Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love collection will buy 7-12 next year.
i had already read three 3 of the 6 but wanted these for my collection. wish it was easiser to go from book to book. that' s the only drawback to this collection.
Published 13 months ago by b.kiger

versus
158 of 160 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly setup kindle book
The books by the author are great. The way Amazon setup this series in the Kindle is poor and there are ebook import issues that can make it a little difficult to figure out what the author was actually saying. All 6 books are in 1 kindle 'book', instead of each being their own. In addition, the books are not in chronological order (and you'll have to buy the second set...
Published on January 14, 2011 by Jrwalte


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

158 of 160 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly setup kindle book, January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
The books by the author are great. The way Amazon setup this series in the Kindle is poor and there are ebook import issues that can make it a little difficult to figure out what the author was actually saying. All 6 books are in 1 kindle 'book', instead of each being their own. In addition, the books are not in chronological order (and you'll have to buy the second set now if you want to read the 3rd book "Red Rabbit") but by printed date, so you have to find the book, which at least a table of contents is at location 6 with direct links to the beginning of each book. However, both book sets are missing Red Storm Rising and Sum of All Fears

I'd ask for a refund and buy each book independently to avoid this hassle, but for some reason Amazon doesn't sell Clear and Present Danger by itself on the kindle. Doesn't seem like a coincidence to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointed, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
I ordered the first six books of the Jack Ryan series, and so far I am very disappointed. They are out of order. there are so many editing mistakes that at times it is hard to read. in concept I like the kindle. If future books are as bad as these, I dont think i can continue to use it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 124 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars false advertisment for starters, March 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
The books 1-6 are not the chronological ordering of the orginal books, how ever they are in correct order by publication date... but when you title a series, the jack ryan series books 1-6 it is naturally assumed by regular "joes" that it means in the chronological order. That was disappointment 1, disappointment 2 was that the books are often poorly transfer to kindle. I have the complete series in print, and they are getting rather worn from me reading all the way through the series then starting again...reading the books on kindle i figured would save wear... however i continually find myself getting the books out to read a certain section of text, because the kindle version is so garbled up that it can't be read. I would not waste the 45 dollars again on kindle book series, espeically if they are so poorly organised, edited, and falsely advertised. with amazon being such a stickler for rules and policies, you would think they would not "falsely advertise" something such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs an editor, July 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
Great stories. Kindle version obviously never viewed by human editor. Apparently created by optical character recognition software (not a good one). Most I's ('eyes') printed as 1's ('ones') and too many other misspelled words.

Almost reads like an instruction booklet written by someone for whom English is a second language. I am amazed that Mr Clancy allowed this to be published with his name on it. Even if he just did it for the money, he surely would not wish to publicly display such a lack of craftsmanship.

Would have been much better to have a table of contents for the volume with links to stories in chronological order, not just jammed in together with no separation and sorted by publication date.

Amazon should reject this version back to the publisher until it is corrected, then should offer free replacement to all current purchasers.

Review applies to both Jack Ryan story collections:
Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6
Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 7-12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way over-priced AND poor quality... well done., February 19, 2012
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
Really. I mean... really? Almost 10 bucks a copy for a set of books I can get for 3 bucks used? The cherry on the sundae? It isn't even done well enough to even make an argument for the price. If it was a dead on match for the print version but with some cool new artwork, multi-media, etc. maybe ten bucks is in the conversation. Shoddy OCR version crammed together with clearly minimal thinking on product placement and acceptance. I mean come on. So far not even one person has even tried to defend this product. I agree with others that have said in so many words, 'so.. umm... Mr. Clancy did you (or your 'people') actually look at this thing before it went on the shelf? Embarrassing quite honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Quality Control, April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
I have reread these books many times and purchased the Kindle version to take them along on vacation. I still enjoy the books, but have been deeply disappointed with the quality control for the digital edition. The formatting is uneven and distracting, especially with regard to line-spacing between paragraphs and scenes. In addition, the OCR is ragged; a great many obvious OCR errors have managed to sneak through copy-editing--enough to make me wonder if the OCR process was even proofed. These issues combine to make the reading experience quite distracted.

I would not complain if this were one of Kindle's bargain-priced offerings, but the price is no bargain (at least not for this quality of transcription).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JAck Ryan 1-6, April 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed re-re-re-re-reading the series.
Wish it was easier to navigate & choose book to read.

If you're going to charge someone for a book (or set of books), the least you can do is PROOF READ IT!!

Obvious OCR problems you lazy *!#$%@'s

Too many corners as comers to count.

50% refund seems to be in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars production description is all wrong, February 23, 2011
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
product description is wrong. it did not all start with a missing sub. too bad who ever came up with this idea has no idea what they are doing or talking about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jack Ryan 1-6, February 28, 2013
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
After reading all of the reviews I will not buy the series
Thank you to the people that bought them I hope that you get a credit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who formatted this mess?, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6 (Kindle Edition)
I love Tom Clancy, love his writing, and I have always wanted to read the entire Jack Ryan series in order. So I thought that by buy books 1-6, I'd be able to.

What a mess. The first book in the series (Without Remorse) is last in the e-book. The second book in the series (The Hunt for Red October) is the first in the e-book. At least I think I have the order correct. This mess of an e-book certainly isn't any help in figuring that out.

Also, it's just run-on text within the books. There's no italics, no spaces, no formatting devices of any kind to signal to the reader that the scene is changing, we are now moving from one set of characters in one place to another set of characters in another place.

This is so irritating. I hope it is fixed and reissued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan Books 1-6
$47.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.