Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars11
5 star
82%
4 star
18%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2005
Being a current flight instructor in the Naval Aviation Training Command I can atest that Jay Stout's book "tells it like it is." It is an accurate, informative and interesting tour of what a young man or woman goes through from the day they show up to begin training, through the awarding of the coveted "Wings of Gold". Clearly written, technically correct and well illustrated, Jay has authored the authoritative primer for anyone considering or interested in becoming a Naval Aviator. A must read!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2006
For someone who is considering trying to join the navy as a pilot, I found this book very informative. It walks the reader from basic training up to joining the fleet at sea. It is filled with great pictures and plenty of details.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
I was part of naval aviation during the end of the Vietnam era. I served as an enlisted man and was trained as an ordnanceman (airborne weapons specialist), and also served as a plane captain on the A-4, T-34, and a few other types too old to even think about! I downloaded Jay's book to catch up on current events and found the book to be a great primer for anyone thinking about becoming a military pilot in either the Navy or Marine Corps. There's even a bit of info for those interested in becoming a pilot for the U.S. Coast Guard.It would also be a great read for the parents of high school age kids to read, to find out a little bit of the preparation in high school and college level classes that will assist the candidates in their quest for the wings of gold. Jay writes a very complete description of the various paths a candidate will follow throughout initial and advanced training to fly jets, turboprops or helicopters. As I stated - Good Stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
... books on the path to and thru Navy flight school. And as a doting dad of a now USN EA-18 Growler pilot, I've read a slew of these pubs. Stout manages to put a very rigorous, complex process and journey into words and complementary pix that a layman and/or dumb dads can even get a pretty clear, vivid glimpse. A must for interested persons and parents living vicariously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2006
This book is written by a Naval Aviator in layman's terms and provides an excellent source for information about and/or becoming a Naval Aviator. Each of the Navy "pipeline's" is discussed and illustrated with great photography.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2007
This is a well-done, picture book that takes you from the commissioning process (Academy, ROTC, OCS) to API and then through the different pipelines to the wings of gold. Seems most of the primary pictures came from Whiting, and the advanced portion is a little heavy on the Jet Syllabus- many pictures from Kingsville (written by a Jet Pilot) Overall a great picture view of the different phases of training. Makes a great gift for the family of a Naval Aviator for them to understand and see some of what takes place
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2006
Outstanding book that accurately depicts with excellent pictures and graphics. My son is undergoing the training now and we gave him the book for a while to assimmilate the information as well.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
This is a great book that will keep you reading till the last page!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2008
Good introduction to naval aviation training, but lacks the "human" element for nightly reading. If you like to read manuals and basic vanilla material, and are interested to learn the stages one goes through to become a naval aviator, then this book is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.