Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best
I've played every single kind of FPS from the heavily saturated Battlefield Series games to the overwhelmingly popular Call of Duty series. Here are the problems I've always had with those other games: they're always unrealistic no matter how hard they try. In Call of Duty: Black OPS for example, you still have to shoot someone 5-6 times with an assault rifle from two...
Published on July 5, 2011 by Pandamonium

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good but not as good as the original or Rogue Spear
Well, this version of Rainbow Six really upped the 1st person shooter experience. With better graphics, new weapons and what not, it is definitely an improved gaming experience.

But the game isn't as much fun as the original or as Rogue Spear. Once you play through the mission, few of the maps are all that interesting to play through again in any mode...
Published on January 9, 2010 by C. Monk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, July 5, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
I've played every single kind of FPS from the heavily saturated Battlefield Series games to the overwhelmingly popular Call of Duty series. Here are the problems I've always had with those other games: they're always unrealistic no matter how hard they try. In Call of Duty: Black OPS for example, you still have to shoot someone 5-6 times with an assault rifle from two feet away just to kill them. It seems like every single modernized warfare game fails to deliver the unparalleled realism that Rainbow Six: Raven Shield has. This game was made in 2005 and it still beats all modern shooters!

Here are just a few of the features this game introduces that have yet to be matched by any other franchise:

1) Proper Weapon Dynamics- Whenever you fire a self-repeating or gas-operated firearm, recoil is incredibly dependent on several factors and not just the caliber. Just because you're firing a 9x19mm submachine gun, for example, doesn't mean it's not going to kick that severely. Barrel length, grip placement, etc. all play into the recoil of the gun. This game takes that into account on every single weapon.

2) Reloading- Every FPS has you pull out a magazine, put in a fresh one, and charge the weapon. Here's the problem with that: if you still have a round in the chamber, you don't have to charge the weapon when you slap in a new magazine. Only the Rainbow Six franchise has taken this into account. Additionally, the ammunition system is tallied by how many MAGAZINES you have on you and not how many BULLETS you have. This is also extremely realistic. You don't count bullets, you count magazines.

3) Kill Shot System- Most tangos drop dead after two or three shots from a primary weapon like they should. If you have a large caliber, unsilence weapon they drop after one shot. Realism is maintained as well if you go up against targets in a harder setting as they have body armor on.

4) Injury- If you do luck out and survive a shot to the body, you will experience both the best and worst part of this game. You proceed to limp around for the rest of the mission and it directly affects your accuracy unless you're standing/aiming perfectly still. Even if you just turn to aim somewhere else, your crosshairs bug out and shake with the pain.

5) Medical Leave- If one of your operatives gets taken down during a mission, they can be listed as DEAD on the duty roster if they are hit in a vital area. If they die, they're gone for the rest of the game. If they are listed as INCAPACITATED, they were hit in non-vital areas. This makes them available after an additional mission has been played and they've had enough time to "recover". Also, if a team member is injured during a mission, they also need an additional mission to recover.

6) Enhanced Difficulty- The harder the difficulty setting, the faster you die. The higher difficulty settings do three things to all tangos: they make them more tactically gifted, they dawn more body armor, and their weapons are significantly more upgraded. In all other FPS games the higher the difficulty just means that you have less health and they have more health.

There are way more features to this game other than these. All of them make it that much more unrealistic. After waiting and wanting an FPS that is truly realistic, I finally got it when this game was released. If you're looking for more, check out any of the other Rainbow Six games. It's the only franchise that has this level of combat simulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first person shooter, January 5, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
Classic rainbow Six game, my son loves it and is an avid MGS fan. This game does not work on anything higher than XP and I could not find patches for Vista.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RVS still rocks, July 17, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
Even after the years sense its release, it is still a number one game in the rainbow six line up. From the planning of the single play missions to the online ownage ubi know what they were doing and did it right.
Tight controls, the best graphices of its day, and a nice list of real weapons from 92sf pistal to the m60e4 light machinegun make it the winner it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip-off, October 28, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
OK well the game is a great game, I couldn't wait to play it on line with my buddy, who I talked into buying it so we could play the co-op mode as advertised. I was furious to find out that even though
all the advertisements and descriptions of the game rave about how awesome the "Online" game play is.
I found that you can not even create a user name or use your existing Ubisoft username account to play this online. All the servers are gone and all the online links are dead! (There Is No Online Game Play)
I think if you are selling a game and hype up peoples expectations about a feature that you know does not exist, you are in my humble opinion, a crook. I have an Idea, if you know the game servers and support has been discontinued how about being honest and up front about it and state in nice big bold print "On Line Game Play Has Been Discontinued" so people will know what they are getting, or not getting in my case. I am so sick and tired of the DRM crap, console porting and misleading advertising and restrictions on PC games these days I don't even want to buy any more . So "Buyer Beware" !
!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good but not as good as the original or Rogue Spear, January 9, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
Well, this version of Rainbow Six really upped the 1st person shooter experience. With better graphics, new weapons and what not, it is definitely an improved gaming experience.

But the game isn't as much fun as the original or as Rogue Spear. Once you play through the mission, few of the maps are all that interesting to play through again in any mode.

It almost seems like the developers got lazy as well as 3 or 4 of the maps are duplicated and you play through them twice in the campaign and the only difference in the map is the time of day. But the maps themselves are also kind of boring.

What made the levels in Rainbow Six and Rogue Spear so fun was that they were so different...and so big. In the original, you had massive maps of airports, haciendas, jungles, you name it. In Rogue Spear, you were storming an oil tanker one mission, recapturing a 747 in another and fighting your way through a ruined city in yet another.

In RS 3, the missions all take place in closely confined areas and the maps themselves are all pretty much the same...you're storming yet another building be it a meat-packing plant or an oil refinery or a house. Another downside is that snipers are pretty much useless in these maps. There are a few obvious perches for a sniper to take out maybe 2 terrorists but the bulk of the shooting is going to be you or your team when you come around a corner and run into a terrorist.

The upside is that RS 3 appears to the only available game playable on modern CPU's that still has the original gameplay factors such as setting up your own mission plan and allowing a full team (8) to paly as opposed to the more recent Rainbow Six modes which pretty much has the computer telling you how you will play a mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOOKS GREAT,,, HAVENT PLAYED IT YET, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
THINK I BOUGHT THIS GAME USED,, CAME ON TIME,, DISKS WERE MINT,,,NO COMPLAINTS. WILL GET TO IT SOON. AMAZON LIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE ROCKS,,,,,VERY HELPFUL. I BUY ALL MY KINDLE BOOKD FROM THEM TOO. CANT GO WRONE IF YOUR COMPANY STANDS BEHIND ITS PRODUCTS,,,,,,, AND THEY DO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As real as it gets, June 1, 2014
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
This game is probably as close to the real thing as I can imagine.
One-shot kills; no health bars, no health packs and when your teammates are dead.. they're dead for good. There are also injuries you can sustain and your operative may only walk away grazed by small caliber fire, - this can affect his stats so you may have to sit them out a few levels before they come back in full.
You'll be making alot of calls on the pre-level blue prints: kicking down doors, picking locks, fragging or flashbanging rooms all of which may require assigning go-codes. This R6 contains a vast amount of equipment to choose for your operatives; lethal and non-lethal alike. By practice and repetition you'll learn about the the right weapons and gear for each specific part of the level.

The authenticity of this game makes it a must-have for serious gamers interested in real-life counterterrorism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow Six, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
Not as good as the previous 2 Rainbow Six games. Not quite up to par with Call of Duty or Battlefield franchises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
I bought this game when it first came out and loved it. So many years later and still love it. Not just because of the single player mode but mainly for the multiplayer mode. You can have up to 100 baddies and you won't know where they are. You can take them on all by your self or with your co op team. Or team on team, death match, bomb, ... just love this game so much. AI is pretty darn smart too. Realistic for a game of its time. I mean realistic in game play. Graphics are ok but this is an old game. Its all about the game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Last True Rainbow 6, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield (CD-ROM)
I played many Rainbow 6 games, even the recent ones. But I have to say Raven Shield was the best one because it was the latest Rainbow Six game that had the map layout for planning the movements of squadrons. That factor was what distinguished Rainbow 6 from the other first person shooter games. Not the present Rainbow 6 games does not do that anymore, which is pretty disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield
$9.99 $6.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.