Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Paranormal and Romantic Suspense
Fate is the first book of the Timeless Trilogy series and centers upon the life of Kris Collins, a successful television producer. Her life seems to be coming together professionally and even romantically when Nicholas Evans, a flame from her past moves in next door. But all is not perfect for Kris for she is tormented by frightening visions. She has the gift of...
Published on September 8, 2011 by R. Foote

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mix of suspense, romance, and paranormal
Kris is a successful video editor in Charleston, South Carolina with two best friends she's made her own family with. She has a beautiful beach house and a loving fluffy cat named Pegasus. She also just so happens to be precognitive. Her visions have never been about herself until she starts sensing that she is being watched, receiving late night phone calls, and...
Published on December 28, 2011 by A. McNeil


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Paranormal and Romantic Suspense, September 8, 2011
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
Fate is the first book of the Timeless Trilogy series and centers upon the life of Kris Collins, a successful television producer. Her life seems to be coming together professionally and even romantically when Nicholas Evans, a flame from her past moves in next door. But all is not perfect for Kris for she is tormented by frightening visions. She has the gift of precognition: the ability to see into the future, which comes to her through visions and dreams. The dreams only give a glimpse into the future, a fragment at best.

I enjoyed the paranormal aspect of this story as well as the suspense. I didn't know how Kris would survive the twisted serial killer and just had to keep reading to find out. I liked that the solution and ending wasn't obvious in what would happen. The scenes were well written and descriptive.

I loved the banter between Kris and her love interest, Nicholas. The chemistry between them was good and I might have liked to seen a little more happen between them. I also liked the friendship that Kris had with her friends: Cassie and Veronica. Their friendship was closer to a sisterhood and they were likeable and interesting. Her friends are in books two and three of the Timeless Trilogy. This is a great story and I recommend checking it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read!, January 27, 2012
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed that this is an adult novel, but not in the sexual sense. It's very well written, with a little romance, but it's not over the top and it's a very clean read. While there is a serial killer on the loose, Grace spares her readers the gruesome details, leaving it all to the imagination, which, in my opinion, is sometimes more graphic than actually putting it in words, depending on the reader. It is refreshing to read a well-written psychological thriller that not only glues the reader to the pages as it unfolds, but also keeps the plotline wholesome. I love this genre, but very often I find that this type of writing gives too many bloody details, or revolves around a character's sexual fantasies, and those things tend to make me ill. Fate doesn't do either, focusing mainly on Kris and her precognition as she comes to terms with her stalker.

What starts out as a routine story about three friends quickly turns into one woman's nightmare as she is targeted by a relentless serial killer. The fact that Kris' pre-cognition tips her off that something terrible is coming deepens the suspense within the novel, and I really enjoyed it. While I wasn't sure where the story was headed in the very beginning, Grace quickly makes it clear as she sets up the background for the story through a sleepover at Kris's secluded beach home. Friends Roni and Cassie are more or less minor characters, but they help set the tone of the story prior to the plot thickening and the imminent danger being revealed.

I really liked that Kris didn't attempt to battle her stalker all on her own. This isn't one of those silly horror stories where the main character is too stubborn to ask for help. While Kris originally chalks up her premonitions to paranoia, when it becomes clear to her that she is in real danger, she seeks help. This adds to the believability of the novel, and made me really like Kris as a character. Although she is pre-cognitive, adding a paranormal feel to this novel, she isn't stubborn and she makes logical choices, first alerting her dreamy neighbor, Nick, and then the police. The cast of characters that Grace presents here are extremely interesting and easily likeable, all except the stalker, Damien, and I thoroughly enjoyed having an insider's view into his mind as it allows the reader to see just how much of a twisted genius he really is.

This novel is a roller coaster ride of emotion, leaving the reader in constant suspense as s/he knows what's coming, but not when it will happen. This is a truly great read, and with a little more editing and fine-tuning in terms of the few grammatical errors and typos, this story will be perfect. Overall, I am very impressed by this first novel in the trilogy, and will definitely be reading the next two novels, Spellbound and Destiny, especially as each sequel will focus on a different heroine. In Fate, Roni and Cassie are only side characters, and the reader learns just enough about them to whet the appetite, but there is room for them to grow. And it looks like that is exactly what Grace plans to do, giving both Roni and Cassie their own novel in this trilogy. I can't wait. Four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mix of suspense, romance, and paranormal, December 28, 2011
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
Kris is a successful video editor in Charleston, South Carolina with two best friends she's made her own family with. She has a beautiful beach house and a loving fluffy cat named Pegasus. She also just so happens to be precognitive. Her visions have never been about herself until she starts sensing that she is being watched, receiving late night phone calls, and finding flowers left at her house and on her car. Increasingly, she realizes she is in danger, and right then her old college flame moves in next door.

Kris is a relatable heroine without going over the top. She's no quivering violet, but also no Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Similarly, her love interest is kind and handsome without being sparkly and perfect. The plot is entertaining and modern. It keeps the reader guessing without forcing any characters to act stupid.

All of that said, Grace shows promise as a writer, but she still needs to work on her craft. Her plot structure is excellent, but she frequently shows instead of tells. Similarly, she struggles a bit when first introducing a character, often falling back on the beginner writer's method of explaining hair and eye color before anything else. Similarly, the book needs more editing for simple grammar, spelling, and typos.

Overall, this is an interesting mix of suspense, romance, and paranormal that keeps the reader guessing and interested and shows promise in the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Paranormal . . . Where's the Romance?, August 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
So I got this book because it was marketed as a paranormal romantic suspense . . . sounded good to me. As an avid reader of paranormal romance and as someone who's come around to romantic suspense's it sounded like the perfect combination. With that being said let me line out my issues

1) Having the same precognitive dream and three visions in the entire book does not make it paranormal ( in my opinion) when I think paranormal I want a book with vamps, werewolves, shifters, wraith, even fairies and Angels can be fun you know all that good stuff.

2) Where was the romance? A few kisses here and there and nothing more? Come on I like a little depth to my romance novels telling us about the amazing three day long sex the two character had back in college when they were dating which was ten years earlier doesn't do anything for me especially when that's exactly as it was described no heat just simply telling us "yeah they had amazing long weekends locked in her dorm room" I'm bored . . . sorry .

3) The writing was a little irritating the author seemed to have trouble with quotations you'll find quite a few spots that sound like dialogue but there are no quotations but the next character will respond with quotations. It can get irritating and confusing.

finally I will say that had this book been promoted properly and I had gone into
it with different expectations I might have liked it better if you're not overly concerned by the amount of Paranormal or Romance in your Paranormal Romance books then you might enjoy this one if you like a good Paranormal with lots of Romance there are plenty of other good low cost and free books you can try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nora Roberts meets Twilight light, February 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
The paranormal aspect is so barely there I don't know why they even bother mentioning it. If that is what you are looking for don't waste your time. If you are looking for a Nora Roberts wannabe go for it. Girl meets boy, girl hates boy, girl loves boy. The only paranormal thing happening here is that you can predict every moment of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fate by Talluah Grace, October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
Overall, a fair book...wasn't impressed with the overly possessive Nick in Kris' life...I mean, who acts like that in this day and age with a strong independant woman? But if you want something to pass the time then this book is for you, just don't have the highest expectations and you should be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was Fate, November 18, 2011
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
Fate by Tallulah Grace is the first book of a trilogy involving three friends.
Kris is a tall, beautiful and confident woman, she is also precognitive.
Kris has always had visions but lately has suffered from recurring nightmares, added to which she feels she is being watched.

The story starts with a bang and jumps straight into a gripping nightmare.
Kris is becoming more alarmed at their regularity but does not know what they mean.
Her two best friends are accepting of her paranormal ability and are very supportive.
Kris has known Roni and Cassie since their first day at college together.
I enjoyed watching their fun, relaxed relationship and their love for each other comes across strongly.

Living in her beach cottage is a joy to Kris but recently, due to the nightmares and her growing tension, she has become aware of how isolated she is on her quiet stretch of beach.
The cottage next to hers has been empty awhile so when a new occupant moves in she visits to show her welcome. Image her surprise when her new neighbour turns out to be her first love Nick, who she hasn't seen for ten years. Nick is amazed and delighted to find Kris on his doorstep but needs some answers to the abrupt and painful split at their college graduation.
They agree to have a meal together to catch up on the last decade, both are amazed at how quickly they feel comfortable in each other's company.
Nick soon knows what he wants, and that is to not loose her again, but Kris wants to take things slowly.
She is nervous that they are not the same people they once were, and wants the time to discover if they are still compatible. Nick is very understanding of this and respects her decision. I liked that these two could sit down and talk things through and truly listen to each other.

As the nightmares continue Kris finds gifts of flowers appearing unexpectedly but is not certain what to do. When a meeting on the beach leaves Kris even more disturbed she realises that she may very well have a stalker. She confides in her friends, and eventually Nick, when her feelings of dread increase and she has a sudden terrifying vision. They take her concerns seriously and contact the police for advice on the stalker.
The secondary characters, of both the police and FBI agents, are interesting and likeable, adding to the developing story. These newly formed friendships made me hope that their involvement would continue into the other books in the trilogy.
The build up of the suspense was well paced and the stalker was not so easily tricked, which I found realistic. I enjoyed Ms Grace's writing style, it flowed nicely and the wonderful chemistry between the main characters made for a nice contrast with the growing suspense.
My only disappointment was that the ending felt a little rushed, as I was wanting more time with the H/H after the conflict was dealt with. I hope this will be satisfied when we see Kris and Nick together in Spellbound, book two, which is Roni's story.

This book was given to the reviewer in exchange for their honest opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but unsuprising, December 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
*** D I S C L O S U R E *** I received a copy of this book for free to review.

Pretty good formatting and spell checking for an indie e-book -- I was pleasantly surprised.

The story is fairly predictable, but in romance that's not really a minus -- girl meets boy, they face adversity/are separated (bonus -- this had BOTH these plot points!), they overcome, they live happily ever after in a committed relationship.

The writing was good enough that I only noticed ~the writing~ once or twice. My issue with most indie books is that the writing is bad enough to make me notice the words rather than the story. This book didn't suffer from that.

I did think it could stand to be a little longer, and the foreshadowing of the romances to come in the other two books of the trilogy was a bit heavy-handed at times. All in all, a fluffy, fun little romance for fans of old-school Harlequin romances; sex is minimal and tame. Not quite enough heft to be a beach read -- more like a commuter read; something you can pick up and put down while on the train or bus and not worry about missing something if your attention occasionally wanders.

I was invested enough in the characters by the end to buy the second book to find out what happens next.

3.5/5 (I rounded up since Amazon wouldn't let me give half a star).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: From Author Unpublished, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
There were some parts of this book that I found well done, and some that obviously could have been done better. To begin with, I found the writing clear and engaging (minus the several instances where a word was left out of a sentence and it made no sense, or the wrong word was used):

"Since when are so religious minded?"
That's lets out Charleston.
"have a lot to be desired."

I was able to put the book down at multiple points, and pick it right back up again with little problem. The story kept me turning the pages, which is an awfully hard thing to do sometimes, but there were certain aspects of the story that were amazingly cliche, and I found they detracted a bit from my immersion. Fate is a romance/mystery about a girl who's being stalked by a serial killer, and has just found herself living next door to the love of her life from years past.

Unfortunately, the "bad guy" Damien, was one of the most cliche bad guys ever. I have a supreme hatred of serial-killer characters that have the depth of a puddle, and Damien was no exception. The author never explained why he was killing women, how he picked them, or what he did with them afterwards. None of his back-story was explained, or even why he was drawn to this particular character. In fact, as the story starts, he's already been stalking the main female lead, Kris, for quite a while. Every time the story skipped over into Damien's head, I found his actions creepy (as they should be) but his voice was almost comical. He was silly. I didn't get that vibe of "menacing" from him that I was expecting.

The other characters, like Damien, held little depth. In fact, some of the secondary characters (Kris' friends) only showed up once or twice and were never seen from again, despite the fact that her life was in danger.

As far as the plot was concerned, I honestly think the story would have been better had the entire romance been dropped out of it. Kris has been living in her beach-home for several months when her former-boyfriend from years ago suddenly moves in next door. It's a little convenient, but I'd have let it slide--except this is also the boyfriend that she broke up with because (and here's the cliche part) a female friend of theirs was jealous and broke them apart by telling them both lies. Of course, like every other cliche-romance couple, instead of talking to each other, they both skipped out on the relationship. It took them about a day to figure out they were both lied to and to suddenly fall back in love despite years of being separated. At this point, with the stalking becoming an ever-present danger, the main male lead practically moves in with Kris, and together they work to thwart her stalker. It certainly wasn't anything original.

In the end, both of them get kidnapped by the stalker (despite the police help... who were amazingly unprofessional in all of this and started coming over for dinner daily rather than doing their jobs) and Kris ends up shooting the stalker with a gun he somehow didn't notice she had with her.

The whole thing was one predictable plot device after another. Not to mention (and I almost forgot to!) the main character was a precog and had frequent visions of the future. Her visions had absolutely no bearing on the story what so ever except to give us spoilers about what we had already guessed was about to happen - effectively becoming redundant. If there had been any surprises in store, they would have been ruined by her constant visions. Needless to say, there were no surprises in this book.

Honestly, the whole story was a mess. There were so many ways this could have been tightened up into a really engaging thriller/mystery, but it seemed like the author was always going for the convenient plot devices that we've already seen done hundreds of times before instead. The story could have stood on it's own as just a thriller/mystery if the romance had been dropped out. It could have stood alone as a romance had the thriller/mystery been dropped out-- and the entire thing could have stood without the precognition tid-bit, but together, all of those aspects combined to make a needless mess of information. What could have been a solid story, turned out weak. Was it still a fun little read? Yes. I did find it entertaining despite it's flaws, and it read fast enough that I could have taken it on a bus or to a doctor's office. Would I recommend it to anyone else? No, not really. It was an okay story, but it wasn't anything special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shock factor missing., February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate (Kindle Edition)
It kept me interested but seemed too easy to figure out . I knew what was going to probably happen at each turn.......too predictable, yet, still a good read. Love books that have that "shock factor" ...and this one did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Timeless Trilogy, Book One, Fate
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.