Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book that could have been better
I liked this book alot. But, the truth is that Ted could have made this book much much better, simply by organizing it better. First things first, while it possibly looked interesting to the editors, I found it disjointing how the book was a little bit book, then a little bit comic then a little bit book again.

Creative? yes, Functional? No. I'd stick the...
Published on October 22, 2003 by Munawar Ali

versus
18 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Original and critical or just ranting and political?
I'm going to have to go with the second choice, really. Though it is impressive that Rall actually went to Afghanistan, the book makes it quite clear that he had already made up his mind before going over there, and he only writes about what he sees that confirms his own views, drawing illogical conclusions from sporadic facts.
If you are looking for left-wing,...
Published on September 1, 2003 by Johan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book that could have been better, October 22, 2003
This review is from: To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue (Hardcover)
I liked this book alot. But, the truth is that Ted could have made this book much much better, simply by organizing it better. First things first, while it possibly looked interesting to the editors, I found it disjointing how the book was a little bit book, then a little bit comic then a little bit book again.

Creative? yes, Functional? No. I'd stick the whole editorial "book" as a second chapter or as an Appendix. They're interesting on their own, but not when I'm in the middle of a quick moving comic. Besides which, the "book" part went over the same events in the comic.

Also, I had to kick myself when I found that 20 pages into the comic, the comic finishes. Oh man, I needed at least 60 pages to get some satisfaction...what are you going to do, the dude came home.

Lastly, some of his "facts" weren't facts, or I'm an idiot reading all the wrong sources. I dont think Ted does it on purpose, but he does state stuff that I haven't found true....ie. "French reporter gang raped by the Taliban"

All in all, I enjoyed it, definatly worth the time he put into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W's first dirty war, March 8, 2006
This review is from: To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue (Hardcover)
If you think that Iraq was a diversion from the just war against the evil ones in Afghanistan, think again. Ted went there and reported things in 2003 that are just now (2006) making it into the media in this country.

If you can't figure out why the guys in the white hats can't seem to beat the guys in the black hats, this will help. Otherwise, keep watching General Pace tell you that by every objective measure the War On Terror is going very, very well.

This is a fascinating book full of truth you won't find anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-read, April 18, 2003
By 
This review is from: To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue (Hardcover)
In little more than a hundred pages, Rall dissects and analyzes the recent war on terrorism in Afghanistan and shows why it may never be won. Eye-opening, frightening, and dispiriting. I do have some minor quibbles with it, though-- there is some repetition between the graphic novel and the written portion, and his characterization of the Afghanis themselves is sometomes contradictory. Still, this is essential reading. I've always hated the phrase, "If you read only one book this year, make it this one," but in this case, it holds true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Hell and Back, May 27, 2005
By 
In this book, Rall chronicles his trip to Afghanistan that starts shortly after the U.S. begins bombing it. Rall has pretty in-depth knowledge of Afghanistan, Pakistan, Uzbekistan and other neighboring countries, their customs, languages and other things.

Afghanistan is basically like any other country - rapists in the middle of the street, 15 year olds standing on roof tops with guns, bombs dropping from the sky, horribly hot or cold weather, panhandlers, kill anyone you feel like there is no law, Middle Ages lifestyle.. you know the normal :) (as you can tell i'm being sarcastic about Afghanistan being normal)

Actually I was really surprised about how Afghanistan was described. Our media, which I followed non-stop from October 2001 and on, described everything very differently. "Everything is wonderful" or "Great progress is being made" they said. I don't understand how some journalists can actually go to Afghanistan, see what is going on and still not do critical reporting.

Rall's experiences ranged from: possibly being killed, to not knowing who to trust. In Afghanistan - Taliban fighters getting a shave and turn into Northern Alliance members. Pornography, alcohol and opium are rampant. It is chaos and a mess. People are walking around and they step on a land mine and they are blown to smithereens. If you want to get anywhere you have to pay starving and dirt poor Afghans a ton of money for help and transportation. A British BBC reporter's skin gets ripped!! From some maniac Taliban members.

After all this death and despair, you may be wondering what solution Rall comes up with. Well it is neither the left or right solution - it is basically to leave Afghanistan and let them take care of themselves. After the Soviet invasion, Northern Alliance feuds, Taliban and U.S. bombings, maybe Rall has a good point.

Even after his near death experiences, horrible rashes and other problems, Rall says in the beginning of his book: my friends said don't go to Afghanistan and I answered by saying "there are millions of people who live there everyday, i'm only going to be there for a couple of weeks. Please think about them when you read this book."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He lived there, April 3, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue (Hardcover)
First-hand reporting on the feelings of the various combatants in Afghanistan. Thoroughly enjoyable. Not for those who believe the U.S. is always saintly in foreign policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, January 11, 2007
By 
Samuel A. Holloway (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The average U.S. citizen's knowledge of the world is woefully inadequate. For citizens of a supposed representative democracy that has so many irons in so many global fires, this is inexcusable. Our knowledge of Afghanistan (and the Central Asian region) falls deeply into this dynamic. Ted Rall goes a long way toward ameliorating this problem with this book. His first-hand analysis of the complex and bloody politics of Afghanistan put the 2001 U.S. invasion of this horribly beleaguered nation into a valuable perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny but sad, October 6, 2007
By 
Trash man (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue (Hardcover)
Basically a graphic novel with alternating chapters of prose. Rall's experience in Afghanistan is harrowing but humourus at the same time. This is a great book for anyone interested in the Central Asian region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afghan reality 101, June 7, 2010
By 
Pace Amani "Peace" (Bellbrook, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you want to get a grasp about what Afghanistan is really about you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maddening, erratic, preachy, shrill, horrifying, hypnotic, brilliant., June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ted Rall is one of the last of a dying breed: a journalist/political cartoonist who does not just repost corporate or government press clippings. Sane people 'go along to get along', and in this tough job market we must expect that someone willing to get blacklisted by the big media outlets in the name of truth should be a little, well, driven (or perhaps, even, crazy). Too bad. If you want smooth and polite oligarch-approved pablum go elsewhere, if you want the real story go here. Rall goes to Afghanistan, and instead of being embedded with the regular military he lives in ordinary peoples' houses out in the villages (on second thought forget the 'perhaps': he IS crazy). What results is a bit jumbled, I would have liked a longer book with more details. The cartoon maps didn't do it for me: I could have used some better maps and pictures so I had a better idea of where all this was happening. But still. A powerful and compelling look not just into the stupidest and most corrupt thing that the United States has ever done (and that includes Disco), but a look into a very different society: it's where the West used to be about 600 years ago. And if we don't start giving people like Rall more respect, it's where we are going back - and the return journey won't take a fraction of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Third Afgan War Gonzo Style, October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rall is at his best here - channeling Hunter Thompson. Ted Rall's irreverent black humor comic about the Third Afgan War is still relevant (and funny/sad) over ten years after 9-11. The sarcasm is dripping in these concise, outrageous illustrations summarizing how Rall experienced the start of the war in 2001. And in 2012 the violence, tribalism, and lawlessness continues.

Evan Tick CITI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue
To Afghanistan and Back: A Graphic Travelougue by Ted Rall (Hardcover - April 1, 2002)
$15.95 $14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.