Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Melanie Martinez $5 Off Fire TV Stick Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Gear Up for Football STEM Toys & Games

Customer Reviews

39
To the Limit (The Bodyguards, Book 2)
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$7.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2005
This is the first full-length book by Cindy Gerard that I have read, and I really enjoyed it. I love her strong, independent female charater, Eve, and the strong yet vulnerable McCain. The chemistry between the two was excellent, and was enhanced by their history of a brief affair when they were 18. The story was intriguing as these two private investigators (with heroic pasts) try to find a missing heiress and solve a mystery. There are lots of great twists and turns and many interesting characters. The secondary story about Tiffany is well done. I like that this book is part of a series about a family; you can definitely see some groundwork for future stories about Eve's brothers.

I will definitely go out and buy the first in this "Bodyguards" series, and also the new one coming out in December. If you enjoy S. Brockmann and N. Roberts mystery/romance, you'll like this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on August 30, 2005
Spoiled rich girl Tiffany Clayborne had not only been Eve Garrett's first Secret Service assignment, she was the reason Eve had resigned from the agency. But Eve, part of E.D.E.N. Securites, had agreed to meet her after midnight in a sleazy part of town. Eve was attacked and left for dead along with a cryptic message: You're dead. You just don't know it yet.

This confirmed to Eve that Tiffany wasn't just a runaway. She was in real trouble. But as Eve continues her search, she comes face to face with Tyler "Mac" McClain, her high school crush who'd stolen her virtue and broken her heart.

A former cop, Mac now owned a PI firm and had been hired by Tiffany's father. He's surprised to run into Eve and even more surprised that the girl he'd dreamed about handled a gun with such expertise and savvy. Surprise #3 comes with another attempt on Eve's life.

Soon Mac joins Eve in her belief that Tiffany is more than a rich kid on a wild spree and together they track her across the country, dodging bad guys in a race against time.

TO THE LIMIT is filled with action and suspense, oozes passion and will keep you glued to your seat as Mac and Eve follow a trail of clues while they fight the sparks that fly between them. Eve is every man's dream girl and Mac is the stuff of beefcake posters.

Cindy Gerard has gone from being a great writer of category romance to being a remarkable writer of romantic suspense. This reviewer can't wait for TO THE BRINK, the next in this series about E.D.E.N. Securities.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2005
A frantic late night message has personal security specialist Eve Garrett out in a West Palm Beach rain storm waiting for her estranged friend Tiffany Claybourne. While working as a Secret Service agent, Eve befriended Tiffany several years ago when she was assigned to protect the troubled heiress. Not surprisingly, the rich party girl is late, and Eve's gut tells her there is something very wrong. When she sees someone duck between some buildings, she is out of her car and into the dark rainy night. Instead of finding Tiffany, Eve is jumped by an unknown assailant who, before knocking her out, whispers "You're dead. You just don't know it yet."

Bruised and battered, Eve is out the next night searching trendy night spots for any trace of Tiffany. Her search turns up the last person she expected to find, Tyler "Mac" McClain. Fourteen years earlier high school bad boy Mac broke Eve's heart and disappeared from her life. A former cop turned private investigator, Mac is now working for Tiffany's wealthy, reclusive father. It is Mac's job to find the party girl before her exploits become tabloid fodder. Eve, however, believes that Tiffany is in real trouble, not just on her latest bender. Fighting the attraction which never died, the pair's paths continue to cross as they separately work on the case. After a bombing and subsequent attacks which appear to be attempts on Eve's life, Mac finally realizes that Tiffany may be in real peril. Reluctantly, Mac and Eve team up to find the heiress.

The second installment of The Bodyguards Series, To the Limit is a sizzling hot, action-packed thriller. The chemistry between Eve and Mac is explosive. Eve is a strong, talented woman. I appreciated that while she did not want her coworker brothers to go "big brother" on her, she does not do anything stupid while trying to maintain her independence. Mac is a tough, yet all too human man. I also love their give and take. The duo simultaneously battle each other as well as the sinister threat working against them. I was not familiar with Cindy Gerard or The Bodyguards before reading To the Limit. Now I must read the first and can't wait for the next!

Cheryl

Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2005
Ms. Gerard's second installment of her "Bodyguard series" is a real page turner with wonderful chemistry between our two main characters, Mac and Eve. Readers will be drawn into the story in order to see if these two strong but hurt people will find the happy ending they deserve.

Eve is a former Secret Service agent and when one of her former targets calls for help, she is there only to find out that it was a trick. What wasn't funny though is the fact that she is hurt bad with a threat ringing in her ears that "she's (Eve) dead." Eve isn't scared off and she goes on the road looking for Tiffany a teenager that needs her help. She ends up running into her only regret. Ex-cop, now P.I. Tyler "Mac" McClain. This high school bad boy left breaking a promise, and her heart. She is older but not wiser when it comes to this man. One look and she is back in the past, fighting an attraction that she doesn't want to exist. Will she be able to work with this man in order to find Tiffany and be able to walk away with her heart intact or will Mac claim her heart once again?

This was another strong romantic suspense from a new voice in the genre that has established herself as an excellent storyteller. Her character development is well done, and the situation that she puts these two people in is explosive. I loved the push/pull that Mac and Eve had going it made their romance all the more sensual and likeable! I look forward to the next in this series. If the past two books are any indication the following stories will only get better!

Official Reviewer for Romance Designs
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2005
Well, Cindy has done it again. If you liked her other books from the bodyguard series you will be very happy with this book. The only thing I was slightly annoyed by was the fact that Tyler, the male hero, kept saving Eve's butt. I mean she is suppose to be this extremely well trained ex-FBI agent/private detective and she was constintely being saved by an ex-cop/private detective. You would think that maybe she would save his or her own butt at least once but that is the only complaint I have. Everything else in the book was hot, sexy, and exciting; I was done with it in 2 days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 8, 2010
As the second book in the Bodyguard series, I simply couldn't put this book down. It was fast paced, sexy, suspenseful, fun, and altogether a great read. The supporting storyline was equally entertaining and only added to a gripping conclusion that you could speculate about, but not completely solve on your own. Of the four siblings running E.D.E.N., this is Eve Garrett's story, the twin sister to Nolan from the first book, and she's a fabulous heroine.

Eve Garrett is a dream heroine personified. She's beautiful, smart, witty, competitive, and she can totally take care of herself. She's taken some pretty hard knocks in her life but manages to remain caring and cautiously optimistic. She's a hard one to give out her trust for a series of reasons. 1. Her ex boyfriend was cheating on her. 2. She was betrayed by being forced to leave her secret service job when she was blamed instead of revered for her courage in stopping an abduction. 3. And most memorable, her first love, a boy of eighteen who said he loved her and took her virginity, never called her again after their night together. Unbeknownst to anyone, she got pregnant but eventually miscarried. She's had to live with that secret alone and is still licking her wounds. So instead she focuses on her job and when she finds that her friend Tiffany, daughter of a Palm Beach billionaire may be in trouble, she starts to investigate into her disappearance.

Tyler "Mac" McClain has made too many stupid mistakes to count. Having to leave the Chicago police force after injuring his knee, he starts up his own investigation firm. He's divorced with a little girl he barely gets to see because he doesn't have enough funds to travel back and forth from Florida to California. Weighed down with child support, he gets a boon when he's hired to track down a troubled young teenage daughter of a Palm Beach billionare. During that investigation, 14 years after he took her virginity and never called her again, he bumps into Eve Garrett. Refusing to work together and not believing Tiffany is actually in any danger, Mac completely underestimates Eve's abilities and is as focused on getting back into Eve's pants as he is to find Tiffany. After making his intentions known, the book takes off into an exhilerating battle of the sexes to see who can find Tiffany first. Only after further digging, it becomes apparent that Tiffany really is in danger and Mac partners up with Eve for help.

I read this book in a single sitting and absolutely loved it. It was filled with tension, wit and combustible chemistry between Eve and Mac both in and out of bed. There were wonderful supporting characters that provided red herrings as to who the bad guys are and although the ending was not a total surprise, you certainly wouldn't be able to figure it all out without it unfolding. It was also clever to wrap up interweaving agendas so they actually all tied into one big case. Having said that, my one complaint is the fact that although they were only kids without a care in the world, I'm not so certain I could grow to love and trust someone as cold blooded in their youth as Mac. Eighteen is certainly old enough to know that lying to someone to have sex with them all the while not considering birth control or the after effects of a girl's, who's virginity you took, emotions is sub-human. That and a subsequent failed marriage doesn't instill confidence in the man being marriage material. It shouldn't take being a father and worrying about his own daughter to make him realize he was a complete jerk. If their parting ways 14 years earlier was a little more forgivable, I would have been okay when he was forgiven. I've taken my share of high roads in my life, but I doubt that would be one of them.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 29, 2013
SUMMARY: Eve Garrett, E.D.E.N. bodyguard and former Secret Service agent, is contacted out of the blue by Tiffany Clayborne, a young woman who had been Eve's first assignment in the service. Tiffany is in trouble, but is nowhere to be found when Eve arrives to help. Eve makes it her personal mission to find Tiffany in spite of their checkered past together. Along the way, she encounters Tyler 'Mac' McClain, ex-cop turned private eye hired by Tiffany's father to track her down. Eve detests Mac, who took her virginity as a teenager only to dump her immediately after. When it becomes clear that Eve is also in great danger, the two work together in order to find Tiffany.

THE REVIEW (WARNING - MINOR SPOILERS): When it comes to romance, I typically lean towards stories in which the eventual couple have little or no prior history together. That said, a good author can make the opposite work for me. Cindy Gerard is a good author, and while she stumbled a little bit with book one of the Bodyguards series, she hits it out of the park in book two.

Eve is a very like-able character, a petite little spitfire who knows how to kick ass yet is all woman when and where it counts. I was afraid going in that I was going to dislike Mac given his rather despicable past, but Gerard played her hand expertly in his case. I was truly rooting for him in the end, which was a pleasant surprise. Tiffany at first seems like a spoiled and reckless teenager but Gerard peels back the layers over the course of the book, making the reader truly worry over her fate over the course of the book.

The mystery and suspense is laid on thick from the get-go and never lets up. Gerard leaves the reader breathless as Mac and Eve cross the country in their increasingly desperate search for Tiffany. The passion that ignites between the two is sizzling.

Tiffany ends up finding salvation in unexpected and heart-warming fashion, while the climax features an action packed shootout with the bad guys. The only minor criticism I can come up with for the book is that the villain was once again guilty of running their mouth upon cornering the heroine rather then just offing her immediately upon getting the chance. This did not detract from the book in any real way, however.

To the Limit is an exhilarating and sexy ride with plenty of twists and turns. I highly recommend it to any fan of romance and/or suspense novels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 5, 2013
Second in The Bodyguards romantic suspense series revolving around members of the Garrett family in West Palm Beach. The couple focus is on Eve Garrett and Tyler McClain.

My Take
It's the poor little rich girl, although Gerard does give it an interesting twist with how Tiffany has gotten herself into trouble. You can't help but feel for her even as you can't believe how stupid she is. Lucky for her, she has a few good friends.

It's an interesting subplot as well with someone after Eve. Intent on taunting her, until they decide to finish her off. Lucky for her that a little illegal entry brings her back to another man in her earlier life, who also did a little, ahem, "illegal" entry and pops back in the nick of time. I do like the twist Gerard gives to the "woman wronged" scenario. She has Eve use it on several levels. And all to the good, of course. *bats eyes innocently*

And yet another reason why parents should be licensed. All that money and none of it could find love for a child...disgusting with no excuses!

Oh man, I can't figure out if I'm morbidly fascinated or appalled at the club Katrina and Sven drag Eve and Mac into...oh, boy... It's certainly a picture in my brain.

"Too funny when Mac needs medical treatment and has some suggestions of his own from 'the Boy Scout manual. Chapter ten. Page sixty-nine'."

It's a story of playing both ends against the middle, over and over.

The Story
A friendship struck when she was guarding Tiffany Coleman, a billionaire's daughter, on the president's orders. Now Eve Garrett is worried about her young friend.

Desperate for love, Tiffany will hook up with anyone. And finds more than her match in Reno Lauren and his buddy Abe Gorman.

It's a very cold trail Eve is trying to follow and one that will take her through the highs and the lows of nightclubs and bars, crisscrossing the country.

The Characters
Eve Garrett is still angry over the way her career in the Secret Service ended; she hadn't deserved that. But she's making a name for herself as a doer at E.D.E.N. Security, Inc., the firm their father, Wes Garret, a former policeman, started and the siblings now run. Nolan is her twin brother.

Tyler "Mac" McClain, the guy who took Eve's virginity in high school, is desperate for money to get his fledgling private detective agency, Discovery Unlimited, up and running and pay off his divorce settlement to Angie to ensure he gets to see his little girl, Ali. Blair is Angie's new hubbie. Dave Johnson is Mac's former police partner back in the Chicago PD.

Ethan Garrett, former Special Forces Green Beret, has been divorced from Darcy for five years, and he's their brooder with a cherry Life Saver habit. Dallas, a Marine in Force Recon, is the negotiator; they are the twins' older brothers. Nolan, a former sergeant in the Airborne Rangers with a passion for root beer, is back, with the firm, and full of life with his new wife, Jillian Kincaid (see To the Edge (The Bodyguards, #1)), a news anchor at KGLO TV. Bud Winchell runs a T-shirt shop in Key West and a security/investigation/missing persons agency hidden within the shop; he's also the Garretts' uncle through their mother, Susan, and Wes' mentor when they were both on the force. Kim Creighton is E.D.E.N.'s new receptionist.

Tiffany Clayborne is a billionaire's daughter who is unloved and unwanted. Jeremy Clayborne is her reclusive father, in name only. Richard Edwards is Clayborne's right-hand man, with a weakness. Jazelle Taylor is Edwards' executive assistant.

Margaret Reed is Tiffany's former nanny; almost the only mother she's known. Katrina Hofsteader is her best friend from her riding days. Sven Jorgenson is Kat's boyfriend with a passion for skiing.

Lance Reno is the band's leader and Abe Gorman plays bass for Dead Grief, a band in which Tiffany takes an interest. Frank Leoni owns Club Asylum. Billie Campbell is a songwriter and plays guitar. Miriam and Jasper Campbell are Billie's parents; they run Canyon Rim Trail Rides outside Parowan, Utah.

Bob Gleason was her supervisor and is still Eve's mentor and friend with the Secret Service. Petrov Yanev and Stayon Georgiev were two kidnappers who tried to take Tiffany fourteen years ago. Son and son-in-law of Alexandrov Yanev, the head of a Bulgarian arms-trafficking organization. Bianca Georgiev is Stayon's widow.

The Cover
The cover is a lot of deep red with a flash of fire behind Eve, highlighting her in her tiny print miniskirt as she races across the pavement, McClain standing in the shadows in the foreground.

I'm not sure what the title is about. That Eve and Mac will go To the Limit to find Tiffany?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 13, 2011
Eve Garrett has never forgotten her first love Tyler "Mac" McCain, the arrogant boy who seduced and then abandoned her all those years ago. Now a member of her family's security business (E.D.E.N) this former FBI agent is on the hunt for the missing teenage daughter of Florida's most reclusive billionaire. A frantic message from the missing party girl takes Eve to a midnight rendezvous where she's attacked and left for dead.

The attack leaves Eve more determined then ever to find Tiffany and even though she's officially been taken off the case, Eve sets out for Key West where, surprise, surprise she runs into Mac, now a PI, who's also trying to find "Tiff" At first Eve refuses to share any information with Mac but after a couple of attempts on her life and because he keeps turning up at every new lead she realizes that they'll have a better chance of finding the girl working together rather then against each other. Besides he's has changed and Eve doesn't think she can fight her attraction to this new improved Mac any longer. The search takes our couple (who remain two steps behind) from Florida to New York, into Las Vegas and finally small town Arizona.

I loved the chase aspect of this story; following leads and travelling to different cities and Mac was a fun and sexy character. He was also a real guy with a bum knee and limitations not one of these black op superheroes we see so often in romantic suspense. I never quite warmed up to Eve though and for the most part found her annoying. Their trip to the bondage sex club was just weird (reminding me of Lora Leigh without the graphics) although in saying that the ride home in the limo afterwards and the leather cod piece was pretty funny. I also liked the peeks we got into Tiffany's head and grew more and more sympathetic towards her as the story went on.

I have to say that at times this story stalled because there was so much introspective dialogue going on. Every single thought or action seemed to get analyzed for at least half a page when I just wanted them to get on with it. The romance itself never really grabbed me either, as delightful as Mac was the connection just seemed to be missing.

This is book 2 from Cindy Gerard's Bodyguard series and a pretty good romantic suspense, although I still prefer her BOI's (SHOW NO MERCY) Cheers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2005
I usually don't read 'former lovers meeting again' books especially when it ends badly because there is always the need to go over and over the past. But with this book I did not have to tell the characters to get over it the past or walk away. I liked Eve a lot, she had style, guts, and confidence, especially when dealing with her love interest, like when she's beating him to a lead. The sex and love making was very hot, and I found myself relating to both Eve and the secondary female character, Tiffany, who had a great story. Both Mac and Tiffany have made mistakes in the past, but they both try to improve, with great character developing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Running Blind (One-Eyed Jacks)
Running Blind (One-Eyed Jacks) by Cindy Gerard (Mass Market Paperback - February 24, 2015)
$7.99

Over the Line (The Bodyguards, Book 4)
Over the Line (The Bodyguards, Book 4) by Cindy Gerard (Mass Market Paperback - May 30, 2006)
$7.99

To the Edge (The Bodyguards, Book 1)
To the Edge (The Bodyguards, Book 1) by Cindy Gerard (Mass Market Paperback - May 3, 2005)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.