Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Rules
I saw this concert on HBO many years ago and always wanted to own it. NOW I DO!! It is fantastic. The quality of the sound and video is great and Tina gives one of her best performances. The sax player brings out the best in every song. If you are a Tina Turner fan this is a must own DVD.
Published on March 11, 2009 by Barbara Fan

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 8 songs from the concert were cut.
The only downside to the dvd for me was that the following eight songs had been cut in the final edit:
Girls
Two People
Nutbush City Limits
Steel Claw
Back Were You Started
Acid Queen
Show Some Respect
It's Only Love (Duet with John Miles)

A real shame because as ever for Tina Turner it was a fantastic concert at her...
Published on May 25, 2010 by Sam Hussein


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 8 songs from the concert were cut., May 25, 2010
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
The only downside to the dvd for me was that the following eight songs had been cut in the final edit:
Girls
Two People
Nutbush City Limits
Steel Claw
Back Were You Started
Acid Queen
Show Some Respect
It's Only Love (Duet with John Miles)

A real shame because as ever for Tina Turner it was a fantastic concert at her prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Rules, March 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
I saw this concert on HBO many years ago and always wanted to own it. NOW I DO!! It is fantastic. The quality of the sound and video is great and Tina gives one of her best performances. The sax player brings out the best in every song. If you are a Tina Turner fan this is a must own DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Turner: Rio '88, October 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
100 mph performance. No disappointment/s here. A singer with great drive and stamina. Nice seeing it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tina Fan, February 3, 2013
By 
Mr. DBA (Hyattsville, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
This was not a good performance nor video. The camera, lighting was inadequate, she nneded backup singers and dancers, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICALLY INTERESTING, TERRIBLE SOUND QUALITY, July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
Please understand that I love Tina Turner. There is no one quite like her. But this DVD is recorded live, and has never been tweaked to improve sound quality. I'm happy to have this DVD to understand better Tina Turner's evolution as an artist, but the sound quality on this DVD is simply awful. I will no doubt listen to it occasionally, but sound technology has improved a lot since 1988 and a big amen to that. If you're looking for good sound, buy a CD. If you love Tina Turner, and just enjoy watching her move, then go ahead and get this DVD. Just be aware that as cute as it is to watch Rio's noisy audience sweat along with Tina (obviously shot on a sweltering night), you won't be getting good quality sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Turner Concert in Rio, March 4, 2010
By 
Kat Bellou (Buffalo, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
Just loved it and we are adding it to our Tina Turner Collection. This video shows Tina in her younger days and more on her wild side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd with the exception of one technical flaw., January 13, 2010
By 
Dr. R. Kerr "Music lover" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
This is a great Tina Turner performance and she is one of the best ever. However, the audio is not the best. About midway through her concert, a band member gives Tina a different microphone and from then on the audio is much better. Fans who are not deeply into surround sound may not even notice this situation. For a great Tina turner performance and some great looks at Rio, purchase this dvd.

Dr. Richard Kerr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
AAA111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Turner a great concert, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
Loved it! Loved it! Great power and energy thart won't stop. This is a must have tape if you love Tina Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tina, April 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert (DVD)
Tina is great as usual. I prefer the Amsterdam concert over this one but it's still rockin good stuff. Tina you are simply the best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert
Tina Turner: Rio '88 - Live In Concert by Tina Turner (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: $6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.