Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, sizing runs small
I purchased this Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot for the sole purpose of protecting my shoes and lower pant leg.
If you're familiar with wearing standard height (ankle-high) shoes in the winter time across parking lots and salted sidewalks, you'll know how salt will damage your shoe and stain your pant leg, not to mention how your shoes and pant leg get soaked if you...
Published on January 14, 2012 by rendang

versus
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boot sizing is wrong.
If you are considering buying these overboots I would suggest trying them on at a store first. I wear size 11 shoe and purchased the size XL for(11-12.5) shoe and ther is no way they will fit over them,and they are a sneaker! I found the boot localy and tried the XXL size and barely got them over my shoes because the tight ankle area,and when I did finally pull them on...
Published on January 30, 2012 by Jeffrey Fink


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, sizing runs small, January 14, 2012
By 
rendang (Metro Detroit, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot (Apparel)
I purchased this Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot for the sole purpose of protecting my shoes and lower pant leg.
If you're familiar with wearing standard height (ankle-high) shoes in the winter time across parking lots and salted sidewalks, you'll know how salt will damage your shoe and stain your pant leg, not to mention how your shoes and pant leg get soaked if you have to walk through an unexpected snowfall without tall boots. I didn't want to lug around a second pair of tall boots for those "in case it snows" days and these pull-on boot covers seemed like the next best thing.

SIZING:
======
Summary: They run small, I had to get 2 sizes up to make this product usable.
I wear shoes ranging in size 11-1/2" to 12" with medium/medium-wide widths depending on make/style.
I originally purchased an XXL (12.5-14") figuring that it would give me a little room and make it easier to slip on/off.
WRONG, I could not slip it on all but one of my shoes, and even that was an acrobatic feet.
I returned it and bought an XXL (14-15.5") and it fits, with just a slight amount of wiggle.
If your wear your shoes loose, it's likely that your foot would slip out of your shoe instead of the shoe slipping out of the boot, since the shoe cover does not come off too easily (as long as it's sized right).

The following are exterior dimensions I obtained from Tingley's which helped me pick out the right size:
Length*: 11.35 (S), 12.18 (M), 12.74 (L), 13.13 (XL), 13.69 (2XL), 14.24 (3XL)
Width: 4.28 (S), 4.68 (M), 4.70 (L), 4.75 (XL), 4.88 (2XL), 4.95
* The length includes the kick-off heel that extends 1/2" out the back.

REVIEW:
======
The boot cover is molded from a nice high-quality black rubber and is non-glossy.
The sole has a nice boot-like tread that has good traction on asphalt, concrete and vinyl floors.

The fold-over snap closure (when unsnapped) offers a generous opening that makes it easier to slip in/out.
The snap closure is really more a rubber button and hole, not a true "snap" closure.
If your snap closure hole isn't all the way through, just cut a "+" slit so that the button will fit easily.

Since it's made of a nice flexible rubber, they fold down nicely, I just put it in a plastic bag and slip it in my backpack so it's there when I need it, beats having to lug around bulky tall boots.

I can't speak for durability but the flexible, stretchy rubber looks like it will last a while. I would avoid storing it in direct sunlight or places that have large temperature swings since it is rubber after all and you don't want it to dry-rot.

I've already accidentally stepped in to a frozen puddle, saved my shoes, socks and pants a royal splash.
I think I'll probably pack them even on rainy days, so I can stay dry through puddles.

I'm giving this product 5 stars despite the sizing error because it is a good product.
Amazon needs to update the sizing so that people are not misled in to buying too small a size and go through the hassle of returning it.

Edit (4/13/2013): A tip to help slipping them on/off. Put a plastic bag over your shoes before you slip these boots on. They slide on easy and you also won't transfer dirt from the soles of your shoes to the inside of these boots :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


152 of 161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They do the job for business travel, February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Length:: 2:06 Mins

This product is simple, But, they outperform anything else on the market. You may wear your best shoes in inclement weather and simply remove these coverings, roll them up, and place them in a bag. So long as you order them large enough, they will be easy to place on and off your feet and not damage your shoes. They're also great for rainstorms. They're high enough to be useful in a few inches of snow or in a rainstorm.
This product is durable too. This pair replaces a former pair of similar boots that lasted for almost a decade.
This was my first attempt at video on the Canon S95 that I purchased. The review certainly is not perfect, but it was my first try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boot sizing is wrong., January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are considering buying these overboots I would suggest trying them on at a store first. I wear size 11 shoe and purchased the size XL for(11-12.5) shoe and ther is no way they will fit over them,and they are a sneaker! I found the boot localy and tried the XXL size and barely got them over my shoes because the tight ankle area,and when I did finally pull them on and walked in them they were very sloppy in the toe area--enough to make you trip on the extra rubber at the toe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great boots, April 17, 2010
By 
John (Woodstock, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been using Tingley 10" work boots for many years in my pressure washing business. They are durable, light weight and easy to get on and off when new (after they get older a quick shot of silicone spray does wonders). Overall I have been very satisfied with the boots and would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Boots!, December 28, 2010
By 
Mountain Dave (California Sierras) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These boots are really nice! They are a little bit hard to put on and take off but a little bit of talcum powder took care of that. If you live in the snow country like me, these are perfect. Those "water proof" shoes and/or boots are NEVER water proof. These boots are water proof and your feet won't be wet when you're done plowing or shoveling the snow. I'm sure they would be nice in any wet areas as long as the water isn't higher than the boots. **MAKE SURE** you measure the length of the bottom of your shoes. Use that measurement (in inches) for the boot size. My first pair were too small and I had to exchange them for a larger pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars order at least one size larger TWO SIZE LARGER, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wear a size 10 wide tennis shoe, i ordered the large size boot, says fits 9.5 to 11 shoe , they are very hard for me to get on, and they are very tight, I bought these last year and they are still in great shape, and light weight, but I should have ordered the XL, would have made it much easier to get on and off, If you are going to wear these boots over tennis shoes, get the next size bigger FOR SURE and if you have a wide foot, you may want to jump up two sizes"" UPDATE I WEAR SIZE 10 WIDE 4E NEW BALANCE TENNIS SHOW, I ORDERED THE XXL AND THEY ARE HARD TO GET ON FOR ME HAVE BACK PROBLEMS AND BENDING TO TUG:: ON IS HARD IM GOING TO ORDRE ANOTHER PAIR OF XXXL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars won't fit over size 13 sneakers, but good over smaller, January 8, 2011
By 
glresearch (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot (Apparel)
Thick rubber harder to stretch but more durable than cheaper ones, good for intensive or more rugged use. For size 13 sneakers requires next bigger size 3XL. The 2XL might fit over size 12. The sizes are based on thin soled leather soled shoes. For thicker rubber soled shoes use larger sizes. These worked on a 13 dress shoe with rubber sole, but not a walking shoe, both Ecco. When fits the shoe snugly will be too hard to pull on and off. It's the back edge on the heel which requires a larger dimension going on than after on. The only way is to have it loose on the shoe. The tab molded on the back of the heel bottom helps with removal.
Side-zipper styles will be easier to get on and off, but may not seal against water immersion as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed, and then some, March 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a product that does everything it's supposed to do. These boots are durable, completely waterproof, and well designed (with the button closure at the top a great feature). And for anyone who may wonder, they are also comfortable even for running on paved streets. I originally bought these because i walk my dog every morning in a wooded area with a creek, where i'd occasionally miss a stepping stone and get a shoe full of water. To get there, we first must run (meaning my dog runs and i try to keep up) to the end of our street. These solid, one-piece-construction rubber boots have held up to that heavy use as well as allowing us to venture farther down the creek with impunity.

Size: My shoes are a men's 11, fairly thick work shoe similar to a tennis shoe style, and this size Tingley boot (XL 11-12.5) fits these shoes snugly but adequately. With same type shoes bigger than 11, i'd say get the next boot size up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tingley's 10" Work Boot Overshoe, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Item is of excellent quality, but the "overshoe" apparently sized to go over shoes from 12.5 to 14US, fit over my size 12 shoe with extreme effort.
Since I originally wrote this review, I put the Overshoes on a covered porch for the winter, as I couldn't wear them. When I retrieved them a week or so ago thinking I would try again, they pretty much fell apart. So I will have to correct my assessment of the quality of the product to POOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific overshoe for my thick-soled sandals and shoes, January 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot (Apparel)
For decades I've struggled during winter snows in Cambridge, MA with overshoes. But now I've found the answer. Not having a car, I've ridden a bike for work, food shopping and swimming year around. I also must walk my dog. Even in big snow accumulations like this winter, I must bike at least every other day to swim and food shop. To make matters worse, few shoes or boots work for me because of my weak arches. The only dependable shoes without paying for special arch supports have proved to be big-soled shoes approved for police and postal workers and German Finn Comfort thick-soled sandals that happen to have built-in arch supports that work well for me. Before this Tingley overshoe, I had to choose between overshoes that I could put on and take off easily but were so large they were difficult for biking and walking or a smaller size that was OK for biking and walking but was a pain to get on and off. I chose the small size and had to sit on a bench or chair to get them on and off. Moreover, my previous overshoes wore out at the heel and began to leak or they would eventually tear somewhere as I struggled to get them on and off.

I've never bought an "extra large" size before but based on the Amazon.com reviews of this Tingley overshoe that said to get a size larger than normal, I decided to get this very large (for me) size. I also hoped the rubber knob at the heel would make it easier to take the overshoes off and give protection against a leak developing at the heel. I'm so delighted with the results, this is the first product review I've ever written for Amazon.com. Due to the heel knob, I'm able to take the overshoes off standing when they are messy and they slip on easily when I sit. (I've not tried it standing.) And yet the overshoes are not so long and wide they create a problem for me when biking or walking. Except for dealing with car traffic and potholes in the much narrowed snow-lined streets, I no longer dislike the prospect of getting ready to go out in the big piles of snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot
$34.95 $26.24 - $99.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.