Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome collection, even if it doesn't do the band justice
Like many reviewers, I tend to downgrade greatest hits albums a bit if they leave off certain songs. While a few other songs could certainly have been included on this collection, to me this collection is great because it doesn't leave out any of the biggest hits and represents Tesla's entire career to that point.

Just to give a couple of examples of greatest...
Published on July 31, 2004 by Brad

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not even close
Tesla is one of the most underrated bands of the era. It is a shame that they got lumped in with the rest of the bunch (Warrant, Poison, etc). Some of the glaring omissions are: EZ Come EZ Go, Cumin' Atcha Live, 2 Late 4 Love, Freedom Slaves and Call It What You Want and many more. This is decent collection of their songs but if you are a fan I would recommend buying...
Published on February 2, 2004 by tjforce


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome collection, even if it doesn't do the band justice, July 31, 2004
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
Like many reviewers, I tend to downgrade greatest hits albums a bit if they leave off certain songs. While a few other songs could certainly have been included on this collection, to me this collection is great because it doesn't leave out any of the biggest hits and represents Tesla's entire career to that point.

Just to give a couple of examples of greatest hits collections that fall short:
1) Def Leppard's "Vault" falls short because, while the biggest hits are all there, the earliest hard-rocking stuff is mostly left out. Their early career is short-changed on the collection, even though it sounds great overall.
2) Bob Seger's first greatest hits compilation includes more of his softer pop stuff at the expense of some of his original harder classic rock. Again, the early classic sound is not represented well on the collection, even though it too is stellar overall.

Tesla doesn't have that problem here. First of all, they have always rocked; you don't hear them "selling out" to a more pop sound as their albums advance. In addition, they include at least two tracks off of each of the five albums represented here (including the live acoustic one). Each and every song is stellar--including the new (at the time of release) track "Steppin' Over".

This collection is a great summary of one of the best rock bands of the past 20 years. If you are younger and/or interested in learning more about this band, this collection is a great place to start. Check out stellar hard rockers like "Modern Day Cowboy" and "Heaven's Trail" as well as great slower tracks like "Love Song" and "What You Give" (not cheesy ballads in the least). Also, the live cover of "Signs" can better be played on its own off this collection compared to the live acoustic album, where the songs flow together and the band talks to the crowd within the tracks.

If you are a longtime, true, hardcore fan of the band, however, you also owe it to yourself to own each and every one of their albums--including the stellar new one that came out this year. This is just a summary of this band's career up to the mid-1990s. What a remarkably stellar career it has been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the 80's least-appreciated bands, March 15, 2002
By 
The Scenario (Roseville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
I'm ticked off that I didn't realize how great this band was in its heyday. I was far too into the more cartoonish bands like Winger and Skid Row to pay much more than passing lip service to Tesla, whom I always liked but never felt compelled to buy any of their albums. I always figured that if they ever did a best-of I'd run out and get it, and that I did when their "Time's Makin' Changes" compilation came out. As is usually the case with compilations, they left out a couple key hits ("Call It What You Want" and "Hang Tough"), but overall this is a great introduction to a great band.
Tesla's music sounds a lot less dated today than many of those spandex-n-Aqua-Net bands, and that's because their no-frills image also translated to their music. Instead of the heavily overprocessed thick drum sounds, guitar synths, and keyboards that bands like Def Leppard, Bon Jovi and Motley Crue used so extensively throughout the 80's, Tesla's production was much more stripped-down and organic, more in line with the sound of classic rock albums of the 70's. I think it's because of this that songs like "Love Song", "The Way It Is", "What You Give", and "Call It What You Want" got played a lot more on classic rock stations during the 80's/early 90's than tunes by the more popular flavor-of-the-month hair bands. Tesla's songs slid in between moldy oldies by Jimi Hendrix and Lynyrd Skynyrd a lot more congruously than your average Warrant or Slaughter song ever would.
If you're a hard rock fan whose tastes tend to lean more towards the Black Crowes than Poison, then you should check out Tesla. They were one of the decade's best kept secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not even close, February 2, 2004
By 
tjforce "tjforce" (St. Louis Park, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
Tesla is one of the most underrated bands of the era. It is a shame that they got lumped in with the rest of the bunch (Warrant, Poison, etc). Some of the glaring omissions are: EZ Come EZ Go, Cumin' Atcha Live, 2 Late 4 Love, Freedom Slaves and Call It What You Want and many more. This is decent collection of their songs but if you are a fan I would recommend buying the first 3 albums. It would serve them well to put out Greatest Hits volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bands of the 80's, March 28, 2000
By 
john kliesch (Westfield, N.J.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
Tesla seems to have gotten lost in the mix of all the big hair bands of the 80's,such as the likes of Poison,Bon Jovi,Motley Crue and others.Tesla was a jeans and t-shirts,blue collar band,they didn't sell out to all the glam of other bands of the era.In my opinion Tesla is one of the most underrated bands of the last quarter-century.They are easily one of my favorites of all time.There isn't one song that i don't like by them on all 5 of their albums.Time's Makin Changes is the best of the best of Tesla.If any band should reunite it should be Tesla.I highly reccommend this cd or anything else by Tesla.You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unappreciated Rock, July 28, 2005
By 
Tory James (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
This "best of" collection from nuts and bolts rockers Tesla favorably bookends their more than credible career in the 80's and 90's. Guitarist Frank Hannon and raspy singer Jeff Keith are mainly responsible for the band's gritty, earthy sound that holds up very well a dedcade or more later. The big ballad hits "Love Song" and the country-ish "What You Give" are here, alongside the stomping "Heaven's Trail" and the band's cold war theme song "Modern Day Cowboy." Throw in their classic cover of "Signs" and you have a good view of an underappreciated "rock" band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real rock band from the hair band world, July 21, 2005
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
These guys came along a generation to late. Tesla is a really talented band from a time when hairspray was the in thing. These guys could write music and are a very talented group of musicians. This cd covers a career that could have happened in the seventies. I saw these guys during their first tour. They were amazing. Their music was a throwback to real rock n' roll. I have listen to this cd many times and it never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tesla Baby!!, April 15, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
Well I have been lookin at other reviews of this album and see 3 stars here and 4 stars there, well I don't know why these are here. People complain that there are too many songs left out that should have been on here, well I will agree that there are songs that should have been on here, but also all their other songs are worthy of being on their greatest hits. Since this album is Tesla, then it must have 5 stars, and nothing else. There is no way in hell to put the best songs on one cd, because all their songs are great, and Tesla doesn't even know how to do a bad song. Tesla is one of the most underated rock bands of all time. While bands like Poison, Warrant, Winger, Motley Crue,(not sayin that I don't like them) they needed to have big hair and tight pants to be famous in their eyes. Many people considered Tesla a hair band, big mistake and totally wrong. Tesla, on the other hand, wore blue jeans and t-shirts, knowing that all they needed was their musical talent to carry them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tesla is great..., March 17, 2003
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
This is a very good cd. Tesla are very underrated and have many great songs. Too many, in fact, to fit on one cd. "Cummin' Atcha Live", "Hang Tough", "Call It What You Want", "Need Your Lovin", "We're No Good Together", "Lady Luck", "Stir It Up", "Freedom Slaves", "Shine Away", and "The Gate/Invited" would've made a good second cd. Or you could just get all their albums, cus they're all solid. If you like rock n roll, Tesla is a band you need in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good As It Gets, September 20, 2006
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
I'm really more of a fan of bands from the 60s and 70s but Tesla makes a huge exception. I saw them at Moondance Jam in 2005 and just thought they were great. They blew my socks off and for good reason. In a time when the music was getting worse Tesla kept real rock n roll alive. This album is just outstanding. Every track is good and they rock and keep rocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If they could only squeeze in a few more tracks..., August 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Time's Makin' Changes - The Best of Tesla (Audio CD)
If you've never heard Tesla, (if that's even remotely possible) this album is a great place to start. You get 75 minutes of pure hard rock, masterpieces such as "What You Give", "Mama's Fool", and "Changes" that will leave you begging for more. Tesla will always be one of my favorite bands, and it's a real shame they broke up a few years back. The only problem with this album is that you'll miss out on all the great tunes like "Lady Luck," "Call It What You Want," and the epic "Shine Away" that didn't make this album. So if you like this then make sure you also check out their other albums. This is one of few bands that I can truly say will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.