Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.95
  • Save: $1.19 (7%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Tintin and the Secret of ... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Good readable copy. Worn edges and covers and may have creases. The cover may have significant wear. There may be page curls. It is possible that there are heavy highlights or writing in this book. All pages are there and otherwise item is in good condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tintin and the Secret of Literature Paperback – April 10, 2008

3.8 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.76
$7.26 $0.01

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
$14.76 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Tintin and the Secret of Literature
  • +
  • The Mattering of Matter: Documents from the Archive of the International Necronautical Society
Total price: $40.76
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"...[Offers] entertaining insights into one of the most celebrated of all comic strips." -- The Independent (UK)

"A high-spirited double riff on the comic books and the theory alike." -- Evening Standard (UK)

"He picks up such potentially dry notions with...flair and humour, weaving them through the books with...highly un-academic glee." -- Sunday Herald (Glasgow)

"[Tin Tin and the Secret of Literature demonstrates] that Herge's oeuvre is as...symbolically resonant as Proust or Shakespeare...fascinating." -- The Observer (UK)

"[His] chatty style is so forcefully confident and his argument so tightly constructed and so well-supported...It's brilliant." -- Daily Telegraph (UK)

About the Author

Tom McCarthy's novel Remainder was recently published to critical acclaim.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Counterpoint; Paperback Edition edition (April 10, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1582434050
  • ISBN-13: 978-1582434056
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 6 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #869,723 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This interestingly written catalog of things Tintin for his grownup fans sticks to the strips (including the tightly packed panels you lingered over, or not) with excursions historical, heretical and philosophical. You won't drown in Derrida and Bataille, just get your feet wet. The interpretations build on the familiar adventures they visit and revisit and on themselves as well, all in a style that's as clear, fast-moving and full of surprises as Tintin's. It's an easy read even for those of us who think la Théorie belabors the agnosticism of language (as of any human belief system) with its metaphors like money, which has no absolute backing but works contingently, perfectly, until trust panics and collapses. It's hardly news that naïve realists think words come with guarantees--refer self-evidently to objects in a real world--and are disappointed, that is, ils font tintin. Again, this is for adults. Its vocabulary level, intricacy and adult themes are not for children.
Comment 12 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I enjoyed reading Tintin and the Secret of Literature because of its many thought-provoking ideas. The author applies techniques from literary analysis and compares the Tintin stories with famous works of literature. Overall I liked the book. However, I do not necessarily agree with the author. This is not a historical account of how the Tintin stories came about, i.e., the author has no extra background information to add to what is already out there. Instead, he gleans his ideas from the texts themselves. This leads to lots of speculation and tenuous chains of inferences. A key theme that occupies a third of the book rests on the premise that the insignia above Marlinspike Hall is a dolphin. I looked at the original Tintin book myself and, to me, it looks like a fish - a Haddock perhaps, but not a dolphin. While written like a scholarly book and well-grounded in philosophical and literary writing, the scholarship is somewhat shoddy and unconvincing. Still it was interesting read, though it gets tedious near the end thanks to the repetition of the same ideas.

Aptly enough, the book ends with a discussion of all the piracy, rip-offs, and rackets surrounding the Tintin books, completely escaping the irony that this book itself is one of those attempts to make a buck out of Tintin's fame. In any case, it left me with a desire to re-read all my Tintin books yet one more time, perhaps even in the French version so I can get the hidden references that didn't make it into English.
2 Comments 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I read all the Tintin books first, or, as I found out in Mr. McCarthy's excellent book, all the ones I had known about, even the infamous Tintin in the Congo book that's no longer available in English (I "read" the German version), but I soon discovered that I'll have to read them all again, for McCarthy has given me a new set of eyes in which to view the books. I've not read other books by this author, but I plan to. I'd recommend this book in particular to anyone who wants to find a way of meaningfully interpret what they read. And McCarthy bases his ideas not just on what he thinks is happening in the Hergé books, but also on the known history of the great Belgian graphic artist. (As a note to other readers, I read the Granta Books edition, which has a different cover than the one being sold by Amazon.)
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book is essentially a PhD thesis about the 'hidden layers' beneath the Tintin comics. And it reads exactly like a PhD thesis: one for the devotees only.

I really wonder what Hergé would have made of this book. As much as I admire the genius of the Belgian master, something about <em>Tintin and the Secret of Literature</em> feels like shooting a fly with a cannon. Enormous scholarly leaps of logic are made, such as "The Castafiore Emerald" being a metaphor for Bianca Castafiore's clitoris. Seriously!

This book is a page-turner, in the pejorative sense. I was constantly skipping forward, wondering if McCarthy was approaching any sort of worthwhile conclusion. The answer, for me, was no.

For the record, Harry Thompson's "Tintin: Herge and His Creation" is the best analytical book I have read on Tintin, to this date. Rather than attempting to describe the Tintin canon with McCarthy's subject-by-subject grouping, Thompson works effectively in a chronological book-by-book evaluation of Tintin and Hergé's career. Thompson's book is concise and unadorned with the lavish illustrations of the officially-sanctioned "Tintin: The Complete Companion", but it remains the most effective and efficient Tintin chronicle.
Comment 3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Tintin and the Secret of Literature
This item: Tintin and the Secret of Literature
Price: $14.76
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?