Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the very best toys out there.
My kids (ages 5 and 3 1/5) just absolutely love these things. And to be honest, so does the kid in ME: they like to use their imagination to build whatever have you, and I build extremely intricate whatever-have-you's for them to destroy. A great time is had by all!

This is only the "essentials" pack, so there are no wheels or moving parts here... for the most...
Published 16 months ago by J. Schneider

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Too Tight
Pieces are way too hard to put together for a 3.5 year old, at least fresh out of the box.
Published 13 months ago by R. Bischoff


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the very best toys out there., August 28, 2013
By 
J. Schneider "john_jps" (Mosinee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My kids (ages 5 and 3 1/5) just absolutely love these things. And to be honest, so does the kid in ME: they like to use their imagination to build whatever have you, and I build extremely intricate whatever-have-you's for them to destroy. A great time is had by all!

This is only the "essentials" pack, so there are no wheels or moving parts here... for the most fun I would recommend getting at least one Tinker toy package that has wheels or some kind of moving parts, then add a package like this so your kids can build bigger things upon that base package. These can fill up many, many playtimes, since they are really only limited by their imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fosters creativity and is durable; a big hit with my 4 year old son, September 13, 2013
By 
Mindy (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This toy proves that it's hard to beat the classics. I know that in the old days, these used to be made of wood but now they are plastic and many people lament that. But I don't really see it as a bad thing. For one thing, the classic wooden sets are still available for the die-hard fans. They're just more expensive. But the advantages of the plastic ones are the sticks - some of them are bendy and that opens up so many possibilities.

My son is 4 years old, almost 5, and he LOVES this. He has many other construction toys (Legos, K'Nex) but these so far are the best. He looks at the diagrams and builds these elaborate contraptions that spin and he's tickled pink by that. He proudly exclaims "I made that all by myself!"

Some of his creations are so-loved that he takes them to bed, just so he could have it with him.

Most of the time he likes to use the diagrams but he also makes up his own machines. He's made rollers and a "claw" so this toy definitely fosters creativity.

The only downside is I wish it came with more pieces! He usually has to dismantle his creation before creating a new one. I know it says 100 pieces, which seems like a lot but everything fits in a shoe box with plenty of room for more. Maybe I'll have to get a second set...That's definitely an indication that this is a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redesign of a Great Classic Toy, September 26, 2013
By 
J. Perkins (Abingdon, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I enjoyed playing with Tinker Toys when I was child. In fact, my kids still get to play with my old set from time to time at their grandparents' house. This is a basic set with plenty of pieces for getting creative. Here are my thoughts of the pros and cons of this set.

Pros : Plenty of pieces and colorful, good quality plastic;
13 project suggestions that the kids seemed excited to try (the windmill was fun);
Good for creativity (my younger child enjoyed putting lots of pieces together to make a big structure);
Sturdy constructions because the pieces snap together (as opposed to the problem with the old sets with the pieces sliding out of the wooden circles.

Cons: The box is deceptively large--all the pieces fit into a gallon-size Ziploc;
My 4 year old had some trouble pushing hard enough to snap some of the pieces together and pulling them apart;
While there are a lot of pieces, there are not enough for two kids to each make a project at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Too Tight, November 10, 2013
By 
R. Bischoff (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Pieces are way too hard to put together for a 3.5 year old, at least fresh out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oldie is a Goodie, August 29, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My girls have blocks, Legos, and a marble run--was looking for another building toy that is different and fun. Enter Tinkertoys. I'd rather they were still made from wood, but the kids like the colors and the feel. They enjoy building ferris wheels and other moving structures you can't make with blocks. Wish there were more blocks in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
bought this for a birthday gift for our 6 year old grandson. he is making all types of objects and uses the informational sheet to see how to make the toys. great colors and materials!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic fun, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
My kids are having fun with them and they seem very solid. Only complaint I have is they came in a box that was easily 3 times as big as it needed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Huge box.. not too much in it. Not many sticks but tons of connectors. The picture is right in retrospect. Cant build a decent thing with this set... buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They are simply too few useful pieces for the price, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
I had to purchase two sets to truly allow for creativity, which required me to spend twice as much as I was expecting to spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great building set!, September 2, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
When you think Tinker Toy, you think of that neat vintage wooden building set that many of us had as children. However, you must note, this is plastic. It is heavy duty and it does build in the same manner as the old set, just note that it is plastic. My only disappointment was "100 pieces" and the size of the box. When you look at the size of the box, you think that 100 pieces is a lot, but it's not really. It's plenty as a starter set, but you will love it enough to buy more! I am ALL FOR kids building sets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tinkertoy 100 Piece Essentials Value Set
$34.99 $25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.