Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-edited easy crosswords
As an aficionado of the New York Times Crosswords and a voracious crossword solver I anxiously awaited delivery of this book. Included you will find the easiest of the Times crosswords but in a somewhat hard to write in book due to the design. Since it is in paperback format and you cannot lay it flat you will have to hold it open to complete each puzzle. I much prefer...
Published on January 2, 2002 by MLIS2012

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Old
For me, over 50, these puzzles were harder than the daily Wed. NY Times puzzles today. I think it is because these are older puzzles and the contemporary references are from the 60's or so. It was edited by Maleska, who was the puzzles editor before the current Will Shortz. They are challenging though....good luck.
Published on August 22, 2007 by Joel Novendstern


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-edited easy crosswords, January 2, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As an aficionado of the New York Times Crosswords and a voracious crossword solver I anxiously awaited delivery of this book. Included you will find the easiest of the Times crosswords but in a somewhat hard to write in book due to the design. Since it is in paperback format and you cannot lay it flat you will have to hold it open to complete each puzzle. I much prefer the format of the Simon and Schuster crossword series and Maura Jacobson's books since they have a spiral binding.
The crosswords are interesting and will give you many hours of fun solving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Old, August 22, 2007
For me, over 50, these puzzles were harder than the daily Wed. NY Times puzzles today. I think it is because these are older puzzles and the contemporary references are from the 60's or so. It was edited by Maleska, who was the puzzles editor before the current Will Shortz. They are challenging though....good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect level puzzle for a pleasant afternoon., June 22, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have tried different sets of crosswords and finally found that the Tuesday NY Times puzzle is the perfect level for me when I want a puzzle that is quite do-able but still clever and fun. This collection was given to me as a gift and I have found it to be the perfect travelling companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful way to start a week!, June 6, 2000
Devotees of the New York Times daily and Sunday Crossword Puzzles have finally gotten what they'd been asking for for an eternity! The daily NYT puzzles become more challenging as the week unfolds. Mondays start you off gently as you wish the week would start you off, but by Saturday, it's not uncommon to stare at the puzzle forever until inspiration strikes. For those anxious to build their skills and improve their knack, the Times has published puzzle books appropriate to each day of the week. Don't be embarrassed to start with Monday. Both the puzzles and your week will probably get more difficult as they move along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy? Not!, August 28, 2002
By A Customer
Speaking as one who can usually get up to Wednesdays's NY Times puzzle before feeling inept; these Monday 'easy' puzzles would be totally demoralizing to the novice puzzler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars crosswords, May 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is a brain worker. I thought it would be more like the NYT monday crosswords that are edited by Will Shortz. more along the lines of a wed or thurs instead. I'll give it to my mom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thursday Crossword Puzzles, August 5, 2008
The puzzles in this book were created by Maleska a well-known creator of puzzles who died quite a while ago. They are harder than today's Thursday puzzles. They contain more obscure words and refer to much older movies and events than today's puzzles. I relish today's puzzles on Thursday but for older puzzles Wednesday is more my speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The New York Times Daily Crossword Puzzles: MONDAY or FRIDAY, April 1, 2002
By A Customer
I think these puzzles are too hard for the user interested in easier "monday" puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT A LITTLE DATED, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift for my wife, who is a very competent crossword puzzle player. She reports that she enjoyed it, but it was a little dated. Still, a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy Fun For the Brain, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Exercise for the brain......Generally considered the most prestigious American crossword; Easy gift choice for Crossword Puzzle enthusiasts. 5 star purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.