Customer Reviews


561 Reviews
5 star:
 (466)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short Easy Applicable Guide for the Everyday Entrepreneur
I fell in love with Toilet Paper Entrepreneur on page xxi (in the introduction) where Mike Michalowicz does a brilliant comparison between the "Media Darling" entrepreneur and his "Three Sheet Path." In Mike's example at the age of 18, the media darling is recruited to an Ivy League school only to quit and launch a successful VC. Meanwhile, Mike is picking colleges...
Published on December 22, 2008 by Ivana S. Taylor

versus
92 of 115 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The "all other business books suck" attitude
Any time I find 'all business books suck so read mine' attitude - I know to watch out. It's silly to say something like that, especially when your book isn't good.

Let me describe why you shouldn't read this book.

* There is a serious lack of substance - Read articles from a dozen mediocre business blogs and you can pick up more substance. Though...
Published on December 1, 2010 by Adam Temple


‹ Previous | 136 37 3857 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars TPE vs MDE (Toilet Paper Entrepreneur vs Media Darling Entrepreneur), August 30, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
Disclosure: I am both Toilet Paper Entrepreneur vs Media Darling Entrepreneur.

I loved this book it does what I try to do inside of Stanford Engineering 145: Boil down the first 17 steps on your way to first base. First base = a nice single in the game of entrepreneurship.

Instead of abstract theory there are to-do items listed in the book. Entrepreneurship for both Toilet Paper Entrepreneurs and Media Darling Entrepreneurs both execute. Toilet paper is not all that sexy but that is the point of the book... getting past the sexy Media Darling Entrepreneur that you read about and focusing on the down, dirty and fun aspect to accomplishing the first couple steps.

If you would like to be my study buddy, find me like how the author found me (on The google :-)
Seriously, lets be email study buddies on this.
The business school I teach at charges you 200k but I will give you access to me for free. Step one of being my study buddy: email me 2-3 things you did in under 12 sentences. If you can't find my email or/and cell phone, you should prolly not go into entrepreneurship :( Its easy sport, just google Larry Chiang cellphone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michalowicz captures the entrepreneurial spirit, August 29, 2012
By 
Greg Gerber (Sun City, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
Scattered throughout the Toilet Paper Entrepreneur are scores of "TPE Tips," golden nuggets of cost-saving or time-saving ideas that, even if not for you, get your mind thinking of ways to do business differently.

Michalowicz advocates that business owners flush their business plans and focus instead on creating prosperity plans that provide fewer mind-numbing details that are eventually ignored. Rather, he advocates putting more emphasis on the heart and motivation of the business owner -- the "fire in the belly" stuff that truly makes or breaks the company. That type of plan can instantly help an entrepreneur recapture his or her dream when going gets tough.

Mike shared a copy of his book with me, but it could not have come at a better time as I started a major expansion of my own business. One of my biggest challenges has always been trying to be all things to all people. Michalowicz advocates that business owners learn to say "no" and focus on the few things they and their company can do very, very well. It's that type of expertise that often returns greater income over time.

Once focused, he advocates that owners create critical metrics and review them daily to monitor activity and progress toward goals. He explains how to define those metrics in a way that they make sense for a specific business.

For me, the best part of Toilet Paper Entrepreneur was the inclusion of real-life stories about other entrepreneurs and the good and bad decisions they made, how those decisions impacted their companies, and what the owners did in response. Entrepreneurs are truly a band of brothers who can learn from the success and mistakes of others. This book taps into entrepreneurial passion, and shows what it takes to turn a dream into a successful business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a book that gets to the core of business!, August 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
After having been around the bend a few times in business, and paying for the privilege more than once, it is about time someone got to the core of what being a business-savvy talent is all about!

Mike captures the heart of the matter, focusing on what is important --- what creates a great and strong bottom line. Building on such things as immutable laws (you gotta have those), and the other necessary pillars to building a sound, life long and innovative business is laid out for you in black n white in this book.

Thanks for stepping out on a limb Mike, and giving those of us sitting in the shadows from fatigue an "i told you so" moment in business.

If you want to know how to balance, create, and design a win-win enterprise, look no further. Become a TPE -- you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "We are all entrepreneurs; only too few of us get to practice it." -Muhammad Yunus, August 18, 2012
By 
Invention Addict (Research Triangle, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
One of the best business books I've read and I've read my share. As a professional engineer with over 20 years experience, a MBA, and a fledgling start-up I think I know a good business book when I read it.

I never, never, ever read a business book cover to cover in 24 hrs. I literally could not put it down. I laughed and I cried (page 81). Mike's straight forward style is more than engaging. This book is real, practical and even inspiring. If you've read any Seth Godin, Tim Ferris, Derek Sivers, Chris Guillebeau, Stephen Key, or Jon Acuff's books, you need to read this one.

This book is not for everyone. If you want to keep sitting on your butt thinking someday I'll start my business or I could start my business if I only had money then this book is not for you. This book will call you out and you will not have any more excuses. Mike's toilet paper metaphor may turn off some but I really like the simplicity of the three sheets in lieu of a business plan.

Business plans are not the answer and money will not solve your problems. You need action. Each chapter has three action exercises for the reader to complete. It starts by changing the way and what you think. This lays the foundation for "finding your why'. Very few authors have put together all of theses concepts into a common sense action plan that you can actually do.

I highly recommend this book and I will be blogging about and telling my colleagues about it on LinkedIn. I wish I had read this last summer as I prepared by talk for a group of MBA students at the Missouri University of Science and Technology.

"We are all entrepreneurs; only too few of us get to practice it." -Muhammad Yunus. Read this book and you will be on your way to becoming an entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to an entrepreneur mindset, August 16, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
The TPE is a simple, but effectively, written book that will give any person the mindset they need to find the path to success. All to often people get hung up on the wrong things causing them to become distracted, disappointed, or delayed every time they think about the possibility of starting their own business. Clear your past misconceptions and follow along as Mike lays out the common sense strategies to change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of kick-in-the-seat actionable suggestions to take your new business from start-up to success, August 13, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
"The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll" by Mike Michalowicz is not your everyday ordinary business book. It's far from it! First, let me warn you right here, if you can't take a little discussion about bodily functions that call for a roll of toilet paper, or if you are offended by a four letter word or two, maybe the advice from Michalowicz isn't for you. (Please note, these discussions and four letter words are minimal, hardly there at all, but because they are NEVER there in most business books, they make this one a bit different.) And it doesn't stop there. This book is different in other ways too, and all of them good. It's an enjoyable read that actually has a lot of good advice, albeit some of it unconventional, for those entrepreneurs wanting to find success through become what Michalowicz calls a "Toilet Paper Entrepreneur."

Michalowicz has started businesses that have achieved multimillion dollar status, and that's businesses plural, so he isn't talking theory from business classes, but rather experience from the trenches. He also backs up his ideas with examples from others who he calls Toilet Paper Entrepreneurs. And while no singe book has all the answers, this book contains some great advice. The first part works on your beliefs, and in a humorous engaging manner, Michalowicz motivates you to obliterate all excuses and believe you can and take action toward your future success.

The second part of the book focuses on actually getting started and starting your business. He provides five things you must focus on and helps you create what he calls a prosperity plan to guide your business towards great heights of achievement.

The third part of the book contains action chapters to get you going. He helps you get ready and then has you do your business and get off the pot. It's time to act and get things done! The final part focuses on money and equity in the last three chapters. The book concludes with a Bonus: "The Youth (and Young at Heart) Advantage" and another not-so-hidden bonus section called "Tom 'The Big' Crapper."

Bottom line, I thought the book was great. I enjoyed reading it and found it contained many practical pearls of wisdom, and kick-in-the-seat actionable suggestions to take your new business from start-up to success. If you need a little motivation and advice to get your business going, read this book and become a Toilet Paper Entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Draws you in more than the title does, August 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If the title doesn't grab you, the rest of the book will hold you until you are finished reading, and then looking to re-read and taking notes. It is a must read for anyone wanting to start a business, whether the next Facebook, or a mom and pop vegetable stand. He breaks it all down into easy to read, understand, and follow directions. You do not need anything but the will to succeed. Something you already have if you have picked up his book. He is as down to earth as they come, not setting lofty goals, promising you the world with unattainable rewards. He is outstanding, just like the rest of us. He has already done what we want to do. Mike has decided to help his fellow entreprenuers reach their dreams by sharing how to do it in a few, albeit difficult at times, steps. Thanks Mike. I loved the book, as well as the Pumpkin Plan (another must read!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nature is Calling...and The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur is Answering!, August 7, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
There is a lot to like about this book by Mike Michalowicz! His "toilet" humor thoroughly cracked me up throughout the book, which kept the book a nice entertaining read. And his analogies on business and the call of nature are dead on. Being a retired entrepreneur myself, I can relate to all that Mike says in his book. This is a great book to give you an overview of what to expect and get you in the right mindset to become a successful entrepreneur. I found it hard to put down. Highly recommended!
Aimee Elizabeth, Author of "Poverty Sucks! How to Become a Self-Made Millionaire."Poverty Sucks! How to Become a Self-Made Millionaire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable, Insightful Advice for Starting and Growing a Business, August 4, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
When I first saw the title, I thought, "What on earth is a toilet paper entrepreneur?" I was certainly intrigued by the title and was anxious to find out what lessons we could learn from the end of a roll of toilet paper. Turns out quite a few.

The book jumps right into describing a Toilet Paper Entrepreneur and uses the analogy of finding out there are only a few sheet of toilet paper left on the roll when you need it most.

If you are bit prudish, uncomfortable with barroom/locker room talk, then you might get too focused on your own communication style to see the enormous benefits contained in this book.

On the other hand if you are thinking about starting a business or have recently started one and are floundering, then this book could save your business. If you learn and follow the advice presented here, it will certainly save you lots of time, energy, money and frustration. There are literally hundreds of books which purport to help you start and grow your business. Far too often these books are discussing theory which sounds good but rarely works.

Mike Michalowicz writes from first hand experience. He has started and grown three highly successful businesses. His writing style is conversational, easy to understand with a bit of humor sprinkled throughout the book. The book uses lots of "bathroom humor and examples". The bathroom humor and examples are not just thrown in for shock value or to be different. They make a very strong point and present the lessons in such a clear manner. Because the lessons are presented in such an intriguing fashion, you will remember them.

Mike gives you a very clear roadmap of what it takes to start and grow a successful business. At the end of each chapter are three "Take Action Now" exercises. It is important to actually do these exercises. As is discussed throughout the book, ideas and knowledge are of little value until you actually take action on them.

Scattered throughout the book are TPE (Toilet Paper Entrepreneur) Tips. These are little tips any one of which can literally save you tons of money, can make the difference between success and failure.

This is a highly readable book. It is filled with lots of great information - some of which most readers will need to adjust their thinking to accept. A major theme of the book is that your beliefs are key to your success or failure. You must get rid of limiting beliefs if you hope to achieve success. Mr. Michalowicz tells you how to change your beliefs - but again, you need to take action.

Highly entertaining reading, but filled with some serious advice. Don't let the bathroom humor distract you from the very valuable lessons presented here. You don't need a lot of additional information to be successful. You just need to take the information presented here and implement it.

Great advice - read it and take action - measure your results and adjust - you will be successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 28, 2012
This review is from: The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur: The tell-it-like-it-is guide to cleaning up in business, even if you are at the end of your roll. (Hardcover)
The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur is the equivalent of an epiphany that changes the entire course of your life. It's a slap in the face wake-up call that inspires you to act whether is through admiration, agreement, or rage.

The last thing we need is another fluffy book telling us how if we just look on the bright side, everything will come to us. They are empty words and Mike knows it. If you want the real deal, read this book. If you want to just have someone make you feel better about being you, go elsewhere. You'll find nothing but truth here.

-Liz Seda
Founder, A Life on Your Terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 3857 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.