Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2010
The only downside to the dvd for me was that the following eight songs had been cut in the final edit:
Girls
Two People
Nutbush City Limits
Steel Claw
Back Were You Started
Acid Queen
Show Some Respect
It's Only Love (Duet with John Miles)

A real shame because as ever for Tina Turner it was a fantastic concert at her prime.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2009
I saw this concert on HBO many years ago and always wanted to own it. NOW I DO!! It is fantastic. The quality of the sound and video is great and Tina gives one of her best performances. The sax player brings out the best in every song. If you are a Tina Turner fan this is a must own DVD.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2012
Please understand that I love Tina Turner. There is no one quite like her. But this DVD is recorded live, and has never been tweaked to improve sound quality. I'm happy to have this DVD to understand better Tina Turner's evolution as an artist, but the sound quality on this DVD is simply awful. I will no doubt listen to it occasionally, but sound technology has improved a lot since 1988 and a big amen to that. If you're looking for good sound, buy a CD. If you love Tina Turner, and just enjoy watching her move, then go ahead and get this DVD. Just be aware that as cute as it is to watch Rio's noisy audience sweat along with Tina (obviously shot on a sweltering night), you won't be getting good quality sound.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2008
100 mph performance. No disappointment/s here. A singer with great drive and stamina. Nice seeing it on DVD.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2010
Just loved it and we are adding it to our Tina Turner Collection. This video shows Tina in her younger days and more on her wild side.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
This was not a good performance nor video. The camera, lighting was inadequate, she nneded backup singers and dancers, sorry.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
This is a great Tina Turner performance and she is one of the best ever. However, the audio is not the best. About midway through her concert, a band member gives Tina a different microphone and from then on the audio is much better. Fans who are not deeply into surround sound may not even notice this situation. For a great Tina turner performance and some great looks at Rio, purchase this dvd.

Dr. Richard Kerr
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
There's a lot of great female artist/performers, Tina sets the bar so high and so hot. In a perfect world, when I die, I want to come back in the front row at Rio '88, forever!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2009
Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert

Husband loved the gift. Tina Turner is an amazing performer and this DVD of her Live is worth it. She defies age..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2011
Tina is great as usual. I prefer the Amsterdam concert over this one but it's still rockin good stuff. Tina you are simply the best !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse