Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL
Tin Hero and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy New
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Tin Hero: The Ogre, Witch... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tin Hero: The Ogre, Witch & Moron Paperback – July 12, 2011

6 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$16.99 $109.56

The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip by George Saunders
"The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip" by George Saunders
Featuring fifty-two haunting and hilarious images, The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip is a modern fable for people of all ages that touches on the power of kindness, generosity, compassion, and community. Learn more | See author page
$16.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle Edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 270 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (July 12, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1460976177
  • ISBN-13: 978-1460976173
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,460,386 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

S. E. Zbasnik has a degree in genetics, which means there may or may not be a horde of monkeoctopi doing her bidding to take over the world. Bringing that scientific approach to the fantasy world is her game, trying to put some common sense into magic and magic into common sense. This causes a lot of big explosions and stabbings.

For more information about Dwarves in Space visit:

To follow her on facebook visit:

To follow on twitter look over there -->
Now she's behind you! Run!

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Walt R on January 30, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I thought the story was interesting and very entertaining, and would like to see more from this author. Unfortunately, I almost put the book down several times due to the amount of editing that still needs to be done. At the very least, it needs to have a great deal of punctuation added just for the sake of clarity. There's a large percentage of single sentence paragraphs, and even a fair number of long sentences that are broken into two paragraphs seemingly because of a proper noun in the middle of the sentence. In several places there are completely wrong words used and it's difficult to guess which word the author was really going for. All of that, along with the normal errors that come from relying on spell check or auto-correct, made it very frustrating reading at times.

I really enjoyed the story though and am glad that I stuck with it, the story is loaded with snark and I would love to see more stories from Sabrina. I found this book from following the author on twitter, just based on something that was retweeted by someone else that I was following.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The fantasy genre is not normally one I gravitate towards. But throw in plenty of snarky sarcasm and off-the-wall situations, and I start to get interested in terms of reading "something different." Through an acquaintance on Twitter, Sabrina Zbasnik asked me if I would be willing to read and review her ebook Tin Hero. Given the off-beat description and the email exchange I had with her, I thought I just might like this. I was right... This was an entertaining read based on the "hero kills ogre and wins the hand of the princess" story line, but with enough craziness to make it fresh and unique.

Jack the Farrier's son is one of those kids who is in constant danger of causing harm to himself or others (or even the whole village) due to his lack of common sense. Everyone, including his family, harass him continuously, knowing that he'll probably not survive to see adulthood given his many failings. He happens to be in the square when Princess Anne announces that an ogre is threatening the village, and the person who kills the beast will have her hand in marriage. Jack ends up with her lace hanky dropped at the end of the proclamation, instantly "falls in love" with her, and decides that he will be the one to slay the ogre. But how can he do that if he knows nothing about weapons, fighting, or really anything else for that matter? He needs a teacher, and sets off to find the fabled master (on his horse named Horse) who has killed all manner of beasts in his lifetime.

Actually, make that *her* lifetime, as the master is a woman named Cas the Barbarian. She's retired, and has little to no patience to train future dragon slayers, much less one that could probably be bested by his own shadow.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By RJDiogenes on June 23, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
"Tin Hero" is a surprising novel-- or, rather, a novel that surprises. It is, on the face of it, a parody of the fantasy quest novel. Anyone who appreciates the off-the-wall humor of Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams-- or Mel Brooks, for that matter-- would find enough here to amuse and entertain. But the story has a hidden face, and that is the face of a true fantasy quest novel. There is something at stake here-- in fact, many somethings-- and that is never given short shrift. There is a sincere and deadly serious story here among the slapstick and sarcasm.

And then, when we finally think we've gotten to know the personality of the story (and its teller)-- when it's too late to look at our watch, exclaim over the lateness of the hour and claim we have to get up early tomorrow for our cousin's Bar Mitzvah-- we discover its hidden face. And that is the face of an old soul, a seer who knows how bad it really is, yet how good it can be, and that, while this world may beat us to death in the end, the punishment is worth the reward. Ultimately, this book is not in the tradition of "Discworld" or "Hitchhiker's Guide," but more in the tradition of "Great Expectations" or "The Yearling." In other words, you'll laugh, you'll cry-- it's what Squiggy would call "dramistic."

The other reviewers have mentioned technical errors or lack of editing, but that doesn't bother me a bit. I'm a great lover of independent creators and that's just part of the experience as far as I'm concerned.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Tin Hero: The Ogre, Witch & Moron
This item: Tin Hero: The Ogre, Witch & Moron
Price: $16.99
Ships from and sold by
Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: the people i've slept with