Customer Reviews


850 Reviews
5 star:
 (353)
4 star:
 (183)
3 star:
 (135)
2 star:
 (77)
1 star:
 (102)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good As Long As You Don't Want a Campaign
I'll start by saying this is a very very polished game. It looks good, the gameplay is smooth and the balance is superb. For me anyway, the launch has been completely smooth with no server issues or game-breaking bugs.

Weapons: Nothing Earth-shattering here. You have your standard shooter arsenal. Pistols, Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, etc...
Published 11 months ago by Raoul Ortega

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not a great game, but it is far from a bad ...
It's a shooter... with mechs. It's not a great game, but it is far from a bad one. The only things I don't like about the game so far are some of the players I've encountered so far.

Pros - Looks great. Play is smooth. Controls are familar even in the mechs.

Cons - Some of the other players. These are the same guys you run into on all shooters. Those...
Published 3 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good As Long As You Don't Want a Campaign, March 11, 2014
By 
I'll start by saying this is a very very polished game. It looks good, the gameplay is smooth and the balance is superb. For me anyway, the launch has been completely smooth with no server issues or game-breaking bugs.

Weapons: Nothing Earth-shattering here. You have your standard shooter arsenal. Pistols, Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, etc. Some weapons have cool twists, like the smart pistol. Many people will hear about the smart pistol and immediately roll their eyes. It sounds ridiculously overpowered, a gun that locks on and then doesn't miss. Why would you use anything else?! Well, the developers were careful to keep it balanced. The smart pistol has a short range and takes a while to lock on. So a standard point-and-shoot will be superior in many situations.

Movement: It is very freeing to double-jump around, run along walls, etc. This is a welcome change from other shooters where there are pre-defined ramps and corridors. It wouldn't be easy to camp in this game, because the enemy can come from anywhere. It honestly takes a bit of getting used to. The maps still have the ramps and streets you're accustomed to, so you just slip into the habit of walking around on the ground, which is a decidedly bad idea in this game.

Titans: This is the part that is really different. Mixing mech-based combat with a first person shooter, AND preserving balance. There are three types of titans, basically a fast light one, a heavy tank, and an in-between. As you level up, you can customize abilities to suit your style. You have to be careful, as once your shield is gone, any damage you take is permanent (unlike when you're on foot). I was concerned that they may be something like tanks in battlefield, where the map deploys a certain number of titans and whoever gets there first wins. That's not the case, everybody can summon their titan after a few minute cooldown. They are certainly most effective in packs, and I found myself staying on foot most of the time.

The individual components of this game aren't particularly original. Perfect Dark had a locking pistol back in the day, there have been countless mech games (was always partial to starsiege, but that may reveal my age), parkour was in Mirror's Edge and double jumping has been a scout thing in team fortress 2 for years. However, combining all these things was just executed so well. When on foot, I have no hesitation trying to take out titans by jumping on them (though some abilities will make me more hesitant as people level up). When there's a bunch of enemy titans, I summon mine to bring out the big guns.

Worth noting, however, is the lack of a proper campaign. I know that most people don't care anymore, but I still enjoy a single-player story. Even an atrocious one, like battlefield and CoD are known for, would be welcome. As it is, the game has a multiplayer campaign. So it goes through a story, where the allies and enemies are played by real people. The problem with this, is it makes the story incredibly hard to follow. Single-player campaigns rely on stopping the action at key moments to tell a story. If it's multiplayer, you can't stop the action. There is plot dialog going on while you're fighting, but it's hard to follow because you're distracted. This annoyed me a little, but honestly the game is so strong that I'll forgive the lack of real campaign.

**Update 3/17**
Still loving the game, though I thought it worth mentioning burn cards. They are kind of tedious. Basically, you get cards, which serve as temporary buffs when you use them. They are good for exactly one life, and you can only have 26 in your deck. This means that unless you stay on top of them, your deck will fill and prevent you from getting new ones. I would prefer it if they were implemented more like Mass Effect 3 multiplayer. In that game, you pick a buff for the whole round and you can hold more of them.

Sometimes, someone sneaks up on you and kills you. It happens, but if you just used a burn card, oh well. Your gun may be more powerful, but you never saw that guy and thus never fired. So it would be nice to have a buff for an entire round, which really isn't very long, but at least it guarantees you get a chance to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Get into - Solid Combat but with Woefull Matchmaking, April 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This could have been a 5 Star game if not for a few choices Respawn decided to go with

Out of the box, this is a multiplayer game only and you will need a good Internet connection and there are no LAN options. As of 4-10-2014 they have added a BETA Private Mode where you can play 1 vs 1 or 6 vs 6 playing against people you know albeit without the Ranking and Bonuses to avoid gaming the system. To their credit, Respawn has been steadily releasing balance/Bug/ and BETA updates for users to test improvements like Matchmaking and game modes to better the overall experience.

The game does it's best to be accommodating to entry level players by adding AI bots to target as well. Playing as a Pilot or Titan, both are very well balanced. Both are lethal in their own ways. The weapons you start out with as a Pilot are very capable. You wont need to rank up to get the best weapons. In fact there are people who continue to use the starting rifle and shotgun through level 50 (the highest level achievable). Other Pilot weapons are there to add specialty or variety - none overpowered. Same goes with the Titan weapons. Burn Cards are awarded for achieving certain acts during battle. When you are killed you can activate one to temporarily boost a power, weapon, etc or even reduce the time to get your next Titan.

Based on a heavily modified version of Valves Source engine, the game is as stable as one could hope for. I've played it on four different PC's and have yet to experience a crash. The visuals aren't DX11 Benchmark material and on close inspection some textures and terrain geometry look rather dated even at Max levels. All the graphical settings are there, including the FOV that includes 90 degrees, so you're not locked into a Console sized view of the game world.

The Pros
Very stable on the PC
Absolutely seamless transition between Pilot and Titan combat - Very balanced game play
The parkour (pilot wall walking) element is not a gimmick and adds a whole new level of tactic and game play to a tired genre
The Burn Cards are a nice touch

The Cons
Servers are provided by Microsoft - There are no joining servers based on Ping
As of 4 -21 - 2014 - Matchmaking can take a very long time. Matchmaking involves finding suitable team mates and opposing players
Rare but it happens, in the middle of a match there will be a pause as the Server reconnects - very annoying.
The Kill Cam can get annoying but it serves as a pause to use a Burn Card.
You must install EA's Origin. Origin is a very weak Substitute for Steam.
Aside from a select few game modes, there is little depth here and almost no storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gameplay, but....., November 2, 2014
This game is awesome on so many fronts, but there are some problems.

I'd say the top problem is player population and DLC map packs causing fragmenting. Any game can have crappy matchmaking and issues that arise from that, but even good matchmaking can't overcome players not being there to be matched with.

I considered getting the season pass, but couldn't really afford at the time to put out that kind of cash. Now it looks so dry in there, what would be the point? It makes me sad to watch a great idea burn because EA was so shortsighted about player base division. They bet too big on Titanfall being so ubiquitous that everyone who bought it would feel compelled to buy the maps.

I love the aesthetic, sound design, gameplay balance (except for maybe the smart pistol) and as silly as it sounds, they really nailed how awesome it would feel to run around in a mech.

The story is ridiculous, tacked on, and feels overly melodramatic. The fact that almost all the story happens over radio chatter, and there is so much back and forth of who is talking about what etc, it feels like a bad radio play, and hard to follow. I read some other reviews that mentioned that even with finishing both sides of the campaign, you still don't know what really happened. I agree. Get away from the campaign as quickly as you can.

If EA can find a way to get more people on to the DLC (bigger sale, long term price drop, free weekend for the DLC?) maybe it can breathe some life into this beautiful game.

Game Publishers: please stop crippling your games out of the gate with season passes/map packs that will make or break your whole game's community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not a great game, but it is far from a bad ..., November 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a shooter... with mechs. It's not a great game, but it is far from a bad one. The only things I don't like about the game so far are some of the players I've encountered so far.

Pros - Looks great. Play is smooth. Controls are familar even in the mechs.

Cons - Some of the other players. These are the same guys you run into on all shooters. Those little, bunny hopping, no tallent hacks that use an auto aiming pistol to do all the work while bouncing all over the screen in the hopes of increasing their longevity. It's their gaming playing "style" that hurts the game more than anything else.

On a side note. I picked this up for PC while it was on sale here for $10. For that price it's a great deal but I wouldn't pay more than $20-25 for it regardless of your platform. Also wouldn't waste any additional money on expansions. The incuded maps are more than enough to tide you over until they sell the map packs as a bundle at a much reduced rate. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, October 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanfall (Video Game)
Titan Fall was not what I expected. I purchased it for my husband and perhaps did not read the fine print but I thought it would be like his other games where he can just play. This one apparently, has to be played in multi-player mode. He says it's a great game but that he would much prefer it if he could play single player. Considering the fact that it was a gift for him, I feel that I could have done a better job of shopping for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's fun but the damn game lags so much I can't ..., October 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's fun but the damn game lags so much I can't aim. I have a pretty bestial PC, but even with the settings turned down there are significant lag and frame rate issues. Maybe it's my ISP, but it makes the game pretty unplayable. Very well designed game for what it is though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, not so much lasting appeal., October 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanfall (Video Game)
Fun game. Doesn't have a lasting appeal but it's fun as you rank up. Once you hit max rank, it's not as enjoyable because you have nothing else to unlock but I find myself logging in and having fun for an hour or so at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version, March 13, 2014
I mainly played the XB1 version, but Titanfall on PC is definitely the better version of the two. Runs and looks much better, even on a midrange PC, and seems to have fewer bugs.

Now with the game itself. It is a very fun, essentially multiplayer only game. It has a lot of similarities to Call of Duty multi-player, so if you're into that sort of thing, this game is for you and is probably worth every penny. If you typically get bored of Call of Duty style MP, then I would not recommend this at full price.

Titanfall was hyped up to be revolutionary, but it's more evolutionary in terms of MP. In terms of the overall game, to sum it up, I would call it a fun MP game that lacks value and substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the pros everyone knows with the cons that flawed the game, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Titanfall is a new concept in gaming due the parkour mobility inside the game, it allows people who are new to shooters enjoy the game by killing bots so its pretty cool, graphix are great maps are good.

Cons?! Yes a few
1. I have found is that game is to freaking Big!! It is 50 gb installation but if you have a big hd there would be no problem.
2. This is not happening to everyone but there is a bug with getting tickets from origin that gets you kicked from the game, yes there are solutions for this, but none worked for me.
3. NEED MORE GUNS!! the arsenal is very short, so short that they combined in the same menu Smg's, Lmg's, and assault "rifles" ("" because there is practically only one).

Overall a good game, a must have if you are a fps fan or if you are bored with the old fps camping and nading concept it is really refreshing. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Titan Falls, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanfall (Video Game)
It is hard to relate the high media scores with the game itself. I can hardly believe that this game, hailed as to be significantly focused on online multiplayer experience, eventually seems to be a junk food type of game decorated with some so called "fresh ideas" and "revolutionary concepts". My review on this game will be focused much on the gaming experience rather than pure graphic or game design mindset, which, though does not meet the standard of a 9/10 game, is acceptable to some extent.

To start with, Titanfall sounds pretty cool, looks pretty cool and is reviewed to be pretty cool. Thanks to great media work, we're all led astray to the following aspects:
1.great map with jet packs
2.Titan with great balance work and design
3.Must be different from other FPS(words like fresh, hype, new concept, etc)

However, as gamers, we need stuff more than simply "cool" and concepts of "fresh" with much to be specified. That is, Titanfall has poor gaming curve and game depth. This, as far as I'm concerned, makes it ridiculous if you check their statement on the back of the box "set the new bar for online multiplayer gameplay".

Pilots

The pilots in this game are equipped with jet packs, which allows players to travel faster and in a variety of ways. With quick-rechargeable perks like cloak, adrenalin rush, the game pace is much faster than most FPS. Unfortunately, these factors, in most cases, simply results in disorder in gameplay, especially when combined with the "revolutionary" minions added to the battlefield, which will be explained later.

Titans

These giant robots are classified in classical style: tanks, half-tank and assassin. 3 Titans are more than enough...if worked properly. Unfortunately, you don't really wanna stay in titans for long due to its size, inefficiency for scoring and too fast a game pace. The perks for Titans are interesting but that's it.

Weapons

I'm mostly disappointed at this part of the game. as primary weapons go, there are only 6 for Titans and less than 10 for pilots with very limited customize options. I can hardly sense anything that will "set the bar for future" in this category. As usual, there are assault rifles, snipping rifles, machine guns, shot guns and energy weapons. Just think of it, these classes finally expend to a weapon number less than 10 with 3 or 4 predictable upgrade options(you can only equip one of them). The only thing that might account for the word of "new" is the smart pistol, which, in my opinion is a OP one.

Balance&Match Making&Group Setting

I have to say the MM for this game is horrible. Players are simply thrown into games, regardless of their levels, skills(win rate, hit rate, etc). This seems to be fine with old COD serious. BUT we're here talking about 6 on 6 games(don't mention the minions, they are too week and serves merely a way for easy score). Just think about your LOL or DOTA experience. One teammate could have huge impact. To make it worse, it happens often that you have all 40 plus on one side and all 10 minus on the other. That's even not the end. The MM DOES NOT switch players between two teams in battles. The high level winners simply stick together, waiting for naive feeding lamb.

The fast pace nature of this game makes it so easy to snowball both trough level or weapons. especially when you got someone new to the game. You may just start your killing but the game is over. In addition, I'll have to say this grunts/minion idea is totally a joke. for numbers, you gain 1 point for killing a minion, 4 for a pilot. I've experienced the battles where the enemy won, not because that they had more kills on our pilot(in fact we were in the lead for this category) but that they all equipped smart pistols and killed our minions like reapers.(that's why this weapon is poorly balanced. One click, 5 men down) It is much easier to kill 40+ minions than 10+ pilot.

In fast pace games, you always want the most effective way to play. you may go for snipping for a taste but, come on, do you wanna do your snipping on the battlefield where 6 pilots hiding in buildings and a sea of minions with cloaking, fast wall run and double jump? there's no joy coming out of killing minions. When you finally snip down somebody, the enemy may have enough time to kill tones and tones of minions.

you don't have concept of lines or defense in this game due to its 6 on 6 group set and minions are useless. All these lead to poor game strategy. you don't really need to push or flank - the entire battlefield is in chaos with pilots jumping around and minions are randomly deployed. just equip your smart pistol with fast aim upgrade and cloak perk and go. if you have a bad lag, replace your smart pistol with shot guns. the shot gun in Titanfall is accurate, 6-8 rounds per clip and one-shot-to kill at far more than close range. These two weapons are so OP since its easy to get close with fast movement and jack packs in game, plus cloak. assault rifles and snippers are pointless in most cases.

Titan fights are cool. But again, you're wasting too much time in Titian if you just try to take down the enemy titan.

Wrap up

Titanfall is a good game but not more than that. The excitement fades away after several days and it turn out to be pale. I still can't believe a multiplayer focused game can only offer this much. They have cool concepts, good ideas but not worked out properly. It try to offer more choices, but the fast pace nature forces players to simplification; It tries to bring dynamic battle experiences but the 6 on 6 set and minions simply reject that. It brings Titans but the Titans are shallowly designed and are not the most efficient choice in battles.

I didn't even mention the lack of game modes and player connection. 6 on 6 games require much better communication among players and most of my teammates don't even know how to use voice chat (press Z) since it's not taught or mentioned in the tutorial.

PS:I was actually thinking of ask for refund but one of my friends is a huge robot fan and he's pretty satisfied as long as there's a titan for him to drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Titanfall
Titanfall by Electronic Arts (Windows 7)
$19.99 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.