Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet., August 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Man Must Die's first album 'The Human Condition' was a disappointment for me. Though talented, MMD seemed to be a band not sure of who they were or what they did well. On 'No Tolerance for Ignorance' MMD is very sure of who they are and what they do well, and what they do well is Death Metal. The songs are so much more interesting and enjoyable on this album. Brutal death metal for the most part with a bit of thrash and a little bit of deathcore mixed in. If you are a fan of most any style of death metal, I think you will find a lot on this album to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer!!!!!!!!!, November 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
Wow, after hearing all the great things about this band I decided to pick this up and after hearing this promptly went about ordering their back catalog. This guys play some super brutal death metal, that has some technicality to it. Amazingly talented and surprisingly above avg lyrics. I think the band comes from Scotland. Well whatever they're drinking over there, keep it up, 'cause this is some raging death metal. Really the hype surrounding this release is on the money. Plenty of blast beats, heavy chugging guitars, vocals that are deep, yet understandable. The cd cover does look quite similar to All Shall Perish's-'Price of Existence', who by the way, the band is a little influenced by, but that's a good thing. If you want some super brutal death metal, that has some originallity I urge you to give this a try. It will blast all posers faces off from 1000 miles away!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did not meet my expectations, it CRUSHED THEM!, September 18, 2013
By 
Ed (Nebraska) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
ROCKS!!!! Modern Napalm Death is the best way I can describe them. I am a metal fan from Pantera to Rings Of Saturn and I recommend Man Must Die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MMD's murderous new album, June 26, 2013
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
The third album from Man Must Die, 2009's "No Tolerance For Imperfection," is a monster, folks. Overflowing with impeccably tight musicianship including rip-roaring guitars and drumming that is so tight and impeccable that it almost sounds like a drum machine at times, "No Tolerance..." lands somewhere between Origin, Kataklysm (whose frontman, Joe McGlynn, produced the effort, by the way), Into The Moat, Napalm Death, Dying Fetus, The Berzerker, and Pig Destroyer.

And the heck of it is, it is a challenging listen, too. The album is full of smart, Dillinger Escape Plan-style tempo changes and Meshuggah-esque polyrhythms, yet somehow, some way, it always manages to retain a certain cohesive form. And it is also of note from a lyrical standpoint, because as with grindcore's greats, Man Must Die address such topics as animal cruelty, war, and societies driven/overrun by modern technology (i.e. television).

Following an obligatorily slow intro, the title song slams onto the scene with blistering pick slides followed by chug and churn death metal riffs, monstrous vocals, and insistent double-time drumming. The song, the album opener, does make room for a little bit of melody (which comes in the form of a soaring, harmonic guitar solo), but only a little bit. All bets are off for "Gainsayer," though, which blows out of the gate with tires squealing, as a truly head-tearing, face-ripping avalanche of careening guitars and bludgeoning, lightning-fast hyperblasts. It all makes for one insane, uber-technical, head-spinning, and positively devastating aural onslaught, and one that is delivered at blistering speed. "Gainsayer" is also complete with some wicked, piercing vocal shrieks and numerous tech-y tempo changes, but it ends with an ominously slow, bass-aided breakdown and some goregrind-derived samples.

The awesomely, gruesomely-entitled "Kill It Skin It Wear It" is another crushing, grinding, "rat-tat-tat" jackhammer-fast blastmania fueled by ridiculous drumming and blistering guitar leads (some machine gun riffs and fluid sweep picking that evokes Origin are included, here.) "It Comes In Threes," then, opens with a hardcore-derived yell of "go!," followed by Man Must Die's usual scorched-earth policy with some barely audible but still noteworthy and interesting bass lines underpinning a massive deluge of pummeling blast beats and searing, wall-of-sound guitar leads. And sure, the song does suddenly slow to a doomy, mid-tempo chug, thus helping to break-up an overall same-y-soundingness; but a breakneck tempo change (that rockets the listener back into warp-speed territory) awaits just around the corner.

"This Day Is Black" is a two-minute-long interlude-type track that begins with an astonishingly melodic guitar intro before morphing into a hyper-speed shred-fest with melodic leads and rapid-fire picking. But "Hide The Knives" plays like an inexorable grindcore sprint from beginning to end, as it is a total whirlwind of buzzsaw guitar leads, and thunderous, machine gun drumming. And the number is further highlighted by a ripping solo and memorable vocal patterns (including some well-placed shrieks). "Dead In The Water" is yet another impossibly brutal, no-holds-barred, carnage-inducing skull-cracker occupied by inhuman blasting, speed-of-light guitar leads and memorable vocal refrains (lines like "how much you put me through!" will lodge themselves firmly in your brain and remain there for quite some time.)

Moving on down the line, "What I Can't Take Back" is still another dizzying display of technicality that involves frenetic guitar wizardry, pummeling drum blasts, and fast, Autopsy-style bass lines. And also included on the technical front are numerous well-placed tempo changes and dramatic, stop-and-go arrangement change-ups. The next two tracks, "Reflections From Within" and "How The Mighty Have Fallen," continue the skull-caving onslaught going, the former with a thrashing groove, and catchy, staccato picking and drumming; and the latter with buzzsaw guitar chunks, brutal drumming, and huge, non-hardcore breakdowns. (And the former of these two songs, "Reflections..." stands out on account of it featuring no blast beats -- just double bass thrashing.)

"No Tolerance For Imperfection" might not be a, well, perfect album, per say. ("Survival Of The Sickest" is a subdued and melodic instrumental closer that serves as a kind of pointless monotony breaker -- it would have been better served to come sooner in the set.) But then again, it doesn't need to be. It is a moving, gripping, and enthralling technical death metal/grindcore affair from Man Must Die, who have already cemented their status as one of the fastest and most brutal bands of the new millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Brutal Brutality, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
I am not exactly sure how to classify this band so I guess death metal would be the easiest label to apply to them. Whatever you want to call this stuff it is extremely heavy and brutal and if it must be compared to anything for the sake of reference I guess I would compare it to newer Napalm Death but even that doesn't quite do it justice. If you like death metal, grindcore and thrash metal I would recommend you buy this album. This band deserves all the support they can get and I think they are far too underrated at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rockin...., January 11, 2013
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
I am a metel head that listens to this cd everyday, I will soon be geting a new cd by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man Must Die - No Tolerance For Imperfection, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
scotish best band i ever eard!
what a powerfull sound and great musics through all the album!
put it very loud and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, May 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
This is a great piece of work for fans of grindcore like Misery Index and Cattle Decapitation. Buy this if you love extreme metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This band has a bright future, April 29, 2011
By 
Metalb (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
They have a good mix of everything and they never have a weak moment. This album is metal to the extreme and just like I enjoy it. Death vocals that are understandable, heavy chugging, enough melody, solo's, and vicious drums. I love listening to the drum patterns. This guy plays with intensity but mixes it up enough to keep it interesting. He goes crazy sometimes but restrains himself when needed. The drumming in my opinion is the best part of the album, though it all is top notch. You can tell these guys are having fun when they play. The sound mix is just the right mix of "organic" and "synthetic" that really makes the CD better. I can't say it enough, they are good. They also have something real to say. The lyrics are in your face and he tells you exactly what he is thinking. NO cryptic lyrics open for interpretation or hidden meanings. What he sings about the title track "No Tolerance for Imperfection" are exactly the things I hate in the world and exactly why I am the way I am. This album is straight anger fueled through a wall of sound. If you like bands like Nile, Bloodbath, Decapitated, Behemoth, and Kataklysm, you like this. Oh, and did I mention the drums?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not normally a fan of this genre, but pleasantly surprised!, October 20, 2009
This review is from: No Tolerance for Imperfection (Audio CD)
As stated in the title, I am not a big fan of this genre of metal - but I love this cd much more than I thought I would. I heard "Kill It, Skin It, Wear It" on Sirius' Liquid Metal channel and I was impressed by the precision of the guitar and bass drums. Even the singing is a cut above what most extreme metal bands deliver and overall the band just has a sound that is crushing and tight, but with enough melody to make it more listenable. The first few listens were ok, and the next thing I knew - I was playing it nonstop and loving it more each time - so give yourself a chance to warm up to it if it comes across as too intense at first. My favorite song is "It Comes in Threes" which has a brutal guitar tone to go with a solid chorus, and also features some neat bass drum patterns. The best part of that song is that it doesn't have any blast beats (which is one of the things I hate about some death metal bands) and that makes the song that much better. These guys also have some cool videos on youtube that show them in the studio, so check them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Tolerance for Imperfection
No Tolerance for Imperfection by Man Must Die (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.