Customer Reviews


6,913 Reviews
5 star:
 (6,397)
4 star:
 (296)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (105)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


493 of 524 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning in a bottle
Breaking Bad is a once in a lifetime, rare example of the type of show that raises the medium of television beyond the pit of mediocrity it usually resides in. Folks, please don't pass this one up - it may be a long while before another story of this caliber comes by again. This is a series that I will always cherish, and not just for the obvious reasons like the superb...
Published 10 months ago by Francisco

versus
23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instant video episodes are censored!
Lately I've been noticing that some of the shows I've watched on Instant Video like SOA and Breaking Bad are being censored. What gives? I paid for this expecting to get a product that is unbound by the restrictiveness of cable TV. It must be written somewhere in the fine print because I don't see anything stating that this is the censored version. I guess there is...
Published 9 months ago by Javier


‹ Previous | 1 2692 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

493 of 524 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning in a bottle, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Breaking Bad is a once in a lifetime, rare example of the type of show that raises the medium of television beyond the pit of mediocrity it usually resides in. Folks, please don't pass this one up - it may be a long while before another story of this caliber comes by again. This is a series that I will always cherish, and not just for the obvious reasons like the superb acting and the high stakes narrative -- but also for the fact that it gave me hope for the future of television, and the media's potential overall, to serve as a platform for talented writers and actors who actually have something inspired to say about the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


341 of 380 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV series EVER ~ A masterpiece for all time, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In my opinion, "Breaking Bad," is the finest series ever produced for television. This doesn't mean that everyone who watches it, is going to like it. Everyone has their own likes and dislikes, and it would be unfair for me to say that this show is "the best," for all viewers. With that said; I can unequivocally state that in "my opinion," this series is the finest and most creatively written one that I've seen in my 65 years on Earth. The plot, the writing and the acting are beyond anything that I've witnessed before. Vince Gilligan, the creator of "Breaking Bad," has produced a series that will undoubtedly be regarded as a masterpiece for all time.

For me; everything else that I've watched or am watching on TV is a letdown after seeing this show. The fact that Gilligan came up with the idea to write this series, boggles the mind, and proves to me that he's a genius. Not only did he come up with the idea; but he also managed to find the perfect actors for all of the deeply complex roles. Each character, especially Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul, do such an incredible job, that you'll find it difficult to believe that they're acting at all. Bryan Cranston, as "Walt, takes acting to a whole new level. In my opinion, his performance in this series is the finest and most mesmerizing of any actor in history. Supporting actors/actresses, Dean Norris, Betsy Brandt, RJ Mitte, Anna Gunn, Bob Odenkirk and Giancarlo Esposito also do a superb, incredible and very believable job at their roles. Odenkirk provides some humor, to an otherwise very dark and serious show. "Breaking Bad" is intense, jaw dropping intense, and as mentioned, at times darkly humorous. Vince Gilligan's decision to have Bob Odenkirk play the role of lawyer Saul Goodman is a stroke of pure genius. The fact that Gilligan incorporated such a funny character into such a dark show, speaks volumes about his ability to balance the depths of despair, the lowest of the low, with a little bit of humor. Who else could come up with such a script and character development as Gilligan does. In my mind, no one; he stands alone. Adding Giancarlo Esposito, as "Gus" to the mixture puts this series over the top, way over the top. When all the pieces are put together; those who enjoy this series, will undoubtedly find that this is a show like no other. It is the best of the best of the best. Quite honestly; it defies perception that a show of this caliber made it to a television network. The final season is a glued to your seat, mesmerizing series of events.

All I can say to those who have yet to watch this series, is to give it a try. If you like the first two episodes of Season 1; you'll no doubt be in awe at what follows. No; you'll be more than in awe; you'll be staring at your TV for several minutes after each episode, incredulous at what you just watched. I'm sad to see this incredible show come to an end. Hopefully, someday, someone will come up with another series of this caliber. In my opinion; it won't be anytime soon. As previously stated, but in need of repeating; "Breaking Bad," is a masterpiece for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


346 of 392 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Final Season" Contains the Last 8 Episodes of the Series, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THE FINAL SEASON Blu-Ray set contains the final 8 episodes of the series, plus bonus materials (including an alternate ending).

LIST OF SPECIAL FEATURES:
1. "Blood Money" Table Read - A rare look at the only final season Breaking Bad table read.
2. Cast and Crew Commentaries on Every Episode
3. Featurettes
- The Main Event
- The Final Showdown
- Life of a Show Runner
- Behind-the-Scenes of the Alternate Ending
4. Alternate Ending - A 3-minute alternate version of how Breaking Bad could have ended.
5. Deleted & Extended Scenes
6. Gag Reel
7. Walt's Confession
8. The Layers of a Sound Mix
9. Over 15 Episodes of Inside Breaking Bad
10. Uncensored and Extended Episodes

*****

There are technically only 5 seasons of Breaking Bad. But season 5 has been split across two years.
- The first half of Season 5, or "5A", aired the summer of 2012.
- The second half of Season 5, "5B", is currently airing in summer 2013 (some places have referred to "5B" as "Season 6", given the year-long gap between air dates - but officially it's still part of Season 5).
- Both "5A" and "5B" contain 8 episodes each, for a total of 16 episodes.

This "Final Season" blu-ray/DVD set will contain only the last 8 episodes of the show, airing in Summer 2013 ("5B") [this has been confirmed via Sony Pictures Home Entertainment]. The product should really be called "Season 5 - Part 2", or something like that, but I suppose that doesn't have the same marketing impact as "The Final Season".

"The Final Season" set does NOT include the first half of season 5 that aired in 2012 ("5A") - so if you have not done so already, you are going to want to buy the "Fifth Season" blu-ray set, which contains those first 8 episodes:
Breaking Bad - The Fifth Season (2 Discs Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)

With both sets, you will own the entire 16 Episodes of the Fifth Season.

It was a bit confusing how Sony/AMC handled this. I suppose the likely reason for "5A" and "5B" is because the show was to end after 5 seasons, so if they had called it "Season 6" perhaps there would have been all sorts of contract issues and re-negotiations.

*****

Links to All Episodes of Breaking Bad on Blu-Ray:

SEASON 1
Contains complete First Season -- 7 Episodes
Originally aired 2008
Breaking Bad: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray]

SEASON 2
Contains complete Second Season -- 13 Episodes
Originally aired 2009
Breaking Bad: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray]

SEASON 3
Contains complete Third Season -- 13 Episodes
Originally aired 2010
Breaking Bad: The Complete Third Season [Blu-ray]

SEASON 4
Contains complete Fourth Season -- 13 Episodes
Originally aired 2011
Breaking Bad: The Complete Fourth Season [Blu-ray]

SEASON 5 - PART 1
Contains first half of the Fifth Season (also called "5A") -- 8 Episodes
Originally aired 2012
Breaking Bad - The Fifth Season (2 Discs Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)

SEASON 5 - PART 2
Contains second half of the Fifth Season (also called "5B") -- 8 Episodes
Originally aired 2013
Breaking Bad: The Final Season (+UltraViolet Digital Copy) [Blu-ray]

COMPLETE SERIES
Box set will contain every season of the show -- 62 Episodes
Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


207 of 236 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Breaking Bad is the best show I've watched on TV in Years. It is so well done, it's absolutely riveting. The script is so good and the actors so perfect, I can't take my eyes off the screen. The actoring is excellent and nuanced. I have watched Seasons 1-5 so far and am now going through them a second time, with my husband who is on his first go round. Even though I know what's coming, I'm seeing things I missed before and enjoying even more.
This is truly the most engrossing series ever. It is really hard to turn off...you'll want to marathon. I've actually watched a whole season in one day...it's crazy good. I just hate that there is only one more season to go, starting in early August on AMC, and am still amazed I didn't know about BB until a few months ago. This is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The writers drink from a deep well, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The character development and story are so intense and carefully crafted. Not one word is ever wasted. Not one scene is ever wasted. To experience a series go this far and not have filler episodes, like so many other series do, has to be applauded. BRAVO! The writers drink from a deep well, and the actors know it and show it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinded Me With Science........on a scale of 1 to 10 an 11, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It took the genius of the Walter White character to come up with the ingenious plan to get everything done he did. It also had addressed the main character being honest with himself about his actions. A point of moral resolve that was needed. This is the ending of a series that will be talked about for years. It will set the bar for future series finales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest, August 12, 2013
Breaking Bad is one of the greatest tv series ever written. It will be heartbreaking to see the series finale. I wish it could last forever. I fell in love with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad...fricken AWESOME, August 13, 2013
For years my students told me that I needed to watch "Breaking Bad". Finally I purchased season one here at Amazon.com...and it was the beginning of the end.

I was hooked, my son was hooked...we've watched every episode of this series, from season to season, together. It has been an amazing ride to see the progression of Walter White from mild mannered high school science educator in season 1....to the final season where he's "Heisenberg", notorious meth cook and Kingpin of a deadly drug distribution ring.

Over its entire run, "Breaking Bad" has been fascinating. The writers of this series have presented clever well executed plot twists that keep even the most jaded viewer wanting more. I've enjoyed the story very much and now, sadly, it has reached it's conclusion and with this video we are now at the end of a very exciting and well presented series.

You will enjoy "Breaking Bad"...it is captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad is THE reason to buy cable, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...and when it ends, a good reason to cancel it. The writing, directing and acting may be matched someday, but never exceeded, and certainly not for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best show ever. It's great to have it posted so quickly. Thanks Amazon for doing such a fantastic job again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2692 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

To'hajiilee [HD]
To'hajiilee [HD] by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.