Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch with neat features (with limitations)
This is a really cool watch. It is really handsome, somewhat large and heavy but not overwhelming. Also, it has neat features: indiglo, tide, compass and temperature. It should be noted that there are some caveats with this features. Firstly, there is one dial to switch between tide, temp and compass modes.

The compass is really accurate but does require to be...
Published on May 6, 2012 by ronnbot

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The compass watch that wasn't
This is an extremely good looking watch! I bought it for dress and for its functionality of the compass. However, I am extremely disappointed in that the compass ceased to function properly after 3 ˝ weeks of use. No, I didn't abuse it. The only thing that comes to mind is an old commercial that had a Timex watch strapped to the front of the boat, and after some...
Published on May 8, 2012 by Adonoi


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch with neat features (with limitations), May 6, 2012
By 
ronnbot (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
This is a really cool watch. It is really handsome, somewhat large and heavy but not overwhelming. Also, it has neat features: indiglo, tide, compass and temperature. It should be noted that there are some caveats with this features. Firstly, there is one dial to switch between tide, temp and compass modes.

The compass is really accurate but does require to be calibrated after you buy it, which doesn't take long to do. Also, the compass will only work after you press the compass button; then, it returns back to tide/temp mode after 15s+. It does this to save battery.

The thermometer will be affected by body heat, so if you want to measure ambient temperature accurately, you have to remove the watch from your wrist. That said, I don't know how this could have been avoided.

The tide tracker requires regular setting (at least once a month). This is to be expected as the watch doesn't have GPS or any way to receive this data to display it.

Durability wise, hard to say it has only been a few months, but so far so good.

Anyway, I love this watch and I get many good comments about it, especially it feels/looks more expensive that it is. If you understand the limitations, you'll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The compass watch that wasn't, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
This is an extremely good looking watch! I bought it for dress and for its functionality of the compass. However, I am extremely disappointed in that the compass ceased to function properly after 3 ˝ weeks of use. No, I didn't abuse it. The only thing that comes to mind is an old commercial that had a Timex watch strapped to the front of the boat, and after some pounding on the surf they showed you that it kept ticking. Alas, they don't make things like they used to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timex T2N721 Cream/Natural face, brown leather band, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
The Pros:
+ Very handsome looking
+ Beautiful, super comfy brushed leather wristband
+ Accurate watch mechanics
+ Lumenescent hands and dial
+ Temperature taking
+ Water resistant watch and band
+ Great customer service
+ Four year extended warrenty for $5 US with one phone call to live agent
+ Large selection of interchangable bands
+ Has highEST tide indicator hand
The Cons:
- Time difficult to read
- Most of face dedicated to temp scales
- No hour numbers nor numerals on face
- Poor instructions
- Poor compass
- Face printing not accurate
- No alarm
- No moon phase
- No hour chime
GENERAL
This Intelligent Quartz compass watch comes in dozens of different configurations and features, depending on the model and year. My watch is the T2N721 Tide-Compass-Temp watch. It has a cream (aka natural) colored face, and a brown brushed leather wristband.
It is a large watch, very handsome looking. Interestingly, Timex has sort of hide the name Timex in small font under the top bezel. Anyone looking at the watch being worn will not see that it is a Timex. They will just notice a very attractive looking time piece.
OBSERVATIONS
The brown brushed leather wristband is actually one of the nicest features of this watch. Beautiful medium brown band, almost suede-like, super comfy and durable. Rugged clasp.
The hands of the watch are the same color as the face, making time reading somewhat difficult. Especially with three other hands to sort out. ( Second hand, red indicator hand (aka fourth hand), and highest tide hand).
On the positive side, the hands and dial are very lumenescent, watch is very easy to read in darkness. Go easy using the Indigo light-it is very bright and will drain a battery with regular use.
Mostly this is a temperature taking watch. Two temperature scales, Celcius and Farenhiet, take up a large portion of the watch face. To the extent that there is no room for hour numbers or numerals. Instead, there are small black squares where to indicate the hourly positions. Actually they are not small black "squares", but look like small black trash cans or waste baskets to me. Great for seeing how much time you are wasting at work. And if you are bored, you can always take an ambient room temperature reading.
I would of much prefered to have a moon phase indicator than a temperature feature. Temps are everywhere: on our cell phones, on TV, the radio, and on our little thermometers. Moon phase is not as ubiquitious as temp, and also ismuch more usefull. Plus, this watch would really look awesome with a nice moon phase indicator.
The printing of the watch face is poor. If this watch was made in Switzerland or Japan, all the minute marks would be equi-distant and aligned. But this watch is made in the Phillippines, so we cant expect such attention to detail. The hours 'till high tide and low tide numbers are not aligned with the waste baskets, niether.
There is a silver hand that most people dont know the function of. Timex makes no mentio of it in the directions. Most people think that the function of the silver hand is to make the watch look cool. But it actually has several different functions. This is the "highest" tide indicator.
When setting the high tide hand, when the circle in the silver hand perfectly frames the chrome date bezel, this indicates highest tide. Also useful for reading highest tide.
The compass is a disappointment. Accurate to only + or - 45 degrees. It will give general direction bearing, and often this is all you need. But never depend soley on the watch compass. Make sure you have a real compass on hand as well. (Cell phone compass app should suffice).
The compass is difficult to calibrate. You should be at least 250 yards away from any motor vehicles or iron fences. The directions for calibrating the compass do not remind you that you need to "set" the red indicator hand (aka fourth hand) first, before you even think about calibrating the compass. Failure to first set the indicator hand first (like I did) makes compass readings be way way off.
The date can be tricky to set also. Here again, the instructions are poorly written. My date was a day off every day, even though I followed the directions and reset the date every day. Anyone experiencing this problem should disregard the date setting instructions. Pull the crown all the way out, (not half way out as per the directions), and advance the watch hands 12 hours. Push crown all the way in when done.
SUMMARY
This watch has been in production by Timex for several years now. This model seems to be being discontinued. It is very hard to find new ones in the box available anywhere at any price now. This particular model, with the cream colored face and brown leather strap is fast becoming a collectors piece, largely due to its beauty. I predict that by Christmas, 2014, you will no be able to find this watch new in the box for sale except for the occasional one on ebay. Expect to pay around $200 US if you find a new one for sale.
I feel lucky to have been able to find a new one for sale. I live on the coast, and I am a boater. The tide, and highest tide feature is very nice and very accurate. Plus, as mentioned, this is a very cool looking watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timex Men's T2N721DH, July 16, 2012
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
Great watch, solid material and attractive look. A little heavier than a common mens digital watch, but not noticeable after wearing it. Uncertain how easy it will be to find replacement bands when I need one, but very happy with it. Knocking down a star because of the price, would be nice to get this in the $80 range :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch, March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
I am a watch enthusiast and I own Omega, Tag Heuer , RADO , Audemars Piguet and Rolex. This Timex Intelligent Quartz watch is an elegant and stylish timepiece indeed. Timex may not be in the league of Rolex or Tags or Audemars Piguets but this watch is a thing of beauty. Initially I was a bit reluctant to buy a TIMEX with quartz movement but I was wrong. I now absolutely love it, the quality , the design and the value everything is right about this watch. Buying from Amazon was a great experience because they delivered all the way to the land downunder within 5 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
This watch is a great addition to the timex line up. The tide and compass functions are right on spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Watch, December 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
This is really a cool watch. It is really handsome and has nice features like Indiglo, tide, compass and temperature.

The compass is accurate and it works only when you press the compass button and it displays the magnetic north (fourth hand red arrow) for about 20 seconds after which it returns back to tide/temp mode this way saving the battery.

The thermometer is pretty accurate(need to subtract 5 to 10 deg - this gets added by body heat). To measure ambient temperature accurately you need to place the watch on a table for couple of minutes.

The tide tracker requires regular setting, as the watch doesn't have GPS or any way to receive this data to display it.

Durability wise, hard to say it has only been a month, but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T2N721 Watch, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
Watch is good, hard to see minute and hour hand at night. In day light it sometimes is un readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
I am no tech-head so this watch is not for me. I never could get the compass set and the tide part - forget about it. The direction book looks like War and Peace. It's an impressive watch to wear but for me the hands are really hard to see. I wasted my money on this item but I didn't send it back because I felt like I got what I ordered it's just not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Snob Approved, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Timex Men's T2N721 "Adventure Series" Stainless Steel Compass Watch with Leather Band (Watch)
Great looking and very functional. Love the tide and temperature feature. The compass has come I n very ha ndy, also. Many compliments on the stylish design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.