Customer Reviews


547 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


233 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S GREAT!!
The previous reviewer was upset about the high price Amazon charges - not about the converter's performance. I purchased two of these from another online vendor using the coupons and ended up paying an additional $45.00, so about $60.00 a piece. If you want quality, you have to pay for it. This model received high praise from Consumer Reports and I agree with them...
Published on October 27, 2008 by Mr. Simon

versus
133 of 140 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My experience aligns with most reviews I've read
I've read CNET, Amazon and several other reviews prior to my purchase. I bought this unit and the Zenith DTT901 so I could compare the two. The Zenith feels like it's built better, has a better remote, better on-screen guide and seems to produce a better picture - HOWEVER, the Tivax receives more channels (~30 compared to ~20 with the Zenith--in my area) - I've compared...
Published on January 31, 2009 by David


‹ Previous | 145 46 4755 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tivax STB-T8, August 15, 2009
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
Works OK, Powers on SLOWLY (10s) and changes channels SLOWLY (5s). Remote is NOT layed out in a functional manner, Volume and Channel selection are WAY at the top of the remote. Picks up the channels I expect in the Dallas area.
The ZINWELL ZAT 970a is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Tivax DTV converter, July 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
I am very pleased with the performance of this equipment. It was very easy to install and start operating. It brings in stations using only a rabbit ears antenna that I could not receive before. On a scale of 1 to 10 I rate the Tivax STB-T8 at a 9.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Functional, but nothing special, July 7, 2009
By 
VW (Cambridge, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
Box itself serves its purpose and silver trim makes for aesthetically decent design. The remote is poorly designed--lightweight and flimsy. The enclosed set-up instructions were clearly written by non-English speakers and are difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for our RV, September 7, 2009
By 
Carolyn (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
Set it up this weekend in our RV when we were visiting the Pacific coast. Surprisingly, we got better reception and more channels than before we had the converter attached! One wish, would like a Power Off button rather than having to unplug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality converter box, August 31, 2009
By 
jenkri2 (central florida area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
I ordered this converter box for myself and also another for my sister usuing the government coupons and I am very pleased with it. It also came on time, and was packaged nicely for shipping. I would recommend this one over many other styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tivax STB-T8, August 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
For best audio, use the audio cable but at the same time connect the RF cable. Don't ask why.

Then everything is perfect except for the program information display. It cuts off after so many characters and there is no way to change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars converter box, August 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
arrived promptly. seems to be a good device, but receive no VHF local stations. 30 miles from Washington DC. Get plenty of UHF stations, no use for the kid's room. user friendly but not sure if antenna problem or other operator error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This will NOT get you the channels that are now missing from Comcast Basic Cable, August 12, 2009
By 
Steve Means "payocracy" (Albany, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
I'm pretty sure this product does what it's designed to do. My beef is with Comcast, and the lack of detailed information on this unit's applicability. I have written this information on appropriate Comcast forums, but I wanted to inform Comcast Basic customers before they make the mistake of buying this unit (or any of the other converter boxes) here on Amazon.

After losing channels 29 through 59 on my Comcast Basic Cable, I was told by a Comcast tech that I would need a converter box to get those channels back. Not true! What you need is a "QAM tuner," but this Tivax unit has an "ATSC tuner." So, what I have now is a bulky paper weight that's not worth the trouble to return, and the federal government is $40 poorer while some corporation is $40 richer. Here is a great piece of equipment I recommend that does have a QAM tuner: Philips DVDR3575H/37 1080p Upscaling DVDR with Built-In Tuner but it's 15 times more expensive!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the money., September 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
The product is OK except that over time it has lost channels. It does not have a feature to select which channels to keep. Also, the remote is hard to work - the buttons have to be pushed just right or sometimes they don't work at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evaluation of Tivax STB-T8 DTA TV Converter, August 25, 2009
By 
L. J. Horn "Eagle" (Eagle River, Alaska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box (Electronics)
Outstanding product. Easy to set up and use. Brought in more stations than I thought were available in my area. Twice as many as the analog signals I was able to receive at the same location. Resolution is excellent. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4755 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tivax STB-T8 Digital to Analog TV Converter Box
Used & New from: $43.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.