, August 16, 2005
By 
Allen Chapman (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
This is Brad Paisley's fourth album, and I think it's probably his best one yet. I became a fan with his last album and the single "Whiskey Lullabye", I was impressed with his style and sound. As much as I love "Mud On The Tires" "Time Well Wasted" is a notch above "Mud". On this album he has two big name guests in Alan Jackson on "Out In The Parkin' Lot" and Dolly Parton on the incredible "When I Get Where I'm Goin'". His guitar picking and lyrics are once again unlike anyone else out there right now. His lyrics are interesting in that unlike most male artists, he doesn't aim his songs mostly at a female audience, he writes songs that guys can relate to and women think are cute. His sense of humor also shines thru as well without become a novelty. In the case of the final track, "Cornography" he does go for novelty. The story continues the story begun on "Mud On The Tires". This time around in addition to George Jones, Little Jimmy Dickens and Bill Anderson, Dolly Parton joins in on the fun, which gets a little risque for a country act. The whole album is a great listen and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is Country Music!, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Brad Paisley does it again! This often overlooked country musician consistently puts out hit after hit and superb cd's and Time Well Wasted is no different. If you have yet to discover his talent then you are truly missing out.

What I enjoyed the most about this cd is it shows Paisley's maturity as an artist. Don't get me wrong, there is still plenty of his wry humor packed into the 16 tracks, but he has delivered on his promise to take the fans "somewhere different". While I thoroughly enjoyed "Out in the Parkin' Lot" with Alan Jackson, the duet with Dolly Parton on "When I Get to Where I'm Going" is one of the most poignant country songs I can remember. It would be an injustice if this song was not released to the general public, no offense Alan.

Duets aside, you can expect typical Brad toe-tappin' rhythm's and soaring guitar licks. If there is a musician that has come out in the last 20 years that is as talented as Brad with the guitar I throw down the challenge to show me.

I wish I could rate this cd 6 stars because it deserves it! 6 years ago the country torch was passed; not to Kenny, Keith or Toby, but to a talented singer, songwriter and musician from West Virginia. Brad, here's to this year being the year you get the recognition you deserve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
First of all, let me admit up front that this review is very "fresh," and I've only basically just heard this CD straight out of the wrapper.

Who would have thought that Brad Paisley could equal or even--GASP--better his previous CD, the stellar MUD ON THE TIRES? Well, get ready, folks, because Brad has just delivered another outstanding collection of songs that are both "vintage Paisley" and also fresh and bold.

It's almost unfair how talented Paisley is. Not only is he a great songwriter and vocalist, but he's a superb guitar picker. All of his gifts shine brightly on this CD. He is also excellent at picking and sequencing songs, as this release sports an excellent blend of the fun, the funny, the spiritual, the poignant, and the classic. His sound is, as always, authentic, traditional country, but Brad is anything but stodgy.

If Paisley didn't have an absolute blast making this CD, then he's a great actor. Songs like "She's Everything," "Alcohol," "The World," "I'll Take You Back," "You Need a Man Around Here," and "Out in the Parkin' Lot" (with the ever lovable Alan Jackson) are infused with Paisley's contagious joi de vivre and scream out for repeated listens.

But then again, Paisley can shoot an arrow straight to your heart, as he does on beautifully moving tracks like "When I Get to Where I'm Going" (Dolly Parton is a luminous co-vocalist here) and "Rainin' On You." "Flowers" is one of those unique Paisleyan creations that provides catharsis and knowing laughs all at once. "Cornography" is humorous, though not, perhaps, suitable for younger ears.

If you are a tough old coot who likes traditional country like Waylon, Willie, Johnny, or The Possum, you will like this CD. Or, if you are a young buckaroo with a lot of spit and vinegar, you will like this CD also. Either way, everybody wins with Brad Paisley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars +1/2 -- Superbly crafted contemporary country album, September 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Paisley and his producer Frank Rogers (who's also produced Josh Turner, Darryl Worley, Phil Vassar, Pat Green and others) take a page from the book of Dwight Yoakam & Pete Anderson by cannily stretching the singer-guitarist-songwriter's country roots into unusual, compelling new directions. There's no mistaking that this is a Nashville production, with professionally tight-but-casual playing (except for the nitro-fueled swing-jazz romp "Time Warp," which is tight-as-a-drum) and a lengthy credit list of Nashville A-listers supplementing the core band, but like the best Music City releases, it takes on the tone of its star rather than its players or producer. Paisley's songwriting, guitar playing and warm vocals winningly envelop the entire disc.

The album's centerpiece and leadoff single, "Alcohol," is a canny piece of first-person narrative, sung from the bottle's perspective in a voice that's trying hard to be celebratory while it recounts the destruction it's wrought. In contrast, Paisley shows himself to be content as a married man, celebrating his spouse in the bouncy opener "The World" and the ballad "She's Everything," reveling in the give-and-take of relationships in Don Simpson and Wynn Varble's sentimental "Waitin' on a Woman," and just sitting back to marvel in "Love is Never-Ending." Luckily, he's not averse to a lost-love ballad like "Rainin' You" or a potent kiss-off tune like the galloping hyperbole of "I'll Take You Back."

The lyrics regularly hinge on clever turns of phrase, such as the begging make-up "Flowers" and celebration of fame "Easy Money," and though the wordplay occasionally feels overused, Paisley delivers it with an engaging smile and enough craft, emotional depth and grit to place him as this generation's George Strait or Alan Jackson (the latter of whom duets on "Out in the Parking Lot"). The album keeps the country basics - fiddle, steel and twangy guitar - out front, even as the sound is crafted for today's country radio. This is Paisley's richest album to date, and its fifteen musical tracks provide nearly a full hour of entertainment - a real value in these days of 12-track 35-minute CDs. 4-1/2 stars, if allowed fractional ratings. [©2005 hyperbolium dot com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Well Spent on "Time Well Wasted", August 16, 2005
By 
Bubbles (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Brad Paisley's albums have progressively gotten stronger and it seemed that perhaps "Mud on the Tires" would be the zenith of his albums. "Time Well Wasted" proves that we still don't know what the best of Brad Paisley is because this album builds upon "Mud on the Tires" and comes out with newer things but is also an album that is all around better than even the Grammy worthy "Mud on the Tires."

"Time Well Wasted" encompasses all the traditions of country music and is a reminder of what traditional country is. The album has its sad ballads of loss, of love, of alcohol (good and bad songs), fun songs, and those songs with guitar and twange. The duets on this album are equally as amazing as the duets found on "Mud on the Tires."

"The World" opens up the album with a lot of spirit and traditional country dancing twange. The lyrics are very good and yet have a fun happy feeling to them too. "Alcohol", the current single, is the perfect country drinking song...it's a song you could sing on your own or you could hear a whole bar singing and swaying to while everyone pours on the drinks. It is definately a different song than any that Paisley has recorded and it joins some of the great country drinking songs like "Friends in Low Places", "Five O'Clock Somewhere", and others. "Waitin' on a Woman" is a tender country ballad song about love and commitment, but more importantly, it's a song that anyone can relate to at any age. "I'll Take You Back" has great guitar rifts and steel guitar throughout along with that fast country speed...the sarcasm and hyperbole of this song make it a fun song to listen to and you'll be either dancing to it or bopping your head to it. "She's Everything" is a country love ballad that any woman would love to hear sung to them...yet it's not to sappy at the same time. "You Need a Man Around Here" is playful just like "I'm Gonna Miss Here (The Fishing Song)" from Part II. It definately shows how much a man loves a woman but at the same time shows some of the silliness involved in love, and it can make anyone laugh. "Out in the Parkin' Lot" features Alan Jackson and is a great "road trip" song for any long drive...it's a good song and adds a different flare to the album.

"Rainin' on You" is probably the most beautiful song on the whole album. The lyrics seem so simple but are so full of emotion...the light guitar and pure vocals just make this song even more haunting and force you to listen to the lyrics. I can see this song being a single and doing so well...one of the best songs that I truly have ever heard. "Flowers" is that traditional country song about losing that woman and boy is it a good song to listen to. "Love is Never-Ending" is a fun song on the album and helps to bring a different flare. "The Uncloudy Day" reminds me somewhat of old country greats like Hank, Merle, Willie, and Johnny. "When I Get Where I'm Going" features Dolly Parton and is the perfect opposite compliment to "Whiskey Lullaby". "When I Get Where I'm Going" talks about death and the journey to heaven...it is lyrically amazing but it is also a song of hope for anyone who has or is experiencing death of a loved one in their life. "Easy Money"...do I really need to talk about this song much other than the fact it's a fun song that you'll want to sing on pay-day. "Time Warp" is an interlude of sorts and features tons of guitar rifts and styles throughout it...this isn't your typical instrumental and is very enjoyable to listen to. "Time Well Wasted" ends off the song portion of the album and seems to be reflection of Paisley's life but also a reflection of what this whole album has been about. It's about memories and realizing that time spent on things that don't seem important can be some of the best experiences and moments of our lives.

The bonus track is a spoken story that features the continuing saga of The Kung Pao Buckaroos and James Burton. It features Dolly Parton as well and is actually quite funny to listen to.
The Target version of this album also features four more tracks..."Yes, You Will" is a song about the things we say we'd never do but do end up doing..."Hard to Say Hello" is another song about the one who got away but it's got a jazzy feel to it too with the country flavor mixed in..."Ode de Toliet (The Toliet Song)" is supposed to sound like a serious song but it's actually a hilarious song about putting the toliet seat down...ending off the set is "College" featuring Pat Green, a song that anyone who went to college will appreciate and may actually be able to relate to perfectly.

"Time Well Wasted" is truly an album that defines country music and keeps the roots of traditional country alive. Listening to this album is definately time well wasted and it can definately bring a smile with its fun and seriousness all rolled into one amazing CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brad does it again... and again, and again..., August 17, 2005
By 
S. Howard (High Ridge, Mo. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Anybody who reads this review knows how dynamic of a singer and songwriter he is... and the whole guitar thing. Don't be put off to think this album is all laughs because of his first single. There are several songs on this album that will touch your heart. For me, even more so than previous albums. "Waitin on a Woman", "She's Everything", Rainin' You, and "When I get where i'm goin" all are steller. Most importantly to me though, is that Brad now with his fourth album is yet to turn "vanilla" to a long time fan. We all know what an Alan Jackson and George Strait album are going to bring. Great songs, but typically delivered. Brad to me with this album has really stretched his singing style on a few songs especially with "Rainin You". And lastly, as a huge diehard musician, I love it that Brad has been able to bring his band into the studio. It is the best backing band in Nashville and he gives them all deserved time on this album sharing his guitar spot light with the rest of them to make great music. Randle Currie his steel player at a realitively young age really shows on this album that he is the future of steel guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [4.5] An already-impressive musician raises the bar., August 20, 2005
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
We last left Brad Paisley when he supplied us with his 2003 summer release--Mud on the Tires. Using the term "left" loosely, of course; it garnered airplay for him until early 2005, (just in time for the pre-release for this album to hit airwaves without missing a beat). Mud was a lighthearted affair, free-spirited in just about every way, that even the inclusion of suicide ballad "Whiskey Lullaby" couldn't dampen.

Brad was also going through engagement and marriage to Kimberly Williams at the time he wrote Mud On The Tires, so of course there was a lot of romantic fluff to the album, which while not always shallow, did influence the topics of tracks to the more positive. It should be no surprise that he had no hand in composing "Lullaby" when you hear a choir of small children join in the last chorus of "Ain't Nothin' Like," a picture-perfect example of the optimism.

The title of his 2005 follow-up, "Time Well Wasted", should show that he does have his trademark wit intact. But when you get into the album, it shows that he's not as interested in including only the positive aspects of life in his songs. Not that he shies away from those topics, (the last thing we want is for Brad to go dark on us), but he is interested in keeping his music out of one-dimensional territory. Even better, he keeps his tone optimistic and witty.

Hey, it's just his style. If he can deal with the topic of death ("Waitin' On A Woman") the same way he sings about his love for his wife ("She's Everything"), more power to him. It shows maturity more than anything else, a trait he hides well with his wise-guy lyricism. Singing about a break-up, ("I'll Take You Back"), he lists all the conditions required for another shot at the relationship ("The day that old morning sun rises in the west / And they pass a law in L.A. banning artificial breasts") and then takes a borderline-perverse pleasure in his ex's pleas for forgiveness ("You know I like it when you come crawling / It's like music to hear you bawling / Waa, waa, waa, waa, waa..."). Some tracks will make you crack a smile. Some might even make you laugh out loud upon first listen. But the humor isn't a crutch; the words flow well and sound good even after the jokes lose their initial punch.

The best part about this album is the fact that Brad is undoubtedly on the top of his game, and it doesn't foreshadow any difficulty staying there. This album feels like it came as naturally to him as the one before. (Meanwhile Green Day faces the challenge of topping their critically acclaimed concept album without penning another rock opera.) And his band sounds sonically deeper and richer to boot, to match the added dimensions of the music.

I can't remember the last time that an artist showed this much potential when their music is already close to perfect. A guaranteed highlight in Brad's catalogue, and quite possibly out of all the releases this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
Brad Paisley keeps good times and mostly good tunes rolling in his fourth Nashville release, Time Well Wasted. TWW is a long album - 16 tracks - not including a few outtakes at the end. After a rough start, song quality picks up as the album continues. The real Brad Paisley indeed emerges through a mix of upbeat and fun, as well as soft and slow songs on the CD. And of course, no Brad Paisley album would be complete without his unqiue humor, and a touch of that West Virginia Bluegrass music.

Brad returns with a mix of classic Brad Paisley humor ("Easy Money", "Flowers"), upbeat-fun songs ("You Need a Man", "Out in the Parkin' Lot"), and slow romance songs ("Love Neverending"). Brad even continues his tradition of including a gospel/hymn song in each of his records ("Uncloudy Day"/"When I Get Where I'm Going"). For those hardcore BP fans, the gospel song is not the last track as in previous alubms. Among these 16 songs were the lackluster("Rainin' You") and just plain annoying("Take You Back"), which probably would have been best left on the cutting room floor.

If you purchase Brad Paisley's newest album, it will be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it coming, September 18, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time Well Wasted (Audio CD)
I don't know how, but Brad Paisley has topped himself. I enjoyed Mud on the Tires, but Time Well Wasted is better again. He is so versatile - "Alcohol", "You Need a Man Around Here" and "I'll Take You Back" are all really clever lyric-wise and "She's Everything" is touching. I like the simplicity of "Rainin' You" and the instrumental "Time Warp". He also calls on some friends, he and Alan Jackson light up on "Out in the Parking Lot" but "When I Get Where I'm Going" with Dolly Parton will give you chills.

There is not a weak song in the bunch and this CD is bound to be on everyone's Best of 2005 lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Time Well Wasted
Time Well Wasted by Brad Paisley (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.