Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny and Big or Cutting Down EVERYTHING
This is a great game. Unfortunately the game will only take 2-4 hours to complete and only 2 if you are trying to get to the end as fast as possible. Still Tiny and Big has huge landscapes that are fully explorable and can be destroyed at will. There is also a great soundtrack in the form of cassette tapes that must be discovered throughout the game. The plot is pretty...
Published 12 months ago by Tage

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite fun and creative, if a bit too short and rough around the edges
Tiny & Big in Grandpa's Leftovers has a lot of really good stuff going for it. The bizarre humor and charm in both the writing and the art style is refreshing and one of the highlights of this game. I played a large majority of this game with a smile on my face, and that's not something that I'm able to say about a lot of games. The fantastic soundtrack is worth...
Published 10 months ago by new Tron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars fun, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
lots of fun for the price. I would buy again and would play again. cheap fun game for all the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A charming game., December 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
Slice, cut, pull, rocket push, and jump across a charming world full of fun for all ages. Do buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite fun and creative, if a bit too short and rough around the edges, August 26, 2013
By 
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
Tiny & Big in Grandpa's Leftovers has a lot of really good stuff going for it. The bizarre humor and charm in both the writing and the art style is refreshing and one of the highlights of this game. I played a large majority of this game with a smile on my face, and that's not something that I'm able to say about a lot of games. The fantastic soundtrack is worth mentioning as well, as the mood of the various songs perfectly match the odd, almost pulpy, style of the game.

The star of the game, however, is the physics. Tiny & Big in Grandpa's Leftovers is a puzzle platformer at its core, but the game's hook is how you are able to manipulate the world with your 3 gadgets. The main item, a laser beam that can cut through almost everything you come across, is augmented by a grappling hook and a propelling rocket, which allows you to pull and push the sections of items that you cut with the laser. This forms the core of the majority of the game's puzzles, and not only does this mechanic enhance the smart puzzle designs, but it also creates a very enjoyable gameplay experience. It gives the player a feeling of power, knowing they have that ability to manipulate the world around them in so many different ways. The core concepts of the game are stellar, and one can't help but feel that this game could have been something truly special if the execution had been just a bit more refined.

While the cutting and physics-manipulation portions of the game feel very tight and responsive, actually controlling Tiny and moving him around the landscape can feel stiff and unwieldy, which is a cardinal sin in a game such as this that requires precise 3D platforming. I often found myself struggling with the controls at times, particularly in the more narrow corridors and sections where precise jumps were required. The camera often struggled to accurately track some of my movements. But most disappointingly of all, is the game's length. It can be completed in about 3 hours, but unlike other shorter gaming experiences like Journey and Gone Home, Tiny & Big in Grandpa's Leftovers actually feels too short. This is a shame, as the game really seemed to be hitting its stride towards the end, and a few more levels adding 2 or 3 more hours to the game would have been perfect.

In the end, I enjoyed my time with this game despite its flaws, and am very interested in seeing what this developer does next. There are a lot of really cool things to be found in this game, and even despite its unfulfilled potential, it's a game well worth playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great game., July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
it was a lot of fun, easy to play. The shipping is instant but the game does require a steam account to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny and Big or Cutting Down EVERYTHING, June 26, 2013
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
This is a great game. Unfortunately the game will only take 2-4 hours to complete and only 2 if you are trying to get to the end as fast as possible. Still Tiny and Big has huge landscapes that are fully explorable and can be destroyed at will. There is also a great soundtrack in the form of cassette tapes that must be discovered throughout the game. The plot is pretty simple: Tiny is a young kid and Big has stolen his grandfather's magical underpants. As such it's Tiny's job to go and get them back. The game consists of large colorful stages which must be crossed to reach Big. Tiny has an arsenal of tools from grappling hooks (pull rocks) to lasers (cut) to rockets (push) to accomplish his goal. You might need to cut down a support beam to make a bridge or push some rocks to make stairs. One of the best things about the game is that nearly everything can be interacted with. Do you want to chop down the nearby mountains and climb up them? You can. Do you want to bring the giant statue towering above you down so it crushes you like a bug? You can do that too. The game also has a few really exciting moments like when Big hurls towers and buildings at Tiny and Tiny has to cut through them. Even though Tiny and Big is a short game it has wealth of imagination, beautiful landscapes, and even a few hidden areas to discover. It's easily worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, June 21, 2013
By 
N. Peterson (Minneapolis, Mn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
I purchased this game on sale on another site and was amazed at how entertaining it was. You have a laser cutter which can cut straight lines through rock, a rocket that will propel stone (even gigantic slabs!), and a rope to move things around. While the game isn't very challenging, there are a lot of fun moments that keep you playing. The graphics are simple and have a certain charm that I found pleasing. I'm not sure exactly how long it took me to finish the game because I played off and on for a while. It's longer than a couple of hours I know that much. If you're looking for an enjoyable game definitely pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just amazing, June 7, 2013
By 
James A. Sullivan, Jr. (Frederick, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
i bought this game thinking it would be ok because of the sale price $2.50 but it was amazing!
its a beautiful game with cartoony kind of graphics. the soundtrack is also great and story line is simple but exciting at the same time. Your just trying to get your grandpas underwear back. throughout the game they never tell u exactly where to go which I love because it makes it much more challenging and gives it a sandbox type feel. One thing I didn't realize that is you had to play on steam which is completely fine. All around great game and now im going to go play some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Indie Title!, June 6, 2013
This review is from: Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download] (Software Download)
Strongly recommended. It has a certain "Mario 3D" feel to it - one of the best indie titles I've seen out there.

For the money you simply can't go wrong! I'd love to see a sequel further down the road. Support the developers - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tiny & Big in: Grandpa's Leftovers [Download]
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.