Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Misunderstood Classic
...Upon it's release, "Timequake" was hailed as Vonnegut's final novel (and it may very well be). He had been writing it on and off for ten years, and after a series of rewrites and revisions, he admitted that the book ultimately failed. Therefore, the original sci-fi premise--the events surrounding a 'glitch' in time that causes people to relive episodes of their lives...
Published on October 13, 2002 by Caesar

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But, what about the timequake?
This is the third Vonnegut novel that I've read so far. I loved and hated this book. The 3 stars that I gave this book is somewhat unfair to Vonnegut because the book wasn't necessarily poor, it's just not what I had expected.
What I loved: the idea and creativity of a "timequake" and the scraps here and there of the timequake.
What I didn't...
Published on August 30, 2002 by Eileen_KM


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Misunderstood Classic, October 13, 2002
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
...Upon it's release, "Timequake" was hailed as Vonnegut's final novel (and it may very well be). He had been writing it on and off for ten years, and after a series of rewrites and revisions, he admitted that the book ultimately failed. Therefore, the original sci-fi premise--the events surrounding a 'glitch' in time that causes people to relive episodes of their lives over and over again--becomes merely a sidelining plot, whereas Vonnegut's often pessimistic reflections on his life, career, family, and existence in general, becomes the main focus of this semi-autobiographical book.
So in addition to revisiting Vonnegut's fictional alter-ego, Kilgore Trout, we witness Vonnegut in his everyday life and his struggle to write a novel doomed to fail. The result is a classic collection of Vonnegut's combination of humor with heartbreak that has defined his written career of the past half-century.
For Vonnegut's many devoted readers, including myself, "Timequake" is a difficult book to read. We know it is a farewell to his fans. It is also an emotional read, since our hero is often critical of himself, and not in the lighthearted sense of his earlier novels. He is old, he is ill, he is bitter. When so many people consider him to be one of the greatest novelists America has produced, he seems to view himself as a failure...instead of ending his career with a crowning achievement, he chooses to quietly wave and step out the back door.
Nonetheless, Vonnegut's incomparable talent makes this an excellent book. However, one should not rate this book without first becoming familiar with his earlier work. Only then can it be appreciated as the ingenious conclusion to an illustrious career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching the master make his rounds, July 13, 2002
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
Vonnegut's novels were never tightly plotted or dizzlingly complex, and ever since The Sirens of Titans there's been less and less plot. But what we've gotten is more and more Vonnegut, which has turned out to be a good thing. His latest and (he says) his last novel turns out to be a hodgepodge of random musings, Vonnegut family history lessons, irrelevant asides and once in a while something that touches on a story. And somehow it works. The premise is that Vonnegut was trying to write a novel about everyone in the world being thrown back ten years and then being forced to relive those ten years. After it's over and time runs normally again, everyone is so used to not having free will that they don't know what to do. But that idea didn't take off and so we have this. Toeing the line between fact and fiction (among the best is the meeting between Vonnegut and longtime alter ego Kilgore Trout), this novel is more about Vonnegut than any other novel previously. He talks about life in general, speaks bluntly and warmly of his family, both living and dead, all in his easily read style, which makes pages fly past as you read but somehow they still manage to stick in your head. Yeah, it's not the innovation of Slaughterhouse-Five and the cutting cynicism of the earlier novels has been replaced by a sort of contented cynicism, as if his bitterness has settled on him like a comfortable old skin. There's nothing new here that you couldn't find in his other novels (all of which are highly recommended), even the structure is reminiscent of Breakfast of Champions, but the presentation is what counts here and everything comes across so effortlessly that it's a joy just to watch him put the novel together, even when chapters race past that are really only barely connected strings of random thoughts. More importantly it made me laugh outloud in more than a few spots, made me think in others and in some places was actually genuinely touching, something that's been missing in some of his latter day novels. Overall it's a fine extension of his work and while not his best, it's a great way to get acquainted or reacquainted with an author who's done some of the finest fiction of the last fifty years. If you're just getting to know Vonnegut, there's plenty more where this came from, and if you're coming from a long time back, you'll find plenty here that's familiar, but just as rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But, what about the timequake?, August 30, 2002
By 
Eileen_KM (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
This is the third Vonnegut novel that I've read so far. I loved and hated this book. The 3 stars that I gave this book is somewhat unfair to Vonnegut because the book wasn't necessarily poor, it's just not what I had expected.
What I loved: the idea and creativity of a "timequake" and the scraps here and there of the timequake.
What I didn't expect: these little extra memoirs and the last third of the novel. You find yourself reading "a completely different book" consisting of Vonnegut's own personal reflections; you can just about call it an autobiography.
In conclusion, this is probably not the book for you if you're looking for something that flows and has well, a plot. Otherwise, if you're simply in for chunks of Vonnegut's classic satire, look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of Vonnegut's ideas, you'll enjoy this., January 26, 1998
By 
This review is from: Timequake (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a plot, rising action or deep characters, don't read this. For those of us who have been Vonnegut fans, it reads like a Bible of his ideas. The best parts of a good number of his novels are the prologues. This book is a 195 page prologue, with about 10 pages of fiction. I had the opportunity to read Timequake back in July, (about three months before its offical release date) and I was thrilled when I reached the final page. Many of his devoted readers find his humanistic ideas to be the best stuff he writes. This book holds more of that than any other he has written. His ideas on his own age and demise as a writer add a ton to this beautiful farewell to the philosophy of Kurt Vonnegut. If you are unfamilar with him, and looking for a great book to start on, go back to Slaughterhouse-Five, Sirens of Titan or Cat's Cradle. If you are familiar with his stuff, this book simply serves as a great companion piece to his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cranky, but still a genius, December 20, 1999
By 
Paul O'Brian (Thornton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
Reading TIMEQUAKE makes two things eminently clear.
One, Kurt Vonnegut has become a cranky old man. The book is full of diatribes about how newfangled gadgets like TVs and computers have ruined the world. He even occasionally lets slip a wistful cliche like "the lost art of conversation." In contrast to his SLAUGHTERHOUSE-FIVE character Billy Pilgrim, Vonnegut himself has become stuck in time, viewing today's world from the distant vantage of the 1930s and 40s, and declaring the modern era postliterate, and therefore fallen. He even lends authority to his viewpoint by finally acknowledging his place in the pantheon of the century's greatest writers, a place which he richly deserves.
And that brings me to the second insight that TIMEQUAKE makes readily apparent: Vonnegut's literary genius is undimmed. The man can put words together like nobody else on earth -- his passages and paragraphs are so mind-altering that they ought to be considered controlled substances. The timequake at the center of this book is a wonderfullly pliable symbol, allowing Vonnegut fresh takes on all his familiar themes: war, suffering, the arts, the human capacity for evil, and the mysterious dynamic of free will versus predetermination. What's more, the book is unfailingly, hysterically funny, resonating with that particular Vonnegutian laugh, a laugh that carries an abyss of blackness within its mirth, but is nonetheless somehow comforting.
Those who complain that the book is rambling or lacks direction are missing the boat entirely. As Vonnegut himself explains midway through the book (perhaps in anticipation of this very criticism), his writing style is that of a "basher." He defines "bashers" as writers who "go one sentence at a time, getting it exactly right before they go on to the next one. When they're done, they're done." Make no mistake, the words in TIMEQUAKE are there for a *reason*. They aren't arbitrary or accidental. Vonnegut didn't just scribble down whatever happened to cross his mind and then try to sell the stack of notes as a book. Or if he did, he should be allowed to, because the result is such an intricate, precise organization of connections that the best metaphor for it is the inner workings of the computer on which I write this review -- an immensely complicated piece of work which accomplishes its function very well indeed.
I wouldn't recommend TIMEQUAKE for somebody who's never read Vonnegut before (and how I envy such people for the newness of the experience that awaits them) -- Vonnegut novices ought to start with brilliant, accessible novels like CAT'S CRADLE or GOD BLESS YOU, MISTER ROSEWATER. But for Vonnegut fans, of which I am definitely one, TIMEQUAKE is an indispensible farewell from the voice of an old friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful farewell gift, October 3, 1997
By 
Figbean (Burbank, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Hardcover)
I first became a fan of Vonnegut in high school when a friend let me borrow Cat's Cradle. After completion, I voraciously read the entire Vonnegut catalog within the span of about 15 months. Thus when I saw on Amazon that his new and final book was soon to be released, I became ecstatic. The basic plot of TIMEQUAKE is irrelevant and takes a back seat to Kurt's desire and need to reminisce and give us advice based upon his 74 years on a planet filled with people destined for suicide. The aging Vonnegut's pessimism about the human condition is not ground-breaking material, yet the novel has an enjoyable and comfortable sense of familiarity to it. Kurt is similar to the stereotypical grandfather: "I remember back in the day...before TV, before WWII, before computers, before art and literature lost importance, etc... when life was so much simpler and better." At times Vonnegut's complaints seem like the petty ramblings of a bitter, cynical old man; but for the most part his common sense advice, no matter how simple, rings truthful and just might be the ideas needed to save the species. TIMEQUAKE is a pure pleasure to read, a truly wonderful farewell gift from an author who has meant so much to my literary and personal development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Ting-a-Ling?, May 25, 2005
By 
Mr. Sinister (El Cajon, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
Having read the bulk of Vonnegut's work (so many great books, so much clever, boisterous, mocking, incidental drivel...)Timequake felt like a cheat at first. More parts memoir than actual novel, Timequake must be differentiated between Timequake One (the dead version that balked birth) and Timequake Two (the revised performance). Intending this as his last novel (or so he says), Vonnegut gets a little crazier than usual and a lot nostalgic. The threading of his personal life experiences into the fabric of the novel make it hard at first to discern fact from fiction, and then you realize...It's Kurt f*cking Vonnegut! Who cares? Fact or fiction, it's all entertaining. Vonnegut is as wry and sardonic as ever. He talks a lot of sh*t here.... So, is KV done telling stories? Is Timequake to be the last real shot of his insightful wisdom of the world at hand? Is it worthy of a last novel by a modern-day genius? Tough questions. Let me answer them all with one word. Maybe.

Is this is awesome as Breakfast Of Champions or Cat's Cradle or Slaughterhouse-Five? Hard to tell. All of Vonnegut's work, at least for me, sort of melds together into a single mishapen tapestry. Vonnegut is Vonnegut. His writing is addictive as nicotine or heroin. I gotta have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONLY Vonnegut Fanatics Need Apply, June 8, 2001
By 
This review is from: Timequake (Hardcover)
Kurt Vonnegut is certainly in my mind, and in those of most objectionable readers, one of the 20th century's greatest writers. If you have not yet read anything of his, you should take time out now to do so. However, this book is radically different from just about anything else out there (even from Vonnegut) that I wouldn't recommend making it your first reading of KV. If you are new to the author I suggest rather something like Cat's Cradle or Slaughterhouse-Five. Timequake, however, is pure gold for the die-hard Vonnegut fanatic. It is written in a rather odd and unthinkably off-beat style, truly, as the book jacket claims, "a literary form such as the world has never seen." There is absolutely no plot whatsoever. And there's basically only one character. The vast majority of the book is, in fact, not fiction but personal ancedotes from the author. Vonnegut appears in the novel both as an autobiographical figure reciting reminisces from his past, and as a character in the novel placed in fictional situations. Obviously, this is by no means a conventionally written book. However, this can be tremendously rewarding for Vonnegut fans, because here we get to see a lot of his views on different issues, as well as see him disclosing quite a few events about his past (not that he hadn't done that before, but still.) Read this if you've already made a sizable chunk in the author's repetoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ting-a-ling!, November 28, 2000
By 
"axiom20" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Paperback)
You were sick but now you're well again, and there's work to do ... Timequake is a book about a book, "Timequake One", sort of. Which is to say, Vonnegut uses the supposed book "Timequake" as reference material typically saying "I wrote in Timequake One" while filling the rest of the story with cynical bitterness and sarcastic commentary which is simultaneously hilarious and solemn. He threads the plot of Timequake (wherein the cast of the universe is forced to live ten years of their lives twice, the second "rerun" being on automatic pilot) through relentless commentary about our modern world pitting himself and his "alter-ego" out of print science fiction writer Kilgore Trout as main characters in what can be best described as part auto-biography, part fiction. As I read this book I found so much relevant in my day to day life I could hardly believe it. There are some real thought provoking criticisms of our modern world presented here. I like the frank style of writing, and I deeply appreciate Vonnegut's bitterly sarcastic musings: "Then again, I am a monopolar depressive descended from monopolar depressives. That's how come I write so good." Give us a break, Mr. Trout. READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again Vonnegut presents unique thoughts on the universe, November 2, 1997
By 
jrivkin@direcpc.com (Amagansett, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timequake (Hardcover)
No other American author has so continuously introduced new ideas on how one should view the crazy happenings on this planet Earth or the planet Booboo for that matter. In a new form of "novel" incorporating direct autobiography, indirect personal observations through his alter ego, Kilgore Trout, and a series of storylines scattered with typical Vonnegut characters, the author looks at life from angles most of us have never reposed. The underlying tale of a ten-year repeat of the universe's history via a timequake forces the readers to think about all the little timequakes in our lives and the moments we would like to relive. A timequake requires one to relive it all with no changes. The author's reflections on his own family in small timequakes present a very human and appealing side of this important contibutor to our understanding of what life is all about. This was a very satisfying read for Vonnegut regulars. This should not be the first Vonnegut book for a new reader. Let us hope this is not Kurt Vonnegut's last novel as he proclaims. What a writer. Ting-a-ling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Timequake
Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut (Paperback - August 1, 1998)
$16.00 $12.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.